Season 6 Episode 2 "Home" thread "Non book readers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

probably just wanted to wrap their "invasion", which tbh i thought was a large series of raids rather than an occupying force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,696 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Ramsay is great. As soon as the news came in that the baby was a boy I thought to myself Ramsay is gonna do them all in. I was thinking there'd be some more slow setup and some kind of an evil plot and we'd eventually see it happen towards the end of the season. A few seconds later he just kills Roose in front of everyone. HE WAS POISONED, OK? You have to hand it to the guy, he gets shít done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

PressRun wrote: »
    Also, did Ramsey mention that the Umbers were going to be on his side in the north? Are they not the family that girl that's with Bran is from?

He said the Bolton, Karstark and Umber armies together would be enough to maintain order in the north and everyone would fall into line.

Bran mentioned the Umbers could be trusted so either he was wrong or we could see a Stark, Umber, Tully (I think they're nearby), the eyrie, knights watch, wildlings, Reed army taking them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

He said the Bolton, Karstark and Umber armies together would be enough to maintain order in the north and everyone would fall into line.

Bran mentioned the Umbers could be trusted so either he was wrong or we could see a Stark, Umber, Tully (I think they're nearby), the eyrie, knights watch, wildlings, Reed army taking them on.
    Meera is a Reed. The umbers were featured in the 2nd series by the actor who used to be in Casulity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭PressRun

duploelabs wrote: »
    Meera is a Reed. The umbers were featured in the 2nd series by the actor who used to be in Casulity

Ah, I see. I'm get easily confused by all the peripheral families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Just watched it now. Well holy gawd... that was a lot to take in! Nearly forgot about the Iron Islands. It felt like they were shoehorning in a new character for the sake of it.

Ramsay Bolton is far beyond Joffrey in terms of evil - he loves no one but himself. Michael McEllhatton must have been pissed turning over the page of his script and finding out his (Roose's) fate. Must be weird as an actor, going on chat shows and talking storylines, and turning up for premieres with a broad smile while knowing your character is no more. Many have done it already and no doubt plenty will in the future!

Arya's story is in a state of flux at the moment and its difficult to stay interested right now. Hopefully, events at the Wall, Kings Landing and The North build towards huge battles. Meereen has potential but they'll have to bulldoze that dungeon to let those dragons out!

I get the point regarding bringing people back to life is a bit silly - its a cheap plot device and does nothing for those not to keen on fantasy stuff. I'm sort of like that myself, but there is just so much going on in this show that you accept that one or two character will have some funky powers.

Jon snow was the worst kept secret in TV for a long time - the scene was a bit thin in intensity but we'll soon get over that when he gets back to cracking a few white-walkers over the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

I find it weird that the Karstark lad would go unflinched seeing Roose being killed , thought they would have preferred the more predictable Roose at the helm insted of Ramsey. But maybe Ramsey leading the defeat of Stannis won over them over. Remember Roose just wanted to play safe and withstand a seige. This might have swung the umbers too and they might give up Rickon if thats where he went , we'll see next week by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

"I'm here to help."

"Don't kill the help."

:D:D:D:D Yay Tyrion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Ramsey is the new Joffrey, be nice to see him get killed in whatever fashion, slowly and with fire hopefully :)

Also, is Theon the King of the Iron Islands now?

Ramsey and Joffrey are similar alright, but only in so far as they're both sadistic psychopaths, the biggest difference though is that Joffrey was a coward but I think Ramsey is too insane to even feel fear. Also another thing I love about Ramsey is that he's sort of calmly insane, Joffrey done a lot of bitching and shouting whereas Ramsey has this menacing calmness about him, both great characters in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭leonil7

how many times before they learn, don't mess with the giant!
    mxmd9g1b96xru9j6g.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

I know every man and his dog new Snow would be coming back but it will be interesting to see how Jons resurrection will effect his personality, will he be the same? I doubt it, there has to be some sort of consequence to coming back.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,413 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Meereen has potential but they'll have to bulldoze that dungeon to let those dragons out!

Well they got them in somehow, so I presume there's another exit for them than just the stairs and door that Tyrion came in through. I reckon they'll get out through that other exit and rejoin Daenerys, which will convince the Dothraki to follow her rather than sending her back to the old widows home.

