Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Course id rather see frankie get the shout but aldo v mcgregor 2 will sell more ppv's its that simple really

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

0307-conor-mcgregor-beach-club-8.jpg

0307-conor-mcgregor-beach-club-6.jpg

What loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

edber2011 wrote: »
    CONOR McGregor's star came crashing down to the canvass in Las Vegas last night as Nate Diaz choked the life out of the MGM Grand Garden Arena and submitted the UFC's golden boy on an utterly startling night of mixed martial arts.
    Too cocky gets you nowhere.

Being cocky in building up fights got him to the featherweight belt and a ton of PPV buys/fame and money in a really short time.

I think he is certainly there to be shot at given the bravado of his antics before fights. And look, it happens. Chael Sonnen talked absolute crap and got beaten many times but fans still love the guy.

Conor is still the featherweight champion at the end of the day and I think he'll still be a draw. A loss in MMA is different to that of boxing. It isn't disastrous as many are making it out to be imo.

I think Conor will come back better from it. Look what the loss to Duffy did to him.

I would still like him to train somewhere else for a while just to really test himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

ricero wrote: »
    I reckon at ufc 200 we see aldo v mcgregor as jose aldo is a bigger draw than frankie, diaz v dos anjos for the lightweight belt and taite v rousey for the belt.
    Wouldnt mind a Diaz v Nurgamedov fight and the winner of that to fight RDA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Gamb!t wrote: »
    Wouldnt mind a Diaz v Nurgamedov fight and the winner of that to fight RDA.

No chance of that happening Khabib is fighting Ferguson anyhow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Poor Ferguson is going to be fed to the kraken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

That_Guy wrote: »
    Being cocky in building up fights got him to the featherweight belt and a ton of PPV buys/fame and money in a really short time.

I think he is certainly there to be shot at given the bravado of his antics before fights. And look, it happens. Chael Sonnen talked absolute crap and got beaten many times but fans still love the guy.

Conor is still the featherweight champion at the end of the day and I think he'll still be a draw. A loss in MMA is different to that of boxing. It isn't disastrous as many are making it out to be imo.

I think Conor will come back better from it. Look what the loss to Duffy did to him.

I would still like him to train somewhere else for a while just to really test himself.

He is definitely still a massive draw,he lost a bit of shine no doubt but he is still one of,if not their biggest drawing fighter.

I heard this a lot on these forums recently about him changing camps or going somewhere else for a bit,and i can see the logic in what people are saying but,to me this would be a hard sell given all his talk of loyalty to his camp and is very very unlikely.

But without doubt he seems to be very poorly coached,i mean he went into this fight against such a durable guy as Nate,so much bigger than him and it seemed the gameplan was just to actually take him out of there early and that was the only plan.His tank was done after round 1 he looked a bit like Phil Baroni in there,really disappointed to see him have such poor cardio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Poor Ferguson is going to be fed to the kraken.

Most likely but fighting Ferguson isn't a welcoming fight when you haven't fought in 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Does anybody think that if JK told him not to take the fight he wouldn't of took it.
    We are not talking small money here we are talking millions.
    Who gives a **** if it was a bad fight or too much of a step for him.
    It was fight or walk away from a few million euros.

Also JK was telling him what to do after the first and Connor didn't listen or couldn't adjust.

Nothing wrong his coaching IMO
    Back to defend the FW belt.
    He defends that and he is still Champion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

newbbieb wrote: »
    He is definitely still a massive draw,he lost a bit of shine no doubt but he is still one of,if not their biggest drawing fighter.

I heard this a lot on these forums recently about him changing camps or going somewhere else for a bit,and i can see the logic in what people are saying but,to me this would be a hard sell given all his talk of loyalty to his camp and is very very unlikely.

But without doubt he seems to be very poorly coached,i mean he went into this fight against such a durable guy as Nate,so much bigger than him and it seemed the gameplan was just to actually take him out of there early and that was the only plan.His tank was done after round 1 he looked a bit like Phil Baroni in there,really disappointed to see him have such poor cardio.
    He had "poor cardio" because he was throwing everything at Nate trying to knock him out.

If he had kept to the original plan and listened to what JK and Roddy were saying about attacking legs/body/ not loading up the shots it would have been a different fight.

Was just a poor decision on Conor's part, he seen blood, thought he could finish him and realised too late that Nate was way more durable.
    **** happens, he accepted it. I reckon he'll go back to his counter punching ways a bit more now rather than trying to get the KO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Gamebred wrote: »

What loss.

Only Conor would hold a glass with 'surrender' on it to the camera 2 days later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

After that fight I was referring to.

