Luas thread (NOTE: You must read warning in post #1 - updated April 13)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭deandean

I think Luas employees are over estimating their ability to hold the city to ransom.

Dublin can function quite well without the Luas, as long as the buses are running.

As they prolong the strike: Union funds will go down. Employees will go broke. Transdev will probably be hit with penalty clauses. There aren't going to be any winners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

deandean wrote: »
    I think Luas employees are over estimating their ability to hold the city to ransom.

Dublin can function quite well without the Luas, as long as the buses are running.

As they prolong the strike: Union funds will go down. Employees will go broke. Transdev will probably be hit with penalty clauses. There aren't going to be any winners.

Arguably they are wasting their time with weekend strikes,don't understand the logic in that it's not like they are getting any kudos for not discommoding the majority of people who use it Monday to Friday.
    They are getting slated anyway may as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb.
    Mulvey revealed that arrogance in his interview this morning which was basically feck off and strike every weekend we'll just have a 5 day LUAS, if that's not a red rag to a bull I don't know what is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭trellheim

Arguably they are wasting their time with weekend strikes,don't understand the logic in that it's not like they are getting any kudos for not discommoding the majority of people who use it Monday to Friday.
    Mulvey revealed that arrogance in his interview this morning which was basically feck off and strike every weekend we'll just have a 5 day LUAS, if that's not a red rag to a bull I don't know what is.

Really ? there is this level of refusal to accept the "bleeding obvious" . Are people that deluded ? Seriously now , I have a massively difficult time accepting that is your genuine position after a long hard look at reality. Yes its boards and you can say what you want but genuinely do you really believe what you're writing there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,916 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I think Mulvey vented his absolute frustration, with the union, but in a measured way. One has to ask why?
    He is retiring and knows this shot won't have any effect on himself or the WRC.

Simply piling on the pressure, I would think.

cdebru wrote: »

How on earth did you read that into what he said?

trellheim wrote: »
    Really ? there is this level of refusal to accept the "bleeding obvious" . Are people that deluded ? Seriously now , I have a massively difficult time accepting that is your genuine position after a long hard look at reality. Yes its boards and you can say what you want but genuinely do you really believe what you're writing there.

Genuinely, waste of time and effort striking on a weekend, if you are going to do it do it properly or don't do it at all. It's clear they don't give a toss about Saturday and Sunday, weekend of Easter had virtually zero impact this one will be the same, as long as it runs Monday to Friday no one is that bothered, you can dislike it but it that is the truth.

How on earth did you read that into what he said?

Morning Ireland listen back to it, to paraphrase he said we may just have to accept that luas will only operate 5 days a week well 4 days this week.

feck off and strike every weekend we'll just have a 5 day LUAS

sounds terribly different to
    we may just have to accept that luas will only operate 5 days a week
    imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

To quote Mulvey:-
    We need to know what's wrong ... it's not an unending series of negotiations and maybe now we have to decide that we'll have a Luas five days a week in the future.

We might have to live with a five-day Luas - that's what it is at the moment. In fact this week, it's a four-day Luas.

He certainly wasn't saying feck of and strike.

GM228 wrote: »
    To quote Mulvey:-

He certainly wasn't saying feck of and strike.

What else does it mean ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Arguably you are correct and they should just go all out and stop the LUAS altogether. At least that way, something will happen.. eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

What else does it mean ?

It means as things stand strikes will continue. Tell us what was wrong with the offer instead of just saying no

What else does it mean ?

I can't see any aggression whatsoever in that quote!
    We need to know what's wrong ... it's not an unending series of negotiations and maybe now we have to decide that we'll have a Luas five days a week in the future.

We might have to live with a five-day Luas - that's what it is at the moment. In fact this week, it's a four-day Luas.

Resignation, and exasperation, but certainly not aggression!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭trellheim

I have maintained from the start that weekday strikes will affect more people and hit commuters harder.

Yet saying
    It's clear they don't give a toss about Saturday and Sunday, weekend of Easter had virtually zero impact
    when referring to the impact the strike had on service users ( and of course, on transdev ) has no concept of the reality on the ground.

Do you not see the level of public anger and annoyance at this - how many people were affected ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

What else does it mean ?

If you've to resort to gross exaggeration & misrepresentation of what was said then your position isn't as strong as you believe it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Some people don't seem able to see further than their noses on this.
    It could well turn into a national transport strike if any rash decisions are made.
    And nobody wants or needs that. This requires level headed discussion.

