Whats the most useless piece of technolagy that you ever bought?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

sonofenoch wrote: »
    A weather station....could read the difference in temperature inside and out, amazing

I've that in the dash of my car :cool:

Fcuk knows why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

dubgurl wrote: »
    The camcorders with the tiny cassette tapes, should have got the DVD type camcorder. Now the camcorder is broken and have no way to recover the cassette tapes, as they never thought of manufacturing a device to read the tapes!

There's an adaptor you can get it's basically a full sized cassette with a compartment in the centre, the mini one pops into it and you can pop it into the VCR then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Bambi wrote: »
    Is it a sidewinder force feedback? Do you still have it?

People will pay good money for them still, they were discontinued about 15 years ago but they're one of the most highly regarded joysticks in the simming community.

It was the official Microsoft one. Anyway sold on EBay about 10 years ago in a big clear out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Joined the MD revolution as well and then used it a couple of times and left it. As everyone said MP3 players came out soon afterwards and I got an Arcos model that made it obsolete.

Got a Sony Ericsson Xperia Play with the idea I could play a few games on it and never used it for that purpose. As a phone it sucked with a really ****e battery life. It was the worse phone I have ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

dubgurl wrote: »
    The camcorders with the tiny cassette tapes, should have got the DVD type camcorder. Now the camcorder is broken and have no way to recover the cassette tapes, as they never thought of manufacturing a device to read the tapes!

Emmm of course they did. It was a full VHS size tape with a little pop up flap that the small tape slipped into.

You can buy them on eBay.

https://www.ebay.ie/ulk/itm/281907699305

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭12Phase

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Tefal Actifry chip maker. Made nice chips. After a few weeks, there was a smell of burning and the thing never worked again. Same happened my father in law's one

Refund!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

My sister got one of these Medion Wifi Extenders from Lidl, it turned out to be a piece of rubbish with gobbledeegook instructions where English definitely wasn't the first language.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Track IR (head tracking thing for PC games)... what a useless piece of overpriced shite.

GPS tracker.

Not much else, don't buy much tech really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I had a mini disc player and it was great. It ended up being used on a tour around Ireland and a mini tour of the US including SXSW as a backup device.

The most useless thing I bout was the Bazooka/Scope thing for the SNES.

How dare you slag anything to do with the snes. You are obviously a sega fanboy ya loser. The mega drive was like the ford escort to the snes' Aston Martin sports car.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

timthumbni wrote: »
    How dare you slag anything to do with the snes. You are obviously a sega fanboy ya loser. The mega drive was like the ford escort to the snes' Aston Martin sports car.

eh, no. I had a snes to go with the scope. it's just the scope that sucked.
    I still have my N64 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Psp. Broke after 2 days. Useless bastàrd contraption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,401 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

One of the first Sony digital cameras, the storage medium was a floppy disk.

sony-digital-camera-with-floppy-disk_112687.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

My sister got one of these Medion Wifi Extenders from Lidl, it turned out to be a piece of rubbish with gobbledeegook instructions where English definitely wasn't the first language.

Who has not got one of those ************** from the centre aisle at Lidl, that turned out to be a piece of rubbish? Cheap for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    eh, no. I had a snes to go with the scope. it's just the scope that sucked.
    I still have my N64 :)

So do I. And my snes, GameCube, and in fact the snes is working as good as the day it was bought. Unlike my much younger 360 that got the Microsoft 3 red lights AIDS and died after 4 or 5 years.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Emmm of course they did. It was a full VHS size tape with a little pop up flap that the small tape slipped into.

You can buy them on eBay.

https://www.ebay.ie/ulk/itm/281907699305
    Grand if the camcorder was a VHS-C type, as there were also ones that used 8mm or moreso Mini-DV in later years.

I think most of the mini-DV camcorders also had a USB port for transferring to PC though.

Most useless tech I bought that I can think of atm, was a relatively cheap (at the time anyway) Bluetooth earpiece thing from Argos. It didn't fit in my ear right, was annoying. Never really used it at all in the end.

Most expensive useless tech that was pretty useless in the long term, was a Sega Saturn. Was very hard to get games for the bloody thing, and many looked pretty crap. Ended up just buying a PlayStation some months later.

I got a Sony MiniDisc player for Christmas in 2000. I loved it. I got about 6 years of almost-constant use out of it until something to do with the latch on the battery door failed and it won't stay closed now.

The worst thing I've ever bought would have to be a set of wireless Sony headphones. Used them for a bit until the sound fvcked up in them. Have to press and move the volume scroll until sound appears on both sides. Very irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭line console zero

A flight stick and throttle. Used for 2 evenings until I reverted to the Xbox controller as it was much better. Sold a few weeks later at a 30% loss.

As for minidisk's I loved my md player, excellent sound quality, no skipping and very versatile. A shame they lost out to the bulky cd walkmans that skipped when walking and the iPods which were riddled with tech problems and forced you to use iTunes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

they are pretty good once you get them working though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

AMKC wrote: »
    I will start for me it was a Sony minidisk player. This is going ay back to the early 00s. I new a lad who had got one and he said it was great seemed to be easy to use and looked good too. I decided to buy one for myself. Do you think I could get the fecking thing to work no not a hope. As it turns out they were not around very long anyway before being replaced by other technology.

So what useless piece of technology have you bought?

I will second this. Forked out a load of money for one as a naive teenager and think I managed to make one bastardin disc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Penis enlarger :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

irish son wrote: »
    Penis enlarger :o

Didn't need it huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I believed in minidisc - my friend was going to buy an iPod I convinced her mini disc was the way to go...

I even had a hifi with a mini disc player!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

Olishi4 wrote: »
    Probably one of those digital photo frames. I hardly ever turn it on.

I bought one of thise about 10 years ago. Its on almost every day. Great buy.

The not so great buy was a juicer that cost me the guts of a grand and was used twice for some nasty carrot juice.....left idle for a year.....sold on ebay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

major bill wrote: »
    Spent big money on an Apple Watch, dont think it's quite useless but as costs go it is definate something I bought that I simply cannot justify

when asked ''what does it do'' I can't give an answer :o

lol, it really is a piece of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I bought a flesh light, used it about twice and never used it again, do you recon I could sell it on adverts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

J Mysterio wrote: »
    lol, it really is a piece of ****.

I have a huawei watch and not one day has passed since I bought it that I haven't used it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I got a Sony MiniDisc player for Christmas in 2000. I loved it. I got about 6 years of almost-constant use out of it until something to do with the latch on the battery door failed and it won't stay closed now..

Duct tape. Analog fix! :)

A car I bought about 10 years ago had a MD player stereo. Even though I was a MD user, I didn't want it, so negotiated €150 off the price to let the seller keep it.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Ipod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

CD Walkman - big, bulky and always skipped when you walked with it.

I also had a minidisc player - but alas it was stolen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

A Raspberry Pi. I'm not saying it's a useless piece of technology but I'm not quite sure why I bought one. Luckily I sold it on eBay and didn't lose too much money on it.

A remote control helicopter. The little chopper is nice and it does fly. Sort of.