Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

We should take the cyclists out and shoot them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

I presume we can start with this cyclist
    m%20oleary%202.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,253 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Maybe a cyclist got in the way of his taxi as it used the bus lane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Granolite

NiallBoo wrote: »
    Kind of funny that someone who runs a public transport company is calling public transport faddy and unsustainable.

This is disappointing, he's too smart not to realise the Mercedes-sized holes in his argument.

not only that but when viewed in the context of history the automobile and airplane are of course more faddy than bikes and tram's, the latter two of which are both are around a bit longer than the former transport options he has preference for.

5.6kWp - SW (220 degrees) - North Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭markjbloggs

Eamonnator wrote: »
    He seems to miss the point, that if more people cycled, the knock on effect would be, that there'd be more space for him to park his f***ing car.

l

Actually, is that not the whole point of his argument - because of the all the pandering to cyclists, there is less and less accomodation for those who have no option but to drive to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

It's just Michael O'Leary doing what he does best - attracting attention to him and his airline with silly statements - shooting cyclists, single pilot, standing room on aircraft, paying for the jacks, etc, etc, ad nauseum.

While I admire how successful he has been with Ryanair, sometimes when he opens his beak I just :rolleyes: :rolleyes: and ignore him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Instead of coming here full of vitriol. Act. Contact Ryanair and declare you'll never fly with them again. No bringing bikes. No flying. Then abide by the threat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Just discussed on The Last Word. The first argument out of some eejits mouth representing the SFA was that they don't even pay road tax or tax on petrol (Joe). He also thinks that DCC bend over backwards for cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭jjpep

Theres something a bit nasty about clever people saying stupid things to get a reaction from people.

Or maybe he's just not actually thought it through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,637 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

jjpep wrote: »
    Theres something a bit nasty about clever people saying stupid things to get a reaction from people.

There's lots nasty about that man, cheap and nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Fian

Instead of coming here full of vitriol. Act. Contact Ryanair and declare you'll never fly with them again. No bringing bikes. No flying. Then abide by the threat.

While his comment causes me mild irritation (at a stretch tbh) it is not enough to persuade me to pay higher fares when I want to fly somewhere on a point of principle.

I have seen ryanair staff stalking though departure areas (beyond security gates) looking for likely carryon bags they could weigh, weighing them and requiring passengers to pay charges & to stow them in the hold. I have seen them charge people €50 because they forgot to print their boarding card. I have thrown away a (pop-up) tent I had strapped around my luggage on a return flight from a holiday, because the alternative was to pay for it as a seperate piece of luggage. I have seen the melee that used to apply to try and find a set of (unassigned) seats that would work for our family of six when travelling with young kids. Some of these practices have since improved with the new cuddly ryanair.

But if these were not enough to persuade me to go for a less cheap option, a few throwaway comments on cyclists won't tip the balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

syklops wrote: »
    Before everyone gets on a high horse I have read the article twice and not read any mention of shooting cyclists.

I think this is what Michael has in mind. All he's missing is the stetson:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnPUe80oBZw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

jjpep wrote: »

Oh he thought it through alright. More publicity for him as he hasn't had his head in the papers for a few weeks with all the election coverage.

Add in the fact that people are booking holidays at the moment and he'll get the attention he wants. It's a cheap publicity stunt.

Fair enough, but the problem is there's plenty of people who listen to him and spout the same crap word for word and worse again they will act on it. He's an Irish Jeremy Clarkson, but his comments are dangerous as well as clueless.

If you want to get a petition going then do it via Facebook or some international forum to damage the company on an international level. Doubt it will work, in fact he'll just use it for more cheap publicity with a publicized apology and donation to some cause, probably related to injured cyclists.

Like I said, it's all about getting Ryanair in the papers, it's just a game to him, no matter how much damage he causes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Fian wrote: »
    While his comment causes me mild irritation (at a stretch tbh) it is not enough to persuade me to pay higher fares when I want to fly somewhere on a point of principle.

I have seen ryanair staff stalking though departure areas (beyond security gates) looking for likely carryon bags they could weigh, weighing them and requiring passengers to pay charges & to stow them in the hold. I have seen them charge people €50 because they forgot to print their boarding card. I have thrown away a (pop-up) tent I had strapped around my luggage on a return flight from a holiday, because the alternative was to pay for it as a seperate piece of luggage. I have seen the melee that used to apply to try and find a set of (unassigned) seats that would work for our family of six when travelling with young kids. Some of these practices have since improved with the new cuddly ryanair.

But if these were not enough to persuade me to go for a less cheap option, a few throwaway comments on cyclists won't tip the balance.

Are you full of vitriol?? Doesn't seem like it. Then my comment doesn't refer to you.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

No way he's propelling that under his own steam - reckon there's a motor stashed away in that somewhere....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

m%20oleary%202.jpg

Well he wasn't going to let the "bike-to-work" scheme go unexploited, now was he?

He'll take any write-off he can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

m%20oleary%202.jpg
    Add your reply here.
    Forgot his shorts again.... Ewww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

TonyStark wrote: »
    Add your reply here.
    Forgot his shorts again.... Ewww.

Please somebody shoot me, I can't unsee that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Poor misunderstood Michael. All he wants is the world on a stick but no-one's giving it to him. He's left with no choice but to chuck all of the toys out of his cot until he gets it.

I'd say he's teething.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I was under the impression that Mr O'Leary was somewhat intelligent. His comments are very uneducated and quite entitled. Expects to drive into the city centre? Ban all privately owned vehicles from the city centre I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭markjbloggs

I was under the impression that Mr O'Leary was somewhat intelligent. His comments are very uneducated and quite entitled. Expects to drive into the city centre? Ban all privately owned vehicles from the city centre I say.

