If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Too old?

• 15-04-2016 09:30AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭

How much would you think is too big of an age gap for a relationship? Do you think factors such as lifestyle/maturity can negate this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

@The Young Wan - PI/RI is not a forum for general discussion. Is this a personal issue for you? Otherwise, I will close or move this thread somewhere else.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

dudara wrote: »
    @The Young Wan - PI/RI is not a forum for general discussion. Is this a personal issue for you? Otherwise, I will close or move this thread somewhere else.

dudara

Yes, personal issue to me at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭tcif

I don't think there's any simple answer to this because there are so many variables involved. Yes, lifestyle and maturity affect it (I wouldn't say negate it) but so do other factors. Life stage is a big one - the ten years between 20 and 30 make a much bigger difference than they would between 30 and 40. The 20 years between 30 and 50, while still a big gap, matter a lot less then than they will at 50 and 70. Then you consider overall general health, whether or not you intend having children, whether or not you think the relationship is a long term one or you're just interested in the here and now, what other factors matter to either of you....

Personally, I've never considered more than a 10-12 year gap, I think that's about as much as I'd consider workable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭Addle

It depends...
    Are you male/female?
    What kind of age difference are you referring to?
    What ages are you?

I'm 24, he's 35. We had a first date last night, it went pretty well. When the topic of the gap came up, he said "I don't know, you just seemed to carry yourself as older than your birth cert says, but I don't know how that would come across to others."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭timmy880

Depends on the stages ye are at.... If the factor is just age then I don't see the issue. I was with a lady who was 20 years older than me and it was the best relationship I've had (lasted 3 years). We need a bit more info on what the situation is here

timmy880 wrote: »
    Depends on the stages ye are at.... If the factor is just age then I don't see the issue. I was with a lady who was 20 years older than me and it was the best relationship I've had (lasted 3 years). We need a bit more info on what the situation is here

I'm doing a Masters, he's a freelance videographer.
    Met on Tinder.
    He's quite sporty, does half marathons 2x a year, I'm a booknerd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭tcif

I'm 24, he's 35

I don't think that's a problem
    he said "... but I don't know how that would come across to others."

This might be, if he's worried about what other people think already....I mean, it's not like you're 17!

tcif wrote: »
    This might be, if he's worried about what other people think already....I mean, it's not like you're 17!

To be fair, the main problem I can see it coming from would be friends of mine (ironically, one is in a nine year age gap relationship) or the uber Catholic side of my family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

You're both adults so screw what everyone else thinks.

biko wrote: »
    You're both adults so screw what everyone else thinks.

I like your school of thinking.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

To be fair, the main problem I can see it coming from would be friends of mine (ironically, one is in a nine year age gap relationship) or the uber Catholic side of my family.

Where in the Catholic teaching does it specify that a 9 year age gap is wrong?

If this develops into a relationship and you both like each other, are good to each other and take care of each other then what objection can your family make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Idle Passerby

That doesn't seem too eyebrow raising a gap to me. Depends more on what you both want in the foreseeable future and whether those plans are compatible. I don't know what Catholicism has to do with age gaps, nothing I imagine. I suspect you just mean your parents might have an issue with you going out with an older guy but your a grown up, it's none of their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

That's barely an age gap at all. I finished my leaving before my girlfriend started school and it's doing us no harm. And two half marathons a year is not indicative of different approaches to life nor is it a particularly time consuming level of sportiness, so no gap there either. If you're going well together, keep going and in a few months your respective ages will seem a nice little quirk of the relationship that you can laugh about but otherwise forget, like me and herself do when I mention being at Italia 90 and she says "tell us another story about it Grandad" :o)

That doesn't seem too eyebrow raising a gap to me. Depends more on what you both want in the foreseeable future and whether those plans are compatible. I don't know what Catholicism has to do with age gaps, nothing I imagine. I suspect you just mean your parents might have an issue with you going out with an older guy but your a grown up, it's none of their business.

That's likely where most of the animosity could come from. Traditional, Irish catholic family.

But, I might be getting ahead of myself. Nothing may come of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭KikiDee

I've never been in this situation but when my parents got together, there was a 13 year age gap. This was in old Ireland so talk about uber Catholics?? Simple as, the heart wants what the heart wants. It's only been one date so far so don't stress too much about age just yet. See how ye get on and if it's going to progress. If anyone has an issue with the age gap (which they shouldn;t coz it'll be your business), ye can deal with it together if that's how it progresses.

I like your school of thinking.

Realistically, it should be the only school of thinking. You're both consenting adults. Who cares? You're always going to get naysayers. Hell, the fact you met the guy on Tinder would probably be the bigger issue (people are weird!) A family member met their now-husband (and father of their children) on a dating site and at their wedding they joked about meeting online. You could see a few of the older people tutting silently to themselves.

Are you happy? Are you confident enough in yourself and the possibility of this going somewhere that the naysayers wouldn't get to you?

Realistically, it should be the only school of thinking. You're both consenting adults. Who cares? You're always going to get naysayers. Hell, the fact you met the guy on Tinder would probably be the bigger issue (people are weird!) A family member met their now-husband (and father of their children) on a dating site and at their wedding they joked about meeting online. You could see a few of the older people tutting silently to themselves.

