Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

ceecee14 wrote: »

So when are Sky announcing they have the MMA rights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Haha Fully agree Galag. So glad to see him come undone in such a public fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,505 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

gallag wrote: »
    Still haven't figured out which was my favourite part of the night/morning!!! Sure having tate and nate in on my treble was good, as was watching McGregor give up and do all the things he was so vocal against i.e panic wrestling etc. His bandwagon jumping loudmouth fans tears were also a treat but alas not my favourite....

For me the best moment was when nate had McGregor against the fence and was landing some bombs on McGregors face, never seen a man look so broken, probably replaying the interviews over in his head repeating with every blow administered by the butt of his jokes.

Nate "the Karma" Diaz!!!!!!!

Yeah I can understand now you would like Diaz a lot more than Conor. He is such a quiet, humble fighter.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

Haha Fully agree Galag. So glad to see him come undone in such a public fashion.

Well it was hardly going to be anything but public was it?

Still haven't figured out which was my favourite part of the night/morning!!! Sure having tate and nate in on my treble was good, as was watching McGregor give up and do all the things he was so vocal against i.e panic wrestling etc. His bandwagon jumping loudmouth fans tears were also a treat but alas not my favourite....

For me the best moment was when nate had McGregor against the fence and was landing some bombs on McGregors face, never seen a man look so broken, probably replaying the interviews over in his head repeating with every blow administered by the butt of his jokes.

Oh and on the winnings, well done. I had them all to win in the exact rounds that they won in. Not just the three big fights but all the fights. My fiver turned in a 100 trillion million euro!!!!! It's just so awesome to win that much money!!!!!

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

"Go on Nate, count to 10".

1 punch to the jaw....2 to the jaw...3 to the jaw.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

John_D80 wrote: »
    Diaz has some advantages but yes McGregor is most definitely a better all rounder than Diaz IMO.
    i?img=%2Fmedia%2Fmotion%2F2016%2F0306%2Fdm_160306_diaz_mcgregor_hl%2Fdm_160306_diaz_mcgregor_hl.jpg&w=943&h=530

davmol wrote: »
    I never quite understand people who don't get behind fellow countrymen who fight on the worlds stage.Sure,Mcg is mouthy and brash but its all part of the entertainment.
    Seeing an Irishman( I assume you are irish) berating another Irishman who is fighting on the worlds stage always puzzled me regardless if you like the man or not.

Just because he's Irish doesn't mean you have to support him. He's fighting for himself in the UFC, not Ireland. He marketed himself well as the mythical Irish warrior McGregor but don't pretend like he's representing Ireland.

nate-diaz-punches-conor-mcgregor-of-ireland-in-their-welterweight-picture-id513969976

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

eagle eye wrote: »
    Oh and on the winnings, well done. I had them all to win in the exact rounds that they won in. Not just the three big fights but all the fights. My fiver turned in a 100 trillion million euro!!!!! It's just so awesome to win that much money!!!!!

Lol, congrats, I only won £131.50 for my fiver lol latifi, tate and nate.

Just because he's Irish doesn't mean you have to support him. He's fighting for himself in the UFC, not Ireland. He marketed himself well as the mythical Irish warrior McGregor but don't pretend like he's representing Ireland.

He isn't representing Ireland but he is an Irishman doing great in the UFC, a man who had very little money only a couple of years ago.

I dunno how Irish people wouldn't love to see him do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Must have missed your post in the gambling section on here...

After timing at it's finest, well done. Such a bent thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

If you've seen any of the countdown programmes or any of his interviews he makes it abundantly clear that he is a proud Irishman and represents his country.

I cant think of any other sportsperson in recent times that has energised a country behind them.No other sporting events have made people gather together at 5am and get behind one of their own and its strange how people would rather see a foreign fighter beat a compatriot just because he is confident and brash...all the hubris promotes the fight and sells tickets that's why he earns millions per fight and the other fighters earn hundreds of thousands,if even.

I think he was quite humble and didn't make excuses which is more than I can say about other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

I never quite understand people who don't get behind fellow countrymen who fight on the worlds stage.Sure,Mcg is mouthy and brash but its all part of the entertainment.
    Seeing an Irishman( I assume you are irish) berating another Irishman who is fighting on the worlds stage always puzzled me regardless if you like the man or not.
    I feel no compulsion to support anyone or thing purely based on what lottery of life had us born on the same patch of dirt.

