Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From minutes to miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Well done Laura! That's some time for the last mile :cool:. Deffo on the comeback train now, choo choo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Brilliant going and so delighted for you. Great to read report that you were good and strong and super mile times as a result. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

I think that period of injury was just a story made up for boards ;). Nice race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

annapr wrote: »
    are you kidding... i've been going backwards since October :p

Terenure is a possibility though, I have more exams and weddings in May, I must check all these dates. They get in the way of running :)
    Darren 83 wrote: »
    Well done Laura, brilliant result.

Thanks Darren, great to be back at it. Gives me something to focus on now. Good luck in Trim.
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Well done Laura it was a tough one I struggled in all the same places as you good to see you after Terenure a good few months away will be a good one to aim for.

I know, the avenue felt like it went on for ever!! Definitely, time to pick a target and something to aim for. Well done yourself, plenty of time to tick off those goals now, the graduates plan will be great.
    Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Well done Laura! That's some time for the last mile :cool:. Deffo on the comeback train now, choo choo :D

Choo choo indeed. Hopefully never making a stop at PF Station again :eek:
    aquinn wrote: »
    Brilliant going and so delighted for you. Great to read report that you were good and strong and super mile times as a result. Well done.

Thanks. I was happy with how the body felt alright. Onwards and upwards!
    I think that period of injury was just a story made up for boards ;). Nice race!

Ha, I wish.....trust me - nobody would choose to wear that night sock if there was no reason :rolleyes::cool: Good luck with the calf niggle, hopefully the swimming is keeping you ticking over.

Monday - Rest
    Tuesday - Rest
    Wednesday - Football
    Thursday - Rest
    Friday - 20 mins
    Saturday - Rest
    Sunday - 38 mins

A very very low key week. It was a step back week anyway and after the race on Sunday I decided to take the following two days off. The foot had a small bit of discomfort after the race that evening and into Monday morning, nothing major and about as much as I would have expected. I think this is where I have to be a bit smarter than I was a few months ago and learn to back off a small bit when needed to hopefully keep me ticking over in the long term. By Tuesday everything felt fine again and good for the rest of the week. Tough but enjoyable game for football and a short and easy 20 mins for Friday. Took the longer run back to 38 minutes today and spent it around my favourite spots in St. Anne's. The legs felt great and I really enjoyed this one. A very quiet and extreme step back week but I feel the better for it and ready to move on again now. Plus after the couple of days off I was mindful of not backloading the end of the week before pushing on again a bit this week.

Last week:

Monday: Squash
    Tuesday: 35 mins
    Wednesday: Football
    Thursday: 50 mins
    Friday: Rest
    Saturday: Intervals
    Sunday: Rest

Happy enough with last week. I swapped my long run to the Thursday to accommodate a few bits and I really enjoyed it. Was tiring a bit in the last few minutes but felt very good overall. On Saturday I finally made it down to the meet & train session of my local running club. I wasn't sure what to expect and after a few exercises, drills and warm up jogs we got started. It ended up being roughly 200 metre intervals. The instruction was to run them at a hard but steady pace to leave enough to still push a bit towards the end. We did 7 in total with walk back recoveries and a cool down after. Didn't bother with the watch so not sure how much I did overall. I found these challenging and reckoned the fact they were into the wind and on grass as the cause for leg sapping. It was good to do add a bit of speed stuff again and push myself like this again.

Within a couple of hours though I found myself stricken with full blown lurgy my OH has been afflicted by for the last week or so. Could also explain the lack of energy in the legs at the morning session!!! So I'm not expecting much from the start of this week at minimum. Disappointing as I was looking forward to building on last week. It's a proper nasty cough though so would be silly to try running until I'm a bit better.

Happy running folks :cool:

Hello log... :o

The few weeks after my last post did not go well. Ended up with a proper chest infection, off sick for a week, dosed up to the high heavens and running was out of the question - could barely talk, laugh, move or even breathe deeply without having a coughing fit. Between that, recovering, going on a planned skiing trip just when I got better and then getting sick again when I got home it was the guts of 4 weeks with no running. Very disappointing and I usually wouldn't take so much time off with being sick but this was the worst I've been in ages. I was very conscious of trying to get rid of it fully given it was on my chest and not just a cold thing. Felt like I was going back to basics again a bit but it is what it is......

