Sharapova Acute angina!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Meh, the media, paid and social is full of women of all ages gushing when some himbo rips off his top in [insert BBC costume drama here]. Yer man Tom thingie on that John Le Carre spy series the latest. Big deal. It is what it is. It's crass and sometimes a bit sad when it's some old biddy the female equivalent of Pat doing it, but inappropriate only to the Maude Flanders types and offensive to the overly sensitive.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

What's funny is the feminists getting their crustys in a twist about a man wanting to make babies with a good looking woman.
    He should have went the whole hog and said he'd spank it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nodin wrote: »
    Rugby....."powers of recovery" me bollocks.
    Aye, no pointing fingers or anything, but one look at the average player in any international team of today and players from international teams of the past and things that make you go hmmmm, springs readily. TBH I could give the big one when it's adults at it, my concern are the young kids who look up to these people who get into the various sports seeking to emulate them. That's the worry. A year back I was talking with this woman whose son was rugby mad and she found out he was chugging protein drinks and creatine to bulk up. He was 12.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Maude Flanders! A name I've always coveted.

I'm just going to head off to Jesus camp, so I can learn to be more judgemental.

Candie wrote: »
    I'm just going to head off to Jesus camp, so I can learn to be more judgemental.
    Not sure if atomic powered irony…

As I said it was crass, a bit silly, hardly grounds for flipping out. I've no idea what he said about Dawn French, but the I'd see the Eurovision dig as being inappropriate alright. It was directly insulting.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Not sure if atomic powered irony…

As I said it was crass, a bit silly, hardly grounds for flipping out. I've no idea what he said about Dawn French, but the I'd see the Eurovision dig as being inappropriate alright. It was directly insulting.

I looked up the Dawn French episode. At a major fashion show there were loads of models and one was famous for saying she wouldn't get out of bed for less than 10 grand. Dawn French was on the stage to introduce something and Pat the Plonker told her he'd pay her 10 grand to stay in bed.

On tv, and in front of a huge live audience.

So Pat has form that gives glimpses of a very unappealing person under the broadcaster persona, and every time the mask slips with people like him they become a little less tolerable.

I looked up the Dawn French episode. At a major fashion show there were loads of models and one was famous for saying she wouldn't get out of bed for less than 10 grand. Dawn French was on the stage to introduce something and Pat the Plonker told her he'd pay her 10 grand to stay in bed.

On tv, and in front of a huge live audience.

So Pat has form that gives glimpses of a very unappealing person under the broadcaster persona, and every time the mask slips with people like him they become a little less tolerable.

You're not allowed dislike things unless it's on the lads' pre approved list, yknow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Pat Kenny is alright, no one is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

don't let kenny distract from the drug cheat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

bluewolf wrote: »
    You're not allowed dislike things unless it's on the lads' pre approved list, yknow?

it's awful isn't it when you say something on a public message board

and then, can you believe it, someone challenges you on it?

I can't believe this sort of thing is tolerated.

strelok wrote: »
    it's awful isn't it when you say something on a public message board

and then, can you believe it, someone challenges you on it?

I can't believe this sort of thing is tolerated.

I know, humourless maude flanders oversensitive types, us all

On a more serious note, how long was there between her drug being on the banned list and the test?
    Seems unfortunate timing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

On a more serious note, how long was there between her drug being on the banned list and the test?
    Seems unfortunate timing there

17 /18 days apparently she played the first round of the Australian open on the 18/1 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Humourless oul biddies being humourless shock. Though apparently it's empowering to flick the bean to some posh totty bloke taking off his shirt on the latest BBC costume drama.

Is there some sort of bookmark or post saving feature? This made my day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

One report I saw implies that sponsors are now super-sensitive about anything that could possibly affect their brand, having been burned standing by the likes of Lance Armstrong.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

You kinda do TBH. Did he say he wanted to "make babies" with her?

He didn't. He was only repeating some "phnar, making babies, phnar" texts he got in after he uttered his first Pat "Did you really just say that?" Kenny gem. I was listening, and just sighed.

He said something approximating "So she'll get a two year ban and can go off and have a baby, or even two, and then come back". Because maybe the career was holding her back from popping out a few sprogs...? :rolleyes:
    Then he got a series of "Phnar, I'll help her out" texts from all the fellas who were hanging in there waiting for Pat to mess up and say acute vagina. That's all that happened, no need to lose your sh1t over it Wibbs ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Seems alot of Russian athletes are known to be using this medicine very long term.

Think this may not be so accidental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Aye, no pointing fingers or anything, but one look at the average player in any international team of today and players from international teams of the past and things that make you go hmmmm, springs readily. TBH I could give the big one when it's adults at it, my concern are the young kids who look up to these people who get into the various sports seeking to emulate them. That's the worry. A year back I was talking with this woman whose son was rugby mad and she found out he was chugging protein drinks and creatine to bulk up. He was 12.

When the inevitable mass expose occurs I hope it doesn't cause lasting damage to the game. Things like Pro Cycling in my eyes are forever tarnished.

However other sports like Baseball in the US seemed to get through their scandals without the game suffering long term credibility damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,402 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Pat Kenny has acute angina?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

When the inevitable mass expose occurs I hope it doesn't cause lasting damage to the game. Things like Pro Cycling in my eyes are forever tarnished.

However other sports like Baseball in the US seemed to get through their scandals without the game suffering long term credibility damage.

Fat lads in pyjamas waddling around for statisticians to **** over. Has it ever had credibility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Christ, I keep watching her press conference over and over again. Those doe eyes on her apologising. Pedal time

Shrap wrote: »
    He didn't. He was only repeating some "phnar, making babies, phnar" texts he got in after he uttered his first Pat "Did you really just say that?" Kenny gem. I was listening, and just sighed.

