Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Gamebred wrote: »
    Exactly ''beating them,why join them they have nothing to offer him,

Conor will be fine you dont clear out a division by fluke,once frankie is ko'd he will go down as the fw goat with everybody not just me.

He's only any use when he's fighting midgets. Even if he beats Frankie....it would mean nothing to me. How much of a reach/weight and height advantage will he have?

Until he moves up and actually fights people his own size, he'll never be the 'goat'.

He's a bigger man than the champion that's a division above him ffs. If that doesn't tell you there's something wrong well then I'm sorry, you're delusional

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Tilikum wrote: »
    He's only any use when he's fighting midgets. Even if he beats Frankie....it would mean nothing to me. How much of a reach/weight and height advantage will he have?

Until he moves up and actually fights people his own size, he'll never be the 'goat'.

He's a bigger man than the champion that's a division above him ffs. If that doesn't tell you there's something wrong well then I'm sorry, you're delusional

You realise Holloway was taller than him?and on the weight issue for championship fights they have to weigh in 145,if he rehydrates better it makes his wins arent worth anything?

Incredible views you have my friend beating frankie would mean nothing to you jesus christ this is comedy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 215 ✭✭ceecee14

Repeating now on BT sports for anyone that missed it. Just on last round of Holm Tate now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

I can tell you're trolling not an actual fan when you refer to fighters who dedicate their lives to this sport and could beat the life out of you as midgets but I'll bite anyway.

He's max 3 inches taller than Edgar. An inch taller than Aldo.

Diaz, who fights at LW is about 3/4 inches taller than McGregor too (no matter what the UFC stats say as they are notoriously unreliable Conor was 5'11" now he's 5'9"). So what do you say to Conor? Fight 'midgets' in FW or be the 'midget' in LW?

He beat Holloway who is taller than him. Poirer is the same size if I'm not mistaken. Chad and Frankie are small FWs, but that's their call to fight there. Both could probably make BW.

You realise Holloway was taller than him?and on the weight issue for championship fights they have to weigh in 145,if he rehydrates better it makes his wins arent worth anything?

Incredible views you have my friend beating frankie would mean nothing to you jesus christ this is comedy.

You're comedy......Holloway is the best you have lol? He was only starting out in the UFC ffs. Including Conor he lost 3 of his first 6 fights.

Conor will have another massive weight, height & reach advantage against Frankie. Surely to God you'd like to see him actually fight people his own size?

They offer Conor zilch,2 nobodies who will never get near a ufc title unless hell freezes over,

Both are 2 of the biggest chokers in the game.

Yeah Artem and Gunnar are far more dominant than Faber and Mendes...

Do you actually think about what you're saying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

threeball wrote: »
    Don't buy the bulking thing tbh. He was intending to go up 10 lbs before do anjos injury. There's no way he added more than 4 to 5 lbs of muscle and end up making the cut as horrendous as it was at 45. Maybe he had a ****ty diet but it couldn't have been bulking
    I can tell you're trolling not an actual fan when you refer to fighters who dedicate their lives to this sport and could beat the life out of you as midgets but I'll bite anyway.

Diaz, who fights at LW is about 3/4 inches taller than McGregor too (no matter what the UFC stats say as they are notoriously unreliable Conor was 5'11" now he's 5'9"). So what do you say to Conor? Fight 'midgets' in FW or be the 'midget' in LW?

He beat Holloway who is taller than him. Poirer is the same size if I'm not mistaken. Chad and Frankie are small FWs, but that's their call to fight there. Both could probably make BW.
    Frankie was lightweight champ up until 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭JJayoo

An unstoppable troll meets an immovable troll.

Go back and read the thread, it was gamebred that referred to them as midgets before me.

Yeah Artem and Gunnar are far more dominant than Faber and Mendes...

Do you actually think about what you're saying?

The only belt the pair will ever get their hands on is that indian reserve yoke faber had back in the 90s ha

McGregor mean while is an undisputed king of a ufc division he ko'd a guy who had merked the pair of them,if anything they need to join sbg to learn striking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

The only belt the pair will ever get their hands on is that indian reserve yoke faber had back in the 90s ha

McGregor mean while is an undisputed king of a ufc division he ko'd a guy who had merked the pair of them,if anything they need to join sbg to learn striking.

PlumpAnimatedArchaeocete.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

Exactly ''beating them,why join them they have nothing to offer him,

Conor will be fine you dont clear out a division by fluke,once frankie is ko'd he will go down as the fw goat with everybody not just me.

You're delusional to still be here posting crap like this. It's a new day for you and your idol that you cling to like a blood sucking tick - deal with it

Tigger wrote: »
    Frankie was lightweight champ up until 2013

It's a lot bigger these days though. He is probably a natural FW but he could go down the McGregor route and cut to make 135 and rehydrate. He's not a big man.

And he got submitted by a guy who was annihilated by Dos Anjos. You make it very hard to be a Conor McGregor fan!

Go back and read the thread, it was gamebred that referred to them as midgets before me.

True, Apologies.

It's a lot bigger these days though. He is probably a natural FW but he could go down the McGregor route and cut to make 135 and rehydrate. He's not a big man.

And he got submitted by a guy who was annihilated by Dos Anjos. You make it very hard to be a Conor McGregor fan!

True, Apologies.

No problemo.

True, Apologies.

