Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Kelly should not be allowed play for Clare again after that red card. Absolute dirt and height of stupidity.

Heard that said plenty of times before today aswell! Great win though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

It was totally against the flow of the game as well, I don't think there was a dirty blow in the whole game, great advertisement for the game.

If anyone is looking for me I'll be in the pub :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Well done to the Banner. Delighted for them and especially Gar Brennan. For all the hype and media bluster we constantly hear about Mayo's Aidan O'Shea he wouldn't lace this man's boots.
    Delighted too for manager Collins, a genuine football man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

washman3 wrote: »
    Well done to the Banner. Delighted for them and especially Ger Brennan. For all the hype and media bluster we constantly hear about Mayo's Aidan O'Shea he wouldn't lace this man's boots.
    Delighted too for manager Collins, a genuine football man.

:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭irish coldplayer

Kelly should not be allowed play for Clare again after that red card. Absolute dirt and height of stupidity.

The thing is as soon as I saw him coming on I instantly thought he could do something stupid/crazy and get sent off.
    His track record is atrocious, I was surprised to see Collins even gave him yet another chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

great win last night in croker , heads still not functioning properly Saturday nights in croke park have been kind to us in the last few years

great all round performance and great to see the younger lads take to croke park like a duck to water , also great for the likes tubridy , enda coughlan gary brennan kevin hartnet shane mcgrath and martin mcmahon to pick up a winners medal in hq , they have been caring the can though some lean years in division 4 and great to see them get rewarded last night

going forward , last night confirmed that we will not be out of place in division 2 next year ,and with a fairly young team the future looks bright at the moment but we wont be a major threat to the big two in munster just yet although a couple of years more at a higher level might change that

i think i could run a thread on its own dedicated to some of the stuff that lad has done on a football field ,

the funny thing is there was a call from some areas in the local media for kelly to get more games from the start early this year , crazy stuff his brother gordan has been fantastic down through the years for clare but greame has been nothing short of a tinker he should have been banned long term several times especially after his headbutt on john miskella in 2011 and the sad thing about it he has gone to do a hell of a lot worse sense and got away with it

while the footballers were wining in croke park the hurlers were prepaareing for next weeks division 1 final against waterford with a challenge in cloyne against cork

word on the street is it's being dubbed the battle of cloyne :pac: ,cork almost full strength won on the score board 1-26 to 1-13 not sure who won the war but we did finish the game with 14 men

the clare team although was closer to the line up expected for the intermediate game against waterford next month rather then senior good work out none the less i hear

[JOFAX2.jpg[/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭BannerBarry

I didn't expect such a game would be that friendly! Do we know who was sent off and was it 2 yellows or other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Hibrasil

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Basically, the idea is that Clare get 6 points added onto their score. So if they are beaten by 5 points or less, then it's a winning bet.

If it they lose by 6, it's classified as a draw.

Thanks Fireball07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Gael85

Congrats to Clare footballers. A well deserved win for a great group of players. When CC took the job Clare football wasn't in a great place. Superb achievement to gain promotion twice in 3 years and even more remarkable when they haven't won at minor/u21 level like Tipperary. The younger players like Jamie Malone, Eoin Cleary,Pierce Lillis, Cian O'Dea and Keelan Sexton are good footballers who play with no fear. Delighted for Gary Brennan and David Tubridy in particular for their years of service to get some silverware. The only sour note was Graham Kelly sending off. Let his teammates and county down AGAIN. Should never been seen in Clare jersey again. Podge kicked at a inspirational point when came on and goals came at the right time and fair play to Cleary holding his nerve to kick winning score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭crazyguy01

Regardless of opinion about the "renovations", nice to see good crowds out for the last few games in the park.
    Is it just back to the club games now or did the stand upgrade mean any additional big games in town?

crazyguy01 wrote: »
    Regardless of opinion about the "renovations", nice to see good crowds out for the last few games in the park.
    Is it just back to the club games now or did the stand upgrade mean any additional big games in town?

on grounds of health ant safety the hurlers could'nt hold home advantage in munster as the capacity was reduced to 14000 , it has been restored back to just over the 20000 mark so from next year on they will be able to host munster championship games at home again

they also have secured the u21 football final between mayo and cork on saturday evening , they must find away to increase the seating arrangements though at the moment it is just not good enough

