Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post your most recent motors related purchase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

shietpilot wrote: »
    I have an old Makita drill that I still use with 2 batteries. The batteries don't last that long but they are grand for the odd job since there are 2 of them. The main issue I have with them is oxidation on the battery pins making the drill not working at all. It's so old I need to sand the pins down every once in a while :pac:

My own 12 year old Milwaukee cordless drill is still going strong. One of our older drills gave up the ghost recently and my dad pulled out a AEG tech gun (cordless drill) lovely drill LED lights really light and compact but powerful it was never used the box never opened literally new condition but was 6 years old he got some deal on it and we never needed it until now when the older drills charger broke.

Only thing is it took one of the batteries a few charges to come right after being sitting that long but it's all good now should keep us going another while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

CIP4 wrote: »
    We have a karcher 510 in the shed its actually the same age as me 1994 it's going well so far :pac: still does a nice job on the Megane or washing paths etc. Sure look like anything if you mind them they last. There is a welder in the shed that has 3 years on my age and still works perfect.

A Bosch hammer drill which is also older than me works perfect it wouldn't drill sh!t hammer action leaves a lot to be desired and the hilti hammer action drill we have literally runs rings around it but it still works.

All this leads me coming to the conclusion buy the best you can afford and mind it and it will rarely let you down.

My Karcher I bought on the esb bill in 1995 is still going strong. There's a small leak from the pump but it's flying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

+1 on the Karcher. though mine is producing an oil slick out the bottom of it of late which leads me to believe that it is chewing itself up internally? I will have to investigate. Anybody got any experience of these symptoms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭kuro2k

4 x Michelin Pilot Sport 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

jca wrote: »

Very nice. I always skipped on the waxing part and just did a basic hand polish with the Autoglym resin polish stuff.

Might give it a shot. I've been considering getting a rotary but haven't bitten the bullet yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Detailing Shed have that 845 cheaper than Amazon.

Out of stock unfortunately. I got it sent to my dpd parcel wizard address, free postage in the uk, the fecker wanted £18:eek: to send it to Ireland.

Very nice. I always skipped on the waxing part and just did a basic hand polish with the Autoglym resin polish stuff.

Might give it a shot. I've been considering getting a rotary but haven't bitten the bullet yet :)

I used the autoglym resin polish followed by the protector but I found it didn't last very long. I had one of those Lidl rotary polishers but I didn't find it any better, it left a lot of swirl marks. You can't beat the baby all in one suit with the studs taken out for that deep shine:D The baby never minded sleeping in his nappy:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

These arrived for the jeep project. Going to order a pile more stuff over the next few days hopefully.

IMG_3968_zpsrguqr5sh.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    These arrived for the jeep project. Going to order a pile more stuff over the next few days hopefully.

http://i447.photobucket.com/albums/qq191/Ded_Zebra/IMG_3968_zpsrguqr5sh.jpg
    Ooo polybush shopping gets very expensive very fast ... you'd want a mortgage for that much polyurethane from powerflex haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSglppHJ0EnJZWSpH1-CNMZDh-dcL1CuNtT2DIfL2Jlov4nLdxg8A5OH5cV

Turbo housing Clamp for exhaust i'm making up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

All to be fitted this weekend hopefully.

BMW:

Rear windscreen wiper
    Oil filter

Nissan:

Front brembo discs and brembo pads
    6 x NGK Iridium Spark Plugs

I also picked up a Halfords 200pc advanced socket set which was 60% off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

image_zpsxt8yupzy.jpeg
    My 200 cell sports cat arrived today must order 3" downpipe to go with it next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

$_57.JPG?343

Along with a fuel oil air filter and 10 litres of Mobil 1 esp 5w-30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

^^ Interesting, i'm looking to get the exact same kit for my 740. eBay job was it? I'm weary of the brands of filter/sump, more even more so of the fluid. Hard enough to come by the genuine ZF kits.
    I use Meyle for suspension, but who makes their fluid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

some bulbs of various colors to replace the ones from the demister and hazard switches as you can't get them in motor factors.

http://www.maplin.ie/p/coloured-subminiature-bulbs-yellow-pg81c

Dipstick for a Volvo D5 engine. Broke the handle on mine when I was trying to pull a vacuum hose off a connector. The metal part of the dipstick was stuck in the dipstick holder.

Fun times getting it out :pac:

Volvo-Oil-Dipstick-8653597-AFT.jpg?mt=1349112898

Dipstick for a Volvo D5 engine. Broke the handle on mine when I was trying to pull a vacuum hose off a connector. The metal part of the dipstick was stuck in the dipstick holder.

Fun times getting it out :pac:

Volvo-Oil-Dipstick-8653597-AFT.jpg?mt=1349112898

Youuuu dipstick....

Aww stop, so annoying. I didn't want it to end up at the bottom of the oil sump and was absolute bricking it :D

It's all out now in 1 piece (well 2) and not at the bottom of the oil sump so it's graaaand.

Aww stop, so annoying. I didn't want it to end up at the bottom of the oil sump and was absolute bricking it :D

It's all out now in 1 piece (well 2) and not at the bottom of the oil sump so it's graaaand.

Well done. You should take up bomb disposal. ... Imagine it went all the way to the bottom of the sump...disaster...

Haha, I should. I tried to pry it with a screwdriver and pull it but it just went in deeper :D

Woodscrew into the remainder of plastic handle did the trick.

Haha, I should. I tried to pry it with a screwdriver and pull it but it just went in deeper :D

Woodscrew into the remainder of plastic handle did the trick.

Ohhhh time for the brown trousers...
    My collinite is in Newtownabbey. Looking forward to seeing that baby shine!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

^^ Interesting, i'm looking to get the exact same kit for my 740. eBay job was it? I'm weary of the brands of filter/sump, more even more so of the fluid. Hard enough to come by the genuine ZF kits.
    I use Meyle for suspension, but who makes their fluid?

Needed something fairly fast as i have a leaky sump atm so its going into garage monday for fluid and filters allround.

I think my Torque converter needs reconditioning anyway so late summer will need to be done again before i remap the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭cletus

worm-drive.jpg

Need all the boost I can get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭cletus

Ha, yours is about as impressive as mine :D

cletus wrote: »
    Ha, yours is about as impressive as mine :D

Don't get ahead of yourself there!

Boost is more important than hub centric wheels :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

mickdw wrote: »
    The golden rule is only to use them for planned maintenance well into the future cause it will be wrong.
    Still, you will probably have 3 tensioners when finished with them - they will probably resend the whole order.
    I got brake pads last week from them. They actually arrived correct, right brand and in 6 days. Very surprised.

Still waiting on Mister-Auto to correct the mistake, their service is abysmal. I first ordered a month ago and still have the wrong parts.

I'm still tempted to use them for my flywheel, clutch and clutch slave cylinder bearing because it's such a great price but I'm not sure if they will send the correct combination from reading your posts :P