Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

That's tough luck Patsy but you couldn't have done anymore. It no consolation but that kind of thing happens to us all at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Anyone know the return to sender address for a 2yr old child.....Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Bolix, bollix - got cow to get up herself. Noticed the pins well down. Took nearly 30 mins to walk her up the yard, on 3 legs, onto bed of straw. She started calving straight away. Went back to house and by the time I had the camera turned on, I could see the calf completely out and still in the cleaning. Got to shed and calf dead. Its head was tuned back too but I think it was dead all along. Couldn't get near calf then to try and revive it as cow jumped up and wouldnt let me near it.You seriously wonder is it worth it sometimes.

I second what tanko said , doesn't be nice to happen, but is inevitable to us all once in a while, as you say, head was bent back, so was dead this while, all you can do is get her tidied up tomorrow, and back into condition, for next calveing or for show,,
    Just back in myself, from tending to a bloated cow, due in 3 weeks,
    But yea, its still worth it, even with the ups and downs. Soldier on patsy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Reggie. wrote: »

the terrible twos don't really start till their two and a half lol

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Bolix, bollix - got cow to get up herself. Noticed the pins well down. Took nearly 30 mins to walk her up the yard, on 3 legs, onto bed of straw. She started calving straight away. Went back to house and by the time I had the camera turned on, I could see the calf completely out and still in the cleaning. Got to shed and calf dead. Its head was tuned back too but I think it was dead all along. Couldn't get near calf then to try and revive it as cow jumped up and wouldnt let me near it.You seriously wonder is it worth it sometimes.

Sh1t happens patsy, at least you have a live cow, who was a potential downer. Have a bunch of cows and calves out on grass here, seeing them yesterday in the spring sunshine makes it all worthwhile.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

I said wrote: »

Piss off :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,428 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Piss off :P
    Then you have the teenage years to look forward too. Terrible two's are a walk in the park compared to teenage hissy fits:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I said wrote:

And they don't really end until they are twenty two and a half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

what did she do?
    my lad is a page boy at a friends of ors wedding on paddys day that should be fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

naughto wrote: »
    what did she do?
    my lad is a page boy at a friends of ors wedding on paddys day that should be fun

Paddys day wedding eh SNAP. id rather be putting out dung.

na i love my beer i do

what did she do?

Decided it was time to run around the house at 2am

whelan2 wrote: »
    Then you have the teenage years to look forward too. Terrible two's are a walk in the park compared to teenage hissy fits:cool:

Hi ssy fits I can handle once in daylight hours. The night time is what gets me. Barely getting enough to operate as it is

Youngest lad here sleep walks/talks has frightened the life out of me a few times. He wouldnt remember a bit of it the next day

Oh is always taking knives from the house for opening bales etc. This morning he drove over this and did a nice bit of damage to the back Tyre of the digger. He is paying to get it fixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Have you seen the condom machines with the "for refund, insert baby" label.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Condoms eh...why didn't I think of that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That sh*t really zap the life out of ya. Young fella here killed with wind and keeps waking up with it. He could fart for Ireland. Used infacol, gripe water and winding like mad but doesn't make a blind but of difference. Must put safety nets around the house cos he could be going out the window one of the nights!!!! :D

Muckit wrote: »
    That sh*t really zap the life out of ya. Young fella here killed with wind and keeps waking up with it. He could fart for Ireland. Used infacol, gripe water and winding like mad but doesn't make a blind but of difference. Must put safety nets around the house cos he could be going out the window one of the nights!!!! :D

Brown sugar and water in a bottle can help as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Brown sugar and water in a bottle can help as well

Is flat 7up good for that too?

Can't say that I have

Usually in a student pub condom machine, written in black marker by a smart ass

What are you doing stalking around student pubs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

What are you doing stalking around student pubs :D
    Cheap booze is as good an excuse as any ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Have a 4 year old 2 year old and 6 month twins. We do be going around half spaced out half the time. Both of us wire out but then they say something funny or smile and you forgive them straight away.

Time for the burdizzo though. 😩

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

All the frogs out there must be reading boards. The little feckers are bRRR- bRRRing away in the ditches tonight spawning.
    Curlew is also going mad whistling away, finally feels like spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,125 ✭✭✭visatorro

sea12 wrote: »
    Have a 4 year old 2 year old and 6 month twins. We do be going around half spaced out half the time. Both of us wire out but then they say something funny or smile and you forgive them straight away.

You've your work done!!

Ok you win

I've only 2 kids, 4 &1/2 and a 1 yo. Burdizzo next month..... their hard fecking work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

wtf Last word @ 7am