Gael85 wrote: »
    Congrats to Clare footballers. A well deserved win for a great group of players. When CC took the job Clare football wasn't in a great place. Superb achievement to gain promotion twice in 3 years and even more remarkable when they haven't won at minor/u21 level like Tipperary. The younger players like Jamie Malone, Eoin Cleary,Pierce Lillis, Cian O'Dea and Keelan Sexton are good footballers who play with no fear. Delighted for Gary Brennan and David Tubridy in particular for their years of service to get some silverware. The only sour note was Graham Kelly sending off. Let his teammates and county down AGAIN. Should never been seen in Clare jersey again. Podge kicked at a inspirational point when came on and goals came at the right time and fair play to Cleary holding his nerve to kick winning score.

last years minor team was fairly strong unlucky in losing to eventual runners up tipperary by a point in thurles . o'dea keelan sexton and lillis were all on that team as was one or two subs , i would expect one or two more from this years minors to put there hands up in the next few years too and make a big impact

shane mcgrath is caring an injury all year ,martin o'leary has been out since the sligo game in the first round , alan o neill and damien burke transfered over from intermiedate/u21 hurling panel's and have had there problems with injuries too but all would be huge additions to the squad if they can become available for the championship

as for kelly :mad: , watch podge's reaction to it (before the red card is shown) says it all , ridiculous stuff

last years minor team was fairly strong unlucky in losing to eventual runners up tipperary by a point in thurles . o'dea keelan sexton and lillis were all on that team as was one or two subs , i would expect one or two more from this years minors to put there hands up in the next few years too and make a big impact

shane mcgrath is caring an injury all year ,martin o'leary has been out since the sligo game in the first round , alan o neill and damien burke transfered over from intermiedate/u21 hurling panel's and have had there problems with injuries too but all would be huge additions to the squad if they can become available for the championship

as for kelly :mad: , watch podge's reaction to it (before the red card is shown) says it all , ridiculous stuff

Would Courtney from Eire Og or Hanrahan from Doora Barefield be in contention next year? Alan O'Neill has been unlucky with the injuries .

dont know whats gone wrong with eire og , they had a number of lads on the panel up to last year , had a bad championship they did win the 21s at the end of the year which courtney played in , i would expect to see more from him and one or two more from eire og but they would need a much better showing in the club championship this year though , davey o halloran is another that has been out with injury

hav'nt seen hanrahan yet but heard he is descent , i take it is is james's son?
    o'neill would be a great option in the full forward line when you think the havoc brennan caused kildare

dont know whats gone wrong with eire og , they had a number of lads on the panel up to last year , had a bad championship they did win the 21s at the end of the year which courtney played in , i would expect to see more from him and one or two more from eire og but they would need a much better showing in the club championship this year though , davey o halloran is another that has been out with injury

hav'nt seen hanrahan yet but heard he is descent , i take it is is james's son?
    o'neill would be a great option in the full forward line when you think the havoc brennan caused kildare

Not sure if James son. Speaking of Eire Og players. Darren O'Neill playing with St Olaf's in Dublin now. Saw him play recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭crazyguy01

on grounds of health ant safety the hurlers could'nt hold home advantage in munster as the capacity was reduced to 14000 , it has been restored back to just over the 20000 mark so from next year on they will be able to host munster championship games at home again

Thanks, I knew I had heard some talk like that a couple of months back but was wondering what became of it.
    Would be great for next year...

Not sure if James son. Speaking of Eire Og players. Darren O'Neill playing with St Olaf's in Dublin now. Saw him play recently.

the first of many if you ask me , there are so many lads up in dublin now that clubs down here are starting to train with neighboring clubs just to make up numbers for training alone , its only a matter of time before lads get sick of making multiple trips up and down the M7 on a weekly/monthly basis and decide to play with a club up there

its inevitable that clubs will be left with no choice but to amalgamate with neighboring clubs in the near future

darren was always a player i felt could have offered more to the county had he been giving more chances not too sure if colm was gone on him he didnt get much of a look in in the last couple of years

crazyguy01 wrote: »
    Thanks, I knew I had heard some talk like that a couple of months back but was wondering what became of it.
    Would be great for next year...

