Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunbathing, Swimming Naked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

The thing is that it's not usually strangers either, it's friends trying to get an embarrassing pic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

That's why Jesus gave us a backup.
    And kept them in a handy little bag for safekeeping. Pity 'twas left hanging from a nail over the door.

I wouldn't get into a pool after my cousin was in there with his junk on the loose. I don't want to be hillbilly pregnant by his pool sperms. I know how these things work, you know.

Don't mind skinny dipping but wouldn't risk it if there was a phone anywhere within a 1km safe zone. Not that I'm that interesting to look at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yup, I love being naked.

As regards being naked around gay men, couldn't give a damn tbh.

I've trained with gay lads over the years, I'd have shared sauna's and showers with 'em, and tbh if they're getting their jollies off because there's a straight man in their company well fair f*cks to 'em because if I happened to share a naked sauna with some chicas you can bet I'd be pole vaulting home on my nob!.

Swimming naked and feeling the ol' todger dangle about it nice too.

Boards beer n' naked swim? We could make this a thing....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

smash wrote: »
    Boards beer n' naked swim? We could make this a thing....

Sounds like an idea! Any opportunity to go nude is good.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Candie wrote: »
    I don't want to be hillbilly pregnant by his pool sperms.

Good lord. :pac:

Everyone knows than even men can get pregnant from jacuzzi's!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It has been said in folklore that some men can get pregnant just thinking of smash in the nip in a jacuzzi or by being in a 2 mile radius of someone thinking about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    It has been said in folklore that some men can get pregnant just thinking of smash in the nip in a jacuzzi or by being in a 2 mile radius of someone thinking about it.

Yes, it happened to my friend's cousin.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

:eek: That's why everyone was staring at me.

that username,in this thread

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:pac:

smash wrote: »
    Everyone knows than even men can get pregnant from jacuzzi's!

Not if you're standing up though.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Id feel uncomfortable if people could see my privates and its all I would be able to think about while Im publicly nude so I doubt Id enjoy the nude swimming tbh.

id love it if I was on a deserted island though

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Yeah I was once nude in a Jacuzzi in Prague with 4 beautiful women. We were chatting away and having a great time. I was in heaven until a load of fat middle aged men jumped in. It kind of ruined the fantasy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's on a slight tangent but what is it with Irish people and using a sauna? In continental Northern Europe the sauna is part and parcel of a holistic view of health and well-being. It's sociable as well. It's also an activity that is carried out in the nude.

Not so for Patrick and Petula Prude from Ireland. A towel wrapped around the waist like there's something to hide.

I was at a conference last year with 3 colleagues of mine. We were using the sauna in the health suite of the hotel we were staying in and catching up on what we thought of the speeches, discussions and breakout groups during the 1st day of the gathering.

In walks this peevish looking man with a large towel wrapped around him. He shuffles off into a corner; his eyes giving us the occasional fleeting glimpse. You could tell that he was probably from Ireland or the UK. Chicken legs, hairy back, beer belly, towel wrapped around his waist like a deviant.

The whole thing made my colleague, Stefani, feel very uncomfortable and she used a wonderful German saying to indicate that she thought he was 'interfering' with himself. Why else would he wear a towel in a sauna?

I headed over to the guy and told him that wearing a towel in the sauna was weird and was making the other users feel uncomfortable. He muttered an apology in a strong Munster accent and skuttled out of their very quickly, glasping the towel around his midsection as he did so.

Bizarre behaviour.

I'd go to a sauna if you were there nude Aongus.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Later this year myself and Mrs naughtysmurf will be somewhere very hot & sunny, I'd expect we will be nude about 90 percent of the time, we have rented a place that's private & the local beaches are clothing optional, it's really not a big deal, I won't have a constant erection, don't expect to see an erection, won't be staring at others whether nude or not, just doing what most people do on a beach anywhere, chillin', sunbathing, reading a book, listening to music, swimming.

I can understand the younger generation, although I'm not that old, being wary of camera phones etc, if someone want a pic of my sad ass, they can have it LOL but I think that for many, the older you get the less you worry about it, you get to a point where the mortgage is done or nearly done, kids raised or nearly raised & you just think ah feck it I don't care

Doing normal stuff nude on a beach isn't sexual, sensual maybe, not a card carrying nudist by any means, just too cold & wet here but when hot & sunny in an area where it's acceptable, it's grand, most people pretty much look the same anyway, average

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I'd go to a sauna if you were there nude Aongus.

I would say his body is in peak shape.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,034 ✭✭✭✭Esel

I won't have a constant erection, don't expect to see an erection, won't be staring at others..

Other's erections?

A glance is OK - staring is just rude.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

wakka12 wrote: »
    Id feel uncomfortable if people could see my privates and its all I would be able to think about while Im publicly nude so I doubt Id enjoy the nude swimming tbh.

id love it if I was on a deserted island though

I'd be the same. I'd probably be too conscious and feel like I had to constantly avert my eyes. You'd be saying to yourself "don't look down, don't look down....shiit I looked down" ha. There's a lot of people that I don't want to see nude and I don't think I'd feel the sense of freedom that the op feels but each to their own. And yea it might be fun on an isolated island alone with your husband.

