Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dawggone wrote: »
    I spent the day spreading fym with the big spreader...four shearbolts and many prayers said. Covered in shyte from head to toe...I'm too old for this craic.

Off now to try and clean. I'm thinking the aftershave will have to be used as off to a fancy restaurant (don't need to stink the place).

Brute I'd say!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

visatorro wrote: »
    Brute I'd say!!

Lol.

Many moons ago while in a niteclub in NY I remember commenting on a lady's perfume 'It's called Available' she said...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭cjpm

Lol.

Many moons ago while in a niteclub in NY I remember commenting on a lady's perfume 'It's called Available' she said...

Are you sure she was a lady... I'm thinking Crocodile Dundee in NY ;) He used to double check!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ted_182

Does anyone know if you lease a slatted shed will it count as slurry storage even if you don't have any cows/cattle in the shed, just leasing it to have enough storage on paper? If ye can make sense of what I'm trying to ask?

ted_182 wrote: »
    Does anyone know if you lease a slatted shed will it count as slurry storage even if you don't have any cows/cattle in the shed, just leasing it to have enough storage on paper? If ye can make sense of what I'm trying to ask?

Fairly sure an ex boards guy used to do what your talking about.

22 litres, 3. 87 fat, 3.33, protect. Urea 18. Still housed by night. Most cows getting 3 kg of 18% maize nut in parlour and another half kilo thru diet feeder with middling quality silage. 40 % calved before 15 Dec. Just over half paddocks grazed. Lost 15% of milking platform. Could do with another warm week. But think it's rain for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

22 litres, 3. 87 fat, 3.33, protect. Urea 18. Still housed by night. Most cows getting 3 kg of 18% maize nut in parlour and another half kilo thru diet feeder with middling quality silage. 40 % calved before 15 Dec. Just over half paddocks grazed. Lost 15% of milking platform. Could do with another warm week. But think it's rain for the week.
    Where are u vis?

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Where are u vis?

In bed

In bed
    Have ye not better things to be doing there :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

What's age profile of herd ??,diet looks lacking in energy .3 .5 kg of 18 and average quality silage is hardly sufficient I reckon

Well there's four in the bed tonight. Mammy is snoring and two lads keep slapping me in the face. I may throw abit of straw in a hutch or something for myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Well there's four in the bed tonight. Mammy is snoring and two lads keep slapping me in the face. I may throw abit of straw in a hutch or something for myself

Tis only for 20 years or so.

As a friend says, you get free quicker for murder.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    What's age profile of herd ??,diet looks lacking in energy .3 .5 kg of 18 and average quality silage is hardly sufficient I reckon

It's not an old herd, fairly even spread from heifers upward. Although there's no ten year old cows!!
    I think you are right but cows are showing strong heats and look in good order. Is urea not OK. I wouldn't have the quality of cows as you and an building from a low point solid wise. I'm thinking about dropping the grade of the nuts. No point in going too mad firing nuts into for no return.
    Silage quality is an ongoing row here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

ted_182 wrote: »

If you get asked during a cross compliance check, of course you do use it when needs be, you transport the slurry down to it and then back to yourown place for spreading etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

It's not an old herd, fairly even spread from heifers upward. Although there's no ten year old cows!!
    I think you are right but cows are showing strong heats and look in good order. Is urea not OK. I wouldn't have the quality of cows as you and an building from a low point solid wise. I'm thinking about dropping the grade of the nuts. No point in going too mad firing nuts into for no return.
    Silage quality is an ongoing row here!!

Urea at 18 is low and a signal of low p and more important energy in diet .youd like to see urea levels of 25/30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Last 7 calves to land here were off lic bulls wds and kjt. Cows calved fine themselves but they are big calves, including a set of twins as big as the singles before em. Wasn't expecting anything small but not consistently big either. Cows only dry since mid Jan.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Urea at 18 is low and a signal of low p and more important energy in diet .youd like to see urea levels of 25/30

Yes on protein, but not a metric for energy.
    28 to 32 would be ideal.