pending the draw for next years championship they are hoping to stage a first round game there which would be great , there is not that much more then 20000 attending games at that stage of the championship anyway so it would be a realistic target , dublin in 2012 was the last big championship game in the park , a win which got the ball rolling for 2013 and tony making his debut that day too

on days like that the atmosphere is excellent just a shame about the seating arangements

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

pending the draw for next years championship they are hoping to stage a first round game there which would be great , there is not that much more then 20000 attending games at that stage of the championship anyway so it would be a realistic target , dublin in 2012 was the last big championship game in the park , a win which got the ball rolling for 2013 and tony making his debut that day too

on days like that the atmosphere is excellent just a shame about the seating arangements

The Wexford drawn game was a big game as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭letowski

Seem to be stuck again for backs on Sunday. Ryan, Browne and McInerney are ruled out while Flanagan has a concussion. Morey I think has just returned though.

letowski wrote: »
    Seem to be stuck again for backs on Sunday. Ryan, Browne and McInerney are ruled out while Flanagan has a concussion. Morey I think has just returned though.

There are worse reports emerging on the clarepeople sports twitter page regarding one of our main forwards too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

There are worse reports emerging on the clarepeople sports twitter page regarding one of our main forwards too

Whos that?

Warper wrote: »
    Whos that?

They are reporting that John conlon is not only out but will miss the club championship game against kilmaley in two weeks time and would be only touch and go for the munster championship game next month, ankle injury they are reporting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Reports are that some big player with a concussion will be left out even though hes rearing to go himself. Who is this - sounds bad like a McGrath or Kelly

Warper wrote: »
    Reports are that some big player with a concussion will be left out even though hes rearing to go himself. Who is this - sounds bad like a McGrath or Kelly

Was looking for that at the time when I stumbled across the John conlon story, no-one has reported it yet, one of the lads here are saying it's Paul Flanagan whether it's him or another player I don't know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Conlon out is a massive blow. Has been very influential in the last 2 games.

Going to have plenty missing for the weekend again unfortunetly.

Bit of a joke that Derek McGrath comes out and says that we are the best team in the country. We were in division 1b this year and barely have a championship win to our name since 2013 while they won league last year, made the all Ireland semis and are back in the league final again. Silly mind games going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Conlon out is a massive blow. Has been very influential in the last 2 games.

Going to have plenty missing for the weekend again unfortunetly.

Bit of a joke that Derek McGrath comes out and says that we are the best team in the country. We were in division 1b this year and barely have a championship win to our name since 2013 while they won league last year, made the all Ireland semis and are back in the league final again. Silly mind games going on.

Waterford favourites with the bookmakers and rightly so in my opinion. Not that I am being over confident here but we have to expect to be as we are coming from Div 1A,are reigning league champions and have only lost to Dublin this year. Yes it is utter bulls**t what these interviews throw up,Shanahan was at the same thing earlier in the week. At the end of the day it fools absolutely nobody as both sets of players and mentors don't believe a word of it and those comments aren't worth the paper they're written on. I stated on the Waterford page that I think we'll win on Sunday given yer injuries and lack of games played by Tony Kelly and Podge but I would be very fearful for the championship game in 5 weeks time if they're all back fit. Nothing between both teams at the moment on paper but both sides at full strength I'd be siding hesitantly towards Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

cul beag wrote: »
    Waterford favourites with the bookmakers and rightly so in my opinion. Not that I am being over confident here but we have to expect to be as we are coming from Div 1A,are reigning league champions and have only lost to Dublin this year. Yes it is utter bulls**t what these interviews throw up,Shanahan was at the same thing earlier in the week. At the end of the day it fools absolutely nobody as both sets of players and mentors don't believe a word of it and those comments aren't worth the paper they're written on. I stated on the Waterford page that I think we'll win on Sunday given yer injuries and lack of games played by Tony Kelly and Podge but I would be very fearful for the championship game in 5 weeks time if they're all back fit. Nothing between both teams at the moment on paper but both sides at full strength I'd be siding hesitantly towards Clare.

Pretty much sums up my thoughts anyway. Don't think Sunday's game is going to be too pretty. Plenty of bunching of imagine. Wouldn't worry about Tony kelly lack of game time. He is always been very fit. Backs are our main issue with our lack of players but I'd imagine seadna morey will come into the team.

Waterford by 4 for me anyway unfortunetly.