I don't believe you. Did you post that you were doing this bet before the fight?

Must have missed your post in the gambling section on here...

After timing at it's finest, well done. Such a bent thing to do

I don't post in the gambling section, why would I? Was only a fiver bet ffs, and if you read the context of my post it's not like I was posting specifically about a bet, you seem to take this seriously, uok?

I don't believe you. Did you post that you were doing this bet before the fight?

He did in his bollix post that bet slip.

I feel no compulsion to support anyone or thing purely based on what lottery of life had us born on the same patch of dirt.

Good stuff so you probably supported England when they were playing Ireland in the rugby and I take it you will be getting behind Italy and Belgium when they play Ireland in the euros this summer!

I don't post in the gambling section, why would I? Was only a fiver bet ffs, and if you read the context of my post it's not like I was posting specifically about a bet, you seem to take this seriously, uok?

I'm fine, thanks.

There's a specific gambling thread in this forum, not the gambling forum.

After timing is one of the worst ways someone can brag about anything. Monetary wise or not, it's still bent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I cant believe you lads are taking the bait,its easy to spot a blow in MCGOAT hater from the genuine posters who are mma fans.

He isn't representing Ireland but he is an Irishman doing great in the UFC, a man who had very little money only a couple of years ago.

I dunno how Irish people wouldn't love to see him do well.

And now he loves to let everyone know (including people who were like him who had no money and are struggling to live) just how much money he has.

Come on fella, if I was going to lie about a bet to make my online anomalous personal more super cool for all you random strangers I would imagine my made up stake would have been more than a fiver and my winnings more than a average man's days pay ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Gamebred wrote: »
    I cant believe you lads are taking the bait,its easy to spot a blow in MCGOAT hater from the genuine posters who are mma fans.
    Na I just don't like the blinkered fanboys. I've had my fun, see you for the next McGoat fight

Good stuff so you probably supported England when they were playing Ireland in the rugby and I take it you will be getting behind Italy and Belgium when they play Ireland in the euros this summer!

Considering there's a large number of British and South African players in those teams...not a great example to pick.

Its a country you are (supposed) to be supporting not individuals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Wow people need to seriously stop with the fanboy stuff, McGregor was beaten by a superior fighter... theres all sorts of excuses being thrown around but the fact is he was beaten by a better fighter

Diaz made him do everything he never said he would, Diaz beat him without a camp, He was beaten in standup, then panicked and tried to go to ground and got beaten there too. For all his talk about Nate, he didnt last too long with him..2 out of 5 rounds

Conor has achieved great things, and worked well and I highly respect his achievements, but Nate Diaz is a better fighter, the results show that

Conor dominates featherweights because he is effectivley a 155er imo, his cut to 145 is brutal (according to his coach) so his power is his biggest asset. But Diaz took his strikes in stride and Conor couldnt take his

Ffs

Come on fella, if I was going to lie about a bet to make my online anomalous personal more super cool for all you random strangers I would imagine my made up stake would have been more than a fiver and my winnings more than a average man's days pay ffs.

Well it seems like a load of cow dung to me. You go bragging about how much you liked seeing McGregor beaten, then about how you had this lovely bet that you never posted in advance and then about how you particularly loved seeing Conor getting his head thumped.

I know McGregor comes off a bit cocky and even nasty sometimes before fights because that is what Dana White wants him to do to make millions.

What is your excuse for being even worse than McGregor with nothing to gain from it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Ffs

Why didnt you bet the house on Diaz? if you were so confident?

I wouldnt wipe my ass with 131e.

Because he's Irish and using the whole Irish thing extensively as part of his image maybe some Irish people take offence at the way that he's gone about it - the way he represents Irishness.
    He's made very good money (probably not as much as he claims) but going around like a mid 1990's rapper with instagram pictures of stacks of cash and a rolls royce, dissing people like Diaz because they earn less than him and many silly analogy metaphors that he's chosen to use is just not cool. Is that all there is to him?
    If he comes back with dignity and actually does something in the ring (I imagine that he'll be looking for a fight with a high percentage win chance as if he loses 2 in a row his stock will have fallen too far) and proving that he's not a one-trick punch pony then he'll earn respect.
    Toning down the rubbish a good bit would help also. He could achieve the same effect of publicity in other ways.