Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

Anyone know someone in the south east that will come in and dehorn calves. Have 80+ to be done.
    What sort of cost....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,716 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

dar31 wrote: »
    Anyone know someone in the south east that will come in and dehorn calves. Have 80+ to be done.
    What sort of cost....

I've turned into a lazy hoare according to some around my kneck of the woods ,all slurry ,fertliser and calf dehorning contracted out this spring !!!!,money extremely well spent as enough to be doing elsewhere .try the frs ,paying 4 euro per calf but I've heard of a guy up the country doing it for 1 euro per calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I've turned into a lazy hoare according to some around my kneck of the woods ,all slurry ,fertliser and calf dehorning contracted out this spring !!!!,money extremely well spent as enough to be doing elsewhere .try the frs ,paying 4 euro per calf but I've heard of a guy up the country doing it for 1 euro per calf

Ya have to be well organised to be lazy.

€2 - 2.50 would be good money for a large group.
    Will try frs on mon but they will probably want big money for it. Find wexford frs far better that local one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I always thought it Mahoney, you're some lazy boll1x.

Lazy good for nothing bollox!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

dar31 wrote: »
    What sort of cost....

I might know someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Came across someone by chance with maize bales for sale .there tested with 30.5% starch and just under 37% dm .hes looking for 55 euro a bale plus delievery per bale .thinking of buying 25 bales .reasoning behind it is cows only going out once per day till weather settles down a bit and I've about 2/2.5!weeks and less of very good bale silage left .after that it's put silage which is 73 plus Dmd and nearly 40% dm but I know it won't feed as good as bales .price seems ok and I'd be happy with test results .opinions ????.weather no sign of settling with more heavy rain middle of next week .these may not be there if left another week

Good value at less than 18c/kg dm after transport. Protein will be an issue on the days they are in. You may have to substitute some of your meal with soya.

If cows on grass by day that not enough? Feeding a 16%p nut here, grass by day and 50 50 maize grass silage at night.

Timmaay wrote: »
    If cows on grass by day that not enough? Feeding a 16%p nut here, grass by day and 50 50 maize grass silage at night.

Probably is. I'm on maize, beet, grass silage and 4.5 kg 18%. The days there they are in,and that could be 3 or 4 days on the trot, you'd notice a drop in milk. But there is always a balance between keeping condition on cows and pushing milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Probably is. I'm on maize, beet, grass silage and 4.5 kg 18%. The days there they are in,and that could be 3 or 4 days on the trot, you'd notice a drop in milk. But there is always a balance between keeping condition on cows and pushing milk.

I find the opposite to be true Brown. Not saying you're spoofing but I've had to put out cows to graze down covers and it's costing me.

Eventful day.

I dropped a friend to an open day on a dairy farm owned by Dutchmen while I went to look at a machine for sale on a dairy farm 200km away.
    The machine was fine and while sorting the paperwork he mentioned to me he is losing €10k/month. Five robots and 3 men milking 230 cows...I asked him CoP?...35.7cpl. In fairness the land wouldn't be the most productive and he is fairly rare in that he has dairy as the only enterprise. I was still shaking my head on the way back up the road.

I wandered into the open day to collect my buddy to head home...just in time to hear him asking what the CoP on the farm was. Feckin lead balloon!! :). He was told that it was nobody's business.
    The farm is an advert for Lely. Two robots for 90 cows and robots for mixing/feeding, another robot for pushing in the feed etc etc. Both of us back up the road shaking heads in disbelief.

When did it all get so crazy with spending?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Good day here also 2 tankers going nonstop since 8am. Home time now, moved loads of slurry :):)

50% of what's grazed has slurry got now

What's even better is I got a young lad to drive as ground was drying well. It allowed me watch 2 episodes of The Wire before afternoon jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dawggone wrote: »
    Eventful day.

I dropped a friend to an open day on a dairy farm owned by Dutchmen while I went to look at a machine for sale on a dairy farm 200km away.
    The machine was fine and while sorting the paperwork he mentioned to me he is losing €10k/month. Five robots and 3 men milking 230 cows...I asked him CoP?...35.7cpl. In fairness the land wouldn't be the most productive and he is fairly rare in that he has dairy as the only enterprise. I was still shaking my head on the way back up the road.

I wandered into the open day to collect my buddy to head home...just in time to hear him asking what the CoP on the farm was. Feckin lead balloon!! :). He was told that it was nobody's business.
    The farm is an advert for Lely. Two robots for 90 cows and robots for mixing/feeding, another robot for pushing in the feed etc etc. Both of us back up the road shaking heads in disbelief.

