Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Did well to win that, McManus was missing absolutely nothing from what I heard.

AOS black card was also a harsh one from what I've been told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

kupus wrote: »
    Can i nominate mcquillen for monaghans man of the match!!!

Why on earth was he given that match? Surely a ref from Leinster/ Munster should've got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

Massive win
    Good to win a tight one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Fantastic win!

And kudos to the Senior Hurlers who beat hot favourites, Down, in Newry today, by 0-20 to 0-16. Top of their league now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Kalyke

And kudos to the Senior Hurlers who beat hot favourites, Down, in Newry today, by 0-20 to 0-16. Top of their league now.
    And the ladies....

Kalyke wrote: »
    And the ladies....

Score ????:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Score ????:D
    Kerry2-6 2-8Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Ok so next weekend we need to do a job over Kerry at home and Monaghan beat cork . Actually as long as there isn't a draw there it should work in our favour .
    Kerry Donegal today had a lot of cynicism but showed Kerry's need for points as did donegals intent on a semifinal spot .
    Should be tough for us next week. Kerry Dublin and Donegal have the meanest defences and thankfully we are now in that mix . Just need to sort out the front six .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Mighty win. Good to see few scores from play. DOC doesn't stop, Boyle immense. Regan did well along with COS. Clones grand spot for a game too

Need to push on now next week. Big game for March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Great to finally get some points on the board and it's a morale boost to win a close one. More than anything though, it's great that there's constant improvement match to match. There's no running on the spot.

Sounds like Diarmuid O'Connor is continuing to flourish. We've got a real gem there.

Colm Boyle showing brilliant leadership again. Possible captain for the rest of the year?

Ger Cafferky did a great job on McManus too.

Although it seems to be doubtful that the AOS black card was the correct call, may it have been a blessing in disguise? It sounds like it forced the team to adapt and drive on.

Sounds like a bad day for refereeing in general. Have never been a fan of McQuillan myself. Eddie Kinsella had a nightmare down in Tralee too. No control over the game at all and horrible indiscipline from both sides.

Yes some really stand out performances today.Diarmuid O Connor is a truly wonderful player,ditto Colm Boyle.He's a strong candidate for captain come championship time.The whole defence really stood up,kudos to the often maligned Ger Cafferkey,great job on Conor McManus who was restricted to scoring from frees.

Some of Joe McQuillan's decisions were mystifying to the point of bizarre.. Aidan O Shea's black card,a free out Andy Moran and numerous others.

Still need to find that little bit up front but lots of positives for next Sunday.

Yeah, I think the jury's still out on a couple of the younger lads in the forward line. These tough matches are good for them though.

I think there's a strong possibility though that Shane Nally is going to be in the team come championship time. He seems to be going steady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

Diarmuid O'Connor.....just wow.

Himself and colm boyle are two of the hardest working players ive seen in a mayo jersey.
    Doc up and down the pitch all day long, doing all the dirty work and still pitching in with scores at the other end. he Absolutely empties himself every game. He's just fantastic. Brilliant.
    Boyler the same. So dedicated, determined and passionate in the tackle. Fantastic captain today that led by example.
    Dont get me wrong i think keegan is fantastic and great for driving the team on but u dont see boyle at some of the silly stuff that keegan gets himself involved in.
    McQuillin made some bizarre decisions today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

Any one no when coc is back we badly need a free taker it could be as big as us staying up or going down

naughto wrote: »
    Any one no when coc is back we badly need a free taker it could be as big as us staying up or going down

Don't think he's expected back until April or thereabouts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

The monkeys next door are on a high again. Can't wait to give them the hammering they're due......

Yeah I don't believe Cillian O Connor will be back before the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

seligehgit wrote: »
    Yeah I don't believe Cillian O Connor will be back before the championship.

He shouldn't be
    He needs to be 100% this year
    He was nowhere near last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

Rawhead wrote: »
    The monkeys next door are on a high again. Can't wait to give them the hammering they're due......