Timmaay wrote: »
    If you get asked during a cross compliance check, of course you do use it when needs be, you transport the slurry down to it and then back to yourown place for spreading etc.
    I'd say you do Timmaay;-)

28 to 32 would be ideal.
    Lovely at 32, the only thing I'm doing right this year! Cow with milk fever yesterday, another one with blackspot. Never liked march/April, all problems rolled into 5 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I was thinking ye were coming back with some high levels of milk urea.
    My last test was 26.

So I had a look back at the milk urea levels for last year.
    It averaged 18 for april and 17 for may. Going from 25 to 10.

Then I had a look at what glanbia say about milk urea.
    Low MU levels may indicate lack of protein in the diet relative to energy.
    This may lead to a low volume of milk being produced.

High MU levels may indicate excess protein or lack of energy in the diet.
    It may affect fertility and milk production.

Now last breeding season was the best season I ever had for conception and if I can replicate it again this year i'll have a good sup of milk in the tank again next feb and march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

28 to 32 would be ideal.

As usual dawg is on the money. If you're not hitting 25 you need to look at diet pr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

As usual dawg is on the money. If you're not hitting 25 you need to look at diet pr.

It's a balance between producing milk and getting them in calf though.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I was thinking ye were coming back with some high levels of milk urea.
    My last test was 26.

So I had a look back at the milk urea levels for last year.
    It averaged 18 for april and 17 for may. Going from 25 to 10.

Then I had a look at what glanbia say about milk urea.
    Low MU levels may indicate lack of protein in the diet relative to energy.

High MU levels may indicate excess protein or lack of energy in the diet.
    It may affect fertility and milk production.

Now last breeding season was the best season I ever had for conception and if I can replicate it again this year i'll have a good sup of milk in the tank again next feb and march.

I don't think there is a test that you can do for energy in milk, other than poor/reduced production and decreasing BCS.

If MU goes over 40 during the breeding season you run a high risk of embryonic mortality...I've that teeshirt somewhere.

Edit. At MU of under 28 you're leaving liters after you.

Application for dairy farms to convert to organic has trebled since Jan.

That'll sort the organic prices...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

If you divide your protein by your fat and get anything bellow 0.8 then you lacking energy in the diet is what I was taught.

C0N0R wrote: »
    If you divide your protein by your fat and get anything bellow 0.8 then you lacking energy in the diet is what I was taught.

Always a good rule of thumb.

I was feeding maize crimp (2kg) along with forage maize to fresh calvers in October before I'd gotten forage analysis returned. The forage was better than anticipated so I dropped the crimp...immediately the yield jumped by three liters and solids stayed the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Very low milk urea, trundling along 14-17 cows on 7kg 16% nut 82dmd silage 15%p and nice leafy covers of grass during the day....
    Last test results where 3.39p/3.9bf 29 litres, dont really think I need to up p as I'll strip condition of cows and noting wrong with yield per cow, reckon when growth kicks in and I start second round it will rocket back up

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Very low milk urea, trundling along 14-17 cows on 7kg 16% nut 82dmd silage 15%p and nice leafy covers of grass during the day....
    Last test results where 3.39p/3.9bf 29 litres, dont really think I need to up p as I'll strip condition of cows and noting wrong with yield per cow, reckon when growth kicks in and I start second round it will rocket back up

Too much high soluble proteins...you're leaving liters after you Jay, but if your happy with that...
    Protein doesn't strip BCS from cows, lack of energy does. What protein source in the 16% nut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Too much high soluble proteins...you're leaving liters after you Jay, but if your happy with that...
    Protein doesn't strip BCS from cows, lack of energy does. What protein source in the 16% nut?

Soya bean meal protein source, don't really want to push them any harder 90% of the herd is in lovely order and well set up for breeding....
    Silage will be out of diet in the next few days once weather takes up and they should push on from their

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

As in too much protein is been degraded in the rumen??