I did do the Castlehaven parkrun in early March as my one run around that time and it was gorgeous. If anyone is down that direction it's worth checking out, set on trails around a lake in a forest park, stunning. A bit of a challenging course and not the best one after a few weeks break, some sections were quite steep (bits with steps and a railing at the side :rolleyes:) so I went nowhere fast, even took some walking breaks on the steep bits and appreciated the scenery taking a photo or two. I really embraced the tourist part of parkrun tourism :D It's close to where we go visiting family every few months so I'll definitely be back to give it a proper go when I have a bit of fitness, especially now I know what to expect!! I've spent the last couple of weeks getting back into a routine which has been good, quick catch up as follows

Sat 12/03: St. Anne's parkun 29.35

Mon 14/03: 21 mins
    Thu 17/03: 30 mins
    Sat 19/03: 30 mins
    Sun 20/03: 33 mins

Tue 22/03: 30 mins
    Wed 23/03: 30 mins
    Thu 24/03: 40 mins
    Sat 26/03: Sligo Parkrun 28.47 (more tourism and a nice course, enjoyed this)
    Sun 27/03: 30 mins

No football/squash recently and no speedwork yet, just easy runs and going by time instead of mileage still. Happy to be getting back into it again and will look to start adding some speed stuff too. The foot/PF is still "there" a bit but manageable so will continue to keep an eye on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    The foot/PF is still "there" a bit but manageable so will continue to keep an eye on that.

Do your exercises! Go on go on go on go on go on go on go on :pac::pac::pac:

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Do your exercises! Go on go on go on go on go on go on go on :pac::pac::pac:

I've the foot on the sliotar as I type while studying with my book balanced on my knee. Multi tasking....and I wonder why I'm always tired....nearly feckin midnight already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Good to see you back Laura terrible dose going around alright just getting over it myself havent been out running for 10 days back to it this eve hopefully. Good luck getting back into it.

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    I've the foot on the sliotar as I type while studying with my book balanced on my knee. Multi tasking....and I wonder why I'm always tired....nearly feckin midnight already

You'll end up an even worse croc at that rate. Very bad for posture. Laptop should be on a height, arms distance away and no balancing book on knees, put the book under the laptop :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

You'll end up an even worse croc at that rate. Very bad for posture. Laptop should be on a height, arms distance away and no balancing book on knees, put the book under the laptop :)

:D:D:D:D

you forgot to mention that she had not football or squash recently.. very remiss of you!

great to see you back at it Laura!

Firedance wrote: »

you forgot to mention that she had not football or squash recently.. very remiss of you!

Am not allowed mention either since skiing is v dangerous :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Ah, sucks Laura but at least you're back :) The night sock/splint is v v attractive isn't it?! But it works..... Sounds like we're at the same stage of pf and cautiously optimistic it's on the way out?

Looks like you've got some consistency going, long may it last!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Good to see you back at it, Chest infections seem to be a plenty this year and everyone taking real wallop form it,
    good to see running heading in right direction again:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Am not allowed mention either since skiing is v dangerous :(

Every cloud has a silver lining :pac:

Work getting in the way, only getting to do a multi reply!!
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Good to see you back Laura terrible dose going around alright just getting over it myself havent been out running for 10 days back to it this eve hopefully. Good luck getting back into it.

I know, I thought I avoided it all winter as people dropped like flies...no such luck. Hope you're feeling better and back at it yourself!!

No laptop for the study last night. Book balanced on knee for reading while I rolled sliotar :p No posture issues here!!
    Firedance wrote: »

Thanks FD, slowly slowly!!
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Ah, sucks Laura but at least you're back :) The night sock/splint is v v attractive isn't it?! But it works..... Sounds like we're at the same stage of pf and cautiously optimistic it's on the way out?