Doing normal stuff nude on a beach isn't sexual, sensual maybe, not a card carrying nudist by any means, just too cold & wet here but when hot & sunny in an area where it's acceptable, it's grand, most people pretty much look the same anyway, average

No it is definately not sexual. There was a woman in the show Big Brother last year who went around the house in only a thong. She went in as a porn star dominatrix. It obviously added shock value at the beginning but the novelty wore off quickly with housemates and viewers basically saying "would you just put on some clothes". She had a fairly good body and all but the constant exposure and doing normal stuff, I think took away any sexual association with her nakedness.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Esel wrote: »
    Other's erections?

A glance is OK - staring is just rude.

Was just trying to make the point that generally speaking, on a normal clothing optional beach, erections are extremely rare, just doesn't tend to happen, staring at anyone anywhere is rude, for first timers, the nudity novelty wears off after about twenty minutes, once you've seen it, you've seen it, no biggie, seriously, then it just becomes a normal beach

You will sometimes get the odd sad voyeur or exhibitionist but you can get them on any beach, clothing optional or not

Olishi4 wrote: »
    I'd be the same. I'd probably be too conscious and feel like I had to constantly avert my eyes. You'd be saying to yourself "don't look down, don't look down....shiit I looked down" ha. There's a lot of people that I don't want to see nude and I don't think I'd feel the sense of freedom that the op feels but each to their own. And yea it might be fun on an isolated island alone with your husband.

It's not like that at all though, it really just becomes the norm, when everyone is naked it is a great leveller and you barely notice.

I remember once walking along the beach and all of a sudden im in a section where there is more togged people then nude, I felt so exposed and it was awfull .. couldn't get out of there fast enough.

People say naked people make clothed people uncomfortable - its true also that clothed people make naked people uncomfortable :)

I also remember a story about that photographer chap who takes photos of crowds of people naked, he was in some city square and when everyone was naked the atmosphere was great, all easy going and free - no staring no intimidation etc.

However toward the end some men who had gotten dressed hung around, and the atmosphere completely changed, the women started to feel really threatened covering their breasts and vaginas.

Again makes a huge difference when the majority are naked - takes the sexualisation out of it.

Was just trying to make the point that generally speaking, on a normal clothing optional beach, erections are extremely rare, just doesn't tend to happen, staring at anyone anywhere is rude, for first timers, the nudity novelty wears off after about twenty minutes, once you've seen it, you've seen it, no biggie, seriously, then it just becomes a normal beach

You will sometimes get the odd sad voyeur or exhibitionist but you can get them on any beach, clothing optional or not

+1, Never saw or even came close to getting an erection on one of these beaches - and I was really nervous the 1st time going as there are not just older
    people in these places, you have young 25-30 year old beautiful women there too - but didn't even come close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

+1, Never saw or even came close to getting an erection on one of these beaches - and I was really nervous the 1st time going as there are not just older
    people in these places, you have young 25-30 year old beautiful women there too - but didn't even come close.

Reminds me of the time I was on a nudist beach in Thailand.

Up comes this beautiful young Thai girl, probably about 18 years old and stark naked.

I was thinking to myself 'Don't get an erection right now, PLEEEASE don't get an erection'. Then to my horror ~ 'she' did :mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Being nude in the company of others is a great leveller. Distinctions between say a neuroscientist, a policeman and a bin man all disappear. Also, people seem to shed their aggression a and insecurities when in the nude.

All in all, being nude is great. It's a pity that not everyone swims and sunbathes in the nude. I feel that the world would be a better place if they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Yea clothing is pretty optional in our house. Never when sleeping. Often not in the garden in the summer. Jacuzzi. Whatever. Not that we particularly _dislike_ clothes of anything - but they generally come off - or fail to go on - whenever possible.

I have noticed in the summer however that our insanely religious neighbour suddenly develops a love of astronomy. Though what stars and planets he expects his telescope to find in the day time - predominantly around the area of our garden - I have yet to work out.

What is there to pick up on exactly? Nudity, swimming, and so forth is just that. Regardless of whether you are doing it with strangers - partners - friends - or family.

So what relevance would his sister even have for us to pick up on? I am not getting it.

Tetchy. Forget I ever wrote that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭OU812

Event been to a nude beach or nude swimming in years (lack of opportunity, but enjoyed it immensely when I did. Also did the Spencer Tunick thing a few years ago & that was fun.

Tetchy. Forget I ever wrote that.

Just a genuine inquiry nothing more :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Once your on the beach or wherever for five minutes you wonder why you never did it before. I have been sunbathing in the nip for years and it is a wonderful way to relax. in fact if you have any issues or worries about your body etc you will find the naturist area to be far less intimidating and accepting to be honest. everyone should try it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I'm in my nip a lot around the house. I've never sunbathed naked but I have had plenty of nudie swims.

Remember there 3 or 4 years ago we had 3 weeks of incredible summer weather? I spent all day in the river and would go back by myself for a bit of no-pants night-swimming later on.

It wasn't a very big swimming area but was just perfect for lazing around. It did occur to me though that if I drowned my Ma would've been scarlet about her naked, dead daughter. There would have been uproar! :pac:

Haven't swam naked since then. It's too cold!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Once your on the beach or wherever for five minutes you wonder why you never did it before. I have been sunbathing in the nip for years and it is a wonderful way to relax. in fact if you have any issues or worries about your body etc you will find the naturist area to be far less intimidating and accepting to be honest. everyone should try it

Exactly. And anyone who thinks it's in any way sexual should spend 5 minutes watching the over 75's beach volleyball match. Any thoughts like that will be well cured by then.