Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭visatorro

When would you roll paddocks/gaps that were poached.? Just incase some clown let them out when it was a little softer than he thought. Or is rolling too hard on paddocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

A little more detail here.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/glanbia-launch-new-cheap-loan-fund-heres-how-it-works/

The monthly euribor is set at zero, but is currently at -0.3. I always look for the sneaky bits. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭orm0nd

visatorro wrote: »
    When would you roll paddocks/gaps that were poached.? Just incase some clown let them out when it was a little softer than he thought. Or is rolling too hard on paddocks

with the exception of reseeding I hav'nt used a roller in 30 years,

grass/chain harrow is the only job

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

For the lads who vaccinate irb do ye do all animals on the farm or just the cows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭visatorro

orm0nd wrote: »
    with the exception of reseeding I hav'nt used a roller in 30 years,

grass/chain harrow is the only job

It's not completely ploughed, just enough divets to hold water around the gap iykwim. Dont have Harrow, only roller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

I've had my run ins with Frazzled but he was an excellent contributor here and will be missed.

Hopefully he will be back soon.

I suppose were not meant to talk about what I've missed.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whelan2 wrote: »
    You must have your msa signed to get the loan. I have spoken to a few who will be leaving Glanbia when the current msa runs out so loan is of no use to them. Think its another tool to try and keep farmers with glanbia.

Even worse again listened to a piece on farmers journal website and Sean molly was speaking your locked into your msa for duration of loan period, it's amazing what looked on the face of it as a good scheme has lots of niggly bits added in.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

C0N0R wrote: »
    I suppose were not meant to talk about what I've missed.....?

I missed it too but lots of things in the real world can pop out on line and become exaggerated.

He was a mine of information about grazing and had a different take on things happening in Ag. Which isn't always appreciated, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Even worse again listened to a piece on farmers journal website and Sean molly was speaking your locked into your msa for duration of loan period, it's amazing what looked on the face of it as a good scheme has lots of niggly bits added in.....

I certainly wouldn't be a fan of Glanbia and I'm not defending their "schemes", but you can't expect them to give out loans without security

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

There used to be a lad around these parts that would have had all the ins and outs, but he's gone and fcuked off. Never around when you need him. And when you didn't want him sure as hell ...

Aghhh fook it what did I miss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I certainly wouldn't be a fan of Glanbia and I'm not defending their "schemes", but you can't expect them to give out loans without security

Their not giving out the loan by all accounts just facilitating it and getting paid a arrangement fee aswell for their troubles.
    I'm sure when the finer details come out it, their will have to be some form of security, even a scenario say where a farmer where to pass away during the term of the loan and dairying ceases on the farm what happens in this case, lots of other variables too with only a 2 year grace period where repayments are reduced/stalled, if a prolonged period of low prices happen what's the story then.....
    The devil will be in the detail but a cynical person from the outside looking in would say glanbia have created a brilliant way to get suppliers to up production in a depressed market while locking them into 10 year contracts in the process they can't break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Aghhh fook it what did I miss

Here's how it all unfolded.
    Be sitting down and have a loved one beside you....
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057570038

Here's how it all unfolded.
    Be sitting down and have a loved one beside you....
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057570038

It took me ages to get over de laval leaving .......maby he might come back now !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

For the lads who vaccinate irb do ye do all animals on the farm or just the cows?

All animals for ibr.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    All animals for ibr.

I do fr heifer calves in October ,again following April and then yearly every April .live vaccine always used cows get yearly shot in April with bvd booster .bovillis bvd and Ibr can now be mixed and given in same vial as one injection

Base price wrote: »
    Feeders are at the same levels as other years. Teats are not faulty.
    Vet phoned yesterday to see how the calves were getting on and suggested adding a teaspoon of Stimulex powder to the milk replacer/yoghurt mix or glucose/yoghurt mix or dosing same to the sick calves.
    I have always offered both hay and straw to young calves.
    I can't figure out how one or two calves per pen are affected today yet the rest are ok. A couple of days later another calf would bloat :(
    Out of 7 pens which are divided between 3 different sheds (1 shed is in a different yard) only one pen of calves has not been affected.
    All calves are dosed with Bovicox and vaccinated with Rispoval intranasal within a day of arrival.

I did a bit of searching and came across this.

http://www.hoards.com/E_animalhealth/ah11

It seems the bloat could be down to too rich of a diet.
    The words are could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

johnny122 wrote:
    Changed liners. Just did a test on one's I thought suspect found 5 in the millions.

jaymla627 wrote:
    ... cynical person from the outside looking in would say glanbia have created a brilliant way to get suppliers to up production in a depressed market while locking them into 10 year contracts in the process they can't break

No need to add to that summary.

I do fr heifer calves in October ,again following April and then yearly every April .live vaccine always used cows get yearly shot in April with bvd booster .bovillis bvd and Ibr can now be mixed and given in same vial as one injection

Thanks for that. Might be playing Russian roulette but I think I wont vaccinate for bvd as hopefully the scheme is working (even though they should tighten up on it).
    I do all stock on farm in march and October. Was using rispoval but now going back to bovillis this year.

