Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you part 8191.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

The Cheltenham hype. If there was no betting, nobody would watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I wanted to be all prepared for the last day of school but of course I couldn't find my purse. I found it in the car but my bank card wasn't in it. I remembered I had it in my coat pocket so the great coat search began. No coat. I had left it in my boyfriend's parents house. I had to borrow money from my boyfriend for lunch today.

Another TA associated with that is how much of a pig he thinks I am. "How much money do you need? Will 100 euro cover it?" What does he think I am? A heifer who's going to eat all around the place? Hmph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

People in the back of your car telling you
    "There's a parking spot there!"
    "Oh, there's another one you missed"
    "I'd say you would fit in there"
    "You probably won't get one now.."

Fcuk off, I have a nice, newish(to me) car and i don't just ram in the first spot I see, especially if that is beside some twelve year old Micra with half the paintwork missing, which means the driver of same doesn't give a sh1t if he gouges the the door off my car when he is getting on or out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Trust me, you are better off paying form the damage yourself....don't go thru insurance unless it's over a couple of grand. Remember you lose your NC discount for five years.....

Can't afford to pay the damage. I'm broke.
    But on the other hand, if the receipt comes in the post and it's only a couple of hundred, I do have until January (my next insurance renewal) to pay it to get my no-claims back.
    I will think about; depends on how much it's for.
    It annoys me that I'm being penalised for claiming; what the hell do I pay insurance for if I get punished for finally claiming on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭JanaMay

You know when an athlete wins a medal and they pose for a stupid photo with the medal in their mouth as if they're biting it to prove it's real gold? That really annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Gwynplaine wrote: »

All horses look the same to me. Long legs, black tail, brown coat and shiny. Jockeys all look like Warwick Davis. Clothes borrowed from the Wizard Of Oz munchkins. Horse trainers all wear similar dirty hats, that are supposed to convey wealth for some strange reason

fussyonion wrote: »
    Can't afford to pay the damage. I'm broke.
    But on the other hand, if the receipt comes in the post and it's only a couple of hundred, I do have until January (my next insurance renewal) to pay it to get my no-claims back.
    I will think about; depends on how much it's for.
    It annoys me that I'm being penalised for claiming; what the hell do I pay insurance for if I get punished for finally claiming on it?

If it's only a few hundred, definitely give this more thought,meven borrow from credit union if you have to. But as another poster said,make sure to get more than one quote. Bear in mind you may have an excess to pay anyway, even if you go thru insurance...that is paying the first €100 or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Might as well say if there was no gambling in Vegas nobody would go there. It's part of the fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Random delays on every form of public transport that I was getting this morning, even when the two buses that I got were both from the starting point of the route!

Friends and I went out for food last night. When the food came, I was staring lovingly at it, when I heard a laugh from one of my friends. Look up to see that one of them had gone to pour some ketchup on to his food, when it shot out on to him (when he didn't squeeze at all). Thankfully he was wearing a red shirt, so it wasn't crazy noticeable, but the waiting staff made zero explanations or apologies about what had happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Starting to notice hair grow where it didn't grow before!

armaghlad wrote: »

And hair not growing where it's supposed to:D

I had to buy a nose-hair trimmer.

A fuppin' nose-hair trimmer.

Damn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

I think it's time for the talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Everyone seems to have St Patricks' day plans except me.
    I suppose you could consider renovating the bathroom as a plan...but not really a fun one. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

'St Patty's Day'

Bloody Americans!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Whilst sitting at your desk and letting a fart perculate, it's nearly brewed, nearly time to casually walk out of the office area to the jacks and let her fly.
    But, whilst sitting and preparing to leave, a sneeze is also coming on. The options get difficult.

1. get up sooner than expected and exit. There is an element of risk in this as you may sneeze and fart at the same time, and with so much force there could be follow through. So your sneeze and fart draw attention while you sh*t yourself and start to speed/cower walk.

2. risk the sneeze while sitting. You can make the sneeze noise a bit louder to disguise any fart slippage. You can even start to bang the desk as a distraction.

3. risk letting the fart go and hope for silence before the sneeze. We all believe we have become the master of the silent fart, but when it comes to the crunch, just how confident are we?

Computing these options before either of the events must be the most difficult TA anyone has to face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭uch

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Whilst sitting at your desk and letting a fart perculate, it's nearly brewed, nearly time to casually walk out of the office area to the jacks and let her fly.
    But, whilst sitting and preparing to leave, a sneeze is also coming on. The options get difficult.

1. get up sooner than expected and exit. There is an element of risk in this as you may sneeze and fart at the same time, and with so much force there could be follow through. So your sneeze and fart draw attention while you sh*t yourself and start to speed/cower walk.

2. risk the sneeze while sitting. You can make the sneeze noise a bit louder to disguise any fart slippage. You can even start to bang the desk as a distraction.

3. risk letting the fart go and hope for silence before the sneeze. We all believe we have become the master of the silent fart, but when it comes to the crunch, just how confident are we?

Computing these options before either of the events must be the most difficult TA anyone has to face.

So how much were the new Jocks ??

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

'St Patty's Day'

Bloody Americans!

paddy's day

bloody Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

original.jpg

maxresdefault.jpg

Use the former and not knowing the difference between the latter..
    Mainly an American thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Bord Gais ads

"perfect combination" guff makes me want to kill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭JumpShivers

People who;

Clamp down on the fork while eating and drag the food along.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

There is a new girl to our course who seems lovely.
    But when she walks its like an elephant is running down the room.
    I was doing work today and heard a thud thud thud and swore upstairs had put music on pretty loud, then she stomped past.
    Can't say she is exactly heavy either, just fecking throws those feet down.
    No one else in the class does it like her either - christ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gnarbarian

'St Patty's Day'

Bloody Americans!

A conversation that you could possibly hear in a pub close to you tomorrow:

American "I'm 23% Irish on my dogs side"
    Irish "What kind of dog is it?"
    American "Its an Irish Setter"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Over the last few months you heard.
    Oil prices are down
    Oil prices are at the lowest

Price at the pumps isn't, it takes time for the price to filter through to the pumps for the motorist.
    eventually it did,

Last week, oil prices rose, so too the feckin price at the pumps, what happened to taking time to filter through.

Oil prices dropped yesterday, it hasn't at the pumps yet, it's been a day:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Cake Man wrote: »
    Putting fuel into the car is unbelievably TA. Even though it has to be done, it always just feels like throwing money away. Don't think there has ever been a time when that fcuking fuel light has come on or the petrol gauge is near empty that I haven't let out a groan of frustration.

anything that requires regular maintainance is annoying imo, like doing the dishes, general household work etc. especially when it costs money in the case of getting haircuts, renewing whatever, and of course the fuel as you mentioned. its the fact that its never done - there will always be another time when the car needs refilling, your hair grows back and needs cutting and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I finished reading a book the other day, and can't pick which type of book to read next:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

73Cat wrote: »
    I finished reading a book the other day, and can't pick which type of book to read next:(

Porn!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I had to buy a nose-hair trimmer.

A fuppin' nose-hair trimmer.

Damn.

I pick my nose too much for hair to ever grow there...but my ears are like a bush. The barber normally helps me out every seven weeks though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

I've to drive a few hundred kilometres tomorrow and every town I have to go through seems to have their parade on just as I plan to get there. It's like they've staggared the parades to ensure there is one on every minute of the day. It's going to take me hours!!!