Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Will that team actually start?

i doubt there will be too many changes , its too risky to chance some of the key players with injuries , i would almost be against the inclusion of podge , dont think he is fit enough , and to be fair most of what is starting has acquitted themselves fairly well in the last few weeks against limerick and tipp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

i doubt there will be too many changes , its too risky to chance some of the key players with injuries , i would almost be against the inclusion of podge , dont think he is fit enough , and to be fair most of what is starting has acquitted themselves fairly well in the last few weeks against limerick and tipp

Has he done any hurling? Not what I was expecting, we'll see what they can do but having seen the teams actually think Kilkenny will win. Both sides missing a lot.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I think you have to start Podge, it's been so long since he's played any game to expect him to come on into a game and get straight up to speed would be next to impossible, at least he'll be able to get up to speed with the rest of them and if he isn't up to speed there's no harm to pull him ashore at half time.

Has he done any hurling? Not what I was expecting, we'll see what they can do but having seen the teams actually think Kilkenny will win. Both sides missing a lot.

only a small bit with the club not 100% sure ,would prefer to see colin ryan back in and let reidy or galvin take podge's role , when i heard earlier in the week just how much kilkenny were missing i could'nt help but feel that the main event is probably going to be between waterford and limerick in the double header

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭BannerBarry

Game on lads! I didn't expect such a score after 23 minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭MfMan

Give it to them!

Wake me up from this pleasant dream. 3-09 to 7 points.. unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Ah here. What's going on :). Aaron Cunningham can't do anything wrong today.

I'll buy Aaron and all the lads a pint if they keep that performance going in 2nd Half. Kilkenny rattled. Clare 1/5 on now by Paddy Power! Some change from my post a week ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

Great result..Played with great passion again..though we did win more than our fair share of 50/50s today and some of the Kilkenny shooting was terrible at times...great to win and could of won by more ! Roll on the Summer !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Must be favourites for the all Ireland now!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

There'll be sour pundits who will sooner put that down to how poor Kilkenny were than how good the Clare lads were, but that was a cracking 70 minutes from each and every one of them. Dillon, Galvin, Cunningham, all superb today. Up the Banner! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Up the Banner

Great performance. Hopefully the start of good tidings for this year !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Congrats. Great win and a great bet. I fancy a repeat of 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,570 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Well done lads, Clare fully deserved the win today. Ye were much better than us, and ripped our full-back line apart.

Clare were very intense and looked really strong, along with having the skill to go with it. Hopefully ye can carry it into the championship.

Best of luck in the League final :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭blackcard

Clare totally destroyed us today, made us look very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭letowski

Very heart-lifting performance from Clare today, probably our best since the Tipp league game in 2014. Some standout performances from Dillon, Galvin, Cunningham, McGrath and Conlon. I thought our 2 young half backs, Cleary and Fitzgearld had great games. I liked how Davy used them up field to win puckouts and drop Galvin back in front of the backs. Davy I think deserves alot of credit for his gameplan today. Good to see alot of competition for places now, we started today without 7 starters v Cork last year. Need to push on now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,240 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Big change from the nervous performance against tipperary 2 weeks ago. Some superb displays of skill determination and hard work.

Congratulations to the players and management. Let's keep the momentum going for the final and the championship

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Akrasia wrote: »
    Big change from the nervous performance against tipperary 2 weeks ago. Some superb displays of skill determination and hard work.

Congratulations to the players and management. Let's keep the momentum going for the final and the championship

Seems like Donal Og's influence is helping. They seemed to have taken the shackles off today and weren't afraid to play long ball with a bit of smarts. Great to see it. Conceded too many scores though. Good to see Kelly back in action also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Congrats, better team by far on the day, if anything the scoreline flattered us. Ye looked very well drilled and like a team who knew what the plan was. We were made look very slapdash in comparison.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

if conlon is starting in the full forward line i would nearly stick with him , but then again my betting tips on this over the years would nearly leave a person homeless at this stage !!! :rolleyes:

I didn't think we'd boss things as much as we did, I also really didn't expect the KK full back line to be as bad as it was, I didn't get fist goal scorer but my other bets on the game came through (no aftertiming) so a great day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Clareman wrote: »
    I didn't think we'd boss things as much as we did, I also really didn't expect the KK full back line to be as bad as it was, I didn't get fist goal scorer but my other bets on the game came through (no aftertiming) so a great day

Apparently there was good money on McGrath to score more than 3 points. The bookies were giving even money on it... They didn't spot Colin Ryan and Bobby Duggan weren't starting!