What skin is it off Transdevs nose if it sparks a national strike. They are a private business. They are there to provide a service and make money for it. How long would the national strike last once Transdev show that they aren't backing down and the sacked workers are gone and not coming back.

It's time to get real and stand up to the bully boy unions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,922 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

What skin is it off Transdevs nose if it sparks a national strike.

if a national strike spilled over into strikers picketing luas, i suspect it would be very much skin off transdev's nose.
    They are a private business. They are there to provide a service and make money for it. How long would the national strike last once Transdev show that they aren't backing down and the sacked workers are gone and not coming back.

it would last as long as it lasts should it happen. lets be honest here, luas is a small operation. it makes money for transdev, but i very much doubt they are that desperate to run it that they would stay at any cost.
    It's time to get real and stand up to the bully boy unions.

we don't have bully boy unions. our unions are very mild compared to somewhere like france for example.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

if a national strike spilled over into strikers picketing luas, i suspect it would be very much skin off transdev's nose.
    Genuine question;

Assuming a lack of public support for the LUAS Drivers striking, would picketing really be an issue?

Anything illegal would face the full force of the law, and I don't think people would have any problem walking past the pickets (if there really is no public support).
    it would last as long as it lasts should it happen. lets be honest here, luas is a small operation. it makes money for transdev, but i very much doubt they are that desperate to run it that they would stay at any cost.
    Absolutely, however they have a contract with the State which I imagine that they are very keen to hold their end of.
    we don't have bully boy unions. our unions are very mild compared to somewhere like france for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭BowWow

Duplicate.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭BowWow

Genuine question;
    Assuming a lack of public support for the LUAS Drivers striking, would picketing really be an issue?
    ...and I don't think people would have any problem walking past the pickets (if there really is no public support)

You can walk past them, but would there be a working Luas on the otherside?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

BowWow wrote: »

I'm sure there are lots of people who would be glad of the wages and conditions on offer that would pass by some unemployed people outside their place of work whinging.

BowWow wrote: »

I believe the conversation had moved onto the hypothetical situation of what would happen if a 'mass replacement' of the Drivers initiated a national strike.

I don't believe that there would be much sympathy from commuters, and they would have little problem passing picketing ex-drivers.

Genuine question;

if picketing was near the depots meaning a service couldn't be operated, it could be.
    Anything illegal would face the full force of the law, and I don't think people would have any problem walking past the pickets (if there really is no public support).

in theory, yes. however, aren't the gardai unhappy themselves at the moment?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

if picketing was near the depots meaning a service couldn't be operated, it could be.

If the picketing meant a service was begin blocked from operating, arrests for all!

That would be illegal wouldn't it?
    in theory, yes. however, aren't the gardai unhappy themselves at the moment?
    Are you suggesting that they might refuse to do their jobs too? (sackable offence of course!)

If the picketing meant a service was begin blocked from operating, arrests for all!

for picketing? doubt it.
    That would be illegal wouldn't it?

i don't know, would it? it is only picketing after all.
    Are you suggesting that they might refuse to do their jobs too? (sackable offence of course!)

no, i'm suggesting that due to them being underfunded and understaffed and under paid, they could "find it hard" to find resources to deal with a simple peaceful picket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Mulvey lost the run of himself, he is supposed to be independent, criticising one side in a dispute removes any semblance of impartiality, impossible for him or the WRC to have any involvement in resolving this dispute now while he is still in charge.
    A mediator should never publicly take sides.

He's not a mediator , he's a consiliator.

for picketing? doubt it.

Explain how
    ..picketing ..near ..depots meaning a service couldn't be operated
    could be done legally please.
    no, i'm suggesting that due to them being underfunded and understaffed and under paid, they could "find it hard" to find resources to deal with a simple peaceful picket.
    Wait. Why would the Gardaí be required to deal with a simple peaceful picket? I asked if people had no problem crossing the picket, what use would it be? The discussion about why Gardaí might be called explicitly detailed that if the Drivers did engage in anything illegal that I would expect the full force of the law would be brought down on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

for picketing? doubt it..

No, for blocking a service. Picketing is legal, denying workers and the public access is illegal. You are, as per, talking nonsense.

No, for blocking a service. Picketing is legal, denying workers and the public access is illegal.

the public aren't allowed access to the depots.