Are you happy? Are you confident enough in yourself and the possibility of this going somewhere that the naysayers wouldn't get to you?

A very good point. God help the mother when I tell her we met on "Tindling".

Yeah, I think last night seemed to have gone well, and we made plans to meet again when we've finished travelling around (we'll be at opposite ends of the country for two weeks with work/placements). Only a very early day, but I'm hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

It's all down to how well you get on. From my own experience I regret going out with 30 to 32 year olds when I was 23-25. Personally looking back it would have been nice to date guys a similar age to me at the time. The reason I say that was because they wanted to settle down, get married and have kids and there was arguments relating to that. They also carried a lot of baggage from their previous relationships and that clouded the relationship.

Those guys are now in their mid 40s and still single. Whereas looking back I miss that I didn't just date more care free fun guys in their 20s and enjoy the time!! That's obviously my personal experience but something to consider and what you want from dating someone and what the other person wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

Ive always found the divide by 2 and add 7 rule of thumb to be reasonably accurate.....so if you are 20, 17 is kinda as young as you should go....and for 35 then its 24.5....so in terms of that you are just about ok ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

What does being Catholic have to do with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

To hell with what anybody else thinks.

It comes down to both of you.

Typically, a 24 year old and a 35 year old are at different life stages and may want different things but that isn't always the case. Once you feel that it's an equal, balanced relationship then why not give it a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭Lavinia

Do you feel he is too old for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

It only matters when you look at what you want in the next 5 years. Both my cousin and best friend met guys that were 8 years older than them. Them 25, himself 33. My cousin just had a baby were her partner, they are both very settled quiet people, she isn't what one might call a typical 25 year old. They want the same thing now, it works!

My best friend however got restless with her boyfriend's routine of playing pool in the local pub, just having a pint there and not wanting to go into town for dinner or nightlife, which she still did. She then wanted to go travelling, he had been there done that and was more interested in looking at houses to buy and then wanting kids, so they went their separate ways.

The actual number does not matter in the slightest. My dad married a woman 10 years older. They are divorced now because they both had drink problems and started becoming toxic to each others recovery but they really love each other are still friends and if they got together again as pensioners I would not be one bit shocked.

If you want the same things in life, it'll work. It's why any relationship works. Myself and my fiancé plan our future cuddling in bed at night, we talk about our wildest dreams and how we vsn fulfil them. You can have that with someone, no matter what age they are.

Good luck!

Lavinia wrote: »
    Do you feel he is too old for you?

No, when we met the other night the age gap didn't even occur to me.

CaraMay wrote: »
    What does being Catholic have to do with it?

Ok, I'll try and break it down. My parents are very traditional Irish Catholic people. Both of their mothers had roles in the church, they both still attend mass every Sunday (my Dad goes as far as to seek out a church when we go on holiday).

My last boyfriend was four years my senior, and I think it made my mother a little uncomfortable before she met him. Bear in mind, when I met him I was 19.

I think it's just that they have the very traditional view of relationships and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭tara73

Ok, I'll try and break it down. My parents are very traditional Irish Catholic people. Both of their mothers had roles in the church, they both still attend mass every Sunday (my Dad goes as far as to seek out a church when we go on holiday).

My last boyfriend was four years my senior, and I think it made my mother a little uncomfortable before she met him. Bear in mind, when I met him I was 19.

I think it's just that they have the very traditional view of relationships and all that.

yes, so they have their views, and you have yours. you are not a younger version of your parents, you are an independent person with your own mind, always keep that in mind.

so the question, as somebody else simply asked, is, what do you think ? it doesn't matter what others think, it only matters what you think. are you feeling comfortable with him and the age gap?
    if yes, go for it. If you feel there are too many obstacles, let it be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

Mammys just like to protect you, but they gradually let go.

At 19, mammy sees you as still a child. At 24 its different and mammy is thinking of wedding and grandchildren (she won't say it, but its normal)

So at 19, she doesn't want you "tied down"

At 24, the thought process is different.

35/24. no big issue. She will be more interested in how he treats you.

She'll also want to know "what's wrong with him that he's single at 35"

Join OMGWACA on Facebook - its all about memmehs and deddehs and aisling and very funny / friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Those guys are now in their mid 40s and still single

There's nothing wrong with being mid 40's and single.

As concerns the OP, go for it.
    The only issue I can see here is that you might have an issue with it, so you need to deal with that before getting in too deep

VincePP wrote: »
    Mammys just like to protect you, but they gradually let go.

At 19, mammy sees you as still a child. At 24 its different and mammy is thinking of wedding and grandchildren (she won't say it, but its normal)

So at 19, she doesn't want you "tied down"

At 24, the thought process is different.

35/24. no big issue. She will be more interested in how he treats you.

She'll also want to know "what's wrong with him that he's single at 35"

Join OMGWACA on Facebook - its all about memmehs and deddehs and aisling and very funny / friendly.

Oh BGB doesn't take very well to blow ins. . .