Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mega Mk7 Golf GTI/GTD/R thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I got a text from a colleague yesterday saying one of his customers GTD was stolen from Drogheda on Friday night, so seems like they are targeting fast Golfs.

Worth getting a tracker fitted as they are coming down in price all the time so don't cost anywhere near as much as they used to.

Haven't seen anything about track'n'stop since they launched, but that's a really good idea. You can disable the fuel pump from your phone so it can't be restarted after its turned off, and with the assistance of the Gardai it can be disabled while being driven, but only if safe to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

R.O.R wrote: »

Haven't seen anything about track'n'stop since they launched, but that's a really good idea. You can disable the fuel pump from your phone so it can't be restarted after its turned off, and with the assistance of the Gardai it can be disabled while being driven, but only if safe to do so.

Sounds interesting

Is this it?
    http://www.tracknstop.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,550 ✭✭✭JoeA3

It does look interesting alright. What kind of money are we talking about for a system like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,033 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

JoeA3 wrote: »
    It does look interesting alright. What kind of money are we talking about for a system like that?

300e for mine.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

everlast75 wrote: »
    300e for mine.

Cool, not bad. Any details on what it is, how it works, etc?

I'll get more info and post it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭carsfan

The prices and specs for the new gti clubsport are up on the VW UK website now and it's available to order over there.
    It's pricey but looks nice. Too close to an R over there but I really like the new alloys it comes on.
    I wonder if they will bring it in here. Seeing as there has been a big increase in the number of gti/gtd/r sales it would seem logical to make it available

carsfan wrote: »
    The prices and specs for the new gti clubsport are up on the VW UK website now and it's available to order over there.
    It's pricey but looks nice. Too close to an R over there but I really like the new alloys it comes on.
    I wonder if they will bring it in here. Seeing as there has been a big increase in the number of gti/gtd/r sales it would seem logical to make it available

I was reading that too. The prices are mental. There's only a couple of hundred between it and the R. Those bucket seats are a £1400 option! The black roof is 300 odd. You can spec Pretorias with semi slick tyres for 2.5k!!

Apparently limited to 1000 units. Not sure is that 1000 total or 1000 for UK.

unless you want the exclusivity factor (in which case you really need to spec those seats) then it makes little sense imo.

Mpg and Co2 emissions are the same as the R despite being FWD and 30bhp down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Clubsport will obviously hold it's value better than the R.

OSI wrote: »
    Bah! I saw that announced last year and was gonna hold out for one, then saw lads in the UK paying £1,000 deposits giving out they still didn't have a price or arrival date a year later. I'd also read at the time it was gonna be a 3 door exclusive, seems not to be the case anymore?

The earliest rumours about it were that it would be stripped out, track focused car but that was never going to happen.
    It's been known a fair while that there'd be a 5 door too. Lots of YouTube vids etc showed the 5 door.
    I've not seen anything on Irish prices (or even confirmation that they'll even bring it in) but if they do I expect it to be within only a few euro of the R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭fletch

Saw a white 161 Golf GTI in Castleknock yesterday...had some additional stickers...looked really well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Would changing from a TDI to a TSI be a move you would regret?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Too many factors to give an answer. Biggest factor would be your annual millage. Going from which diesel to which petrol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Too many factors to give an answer. Biggest factor would be your annual millage. Going from which diesel to which petrol?

1.6 TDI to 1.2 TSI. About 15k km a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

So do you need to have CarNet for CarPlay to work? It isn't just 'plug n play'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's separate to car-net has to be activated separately.

And is there a cost to that?

€300+ if you car supports it.
    Jesus :eek: Not worth that. Thought the €300+ was for CarNet and that CarPlay would work as standard.

CarNet is standard now. It's pants and hardly worth setting up.

CarPlay is Apple's software that integrates the Iphone on your infotainment system. This comes under the VW umbrella of "App Connect". App Connect also includes Android Auto, which will do similar for Android devices.

App Connect can be installed by your dealer for around €300. If you are placing a new order, I would get a price for the car to come with it preinstalled. It should be much cheaper than the €300 retrofit. It is just software update by the way, so retrofit is just plugging car in a dealer and doing the necessary. Feedback I'v read says it's not worth €300 for the value it adds.

kmart6 wrote: »
    Jesus :eek: Not worth that. Thought the €300+ was for CarNet and that CarPlay would work as standard.