And I assume you are educated enough to understand the concept of irony....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭2RockMountain

It's in this section:
    "That's all we need in Dublin is more blooming bicycles,"Mr O 'Leary told the Creative Minds conference this morning. In a country where it rains about 250 days a year, the way forward for Dublin is, more bicycles. Let's just go back to walking all together. Soon we'll be living in caves designed by Dublin City Council. Traffic won't work, there's nowhere to park the cars and yet this is a smarter way forward. We should take the cyclists out and shoot them."

At what point should this type of rhetoric qualify as hate speech. He may be a wind-up merchant, but unfortunately it's people not quite as intelligent as he is that will keep this garbage in the back of their minds when behind the wheel. I've long ago lost my sense of humour when it comes to this subject. If it were possible to modify the to add "chosen method of transport" to the hatred clause, I'd be all for it..
    Unlike equality legislation, this particular Act is not limited to specific groups. If it incites hatred, it is illegal, as far as I can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

If he's trying to be ironic, he hasn't done a very good job of it. Of all the posters in this thread that posted something similar, you chose my post? Why?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

If he's trying to be ironic, he hasn't done a very good job of it. Of all the posters in this thread that posted something similar, you chose my post? Why?
    Leave it out, the pair of you - no need to get personal and if it continues we will act accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Vincenzo Nibbly

Unlike equality legislation, this particular Act is not limited to specific groups. If it incites hatred, it is illegal, as far as I can see.

I'm no lawyer but the first section of the Act - Interpretation - seems to define it as:

"hatred” means hatred against a group of persons in the State or elsewhere on account of their race, colour, nationality, religion, ethnic or national origins, membership of the travelling community or sexual orientation;"

...so it would seem limited to those groups alone.

However I know I'm not the only cyclist to have a 'special feeling' about good carbon. Could it be argued that this falls somewhere along the sexual orientation spectrum?! Don't try to tell me who/what I can love! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,175 ✭✭✭buffalo

I'm no lawyer but the first section of the Act - Interpretation - seems to define it as:

"hatred” means hatred against a group of persons in the State or elsewhere on account of their race, colour, nationality, religion, ethnic or national origins, membership of the travelling community or sexual orientation;"

...so it would seem limited to those groups alone.

When I'm on my bike, I'm travelling, so I guess as cyclists we're members of the travelling community?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

m%20oleary%202.jpg

How can one man have so much money and look so shyte ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,952 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Just discussed on The Last Word. The first argument out of some eejits mouth representing the SFA was that they don't even pay road tax or tax on petrol (Joe).

Who now, the aviationists?

The Convention on International Civil Aviation (ICAO) (Chicago 1947) exempts air fuels from taxation.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aviation_fuel#Tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Michael loves a bit of controversial publicity and has said that it creates a jump in Web traffic and sales. He's generally been very quiet in recent times however.

Michael makes a point though. Not everyone lives in a place were they can cycle to work or indeed take public transport to work whether it be because of distance, physical ability, the time they start and finish work (shift work) or as he pointed out, the weather. We get a lot of rain in our great little Country. Of course he made that point and "MOL'd" it to generate some headlines.

I could post screenshots from this site as far back as 2002 with people saying they will boycott ryanair and they will go Bankrupt with their attitude. Now all that time later they have record pax numbers, >100 million per year and will shortly announce their biggest ever annual profit.

Cycling infrastructure should of course be invested in and encouraged but not at the hinderence of affecting other transport options because of the reasons I pointed out earlier.

Also in response to a comment I saw here. Aviation fuel is not taxed because aviation infrastructure is generally funded by aviation bodies and not through tax payers money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

IngazZagni wrote: »
    We get a lot of rain in our great little Country.

We have a bizarre preoccupation with the rain. I'm not sure why. It's rarely as bad as we like to make out (I commute daily by bicycle and I could count on one hand the number of times I've felt the need to don full rain gear over the last few months), and even if it were a monsoon we wouldn't exactly dissolve. And it's worse when you are in a car in the wet anyway, the already congested and slow moving traffic somehow manages to be much worse, if such a thing were possible.
    IngazZagni wrote:
    Cycling infrastructure should of course be invested in and encouraged but not at the hinderence of affecting other transport options because of the reasons I pointed out earlier.

I'm not a great fan of cycling infrastructure quite often, but I can see the appeal of it in some cases. What the likes of O'Leary choose to wilfully ignore and not engage with is that cycling is a perfectly reasonable mode of commuting for many, and the more that adopt cycling the less the pressure on the roads generally.

There are indeed many people that have to rely on a car to commute (though O'Leary isn't one of them, it's not like he couldn't afford to live closer to his workplace, it's a choice in his case so he should address his whinging to himself), the roads are more than capable of accommodating those people *and* more cyclists. The two are not mutually exclusive despite what some of the vocal critics would like people to think. Instead of shouting down those in favour of cycling such people should engage with them and discuss options, I can't see any other route to a broadly acceptable solution.

In the meantime dicks like O'Leary will just stoke the fires of all the existing irrational arguments in yet another despicable act of mindless self-promotion at the expense of people he clearly cares nothing about. I guess he has made a successful career of stomping on the rights others, why would he develop a conscience about anything now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Just discussed on The Last Word. The first argument out of some eejits mouth representing the SFA was that they don't even pay road tax or tax on petrol (Joe). He also thinks that DCC bend over backwards for cyclists.

In fairness, although he was an eejit, he did say motor tax, not road tax.