Is there anything about potential ai sires coming from vaccinating herds?

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Thanks for that. Might be playing Russian roulette but I think I wont vaccinate for bvd as hopefully the scheme is working (even though they should tighten up on it).
    I do all stock on farm in march and October. Was using rispoval but now going back to bovillis this year.

Is there anything about potential ai sires coming from vaccinating herds?

As long as Bulls ain't vaccinated your ok ,99.9% sure of that .as for not vaccinating for bvd I think it's a huge risk .even with no pi in your herd you never know what birds are carrying or what neighbouring farmers have .until such time as it's compulsory to get rid of pi calves the whole scheme is a bit of a waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

As long as Bulls ain't vaccinated your ok ,99.9% sure of that .as for not vaccinating for bvd I think it's a huge risk .even with no pi in your herd you never know what birds are carrying or what neighbouring farmers have .until such time as it's compulsory to get rid of pi calves the whole scheme is a bit of a waste

A complete farce.....

3 and 4 years down the line and hardly any better off. I've no hesitation in saying and have said from the start that it should have been compulsory culling of PIs with suckle guys getting a grant to replace the calf (dairy beef value) and the dairy lad getting FA because he would be well rid of the trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Dawggone wrote: »
    Had an open day here today. Went well, bar the couple of lads that (I reckon) didn't believe our nitrogen usage on grass and forage maize. Truth is that I do massage the nitrate usage, but I underuse on dairy to use on high protein wheats!
    The 50+mm that we were to get last night didn't materialize, we only got 28mm and it was dry today albeit a bit blustery. Cows were out today even though the general consensus was that it was crazy to have animals out.

Interestingly I did a count of how many of them had robots...just 2 out of 61. They were very conscious of CoP. Nothing like poor prices to sharpen the mind.

Did the nitrogen non-beliveres kick up fuss at the open day or just question the amounts used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Blood test the cows for ibr before you give them vaccine. If you vaccinate a herd with no ibr and give them the live vaccine you might end up infecting your own herd. Chances are you have it but a simple milk test will tell you a lot.

I wish people would send away their bvd pi calves so we can start eradicating ibr next it's quite annoying I'm still ear sampling for bvd because of some irresponsible farmer somewhere the government is doing nothing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Did the nitrogen non-beliveres kick up fuss at the open day or just question the amounts used.

They questioned the amount used. They can't seem to grasp that early grazing boosts early growth. Can be quite difficult to grasp that along with the fact that we frontload N, which works well until temps rise and clover kicks in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,787 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Blood test the cows for ibr before you give them vaccine. If you vaccinate a herd with no ibr and give them the live vaccine you might end up infecting your own herd. Chances are you have it but a simple milk test will tell you a lot.

I wish people would send away their bvd pi calves so we can start eradicating ibr next it's quite annoying I'm still ear sampling for bvd because of some irresponsible farmer somewhere the government is doing nothing about.
    Think johnes is the next most important one to eradiacate after bvd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

The "industry" shouldn't be left near it until it proves it can eradicate bvd, and I mean deal with all aspects including bringing the farm organisations along too.

It needs to get itself to the point of compulsory culling.

Bvd is the easy one....if they can't finish that, they'll finish nothing, and the genuine farmer will just end up paying for an endless waft of tests and chyte we cull well do without..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

alps wrote: »
    The "industry" shouldn't be left near it until it proves it can eradicate bvd, and I mean deal with all aspects including bringing the farm organisations along too.

It needs to get itself to the point of compulsory culling.

Bvd is the easy one....if they can't finish that, they'll finish nothing, and the genuine farmer will just end up paying for an endless waft of tests and chyte we cull well do without..
    If you go down the route of compulsory culling (and we should), you have to adequately compensate the farmer for his property that you are taking.

Whether that is beef or dairy, you cannot discriminate between them or the lawyers will be getting busy.

The reason there was no compensation for the beginning was the fact that the country was stone broke and borrowing money just to pay the day to day bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

alps wrote: »
    the genuine farmer will just end up paying for an endless waft of tests and chyte we cull well do without..

This is and has always been the point of bvd testing. Amazingly bad became a huge priority just as bse was dealt with and our testing labs were about to run out of work. Basically we are paying to keep labs like enfer warm and skilled up just in case they're needed for a real emergency/food scare. They're never going to bring in a compulsory full on pi's for this reason. They have to have a reason to keep the labs running and get someone else to pay for the privilege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

I disagree. Johnes is not as widespread. Anyway because of the departments lack of urgency on this issue we'll still be paying for bvd testing in 10 years instead of having bvd , ibr and johnes eradicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,787 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We will have to agree to disagree. At least as things stand you can't sell a bvd positive animal to another farmer where as you can do what you like with a johnes positive one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

We will have to agree to disagree. At least as things stand you can't sell a bvd positive animal to another farmer where as you can do what you like with a johnes positive one

The problem with Johnes is they can't test for it accurately. It would be the same as tb if not worse unless they can improve the test. Obviously best practice should be followed and if there are obvious clinical issues the test has its uses