Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How's lambing going for ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Jack180570 wrote: »
    Enjoy the beers John, that is an exceptional result.. what breed are they?

Suffolk or Suffolk cross. Most would be very Suffolk black faced ewes... Nice quiet, dozy, thick Suffolks :)
    razor8 wrote: »
    You deserve the beers. But come on "happy enough" you say, that's an exceptional result from scanning time

Yes - exceptional result from scanning. Lots of doubles.

I feel I should add this was an exceptional year in terms of scanning for us - normally we'd only have about the 1.7 lambs / ewe. For the ewes this year, we were over 1.9

(The fact that the ewe lamb scan rate was 0% makes up the high ewe scan rate I guess) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭arctictree

I had 2 singles from 30 ewes! And one of these abandoned her lamb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

arctictree wrote: »
    And one of these abandoned her lamb.

I put a big "C" on their back's. And the C doesn't stand for cull, but she'll end up in the same place as the rest of the C's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Suffolk or Suffolk cross. Most would be very Suffolk black faced ewes... Nice quiet, dozy, thick Suffolks :)

Yes - exceptional result from scanning. Lots of doubles.

I feel I should add this was an exceptional year in terms of scanning for us - normally we'd only have about the 1.7 lambs / ewe. For the ewes this year, we were over 1.9

(The fact that the ewe lamb scan rate was 0% makes up the high ewe scan rate I guess) ;)
    Do you factor in the empties when calculating the scan rate or leave them to one side and just use it across the pregnant ones ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Nearly finished here.4 ewes and a ewe lamb left.All were marked dry at scanning but will lamb before end of month.
    Nice feeling to gather up the culls(9) and shift them to the factory.One put out roll pre lambing and then aborted 2 rotten lambs,4 lambed down with no milk,1 went dry outside after a week,1 with mastitis and 2 dry ones too old to bother keeping.

Overall an average year with a good crop but more losses than normal.Most losses were at birth to a day old with a lot of those being a double bearing ewe losing one weaker lamb at birth(born dead)or within a day or two.

Had 60 bought in ewes along with my own and they went ok with a goodly amount of trebles and 4 quads.Bit softer than my own so rather more work with them.
    No fox losses (I think!!) and about 20 ewes with lambs still loose in sheds and 7 in pens still.

Time to think about cleaning out sheds for next year!!

As regards scanning rate I always count in all the sheep ie dry ones,anything that died between scanning and lambing etc.
    Using different criteria can skew figures eg.
    100 ewes to ram.
    scan 99 with 30 single/55 double/10 treble and 4 dry(170)
    lamb 97. lose 1 treble/one double(165)
    let out 155 lambs(155)
    sell 152 lambs(152)
    Depending on where you take each figure(ewe .lambs) rate would vary.See fellows quote rate using scanned lambs divided by ewes lambed which would give 1.75 above.I usually measure it as lambs let out divided by ewes to the ram for lambing rate or lambs found by scanner divided by amount of ewes scanned for scanning rate.
    A lot of dry sheep/losses can skew figures a good bit and some people forget that the most important thing is total lamb sales minus costs.Anything else is paperwork exercise.

Well - after a good enough lambing, I went out this morning, and found one of the dry hoggets after hanging / choking herself in sheep wire... :( :mad:

Sickening... :(

Well - after a good enough lambing, I went out this morning, and found one of the dry hoggets after hanging / choking herself in sheep wire... :( :mad:

Hard luck there John, sometimes I'd swear sheep spend their day going around looking for a way to die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Hard luck there John, sometimes I'd swear sheep spend their day going around looking for a way to die.

hard luck john, wonder was she run into the wire, any dogs around
    Yea, had 3 cases of tetany last week, even though the hi mag buckets were out,
    John fagan said on the indo that he had four the one morning.......at least it was only one trip to the knackery for him....as opposed to three for me
    Last week was a tough week on them

rangler1 wrote: »
    hard luck john, wonder was she run into the wire, any dogs around
    Yea, had 3 cases of tetany last week, even though the hi mag buckets were out,
    John fagan said on the indo that he had four the one morning.......at least it was only one trip to the knackery for him....as opposed to three for me
    Last week was a tough week on them

She wasnt run in...

