Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

davmol wrote: »
    Its a country you are (supposed) to be supporting not individuals

Yeah and as I said, McGregor doesn't represent Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

eagle eye wrote: »
    Well it seems like a load of cow dung to me. You go bragging about how much you liked seeing McGregor beaten, then about how you had this lovely bet that you never posted in advance and then about how you particularly loved seeing Conor getting his head thumped.

I know McGregor comes off a bit cocky and even nasty sometimes before fights because that is what Dana White wants him to do to make millions.

What is your excuse for being even worse than McGregor with nothing to gain from it?

Ok, look above, can't believe people are so stupid to think someone would make up such a small bet?!?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,505 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

pone2012 wrote: »
    Wow people need to seriously stop with the fanboy stuff, McGregor was beaten by a superior fighter... theres all sorts of excuses being thrown around but the fact is he was beaten by a better fighter

Diaz made him do everything he never said he would, Diaz beat him without a camp, He was beaten in standup, then panicked and tried to go to ground and got beaten there too. For all his talk about Nate, he didnt last too long with him..2 out of 5 rounds

Conor has achieved great things, and worked well and I highly respect his achievements, but Nate Diaz is a better fighter, the results show that

Conor dominates featherweights because he is effectivley a 155er imo, his cut to 145 is brutal (according to his coach) so his power is his biggest asset. But Diaz took his strikes in stride and Conor couldnt take his

Ok wait a minute. Conor only wins because he is bigger but it doesn't matter that Diaz is three inches taller and has a two inch reach advantage and is heavier?

gallag wrote: »
    Ok, look above, can't believe people are so stupid to think someone would make up such a small bet?!?!?!

When I'm home this evening I'll post one of them with a million trillions winnings on it.

Very easy to do.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Why didnt you bet the house on Diaz? if you were so confident?

I wouldnt wipe my ass with 131e.

Because my wife and children live in my house lol wtf is happening here? Why would you wipe your ass with 131e? It wasn't even euro lol.

Ok now I posted proof of my life changing winnings can we move past it now and concentrate on the whooping McGregor got?

Why didnt you bet the house on Diaz? if you were so confident?

I wouldnt wipe my ass with 131e.

Is your arse that big?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

glasso wrote: »
    jaysus, if someone is not t-bagging McGregor's nads, he's out of order - is that it?

You're obviously not familiar with the history betweem Ewan McKenna & McGregor/JK/SBG.

McKenna has been waiting for a chance to deconstruct McGregor in print ever since he made a jackass of himself on twitter, with stupid trolling tweets. He's a crawler and an over inflated hack who threw his dummy out of the pram because he couldn't get an interview with Conor.

What about the rest of my post, not going to answer that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I feel no compulsion to support anyone or thing purely based on what lottery of life had us born on the same patch of dirt.

i agree where you are born or not born is just random luck, but with your attitude you miss out on a lot of fun and happy experiences. i was quite young back in 1990, but what a great, great summer it was, hugging strangers and jumping up and down with them when Ireland beat Romania. I can honestly say it was one of the best times in my life.
    I don't particularly care for mcgregor's persona, maybe he is a decent guy underneath it all, maybe not, but either way i admire his hard work and self- belief to get to where he is.
    I hope he bounces back from this loss and becomes a two weight ufc world champion.

Bitcch please, ain't no mofo with £131.50 on his hip got time to be replying to every post!!!

i agree where you are born or not born is just random luck, but with your attitude you miss out on a lot of fun and happy experiences. i was quite young back in 1990, but what a great, great summer it was, hugging strangers and jumping up and down with them when Ireland beat Romania. I can honestly say it was one of the best times in my life.
    I don't particularly care for mcgregor's persona, maybe he is a decent guy underneath it all, maybe not, but either way i admire his hard work and self- belief to get to where he is.
    I hope he bounces back from this loss and becomes a two weight ufc world champion.

Thing is you were supporting the country. They were representing Ireland.

McGregor isn't representing Ireland.

Bitcch please, ain't no mofo with £131.50 on his hip got time to be replying to every post!!!

Run away if you like, but please don't keep posting if you are not going to answer when you are called out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

glasso wrote: »
    Because he's Irish and using the whole Irish thing extensively as part of his image maybe some Irish people take offence at the way that he's gone about it - the way he represents Irishness.
    He's made very good money (probably not as much as he claims) but going around like a mid 1990's rapper with instagram pictures of stacks of cash and a rolls royce, dissing people like Diaz because they earn less than him and many silly analogy metaphors that he's chosen to use is just not cool. Is that all there is to him?
    If he comes back with dignity and actually does something in the ring (I imagine that he'll be looking for a fight with a high percentage win chance as if he loses 2 in a row his stock will have fallen too far) and proving that he's not a one-trick punch pony then he'll earn respect.
    Toning down the rubbish a good bit would help also. He could achieve the same effect of publicity in other ways.