He said something approximating "So she'll get a two year ban and can go off and have a baby, or even two, and then come back". Because maybe the career was holding her back from popping out a few sprogs...? :rolleyes:
    Then he got a series of "Phnar, I'll help her out" texts from all the fellas who were hanging in there waiting for Pat to mess up and say acute vagina. That's all that happened, no need to lose your sh1t over it Wibbs ;)

Oh no! Another Maude! :)

Creepy old Pat is supposed to say what he likes without anyone remarking on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

kneemos wrote: »
    What about Williams?The muscles on that guy.
    Serena doesn't fail drug tests....she just avoids them instead.

Any tennis player who comes out and supports her...I think "et tu"...but that could be my natural cynicism...

That's all that happened, no need to lose your sh1t over it Wibbs ;)
    No mislaying of excreta here, my general take was "meh", but you may want to look elsewhere….
    You don't have to be humourless to think it's a bit much insulting Dawn French, calling a transexual 'it' or making awkward 'jokes' about a much, much younger woman in the news.

You just have to have some sense of what's appropriate, something Pat the Plank lacks on occasion.

But yeah, dem feministers.
    Oh no! Another Maude! :)

Creepy old Pat is supposed to say what he likes without anyone remarking on it!
    No need to give airtime to that. I thought that day was gone, obviously not.

As for humour, it's not exactly funny, is it?
    Maude Flanders! A name I've always coveted.

Missing poo all over the shop.
    bnt wrote: »
    One report I saw implies that sponsors are now super-sensitive about anything that could possibly affect their brand, having been burned standing by the likes of Lance Armstrong.
    Whatever about some low level cubicle cog dweller making up advertising copy distant from the source, the companies involved must have been beyond blind not to spot Armstrong was hoovering up the drugs. They all were at the time. They still are, but back then it was beyond obvious. When guys were going up French Alps at the same speed they used to do on the flat and claiming "special training" it was beyond clear it was BS of the highest quality. When middle of the road guys were suddenly winning grand tours it was as good as a positive drugs test*. There were enough whistleblowers and finger pointers and yet nope, let's ignore that the money is coming in. With the Yanks, there was the whole "Go USA!!!" guff they're fond of going on too, which was also masking the cheating. Too many people and too much cash didn't want to know.

*with cycling, look at the pre EPO days, where drugs were most certainly around, but they wouldn't turn a donkey into a racehorse. All Tour de France winners placed pretty high up from their first tour. In the case of multiple Tour winners they all placed within the top ten in their early days. Greg Lemond joked he was bummed because he didn't win his first tour(came third ). EPO comes out and that goes out the window. Oh and that still holds today. Check out the "drug/doping/cheat free" winners of the last "post drugs" few years and look at their first forays into the Tour De France. And loo at their doctors and supporters and team members. As far as BS goes, the SKY's the limit… As it were. So to speak.

Any tennis player who comes out and supports her...I think "et tu"...but that could be my natural cynicism...
    I'd reckon myself tennis is low enough on the drug stuff. There's a huge amount of skill involved that no drug is likely to improve. So I'd bet a clean player could still compete and win and there are likely a fair number of them. With the lower skilled strength and endurance sports the drugs and other "help" can make a huge difference.

Now one argument goes that if they're all on drugs and such then the rising tide lifts all boats, but that doesn't appear to be the case medically/scientifically. Individuals seem to respond differently to such regimes. You could have very genetically gifted and talented people where the extra boost gives little and other more mid range talents can get a huge boost in results. it would also depend on the cash behind different people. If they have access to better doctors/pushers they get better results.

No mislaying of excreta here, my general take was "meh", but you may want to look elsewhere….

Ah stop, it wasn't 'meh'! It was labelling anyone who thought it was out of line as a humourless old biddy. Even though it's perfectly reasonable to find it out of line because.....it was out of line!
    Humourless oul biddies being humourless shock. Though apparently it's empowering to flick the bean to some posh totty bloke taking off his shirt on the latest BBC costume drama.

And there are people who can object to Pats lack of nous without belonging to the latter camp. Just like there are plenty who can object to the latter without thinking the former is indicative of a lack of humour.

Calling people who don't agree with your assessment of the situation Maude Flanders types is a little hyperbolic.

I'd reckon myself tennis is low enough on the drug stuff. There's a huge amount of skill involved that no drug is likely to improve. So I'd bet a clean player could still compete and win and there are likely a fair number of them. With the lower skilled strength and endurance sports the drugs and other "help" can make a huge difference.

I dunno, I appreciate that it has more to do with balls and surfaces, but in recent years there has been a big move away from serve and volley types and towards the big muscular types who just overpower opponents from the baseline, like Nadal or the Williams. Not accusing either of taking drugs, but can certainly see why drugs would be more relevant now when so much is about stamina, training, gym work etc. It might be similar to why the batsmen in baseball used drugs, they wanted to train longer at busting those balls out over the car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Gatling wrote: »
    Seems alot of Russian athletes are known to be using this medicine very long term.

Think this may not be so accidental

Plus they say it is usually used for 4-6 weeks at a time, not for 10 years as Sharapova has admitted to. Also the drug is made in Latvia and is banned in the US where she has lived throughout her tennis career. Its not looking good for her.

AH response: hubba hubba

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Ok if thats the case why are people getting het up about the helping her make babies thing, isn't the saying she should use her time of too have a kid or two the actual offensive thing :confused:

edit: what I mean is if that what Plank said initially its classically sexist but not creepy, what the people texted in is low brow but is fairly typical across genders for attractive public figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I think the real drugs story here is - I would probably pay money to see video on Ye Tube of You or somesuch of Pat Kenny completely out of his bin on cocaine. Oh dear, we'll need to go to commercials... :D