Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

whelan2 wrote: »
    cattle cards dont have to be presented to vets anymore for stamping after a test.

Only completed herd test 2 weeks ago and the vet asked for The cards. Is that rule in long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Grueller

Reggie. wrote: »
    Get a better vet

5 local practices and none of them do Saturday testing or reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Grueller wrote: »
    5 local practices and none of them do Saturday testing or reading.

Must be making too much money around your part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,430 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Only completed herd test 2 weeks ago and the vet asked for The cards. Is that rule in long?
    Dont know, the girl said there is no need to stamp them any more but they could scan them to see if there are any cards missing iykwim. She said she would stamp them if I wanted her too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I think they still take the cards until the reading , its just that they don't need to stamp the date anymore I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Anyone ever get a cow with bloat in the shed? I put out a salt lick yesterday and I have a cow not well today bs looks bloated I think she may have gorged the lick and then water. No temp. I'm going to give her 200ml paraffin oil and see if it workes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Anyone ever get a cow with bloat in the shed? I put out a salt lick yesterday and I have a cow not well today bs looks bloated I think she may have gorged the lick and then water. No temp. I'm going to give her 200ml paraffin oil and see if it workes.

Melt treacle and put it back in her. Did you change her diet or anything bar the lick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

cattle cards dont have to be presented to vets anymore for stamping after a test.

Are you sure? Had test here during the week (all clear thank God) and gave cards to vet. would the dates not have to be stamped on cards?

Muckit wrote: »
    Are you sure? Had test here during the week (all clear thank God) and gave cards to vet. would the dates not have to be stamped on cards?
    no she said theres no need. dont think restricted herds need to give in their cards any more either. Sure no movement could be completed unless you have a valid movement cert.

Just won 25 euro on a scratch card, the lad in front of me asked for an all cash and he said for the shopkeeper to put back the 2 euro card and give him a 1 euro card, i bought the 2 euro card and won 25 euro. The other lad was sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Any of yee been to Munich?
    Would yee recommend?
    Was over on a tour three years ago but twas college related...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Melt treacle and put it back in her. Did you change her diet or anything bar the lick?

No change in diet bar the lick. I stuck 200ml paraffin oil into the stomac tube and down her neck. Within two minutes I could hear it working in her. Strange one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Would yee recommend?
    I've been there a couple of times with work. The usual, airport to company to hotel to airport. Got to go to a Champions League match with Bayern Munich playing once though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

its now a very speedy feeder, was all that damage done in 1 night?
    Yep. I have not seen a rat about the place in ages but the dogs killed one on Tuesday so they are about.
    The agri store only had 17 peach teats so we could only use one feeder and it took ages to feed them as we had to split some batches with a temporary gate. This afternoon I got a loan of another 10 teat feeder from a neighbour until Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Would yee recommend?

Great restuarants, not suitable for vegetarians or Muslims. Great beers. Great public transport system to get around. You MUST visit the Technology Museum. Don't know about the nightlife, had family with me.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Would yee recommend?

Yeah was in it fine place great beer and restaurants are very good and very handy get around.Get a sightseeing bus on your 1st or second day only way to get your bearings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,423 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Would yee recommend?

Been with work many years ago. Good place for the crack. Was there for start of Octoberfest too which was a blast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,125 ✭✭✭visatorro

Would yee recommend?

Was at October fest when I was able to drink, great craic. Probably not a true reflection of the city.

Happy mothers day to all te mammies, came in from milking to have a big breakfast ready on the table for me:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Happy mothers day to all te mammies, came in from milking to have a big breakfast ready on the table for me:)

thought you'd be allowed a lie in today

Happy Mother's Day

Christ McGregor got hammered by Diaz last night. There's a reason why great sports people are so humble. Too bad he had to learn that so late in life.

I have little sympathy for him. His antics are way over the top and completely staged for the cameras imo. Maybe now all the young lads going around with those ridiculous haircuts will disappear now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

He had 9 million for that fight and Diaz only had 1 million out of it, who's the real winner?

I have little sympathy for him. His antics are way over the top and completely staged for the cameras imo. Maybe now all the young lads going around with those ridiculous haircuts will disappear now too.
    Cant understand people staying up all night to watch a few seconds of a fight. When I was getting up most of the people were just heading to bed

Had a calf born last monday morning that would not suck. Trying him every day and no go. Frustrating as hell. Gave him the injection last wednesday to no avail. Had been milking the cow and stomach tubing him twice a day since. I had given up on him sucking and baled the cow up to milk her this morning. Turned around to get the bucket to milk into and when I turned around again the little dinger was sucking. Still a bit awkward at it and very slow, but a lot faster than me milking by hand let me tell ya. Made my day anyhow.

He had 9 million for that fight and Diaz only had 1 million out of it, who's the real winner?

You need to keep winning to maintain the paydays though. 1 payday like that would probably do any of us on here I suspect. I would be afraid that a lot of these pro sportspeople get used to a lifestyle that requires that level of income to be maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

You need to keep winning to maintain the paydays though. 1 payday like that would probably do any of us on here I suspect. I would be afraid that a lot of these pro sportspeople get used to a lifestyle that requires that level of income to be maintained.

He has himself hyped up enough, be plenty more payday's for him even though I agree with you to an extent.

I suppose as bit like the Dairy boys having to get used the Beef farmers lifestyle. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I suppose as bit like the Dairy boys having to get used the Beef farmers lifestyle. :D

Why do yous milk cows at 6.30 a.m as well.
    Good on yous.;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Cant understand people staying up all night to watch a few seconds of a fight. When I was getting up most of the people were just heading to bed

Sure there's probably plenty saying 'can't believe how anyone would stay up calving a cow or lambing a ewe or crazy o'clock to milk cows that are bearly paying their way (at the mo) !! Takes all types to make the world go round!