Looks like you've got some consistency going, long may it last!

Yes....."attractive" - that's the word :D horrible looking yoke but it really does work. You seem to be managing it well enough at this stage, all about knowing limits and what works for you I think.
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Good to see you back at it, Chest infections seem to be a plenty this year and everyone taking real wallop form it,
    good to see running heading in right direction again:)

Thanks G! I know, like MrsMc said too, so much going around. Hope you're focusing on the next target now again
    Every cloud has a silver lining :pac:

No comment :pac:

Another decent week, not in a spectacular training sense but continuing the consistency sense. Dropped back to 4 runs total for the week to try and have them a little rested for the Dunboyne 4 mile race on Sunday and had the "long" (:D) run at the start of the week. Thought about doing something on the Thursday but as it happened I was busy at home and given I was adding faster running for the first time in weeks taking the extra rest day and adding in a different piece of the puzzle seemed like a sensible option.

Monday: 40 mins - Lovely run in Sligo along with the river and through the nearby park. Gorgeous setting, loved this.
    Tuesday: Rest
    Wednesday: 30 mins
    Thursday: Rest
    Friday: Rest
    Saturday: 30 mins
    Sunday: Race

Dunboyne 4 miles

I felt very confident of a PB heading into this. I had a solid 3 week training block behind me, I had tapered with an extra rest day and I had hydrated decently at a work thing on the Friday. Nothing to do with the fact I've never raced a 4 mile before so unless I gave up before the finish a personal best was guaranteed :pac:

In all seriousness I had no idea what to expect. I had planned on doing this a while back and didn't want to miss it and I knew I'd still be capable of giving it a bit of a bash but no clue on what would be realistic to aim for given my weeks off and lack of speedier stuff. Got collected by the D3 bus and was asked what I was aiming for, couldn't give any sort of answer and I had no idea of a race plan. Well organised :rolleyes: I thought maybe if I started with a 9ish minute mile and then took it from there it was as good as a strategy as any. Collected the number and headed for the start with annpr. Jogged down for a bit of a warm up, covering about 3/4 of a mile overall, went to the bathroom again, small bit of loosening out the hip and we lined up alongside what smelt like a lovely burning tyre in the adjacent field.

Mile 1 - 8.32

Off we went with minimal fuss, Anna's goal had seemed it would be too much for me on the day so we wished each other luck as I let her pull away. As expected I didn't see her again until after the finish :p I felt like I settled into a decent pace from the start, seemed I was moving well and had a good rhythm. Coming towards the village for the first time there was great support, a crossroads of cheering and noise, fantastic atmosphere. Got a shoutout from aquinn and murphd here which was nice and then we settled into a quieter part of the route. I suspected I was going too fast for my plan, checking the watch over a minute or two and seeing current pace varying in the low 8 minute mile territory confirmed it!! I slowed a tiny bit but decided to stick with it and see if I could hang on for as long as possible. Coming up the drag towards the flyover/first roundabout the first mile was done.

Mile 2 - 8.28

Coming off the roundabout I was ready to "attack" the course :rolleyes: I had been given prized local knowledge that this was a downhill incline to take advantage of. In reality I'm not sure how much attacking I was doing, I was beginning to feel that my enthusiastic first mile was a bad idea and it was all going to blow up. I had a mental wobble along here, needed to give myself a talking to and do a check - "no legs aren't sore, breathing heavy but not that bad, is there any reason you honestly can't keep working at this pace? Suck it up...." I had been joined alongside by the same friend who appeared at Raheny. We said very little as we were both in the same boat but having some company was good motivation to keep at it. It was a bit exposed here but the wind didn't seem to be right in our faces. Turning off the main roads and back towards the village seemed to be into a breeze. I tried to tuck behind a couple of people but straight away I noticed it was going to curtail my momentum and stride so I decided to go past and take the chance, I was afraid if I slowed along here I'd struggle to get my mojo again. Finished mile 2 stronger and was happy to see the 8.28.

