The new skanger look?

• 07-03-2016 01:31AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭

Anyone noticed skangers have taken the hipster look on?
    Beards tattoos combovers mixed with sometimes huge upper bodies snapbacks skinny trackie pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

aka "The McGregor".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

One does not simply become a Skanger Hipster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

me_irl wrote: »
    aka "The McGregor".

No, most of them are still standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

Regular Hipsters drink designer beers from bottles.
    McGreggor hipsters drink what's on tap.

20Cent wrote: »
    Regular Hipsters drink designer beers from bottles.
    McGreggor hipsters drink what's on tap.

Or those ones out of jam jars... "HIPSTERS!!!!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭LeeLooLee

I'm not just a regular skanger, I'm a cool skanger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

They're so versatile.

Your Face wrote: »
    They're so versatile.

Birdseye Potato waffles ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Birdseye Potato waffles ?

Yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

The McSkanger

Sounds like a burger from that popular fast food joint

KFC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭newacc2015

sasta le wrote: »
    Anyone noticed skangers have taken the hipster look on?
    Beards tattoos combovers mixed with sometimes huge upper bodies snapbacks skinny trackie pants

OP what hipster have you seen that wear snapbacks and tracksuit bottoms? Hipster wear the total opposite

I do think skangers are finally retiring short back, top and sides. I went to a Barbers in the north inner city and he said they are doing less short hair cuts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭sasta le

newacc2015 wrote: »
    OP what hipster have you seen that wear snapbacks and tracksuit bottoms? Hipster wear the total opposite

I do think skangers are finally retiring short back, top and sides. I went to a Barbers in the north inner city and he said they are doing less short hair cuts.
    See loads where as now its only getting into the skanger dress sense
    Look at all the faux old fashioned barber shops around last a year or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

And them feckin long jackets with the fluffy hoods. . Quare yolks altogether

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭sasta le

A parka?I have one bought it a few years back a good one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Lord I came into this thread a bit worried it was going to be how I dressed.
    Hipster scumbag, hmm. Anything is better than the white socks with the bottoms tucked in. Even skinny tracksuit pants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Its starting to look more and more like lads are taking their sisters clothes imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭sjb25

Lord I came into this thread a bit worried it was going to be how I dressed.
    Hipster scumbag, hmm. Anything is better than the white socks with the bottoms tucked in. Even skinny tracksuit pants

But the tracksuit pants need enough room the keep hands down the front for the cold weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

sjb25 wrote: »
    But the tracksuit pants need enough room the keep hands down the front for the cold weather

Doesn't even have to be cold in limerick. Anytime anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

What the hell are snapbacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Was in a night club in Waterford over Christmas - looked around to see two identical mcgregors standing behind me. Man buns, beards and cheap top man 3 piece suits.

It takes one class of a bellend to go out dressed like him, but two of them? That's skangers for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,370 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Paul Galvin wannabees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

What the hell are snapbacks?

Surprised I had to scroll for so long to see this asked. I'm not the only fogey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,303 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

theteal wrote: »
    Surprised I had to scroll for so long to see this asked. I'm not the only fogey...

They appear to be some sort of hat. (I had to Google it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

They appear to be some sort of hat. (I had to Google it)

Yep, I did a Google image search. They look to me like NY Yankee baseball cap types. Never knew they were referred to as snapbacks but there ya go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,303 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Yep, I did a Google image search. They look to me like NY Yankee baseball cap types. Never knew they were referred to as snapbacks but there ya go.

From further research I think the difference between them is a snapbacks size can be adjusted whilst a baseball hat is fitted and can't be adjusted. There all baseball hats to me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Shoot me down in flames if ye will, but I have a soft spot for the male hipsters various looks as a general thing. Not for me as such, but what I like about it as a fashion is that it's far less classist and ageist than most previous fashions. Like when hippies were the in thing it was very much a white, young middle class thing. There were no old hippies when it was current. Same with punk when it came along(The only kinda similar "look" that was a broad enough church were/are the Goth types). Today you can have Black, Asian, whatever you're having yourself hipsters and they can be 17 or 60+ year olds, from college campus or council estate, or both. I like that about it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

From further research I think the difference between them is a snapbacks size can be adjusted whilst a baseball hat is fitted and can't be adjusted. There all baseball hats to me.

Likewise, I didn't actually know there was a difference tbh. I didn't investigate further, I figured doing an image search was far enough :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Wibbs wrote: »
    Shoot me down in flames if ye will, but I have a soft spot for the male hipsters various looks as a general thing. Not for me as such, but what I like about it as a fashion is that it's far less classist and ageist than most previous fashions. Like when hippies were the in thing it was very much a white, young middle class thing. There were no old hippies when it was current. Same with punk when it came along(The only kinda similar "look" that was a broad enough church were/are the Goth types). Today you can have Black, Asian, whatever you're having yourself hipsters and they can be 17 or 60+ year olds, from college campus or council estate, or both. I like that about it.

I'm not sure I agree. I don't remember the hippie or punk eras but they were probably more diverse than the pictorial depictions that survive. Plus I'm not sure the hipster look is as racially diverse as you're suggesting. I'm only going on what I see in town, rather than media representations, and it seems confined to white people.

ETA: I'm talking about Dublin here; I've seen hipsters in NYC, Ldn and Oz but I wouldn't have been there long enough to get a proper handle on the scene.

I'm not sure hipsters stand up to being compared to hippies or punks as those movements were underpinned by distinct philosophies that set them apart from the mainstream. Hippies: peace n love. Punks: anarchy, anti-establishment. What do hipsters believe in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

Southsoiders! Southsoiders everywhere.
    The bang of popped collars and hairspray is overwhelming in this thread.

daithimac wrote: »
    Southsoiders! Southsoiders everywhere.
    The bang of popped collars and hairspray is overwhelming in this thread.

We've found ourselves a skanger