Couldn't agree more. I think he embodies a lot of traits I find horrible in human beings - he's foul mouthed, ignorant, he has no class, he has a completely overly inflated ego, he thinks the whole gangsta thing is cool, he's far to wrapped up in the importance of money, and his own importance. He's just a horrible person in public, and that's all I have to judge him on.

To think that he puts himself forward as fighting for his country actually makes me sick and massively embarrassed.

The worst thing is that young kids think the whole carry on is cool. Very sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

Slow-mo of Nate's leg trap that kept Conor from escaping

LinearDeafeningColt.gif

Love seeing the intricate technical moves that I miss 90% of the time in real time

They were wearing a jersey and were called the Republic of Ireland and they were all professional footballers being paid to represent their country. Conor proudly carries the Irish flag. What's the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Run away if you like, but please don't keep posting if you are not going to answer when you are called out.

You called him a liar. He proved you wrong. Move on...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Im not biting but ill make this one comment,

You all hate him yet you no doubt tuned in and paid the privilege,directly into his bank account,that Irony is no doubt lost on ye,mind blowing stuff.

Davei141 wrote: »
    You called him a liar. He proved you wrong. Move on...

How did he prove me wrong? Have you ever heard of photoshop? I can do what he did easily, takes less than five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Im not biting but ill make this one comment,

You all hate him yet you no doubt tuned in and paid the privilege,directly into his bank account,that Irony is no doubt lost on ye,mind blowing stuff.

Its Conor's greatest achievement of all. Even the people who hate him are talking about him, keeping him current and lining his pockets in the process.

Long may it continue.

They see me rolling, they hating.....

God dam lock Ness monster I ain't got no 131fidy!!!!!!!

Seriously though to busy planning where to eat out tonight to reply to your "call out" living the dream!!!! McDonald's? KFC? Subway??? Even pizza hut is an option, The world's my ****ing oyster!!!!!!!!!

They see me rolling, they hating.....

God dam lock Ness monster I ain't got no 131fidy!!!!!!!

Seriously though to busy planning where to eat out tonight to reply to your "call out" living the dream!!!! McDonald's? KFC? Subway??? Even pizza hut is an option, The world's my ****ing oyster!!!!!!!!!

Which punch that I threw knocked you down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

How did he prove me wrong? Have you ever heard of photoshop? I can do what he did easily, takes less than five minutes.
    Jesus, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

i know, but the poster was saying it did not matter to him if it was country or the individual, he felts no compulsion to support a team or individual based on an accident of birth. To reiterate i don't particulary care for mcgregors conducts, but if he wasn't irish, i would still admire his story. Mc gregors is representing Ireland, but the problem for you and others is, you are ashamed of this, i am not. Ali was an outright prick, it doesn't detract from the fact he was a great fighter. although i've stired up another argument now because the refrain will be don't put McGregor and Ali in the same category:D, but that is not my intention. what i'm trying to convey is that you don't have to like a person, to admire his/her talent.

I dare you to do it right now so if it only takes 5 minutes.

Can you even hear yourself right now? To photoshop that without pixel distortion etc in under five mins would be impossible, but the main thing to consider is why would anyone goto that trouble for a 131fidy bet ffs??????

Jeez it would be like posting in the motor section that you drove a 2007 1.6 golf and people calling you out as a lier ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

davmol wrote: »
    Good stuff so you probably supported England when they were playing Ireland in the rugby and I take it you will be getting behind Italy and Belgium when they play Ireland in the euros this summer!

I was . I had them -8 at even money. Won 40 euro
    Was delighted when Mike Brown scored.
    Big fan of Italy and love Belgium. Lived there for two years. They also have a few players shoring up the defence of my beloved Spurs.
    I won't be rooting for Ireland in the euros. They play horrible stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

John_D80 wrote: »
    Its Conor's greatest achievement of all. Even the people who hate him are talking about him, keeping him current and lining his pockets in the process.

Long may it continue.
    Ha, is that the press release from the fanboy club? I like McGregor, some of the thing's he's said has even made me proud but it doesn't get away from the fact he was beaten by a better fighter. I'm a realist not a McGregor hater.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Ha, is that the press release from the fanboy club? I like McGregor, some of the thing's he's said has even made me proud but it doesn't get away from the fact he was beaten by a better fighter. I'm a realist not a McGregor hater.

That literally has nothing to do with the post you quoted.

John_D80 wrote: »

Long may it continue.

that's a facile argument that only applies if people who don't like him buy his ppv or go to his fights, or buy his silly Reebok hats that he promotes up on Instagram. Which they don't.

I was . I had them -8 at even money. Won 40 euro
    Was delighted when Mike Brown scored.
    Big fan of Italy and love Belgium. Lived there for two years. They also have a few players shoring up the defence of my beloved Spurs.
    I won't be rooting for Ireland in the euros. They play horrible stuff.

Haha I also had England at minus 8!!!! Good call sir! I had it in a quad with Chelsea, QPR and Frampton!!!!!

And before the haters "call me out"