Ferguson to rolling heel hook Khabib :pac: ,2 years and them bad injuries are not easy to overcome cant wait to see him back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Ferguson to rolling heel hook Khabib :pac: ,2 years and them bad injuries are not easy to overcome cant wait to see him back.

Khabib's grappling is better than Tony's though, his father is a judo legend, he's a black belt in sambo and Judo and has a wrestling backround, and he's a no-gi bjj world champion.

I know if he even attempts one of his crazy subs on khabib its not gonna end well,if i was fighting khabib id spam leg kicks and oblique kicks on his ropey knee,cheap but probably effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Tony's a quality grappler and he has some power on the feet. Khabib is more of a lay on top of you guy. The grappling exchanges will be very interesting, I think Khabib might be getting a bit too much hype for that win over RDA though. That and 2 years absent, I'll put a few coins on Ferguson (even though I really don't like that guy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

What loss.

Do ye reckon Dee has swapped the pill for Tic Tacs yet? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Do ye reckon Dee has swapped the pill for Tic Tacs yet? :eek:

Genuine rotfl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Was his dream to get a haircut ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

Was his dream to get a haircut ?

ha, well spotted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

What loss.

I was as gutted as anyone after the fight, but really I think some fans are more bothered about the defeat than Conor.

He has been here before in his career, a defeat is nothing new to him (or virtually anyone successful in MMA) and in this sport is never the end of the world. He cashed in big time, will have a bit of a blow out and then get back to action.

He will certainly be fine. It's the nature of the UFC beast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

What loss.

The one against Diaz less than 48 hrs ago

Haha you're following me around now,you cant even sleep at night without spamming a forum with criticism of Conor McGregor,he is engulfing your life step away from the computer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Paully D wrote: »
    I was as gutted as anyone after the fight, but really I think some fans are more bothered about the defeat than Conor.

He has been here before in his career, a defeat is nothing new to him (or virtually anyone successful in MMA) and in this sport is never the end of the world. He cashed in big time, will have a bit of a blow out and then get back to action.

He will certainly be fine. It's the nature of the UFC beast.

Yeah I agree.

He's still the FW champion and a good win in his first title defence and we're back looking at if he wants another shot at RDA or a LW fight.

By my count he was winning about 7 or 8 mins of that fight and had ended the first round with Nate on Nate's back.

What happened in the last min or 2 of the fight is a problem, but not one that can't be fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

WarZ wrote: »
    Ido Portal is apparently an expert in jiu jitsu as well

"Once you're pinned down, you are a sitting target. You're moving in predictable ways. It's very easy to implement all kinds of attacks on you. Then, people like Aldo can shine. Once you're on the move, being unpredictable and taking all kinds of shapes and rhythms, then the whole game changes."

This guy is doing pad work with Conor, advising him on his jiu jitsu and wasting hours doing silly yoga stretches in parks.

I don't think he is talking about jiu jitsu there. Even if he was, there's no way John was going to stand aside and let a white-belt take his place a bjj coach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I think the loss was more about how restricted Conor was at 170 rather than the performance of Nate Diaz. I think he takes Nate at 155! I know people will say Nate didn't have a full camp but that was way too much of a weight adjustment for Conor to handle in one go. The man gassed big time, but it was his ego that got him in the first place. He should of never taken this fight at Welterweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭batman_oh

nocoverart wrote: »
    I think the loss was more about how restricted Conor was at 170 rather than the performance of Nate Diaz. I think he takes Nate at 155! I know people will say Nate didn't have a full camp but that was way too much of a weight adjustment for Conor to handle in one go. The man gassed big time, but it was his ego that got him in the first place. He should of never taken this fight at Welterweight.

Even John Kavanagh disagrees with this! Fighting Diaz that way would have always ended the same. They made no weight related excuses so I'm not sure why people have to do it for them. He also gave Diaz props for rolling and avoiding the full damage of a lot of the shots. The mistake was trying to take his head off - but it's no surprise considering the success Conor has had doing that to this point!

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

Fcuking hell. Posting pics of McGregor around hot women saying "what loss" is cringe. If he was a single man you'd be alright with it but it's not like he's banging them. It's akin to someone taking a picture of a Bugati and posting it on fb trying to make you jealous. Unless you're actually inside it driving it then there's nothing to be jealous of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Yup, the talk of him winning at 155 is horse sh*the. So if both guys have to cut weight, Conor suddenly becomes better?

Nate wasn't training for a triathlon, he was in Mexico partying with team mates when he got the call. His conditioning would be even better if he had a full camp and had to make 155.