Is anyone else starting to get p*ssed off by the lighting on the show? There are scenes that are nearly invisible on my TV they're so dark. It's not a problem I have with anything else I watch, so it's not the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Id say he'll come back with blue eyes and they'll have to burn him. Melisandre loves burning people, might cheer her up a bit she looks awfully depressed these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭PressRun

I thought Drogon would rescue Danerys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Zaph wrote: »
    It's not a problem I have with anything else I watch, so it's not the TV.

The light is dark, it's not your Telly!

Couldnt resist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Hey Roose?

Rob Stark sends his regards....

He had it coming. Ramsey the MVP of that episode anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I know every man and his dog new Snow would be coming back but it will be interesting to see how Jons resurrection will effect his personality, will he be the same? I doubt it, there has to be some sort of consequence to coming back.
    I remember the guy who Thoros of Myr resurrected ~6 times said that each time he died be lost a bit of himself. We'll have to see how that pans out for Jon, I guess.

Also, not that Jon is one to shirk his duty, but since he technically died does that mean he's free of his oaths to the Night's Watch? I can't see him going elsewhere considering what he has seen, but who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭DANNY2014

Had it recorded since last nite jus finished now and all I can say is jaysus that is all

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

leonil7 wrote: »
    how many times before they learn, don't mess with the giant!
    mxmd9g1b96xru9j6g.jpg

Wun Wun AET means sudden death.

I find Ramsey immensely boring. You always know what's going to happen with him.Torture, murder, yaaaaawn. Rats Bolton was a much more interesting character. Great voice too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 119 ✭✭DublinBust

Zaph wrote: »
    velo.2010 wrote: »
    Meereen has potential but they'll have to bulldoze that dungeon to let those dragons out!

Well they got them in somehow

Yes when they were much smaller.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 119 ✭✭DublinBust

Vojera wrote: »

Also, not that Jon is one to shirk his duty, but since he technically died does that mean he's free of his oaths to the Night's Watch? I can't see him going elsewhere considering what he has seen, but who knows?
    Add your reply here.
    That is the general idea, yes.

^^^lol posting is so broken on this site still^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

They really upped the quality of the Children of the Forest's look...

PF4gMU2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

J. Marston wrote: »
    They really upped the quality of the Children of the Forest's look...

yep, a darker, more mature look.

fits in nicely with my belief that CoTF = bad guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Hopefully he becomes a complete and utter bastard (pun intended) and causes all sorts of misfortune for the people who wanted him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

No two ways about it,I thought that was an epic episode!Most especially after last week's fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

God just when you think Ramsey have hit peak evilness he goes a stage further! I feckin love it! The missus was watching it with her hands over her eyes :D She hasn't been the same watching GoT since the Red Wedding.

TBH I expected the Zombie Jon Snow moment, they were denying too strong that he was coming back.

Shame Roose is gone though he was one of my favourite characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Yep, a bit like everyone. Delighted they didn't string out the John Snow return.

Ramsey is better then Joffrey in so far as he's much more calculating and fearless.

They are building up the mountain brilliantly. I really hope the scene where he is left off the leash is good.

Great scene with Theon and Sansa too.

Tyrion/Dragon scene was great. And interesting to here.how it is all going titts up now.

Have no love for this Iron Islands craic but at least it's better then Dorne.

Davos is probably the best character in the show now. Apart from the clunky scene of him asking for John to be brought back Liam Cunningham has played him brilliantly.

All in all for me anyway back to its best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Anyone else think Melisandre was going to have to have here wicked way with Jon to resurrect him???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,570 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Didn't expect Roose Bolton to die

Hope Ramsey dies in the sickest way possible

So what now for Jon snow ?? Will he kill his killers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Was it Arya of whom Sansa was querying of whilst in conversation with Brienne?Brienne obviously didn't mention she'd disposed of the Hound.

Surely it's got to be set up that Reek/Theon Greyjoy will kill our wonderfully charactered sadist friend Ramsey Bolton given his own torture at his hands?Poetic justice at it's finest...