Only answer is to stick in another few robots and double cow numbers. Simples!

Dawggone wrote: »
    I find the opposite to be true Brown. Not saying you're spoofing but I've had to put out cows to graze down covers and it's costing me.

I'm sure it would be the same here if I put a 25% in the bin and fed 6kg, but I'm set up to set up to graze. Wouldn't even have the beet, maize and s hulls in the pit but I'm stocked at 4/ha and would have to buffer way into April in a normal year. Btw don't have a wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Dawggone wrote:
    I wandered into the open day to collect my buddy to head home...just in time to hear him asking what the CoP on the farm was. Feckin lead balloon!! . He was told that it was nobody's business. The farm is an advert for Lely. Two robots for 90 cows and robots for mixing/feeding, another robot for pushing in the feed etc etc. Both of us back up the road shaking heads in disbelief.

Dawggone wrote:

I prefer to look at this in a positive way.

For years manual workers in every industry have lived in fear that their bosses would cut costs and replace them with robots which don't answer back and work 24 hours a day without a paycheck.

And now the robots have come to dairy farms, and it's the turn of the robot sellers and robot servicers to lose sleep over their jobs.

Because it turns out that the only thing which works harder and costs less than a robot is an old fashioned dairy farmer.

I'm sure it would be the same here if I put a 25% in the bin and fed 6kg, but I'm set up to set up to graze. Wouldn't even have the beet, maize and s hulls in the pit but I'm stocked at 4/ha and would have to buffer way into April in a normal year. Btw don't have a wagon.

4/ha without a wagon. Respect.

kowtow wrote: »
    I prefer to look at this in a positive way.

For years manual workers in every industry have lived in fear that their bosses would cut costs and replace them with robots which don't answer back and work 24 hours a day without a paycheck.

And now the robots have come to dairy farms, and it's the turn of the robot sellers and robot servicers to lose sleep over their jobs.

Because it turns out that the only thing which works harder and costs less than a robot is an old fashioned dairy farmer.

It's only positive for big industry like Lely et al, imho.
    Will there be a retired robot service engineer, like Fed Dibnah, on Telly in fifty years time giving us a rundown of our first endeavors of getting machines to work animals?

However, I do see the irony.

Ever notice that in farming, those that embrace new technology find it very difficult (financially), whereas in other industries it's quite the opposite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Yes exactly.

The costs and risks of tech fall on the farmer while the savings accrue directly to his customer, and the hoped for - and usually notional - profits are immediately capitalised in the land he will have to buy in order to remain viable.

It's a hard corner to work in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Daw gone, do the 3 men he employs spend their days looking at the robots or what? Sounds a ridiculous set up,them robots are a pure scam up want to be mental to buy one.

The engineer in me would love to have a robot setup, I wounder what sorta price I'll be able to pick up 2 nice fresh enough robots in a year or so from a bank reposition ha?

kowtow wrote: »
    Yes exactly.

The costs and risks of tech fall on the farmer while the savings accrue directly to his customer, and the hoped for - and usually notional - profits are immediately capitalised in the land he will have to buy in order to remain viable.

It's a hard corner to work in.

Thanks.
    Equally insightful and depressing, but so, so true.

Daw gone, do the 3 men he employs spend their days looking at the robots or what? Sounds a ridiculous set up,them robots are a pure scam up want to be mental to buy one.

Three includes himself Jack.

The engineer in me would love to have a robot setup, I wounder what sorta price I'll be able to pick up 2 nice fresh enough robots in a year or so from a bank reposition ha?

You'd get robots here for free, if you're willing to buy the farm...

Viewed a farm a couple of weeks ago that had a DeLaval robot advertised for sale with over two years and they had only received one call. It was a Lely dealership that offered him €3k to get rid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Lely do in - house finance so would be a non - runner haha....New entrant in 2013 has her second robot gone in this year, crazy thing is cows are still housed on straw bedded accommodation and wedged into sheds 40 bales a week is being used to keep cows bedded....
    A basic 14 unit parlour the first day in this situation would of ment cubicles could of went in this year instead of having to drop another 80 grand on a robot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,784 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

cows back out today after being in since monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭orm0nd

whelan2 wrote: »
    cows back out today after being in since monday

out here since 8 am pi$$ing rain now, back in a couple of hours,

forecast for mid week =sh1te

orm0nd wrote: »
    out here since 8 am pi$$ing rain now, back in a couple of hours,

forecast for mid week =sh1te

Snap