Carnet is standard and it's largely pointless and gimmicky. The only semi useful feature I found with it is the ability to log onto the portal on your laptop at home, select destinations /POI's on a Google maps style map and upload those to your car. Semi useful...

CarPlay on the other hand mirrors your phone onto the radio screen. Depending on whether you are Android or Apple, the UI is different and features differ slightly. E.g. If you've an iPhone it will only do Apple Maps, not google maps!

If you spec Nav Pro it's standard.
    Otherwise you can factory spec it separately for about €150 ish.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    CarNet is standard now. It's pants and hardly worth setting up.

CarPlay is Apple's software that integrates the Iphone on your infotainment system. This comes under the VW umbrella of "App Connect". App Connect also includes Android Auto, which will do similar for Android devices.

App Connect can be installed by your dealer for around €300. If you are placing a new order, I would get a price for the car to come with it preinstalled. It should be much cheaper than the €300 retrofit. It is just software update by the way, so retrofit is just plugging car in a dealer and doing the necessary. Feedback I'v read says it's not worth €300 for the value it adds.
    Hmm, car is ordered and expected in 3 weeks or so. Will contact the dealer now to see if it's too late, which it probably is, or what are my options.

kmart6 wrote: »
    Hmm, car is ordered and expected in 3 weeks or so. Will contact the dealer now to see if it's too late, which it probably is, or what are my options.

Most likely it's too late. Your only option is a dealer retro fit for approx €3-350.

For that price they can keep it and I'll hold on and see if it comes down in price at all.

So just had a look at vw.co.uk specs/prices for the GTI clubsport. I really don't get it, I want to but just don't understand the appeal.

The only thing I think it has going for it is that it is going to be limited edition. That's fine if it's a better product, but I just don't get why someone would want one over an R. An R list price is £250 more, but probably cheaper as bigger discounts available as it's not a limited run.

So you pay more and get less? I get that it's meant to be marginally quicker around a track when it's dry but in a grey damp Ireland the 4wd really helps get you out of a junction when needed. Less powerful too, it just makes me wonder. No so much at VW, as they know people will buy these, more curious as why you'd pick one up over an R. Some people must put a big weight on having a relatively exclusive car, but it's not like it's something that exciting. It's still just a fast hatchback.

Not fussed on the styling either, the seats are better looking. But I'd prefer an R with aftermarket seats than spending the same money on that car for the seats.

14052b5d5b021589255c4e95e2a42e6f.jpg

The "GTI" brand is a lot to do with it... VW are selling this car based on that brand / heritage that the R doesn't quite have (yet).

I saw on a video review from the states that it showed up local petrol prices etc, I assume that's not available here?

Oh it does actually. And weather info. And you can add news RSS feeds, e.g. BBC news / sport, RTE headlines, etc. I played around with it the first week I had it and barely looked since tbh.

It works well in the UK, most of their pumps are on there, loads of Irish stations are not on the database by the looks of it. I still find the nav a bit idiotic at times though. Outside Belfast at the weekend the car bonged that fuel was low. So the headunit asks would I like to navigate to the nearest pump. The suggested route looked like a 2 year old was let loose with a crayon on the map. No idea what it was playing at, I just drove on until I saw the next one, which was only up the road.

Thing with CarNet is, it does little or nothing that you couldn't do 1000 times faster and far easier on your smart phone.

I just got a phone call from a friend, he is trying to order one of those ClubSports through VW Ireland. Mental me sitting here writing why would anyone bother and he phones saying he's made his mind up on what he's getting. He had been keeping me in the loop with what he was thinking about and test driving. I'm skeptical VW Ireland will get them as easy as they are making out they will. Time will tell.

Folks,
    Just heard back from VW - it will be another week before they can sort the locks out :/
    I am thinking of changing for an older model car, for a number of reasons.
    Could I ask those who have very young kids/babies, does a 3 door cause a hell of a lot of issues? If I got one, would I curse it everytime, or is it not as bad as people say?