Did u not hear there going to win the world cup

km79 wrote: »
    He shouldn't be
    He needs to be 100% this year
    He was nowhere near last year

Agreed. It's not something that should be rushed. Aside from the fact that it's not worth risking further injury to him, it's no harm to try and manage without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

naughto wrote: »

Evan Regan is doing ok, prone to missing a few scoreable ones admittedly, I would give him a bit of latitude as this is his first year getting a consistent run in the team.

He's certainly a better option than Mcglaughlin or Doherty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Caught a bit of DOC on Radio 1 after the game.
    He mentioned that he may not be available (for next week I assume) because of u 21 championship commitments.

We could do with him next week, its a winnable game.

Rawhead wrote: »

I know I shouldn't but I can't stop sniggering at them.

Fair enough they may be safe in Div 1, as I predicted they would in another thread, but right now you have no idea about how this will pan our for the championship.
    Will Ross be competitive in Connacht, they certainty will, but that's about it.
    Beating Cork or Kerry in spring is one thing, beating them in HQ in August is another thing completely.

Roscommon have the fairly nifty forwards we're lacking and they seem to have bought into the new management. I think they have a Connact title in them. Don't know if it'll be this year, but soon.

I hope Diarmuid can make the Kerry game next week. I think we'll really need him.

As an aside, don't know if anyone has caught much of Tyrone so far, but they're looking quite impressive. Mickey Harte has done a great job of bringing through young players who seem to be coming into their own now.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Great win away. Was surprised we got it to be honest. Was racing all weekend so missed it.
    Is it on TnaG later on tonight?

Can't argue with Rossies, ya they are hyper, but I'd prefer to be safe in their position than in ours at the moment. We don't need to go down a division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Always_Running

I know I shouldn't but I can't stop sniggering at them.

Fair enough they may be safe in Div 1, as I predicted they would in another thread, but right now you have no idea about how this will pan our for the championship.
    Will Ross be competitive in Connacht, they certainty will, but that's about it.
    Beating Cork or Kerry in spring is one thing, beating them in HQ in August is another thing completely.

Beating Kerry maybe but Cork? they bombed out of the championship last summer against Div 3 Kildare and could yet be relegated from Div one.

I see alot of similarities with Monaghan and Roscommon. Both have small populations,both were Div 3 teams and both are now holding their own in div one. Should be applauded for the improvement they have made not sniggered at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Beating Kerry maybe but Cork? they bombed out of the championship last summer against Div 3 Kildare and could yet be relegated from Div one.

I see alot of similarities with Monaghan and Roscommon. Both have small populations,both were Div 3 teams and both are now holding their own in div one. Should be applauded for the improvement they have made not sniggered at.

I can see both sides to this. I can't say I'm a big fan of SOME Roscommon fans but you can't blame them for being quite chuffed with themselves for the moment. They're fairly assured of Division 1 next year and have a very good chance of a semi final spot.
    Compare that to ourselves, who the very same Rossies that I tend to hold my disdain for would love to see us relegated.
    They were expected to struggle and have managed to do exceptionally well so far.

Cork are schizo.

One minute they are a badly taken 45 away from beating Kerry in Killarney for the first time in 20 years, the next they are losing by 8 to Kildare.

One day they are getting their holes handed to them in PUC against Kerry, the next they are giving Mayo the scare of their lives in a QF.

Like the other poster said, there would be a certain element of Ross support that would love to see us go down while they get to a SF.
    But my God it would make it all the more fun if we beat them in a Connacht final in Castlebar, which I would fully expect us to do.
    They can have their fun now but summer is a different story.

Lads FYI Aidan O Shea is on The Toughest Trade tonight @ 9.55 on RTE 2 trying his hand at American Football whilst ex NFL star Roberto Wallace heads to Breaffy.It should be interesting.I've seen the promo,Robert Hennelly togs out too in McHale Park.

Brendan Maher the Tipperary hurler swaps places with the fine ex English seam bowler Steve Harmison.

EDIT ACTUALLY HE'S NOT ON UNTIL NEXT WEEK