Figerty wrote: »
    Apparently there was good money on McGrath to score more than 3 points. The bookies were giving even money on it... They didn't spot Colin Ryan and Bobby Duggan weren't starting!

First score of 5/1 to be a Clare free was a great bet, as was Aaron to be Man of the Match (22/1), handicap bet of evens for +3 was a great 1 also. I did lose out on first goal scorer and winning margin but a great day at the office.

got the performance we were looking for , question is why dont we see more of it , dont think kilkenny were expecting us to be so direct which is why we probably wont get away with a similar performance should we meet in the summer , we will have to show the same level of fight to get past waterford , they will need no motivation to get one over fitz ,

taught oisin o'brien was outstanding again today on ritchie hogan , galvin and reidy were superb as was david fitz in the middle , honan had a fine first half too , if there would be question marks after that performance how many of them first half goals would we had got had say paul murphy being marking john conlon , also leaving a small man like paul flanagan on walter for the full game caused us problems too ,

we still need david mac as a full back in my opinion , dillon played well as sweeper but patch was out of place undre the high ball in full back

cunningham and conlon have got to be placed ahead of o'donnell in the full forward line now surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Congrats Clare people because as Waterford people it's not often we see Kilkenny getting that sort of a trimming! As for the final lets not kid ourselves and think it will be shadow boxing for the 5th June! It will be anything but,there's silverware on offer,a national title and one that both counties will want to win.
    The tactics will be fascinating,how will ye try to isolate John Conlon on Barry Coughlan? Will McGrath try to do the same with Shane Bennett on Dillon? Some fantastic match ups, and as I wrote previously on the Waterford page,I think with yer injured players to come back and Tony Kelly getting some game time today I would think ye will just shade it but it will be close. Leave the Munster championship game look after itself,this one has the makings of a cracker.

cul beag wrote: »
    Congrats Clare people because as Waterford people it's not often we see Kilkenny getting that sort of a trimming! As for the final lets not kid ourselves and think it will be shadow boxing for the 5th June! It will be anything but,there's silverware on offer,a national title and one that both counties will want to win.
    The tactics will be fascinating,how will ye try to isolate John Conlon on Barry Coughlan? Will McGrath try to do the same with Shane Bennett on Dillon? Some fantastic match ups, and as I wrote previously on the Waterford page,I think with yer injured players to come back and Tony Kelly getting some game time today I would think ye will just shade it but it will be close. Leave the Munster championship game look after itself,this one has the makings of a cracker.

before today we were saying that we should concentrate on june and not the league , but to be fair for either clare or waterford this is a huge game in two weeks time ,

waterford are very well organised in between both 45's and knocked over some great scores from distance there is no doubt that the losing manager is going to say that june is the objective but this game is too big to lose for either county now,

Figerty wrote: »
    Seems like Donal Og's influence is helping. They seemed to have taken the shackles off today and weren't afraid to play long ball with a bit of smarts. Great to see it. Conceded too many scores though. Good to see Kelly back in action also.

conceded too many scores but kept the discipline , i think that is somethiing they are trying to work on , big problem for me was we were slow making any defensive changes near the end , bugler and david fitz from inagh looked very tired there probably no need to bring on colin ryan or shane o'donnell at the time , tony is still not fully fit ,as it stands i would be very happy to start with the same team again the next day and have a strong bench to work with after that

Great that we finished with 15 players again, we're in a final now, we have to do everything in our power to win it now. If we play like we can play and like we played yesterday, I don't think anyone can cope with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Chillax all, only the league. Will anyone give a damn in June if we lose the first round that we are league champions?
    I would start the younger players, try some new things and see what happens, we need a few aces up the sleeve for June so leaving Kelly on the bench etc. is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,283 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

buck65 wrote: »
    Chillax all, only the league. Will anyone give a damn in June if we lose the first round that we are league champions?
    I would start the younger players, try some new things and see what happens, we need a few aces up the sleeve for June so leaving Kelly on the bench etc. is correct.

The league final cud be a bad game with both teams going half arsed trying not to expose there plans for the championship game.

U guys generally scare me when ye click and if ye stay in yesterday's form no team will stop ye.