Ah an MMA math analogy,the fact is Conor ko'd Mendes,the suggestion that He go train with the likes of Mendes is absolute comedy gold one of the stupidest things ive read all weekend,

giphy.gif

Ah an MMA math analogy,the fact is Conor ko'd Mendes,the suggestion that He go train with the likes of Mendes is absolute comedy gold one of the stupidest things ive read all weekend,

Imagine someone suggested he go train with Artem Lobov. Who do you think he should train with? Stay with SBG until he gets found out by a wrestler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

LaGlisse wrote: »
    Didn't realize Diaz was a vegan,makes the loss even worse

Shows that plant based diet is effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

It's a lot bigger these days though. He is probably a natural FW but he could go down the McGregor route and cut to make 135 and rehydrate. .

But the same an be said of Diaz
    He's a natural ww who cuts down to light ( he's missed weight more than once ) Conor is a natural lw who cuts to fw and apart from having a laugh and giving it a punchers chance he should not have been fighting at 170

He will cut to 145 (probably for the last time) and I hope he fights Edgar cos frankie deserves the go (red panties for everyone )
    Then he should grind out the lightweights and we'll see
    Should he train in an American gym ? Not for striking imho as we have plenty of good boxers here to play with him but for wrestling (his weakness) and bjj ( not tested yet but learning new tech can't hurt) yeah I think he probably will once he gets into the light weight division on
    Like his WEE foil or cad or whatever they call it, or hate it it's made him very wealthy very quickly so if he has to leave home and train abroad and do other things he said he wouldn't do then so be it
    He was 26 or 27 when he said that stuff and to me that's still a kid
    I think he will grow as a person and as a fighter and I think travel will help that
    I also think he should keep up the show cos the public lap that stuff up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Jon Jones on his grown respect for Conor:

https://www.instagram.com/p/BCohRbdMDAp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

YFlyer wrote: »
    Shows that plant based diet is effective.

Ido Portal looks after Conor's diet plan. Unfortunately he obviously decided that Conor's nutritional needs would be best looked after by constantly eating steak. It was obviously some sort of Hipster Caveman Diet that Ido Portal came up with...

This Ido lad has go to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

WarZ wrote: »
    Ido Portal looks after Conor's diet plan.

No, he doesn't.

George Lockhart is Conor's nutritionist.

Another problem is that nutritionist's, much like "movement coaches" are based in ****ing woo-science and make it up as they go along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

No, he doesn't.

George Lockhart is Conor's nutritionist.

Another problem is that nutritionist's, much like "movement coaches" are based in ****ing woo-science and make it up as they go along.

I wouldn't bother responding to him, he is literally just making stuff up looking for a reaction. There is no way he thinks Ido Portal is Conor's nutritionist. He has been trolling all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

WarZ wrote: »
    Ido Portal looks after Conor's diet plan. Unfortunately he obviously decided that Conor's nutritional needs would be best looked after by constantly eating steak. It was obviously some sort of Hipster Caveman Diet that Ido Portal came up with...

This Ido lad has go to go.

He is simply following his limited education on diet and nutrition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Imagine someone suggested he go train with Artem Lobov. Who do you think he should train with? Stay with SBG until he gets found out by a wrestler?

On that point, I can see Kavanagh and McGregor changing their approach for fights slightly by focusing a little bit more on counteracting their opponents strengths.

TimRiggins wrote: »
    On that point, I can see Kavanagh and McGregor changing their approach for fights slightly by focusing a little bit more on counteracting their opponents strengths.

Yeah that sounds grand but what happens when they pull out half the time,hundreds of hours pissed away on a certain body type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Yeah that sounds grand but what happens when they pull out half the time,hundreds of hours pissed away on a certain body type.

Just because the opponent of pulls out doesn't mean the hard work goes to waste. If he works hard on TDD if he fights Edgar next, it'll give him needed TDD when he does fight wrestlers in the future. And so on. And so forth.

Don't bother replying, you seem too knowledgeable for me to hold a candle to your argument. I'll be wasting away in After Hours if anyone needs me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

The posts about Conor being classy and being gracious in defeat are such ****e. What's he gonna do? Come out and say he should have won the fight?

The important things he said were before the fight where he bad mouthed Nate, making him out to be a retard. Well sorry Conor but the "retard" made you quit. I don't think Conor was able to count to 10 after Nates arms were locked around McGregors neck.
    He's such a big meanie and I hate him! :mad:
    floorpie wrote: »
    So why did he gas? You don't think he's less fit than someone like Nate, surely.

I know he was intending to go up in weight, but he did it way too fast. It's not like you put on weight and bam, you're the same level fitness you were before but heavier. Your cardiovascular system and skeleton and muscles need time to get used to the weight.

He did it way too fast imo. I don't know whether that's a poor coaching choice or just Conor taking risks, but he didn't gas from a higher striking volume than usual, I know that much.
    I don't think it was any one thing but a number of problems together. Getting cracked on the jaw would have been a factor. He missed a lot more than I thought after a rewatch. Putting so much power into shots and whiffing would have him worn out. Headhunting a Diaz wouldn't have been the strategy I thought he was going to go in with, perhaps he got a bit discouraged when it didn't work and that had an effect on the stamina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭edber2011

Too cocky,it allways end in tears.

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

mdwexford wrote: »
    Aldo money still stinging you eh.

That money has long been made back and increased in size.

i said it to my mate yesterday, that extra muscle went on too fast, it;s one thing to spar 170 pounders who are not trying to take your head off, it;s another to punch yourself out trying to finish one who is!

I like conor and am gutted for him, like most on this thread, we agree his persona can be too much but we all love to see anyone Irish do well in a sport we really love.

I;d say go back down to 145 and rebuild, even if caught on the ground, at 145 it;s not 190lbs sitting on you, he is right, the smaller lads do crumble at that weight and will do so again, 170 was way too much, take it on the chin and move on!