Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mega Mk7 Golf GTI/GTD/R thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ondafly

Enjoying Sligo at the moment and took a spin out to Glencar waterfall.

Took a pic - kind of like it as it hides the dirt on such a gloomy day !

CUDxCWZ.jpg?2

Also saw 1 GTi and was parked beside an R this morning at PcWorld. Anyone from here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,033 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

ondafly wrote: »

http://imgur.com/CUDxCWZ <-- felt the picture was too big to embed!

Also saw 1 GTi and was parked beside an R this morning at PcWorld. Anyone from here ?

Pearl white? Love it

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ondafly

sure is - Oryx Weiß

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

ondafly wrote: »

http://imgur.com/CUDxCWZ <-- felt the picture was too big to embed!

I'll be down that direction tomorrow afternoon. Wasn't me today though. Was up at the top of the country getting the hair wet :)

29qiaeh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Gorgeous cars folks. ....well jealous! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭kodirl

plbSDOy3j

After some serious elbow grease yesterday evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,550 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Very nice! The plate looks nice and tidy too.

The performance packs are selling well! Few of them on here at least. Lovely motor, enjoy

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Very nice! The plate looks nice and tidy too.

Thanks Joe. Nice and simple

vintagevrs wrote: »
    The performance packs are selling well! Few of them on here at least. Lovely motor, enjoy

Thanks. On my route to work I usually see a couple of GTI's on the road. There seems to be quite a lot of 161 GTD's registered up around the Dublin/Wicklow area too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Kodirl/Joe, where did ye get those plates?

www.eireplates.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,561 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I thoroughly enjoy reading this thread and I'm loving the photos that have been posted over the last few days. It's such a beautiful car, I hope I can own one some day! Fair play lads, well wear.

Got mine from Eireplates too. Great service and quick delivery.

Ah right, just without the county name gets the bigger font so? They look much better.

I don't think the font is any different? It just looks less cluttered without the county name imo. He'll also space out the digits properly, etc.

Is it legal though?

everlast75 wrote: »
    Is it legal though?

By the absolute strictest letter of the law - possibly not, but the rules and regs around number plates are woolly at best. Sure look around any carpark... Every car has slightly different "legal" plates, depending on what dealers the car came from. Some dealers use plastic plates, some use the metal, they all use different fonts, some of them stick dealer advertising on the plates, some dealers make an arse of putting them on and stick a screw through one of the digits, etc, etc.

I've had the same type as KodIrl for 3 years without issue.

Looks slightly larger to my eyes although it could be more centred compared to the county lettered plates. It's a lot clearer that's for sure. I need a new back plate as I went at a spot with tar remover and it damaged a few numbers very slightly and annoys me. Gotta love the quality of the plates from Trevor to be fair.

The county lettering is a waste of space IMO.

Looks slightly larger to my eyes although it could be more centred compared to the county lettered plates. It's a lot clearer that's for sure. I need a new back plate as I went at a spot with tar remover and it damaged a few numbers very slightly and annoys me. Gotta love the quality of the plates from Trevor to be fair.

The county lettering is a waste of space IMO.

I did exactly the same thing with tar remover recently. I didn't even rub the stuff onto the plate! It just lifted some of the black paint when I sprayed the stuff on... Didn't look great alright but I tackled it with a permanent black marker and it's fine now :pac:

For my plate, he made the hyphens small so as the plate wouldn't look cluttered and spaced out the digits. That might make the font look a bit larger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

I got a plastic style plate on my car and the printer was either running out of ink or the jets need a cleaning, as you can see faint white lines appearing across the plate. I would imagine if I had an NCT in the morning I would be pulled on the condition. Nice of the dealer to put them on a new car :rolleyes:.

Might look into the a pressed metal set. Kodirl the image you put up isn't displaying but did you put the EU flag on the plate?

Yeah, his is very similar to mine:

2749D6A0-4726-4B2D-B5D8-766A2BD4CEAF_zps0ysxwcmt.jpg

I have those plates too...... would recommend. My plates had the dealer info at the bottom. As well as stickers in the back window. First thing to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Cheers going to order a set today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

After a quick wash the weekend before Easter...

B34129C5-AFD2-4146-8A4C-330EE94C5A0C.jpg

There's a 161 gti PP for sale, 2nd hand at around 42k. Finance would be at the usual rate.

How does the garage think they will sell that when you can get a brand new one at 0% APR for a few grand more?

everlast75 wrote: »
    There's a 161 gti PP for sale, 2nd hand at around 42k. Finance would be at the usual rate.

How does the garage think they will sell that when you can get a brand new one at 0% APR for a few grand more?

Yeah, sometimes dealers mystify me.

After I traded my 132 GTI, it sat on their forecourt for about 4 months, priced only about 6k less than you'd get a new one for. Eventually the penny dropped and they knocked a couple of K off it and it sold...

It could well be there to help shift newer ones. My dealer had a 2nd hand GTi, same sort of story when I was looking. APR on it was 5.9% I believe, and 1.9% on new. He got the sale on a new car.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    It could well be there to help shift newer ones. My dealer had a 2nd hand GTi, same sort of story when I was looking. APR on it was 5.9% I believe, and 1.9% on new. He got the sale on a new car.

That could well be the case. My car was absolutely mint and they had it sitting inside the showroom on their main display area and they used pictures of it in various social media promos, etc. They might have concluded this was a more cost effective way of flogging a few new GTI's than ordering a new "stock" model that might be more risky and take much longer to shift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭carsfan

If you were an impatient cash buyer, you might just take a stock car if it suited.
    There was a comment on another thread where the dealer had a couple of stock bmw M3 models at over 100k and said some people aren't that fussy over colour or spec but want the car now. He reckoned no problem to shift them. I would be a lot more fussy as I suspect would most of the posters on this thread but I reckon we are in a minority.