Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

You're misunderstanding him. He means literally she is not a champion. As in she lost the belt last night. McGregor still has his featherweight belt.

Yeah but the initial post he replied to said "Holy Holm...she's a real champion, real heart", which would be in the figurative sense. By denying that surely it's on his part that there is the misunderstanding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Andre 3000 wrote: »
    Once a champ, always a champ, it cannot be taken away from her. If that weren't the case, some of the greatest athletes of all time are, by your definition, not champions.

is that why Jon still had his belt with his the other day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Yeah but the initial post he replied to said "Holy Holm...she's a real champion, real heart", which would be in the figurative sense. By denying that surely it's on his part that there is the misunderstanding?

Well done lads, ye are debating a point that was made in an obvious trolling post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Tigger wrote: »
    ok but the question was was that the first two weight swing between two fights in the UFC
    the fight you refered to wasn't ufc it was one of the Jap promotions
    BJ had been fighting at middleweight the fight before not at FW
    BJ has only ever fought once at FW and that was his last fight

Yup, missed the UFC part. Cobwebs in the brain after last night. He fought once at middleweight yes, but my point in essence is that he was a lightweight fighting at LHW and that people have moved up before. Not as common in the UFC because Dana doesn't really let you fight for 2 belts unless he likes you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I've seen a few post saying he "took" the fight at 170. Was it not McGregor that requested the fight at 170??

The legions of McGregor drones will be here trying go rewrite history and claiming he was forced to take the 170 weight. Most clued in people will see McTapper for what he is though, a coward and a fraud.

thats not what it said
    Holy Holm didn't tap out like this fraud, she's a real champion, real heart

Conor (the fraud?) still has his belt and is still the champ
    holly lost her belt (and is still the champ?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

The legions of McGregor drones will be here trying go rewrite history and claiming he was forced to take the 170 weight. Most clued in people will see McTapper for what he is though, a coward and a fraud.

McTapper. Are you a child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,768 ✭✭✭threeball

Huge questions over Mcgregor or after this fight. His cardio will be questioned. For a man that claims to be able to go fifty rounds to gas at the beginning of the second raises doubts over his conditioning. If he intends to move to lightweight is his chin and power capable. Diaz is not a heavy handed fighter yet he rocked Mcgregor and ate Mcgregors best for fun. Tapping out without fighting the submission calls his heart into question also. I'm not saying pass out but at least fight the grip. He didn't even raise his hands to his neck.

His UFC 200 ambitions are almost certainly finished apart from maybe co main for the FW belt but dropping again is going to hurt him. Losing to do anjos would have been a better end to his run as he can't stay at 145 with those cuts and an automatic 155 challenge is now off the table. Today he lost to a mid range LW fighter where neither cut weight and one had no camp. I see a Joe Duffy rematch in the not too distant future if Joe can get one or two more wins under his belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭c montgomery

How is he either a coward or a fraud?

lol
    i get the mctapper, it could be funny if you like that sorta thing
    he wasn't forced to take the 170, i think the lead in story was cool and if he'd done it it would have made some story.
    but how is he a coward?
    how is he fraud, thats just silly

MarkY91 wrote: »
    McTapper. Are you a child?
    How is he either a coward or a fraud?

Lads can ye not see that he is just looking for a reaction? Report and ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

This thread is a ****ing nightmare

John_D80 wrote: »
    Well done lads, ye are debating a point that was made in an obvious trolling post.

you want me to tap out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Thelomen Toblackai

I've seen a few post saying he "took" the fight at 170. Was it not McGregor that requested the fight at 170??

That's what I thought too. And also that BJ Penn and Anthony Pettis wanted the fight but they went with Diaz.

So sounds to me like McGregor was the one doing the picking and choosing and decided Diaz at 170 suited him best.

xtal191 wrote: »

the 79 people that predicted the result after the fight need to get their pound of flesh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

ISOP wrote: »
    mctapper being real humble here alright

KnSk8Jl.gif

Aimed at TJ Dillashaw not any of Aldo's team. Said Aldo was a great champion etc after the fight and Aldo has never returned any respect or congratulated him.

xtal191 wrote: »

Will be closed by the end of the day probably.

There was actually some decent post fight chat going on until about 3 or 4 pages ago.

Some lads just insist on feeding the trolls though!! :D

I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

The begrudgery that so many people in this country have in their persona is alive and well I see!

John_D80 wrote: »
    Lads can ye not see that he is just looking for a reaction? Report and ignore.

That's right. Just ignore anything that doesn't fit with your blinkered "conor McGregor is the greatest" viewpoint. Keep chanting olé olé olé... No need to face up to reality just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,768 ✭✭✭threeball

FalconGirl wrote: »
    The begrudgery that so many people in this country have in their persona is alive and well I see!

C'mon if I guy constantly talks sh1t and calls out guys nearly twice his bodyweight people are entitled to crow a little.
    I was hoping he'd win just to see how far it could go and like his fighting style but his antics are polarizing and people are entitled to dislike him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

floorpie wrote: »
    You ever done BJJ?

Yup, I'm a blue belt.

It must be very hard for the McTapper faithful today. Probably akin to finding out Santa Claus isn't real.

He'll be working as a plumber before this decade is out. A total chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Whatever about anything else, the man could walk away from sport forever right now and never have to work another day in his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,874 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

It must be very hard for the McTapper faithful today. Probably akin to finding out Santa Claus isn't real.

He could stop now and he'd never need to work another day in his life. He can retire to his mansion with his multiple millions. Somehow I don't think he will take up plumbing as a hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭floorpie

Yup, I'm a blue belt.

Well how would you reckon he could fight a RNC when he's stretched out fully with the choke sunken in? There's no fighting to do at that point. He could try and make some space from the choking forearm but that's just faffing around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

Are you allowed give chinese burns or atomic wedgies in UFC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

Touch butt. Diaz may well have a point.

floorpie wrote: »
    Well how would you reckon he could fight a RNC when he's stretched out fully with the choke sunken in? There's no fighting to do at that point. He could try and make some space from the choking forearm but that's just faffing around.

thats what i was led to believe

Are you allowed give chinese burns or atomic wedgies in UFC?

burns yes wedgies no

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    He could stop now and he'd never need to work another day in his life. He can retire to his mansion with his multiple millions. Somehow I don't think he will take up plumbing as a hobby.

Well whatever he decides to do it shouldn't involve fighting. He's embarrassed himself enough at this stage. Not as much as his fan base of drunken illiterate morons have though.

Mod: Banned