The wire was on top of a ditch, and twas old, poor wire... There was some ivy the other side of the wire... So she got up on the ditch, stuck her head in, and then, kept pushing, til she lost her footing on the ditch / the wire went, and basically managed to hang / choke herself :(

Some days when things go smoothly you think " I'm a ok farmer" , then you get others when one thing after another goes wrong and you end up questioning whether you "know your ass from your elbow ". And not having the answer.
    Had a huge lamb here yesterday, couldn't get it out for ages. Head hugely swollen. Leg back, was alive but dead by time I got it out. Don't know if ewe will ever be right after amount of pulling, Crap feeling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Some days when things go smoothly you think " I'm a ok farmer" , then you get others when one thing after another goes wrong and you end up questioning whether you "know your ass from your elbow ". And not having the answer.
    Had a huge lamb here yesterday, couldn't get it out for ages. Head hugely swollen. Leg back, was alive but dead by time I got it out. Don't know if ewe will ever be right after amount of pulling, Crap feeling.

Ewe always get better if she has a lamb to look after. Still they are surprising green. Give her a bit of ivy, bit of meal and use a prolapse strap if u have one to ensure she doesn't throw the insides out. Also worth giving her a painkiller injection from vet. Hope she gets better for you.

That's a sickner john.

Picked up a lamb today that was let out at the weekend. Sometimes you'd wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭razor8

Picked up a dead lamb in field today, caught mother and she had mastitis on one side, normally you would find a hungry lamb beside mother but in this weather they have no chance

Took the ewe lamb into the dead animal place there - 15euro.

sea12 wrote: »
    Ewe always get better if she has a lamb to look after. Still they are surprising green. Give her a bit of ivy, bit of meal Hope she gets better for you.

Just give ye an update lads, on the ewe that lost her lamb the other day after a hard lambing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭tom_k

Took the ewe lamb into the dead animal place there - 15euro.

That must be the cheapest knackery price in Ireland - not that it's ever cheap. €20 delivered around here, €30 collected.

tom_k wrote: »
    That must be the cheapest knackery price in Ireland - not that it's ever cheap. €20 delivered around here, €30 collected.

I was expecting 20, but she kinda took pity on me I'd say ;)

Had a ewe lamb this morning with 2 lambs. Both lambs can't stand up straight. They keep flipping over. It's like they are swaying or something writing with their right back hip. Luckily they are big enough to suck the ewe on the flat.
    It's like they are deficient in something.

Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Swayback. Copper deficiency in ewe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

I have a lamb who is about 2 weeks and is very stiff when walking and standing. No sign of leg problems just stiff. Any ideas.

Joint ill ?

Willfarman wrote: »
    Swayback. Copper deficiency in ewe.

Yes I was thinking about that myself as a possibility. It's the only lambs that are affected though. You'd image all ewes would be deficient. Will give the ewe copper cobalt dose and see

Just in from checking ewes - one of em dead...
    Not sure what happened her - not caught in anything, she isn't on her back, no sign of a struggle or anything like that...

Great sheep too, always had nice lambs, great to mind em...

Sickening :(

Just in from checking ewes - one of em dead...
    Not sure what happened her - not caught in anything, she isn't on her back, no sign of a struggle or anything like that...

Great sheep too, always had nice lambs, great to mind em...

Sickening :(

It's always the good ewe, never the troublesome one your always threatening to get rid of. Had one here two days ago, catching her 3 week old lamb will be fun. Quiet probably grass tetany. Put out of your mind and move on. Drive you crazy otherwise.

Wouldn't have thought tetany - they were in the same field with the past 2 weeks - will be moved out tomorrow...

I thought tetany was caused by fresh grass - so given they were in there 2 weeks would rule this out? Am I wrong?

That's what I'm putting mine down to anyway. Big change in temperature and growth over the days also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

lost one here too, she had a good pair of twins too :( at least now we've one for the dept to do their test on

That's what I'm putting mine down to anyway. Big change in temperature and growth over the days also.

So does everyone have mag buckets out or what do ye do?

I've a mag bucket out. Suppose it's dependant on all the ewes licking it regularly. Mine don't seem to like the taste of the himag one as much as the regular one,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,918 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Lambing going ok in terms of losses so far, but a real struggle to put condition on with very poor grass growth, paddocks getting badly poached around ring feeders etc. and now a serious wind chill as heavy hail showers and a strong Northly wind kicks in. Only the oldest lambs out at the mo as the lambing shed gets pounded again with another squally wintery shower - what a year of weather misery its been in the West!!:(