Mile 3 - 8.30

To be honest I remember very little about this mile. As we got closer I could hear the sounds of the village and I remember seeing the runners finishing their lap as we came back towards the village. Looking for the supporters again hoping for a bit of a boost and thankfully there they were, I definitely think I was less smiley this time around :o I was beginning to hurt and the breathing was getting more pronounced. Coming out of the village and turning at the 3 mile marker was a very lonely part of the course. I was still happy with the time on the watch though so knew I was in hanging on territory.

Mile 4 - 8.45

I wanted this to be over. My left calf was tiring, I sounded terrible, I began to feel a bit weak, all I wanted to do was walk. Just for a bit. I always feel ridiculous finding these paces tough, especially when I see that for some it's easy, or recovery - it's all relative I suppose :cool: Someday hopefully! I was trying to calculate the mental maths and battle the internal bargaining "well even if you slow on this mile (I had been seeing 9.xx pace at some points) you would still be ok for sub 36, you would have been happy with that at the start....are you still happy with that?" I hit the 800m mark, which offered limited encouragement, it still seemed so far away, passed Firedance on club duty offering enthusiasm and tried to really dig in at this point to keep the pace up. Heading towards the village I was just focused on the fact there would be support there, the fact everyone around me sounded terrible, and I didn't WANT to see a 9 minute mile, I didn't want to settle for slowing that much. I looked at the watch and saw 33.xx and thought feck that 36, sub 35 might be on here, surely the finish can't be that far away, just go for it. Turned at the crossroads, got a great shout again from the super supporters (no idea what was actually said) and tried to put the foot down as much as I could when I saw the line. Can't even remember who was around me or if there was anyone to catch at that stage, I was just heading for that clock as quick as I could.

Official time of 34.47 which I'm delighted with and the watch had me at 34.30 (no chip timing). Very happy with the day. I didn't feel like I battled with many people on the course, it seemed like either they fell behind once I went past or I couldn't keep up if someone steamed by me. I think it was mostly an internal focus and competition today but it was a good race to remember that hurting feeling, so I'm looking forward to the next already. I did slow on the last mile, the limited training was evident at this point but it could have been worse and I think I gave it a solid attempt overall. Might have overcooked it on the first mile but not too much that I couldn't hang on. I'd heard good things about this race and it didn't disappoint. Nice course, well organised, route wasn't congested, tasty cakes after and the village support especially was great. Travelling support also appreciated!

The last few weeks have been about getting back into the routine so I'm starting a new plan now this week, bring it on!!!!

That's a great time so soon after all the weeks off I think, I'm a bit jealous! Get stuck into the new plan and you'll be setting PBs in no time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

That's a great time so soon after all the weeks off I think, I'm a bit jealous! Get stuck into the new plan and you'll be setting PBs in no time :)

Ahem. That was a PB!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Don't think you went off too fast, nice consistent splits and we all know mile 4 was a bit long. :pac: Well done.

Ahem. That was a PB!! :p

Whoops, I'm in trouble! Sorry Laura, congrats

(I did read the report ...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done Laura. Onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Well done Laura, good race, well done on PB consistently and it all comes together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Super stuff Laura enjoyed that report it was a real mind over matter race for you well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Well done Laura - back training and racing , great to see it. I won't congratulate you on a PB seeing as it was your first 4 miler but it looks like you had to dig deep at times which is a great thing to have done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Well done Laura, sounds like you committed to some pain and it paid off :) Well done and yes, the consistency is key so carry on as you are. Foot ok today? Bit too late for you, but I have found that alternating buckets of iced water with warm/hot really helped stave off an attack after a race or hard effort.

Well done Laura :) glad you enjoyed the route and the post race cakes! you can't beat local knowledge on a race route :)

Well, local knowledge. Was that 500 or 800 m to go? :D

I've congratulated all I can in person Laura, I've to go again? WELL DONE.

Well, local knowledge. Was that 500 or 800 m to go? :D

I've congratulated all I can in person Laura, I've to go again? WELL DONE.

:D:D yeah sorry.... ok SOME of the local knowledge was great, the other part was less great :rolleyes: