Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

newbbieb wrote: »
    Nate made 500,Plus ppv cut was what he made,Conor made a million flat first fighter ever to do that,plus ppv cut.

The payout sheets were posted earlier in the thread. Nate got 500/500, accept it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

The payout sheets were posted earlier in the thread. Nate got 500/500, accept it and move on.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/363563/379460.jpg

He didnt,accept it and move on.

Enjoyable fight to watch.

McGregor with some good hits in the first but Diaz wasn't rattled.

2nd round, Diaz landed a few great punches and McGregor wobbled. Knew it was curtains then

Once it went to the floor only one winner.

McGregor taught a lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

ok, clearly disappointing.

but you know what, that defeat may be the making of Conor. There's no denying he was due a slice of humble pie, and id rather it happened after him jumping up to 170, then fighting someone at 145 or 155, which would totally derail him.

He needs to take a break now and demand a fight in Ireland or even the UK in the summer. He's now after saving 2 huge UFC shows at short notice, and has had basically 6 camps back to back.

The UFC have had the fans over the Atlantic an obscene amount of times and could do with giving a little something back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

The plan now is surely beat Aldo/Edgar have Nate beat RDA and then have a 155 rematch for the title. If this has beaten the PPV record just imagine what that would do.

darced wrote: »
    Did they not say Nate 500k show no bonus, Conor 1m show no bonus?

Yeh it did.

Completely misread them, mad. I hope Nate got a decent share of the PPV points so, he deserves it.

Sorry lads, my sleep addled state made me belligerent :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Yeah I was really annoyed the way the Gunni Maia fight went, maddening approach getting involved taking where Maia wanted it, it was like they listened to media about being grappler v grappler and Gunni mat skills might be used to outdo the master if you will.

Round after round it was plainly obvious who was the most elite there, but the gameplan wasn't altered it was a frustrating watch but an excellent performance by Maia

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

jimmii wrote: »
    The plan now is surely beat Aldo/Edgar have Nate beat RDA and then have a 155 rematch for the title. If this has beaten the PPV record just imagine what that would do.

RDA murdered Nate,Injured or not he destroyed him find it hard to believe he would turn that loss around,

Is anyone hugely confident of Aldo or Frankie beating Conor after tonight?

Weight difference aside tonight didnt just show them the holes,it also showed Conor the holes in his game which he will try and fix,

Them Bombs will have Aldo on queer street again imo.

Completely misread them, mad. I hope Nate got a decent share of the PPV points so, he deserves it.

Sure that would be standard easy to just see it as the same. You would hope he got a decent cut he certainly brought a lot of the interest in it hopefully he negotiated a tiered payout so that he gets big bucks for it hitting such crazy numbers.

Gamebred wrote: »
    RDA murdered Nate,Injured or not he destroyed him find it hard to believe he would turn that loss around,

Is anyone hugely confident of Aldo or Frankie beating Conor after tonight?

Weight difference aside tonight didnt just show them the holes,it also showed Conor the holes in his game which he will try and fix,

Them Bombs will have Aldo on queer street again imo.

That would be the plan as we seen tonight that's not always how it plays out! That route does leave the potential for a monster fight though and even if he only beats RDA 1 time in 5 if he can find that one then it would be massive.

I would think dropping back down and getting that power advange back will make him a decent fav against either and as you say if he can plug some of those holes and take that away from them then you have to think he gets another KO and the presumably starts to look upwards again especially if it is Edgar and there really is nothing left for him there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

meepins wrote: »
    I wouldn't say casual.. more like relaxed and a bit overconfident. The height difference being an obstacle. no surprise there but he landed some good shots they just weren't game changing.
    He didn't approach it the way I thought he would. I was expecting a lot of attacks to the lead leg and body then eventually begin to work the left in round 2.

Fair enough - he just didn't seemed pumped or something - the height of Diaz seemed to throw him.

I am a bandwagon supporter but as outsider and non expert it seemed bizarre a guy go from 145 to 170 - I got shot down here do suggesting this by the so called UFC experts! Apparently Diaz ain't even a top class 170 fighter.

Anyway I wonder what this does psychologically to McGregor - you could suddenly see in the press conference the confidence was gone and he was no longer calling the shots about upcoming matches, etc. All very understandable of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭ISOP

Brilliant, absolutely delighted to see that loudmouth put back in his box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

RDA should fight Ferguson, let Khabib comeback against someone else. I don't think anyone has anything for RDA right now though.

ISOP wrote: »
    Brilliant, absolutely delighted to see that loudmouth put back in his box

I think you're going to be disappointed.

jimmii wrote: »
    That would be the plan as we seen tonight that's not always how it plays out! That route does leave the potential for a monster fight though and even if he only beats RDA 1 time in 5 if he can find that one then it would be massive.

I would think dropping back down and getting that power advange back will make him a decent fav against either and as you say if he can plug some of those holes and take that away from them then you have to think he gets another KO.

Yeah true,ive seen it all in mma no result will ever see me shell shocked tbh,this surprised me alright thought he could deal with the reach but he had awful problems missing,

I wouldnt fancy him as much as before of mauling Edgar or Aldo,he wasnt taken down and grappled ****ed tonight,Nate got the Clinch fair enough he wasnt cutting to 145 but he broke the clinch on the cage once or twice without much trouble,Aldos chin is gone from Mendes now I can imagine what Conor has done to his ability to take a punch on the chin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebelomar

I know nothing about MMA...but in any sport to gain and try carry an extra 30lbs or so in muscle in such a short period is madness...and extremely ill advised.

Fair play to him taking a risk but it seems silly to me. He didn't have to given his standing in the organization I'd imagine?

Did those around/advising him need to be stronger and say no?

Sometimes a fighter needs to be saved from his own ego/heart.

Respect to Conor for giving it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

RDA should fight Ferguson, let Khabib comeback against someone else. I don't think anyone has anything for RDA right now though.

RDA is out of camp for at least another 6 weeks with a broken foot, Ferguson is headlining a FOX night next month.

Khabib vs Ferguson is exactly the fight that should happen. Winner of that getting the next crack of the whip at RDA, but instead it will be the winner of Khabib and Ferguson vs the winner of RDA and Diaz, aka Khabib vs RDA in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,587 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Poor game plan from McGregor cost him, he was trying too hard for the highlight reel KO and gassed badly by the end of the first.

That added to the jump in weight was in hindsight a bad combination.

Diaz took the shots he did land well and never seemed in too much trouble.

Dropping back to 145 is the smart move now where the opposite will be true and again as a massive FW McGregor will be able to make his size pay.

Delighted for Diaz but not sure where he goes from here, was beaten easily by RDA last time so if he can he should push for a shot at Lawlor. He won't win it but could be another big payday

You not worried about Aldos ability to take a shot on the chin? Mendes put him down then we seen one punch *a great one tbf done to him,Conor took Chads best heavy shots to the chin I honestly think the 145ers are too small to bother him,155 is his right weight class imo,guess anyways.

rebelomar wrote: »
    I know nothing about MMA...but in any sport to gain and try carry an extra 30lbs or so in muscle in such a short period is madness...and extremely ill advised.

Fair play to him taking a risk but it seems silly to me. He didn't have to given his standing in the organization I'd imagine?

He didn't really put on weight he just didn't lose weight like he normally does. He didn't have to take the fight and it was apparently him who said he wanted it at 170 he just like the fight which has got him this far but also led to what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Nate made a million for winning + a percentage.

Conor got 1million to show and would have got another million to win, and a much larger percentage of the ppv buys.

If Nate fights RDA in a headline fight for the title next he'll get the same deal

Afraid you're mistaken here mate. He was on a flat 500 and Connor was on a flat 1m. No win bonuses for either of them.

Highly unlikely nate will ever replicate that figure again. As champion RDA doesn't even get anywhere near that.

And very unlikely he would get a ppv cut against RDA either. RDA wouldn't even get a decent cut. Last night's fight was a one off for Diaz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

rebelomar wrote: »

Yeah I'm like yourself - I don't know jack about the UFC but it just seemed crazy to be jumping that amount of weight.

Fair play to him though.

I think Aldo having a go at him is a bit of joke - he lasted 13 seconds and is calling a pussy on Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Poor Nick can't quite get the tune right, but a good attempt nonetheless:

https://twitter.com/ufc/status/706382685619380224

Definitely prefer Nate out of the two though.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

It's a loss - no big deal in the grand scheme of things. Clearly a step too far at WW and lessons learned.

The way I see it, he goes back to 145 to fight Edgar next for the belt. Aldo can wait in line like every beaten champ has to. Frankie has earned his shot and deserves it next.

Depending on that result, and it's no way a certainty he beats Edgar, I think the best option is a rematch with Aldo at LW.

He could also go for a Diaz rematch at LW, because, despite the nay sayers and trolls revelling in this loss, he was cruising in the first before arrogance got the better of him - and a stiff shot from Diaz of course.
    A couple of wins for McGregor and this match with both having a full camp breaks records now.

Three big money fights there that might happen regardless of this loss. I believe there'll only be one more FW fight for him before he has to earn his stripes at LW to gain access to a title fight - like anyone should.

Anyways, I'm going to bed disappointed but happy. Tate, Nunes and Latifi earned me 50 quid tonight!

Yeah I'm like yourself - I don't know jack about the UFC but it just seemed crazy to be jumping that amount of weight.

Fair play to him though.

I think Aldo having a go at him is a bit of joke - he lasted 13 seconds and is calling a pussy on Twitter.

Its Aldo trying to get an edge promoting a fight,I wouldnt take any offence to it,however when Conor says something similar the men on their high horses spout all sorts of crap for abusing an opponent,

its the business game nice to see Jose Play along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭deandean

It'll be a big payout from Paddy Power. They ran a banner ad here offering 20 to 1 on Diaz, later dropped to 10:1.

Anyone got a linky to a video of the fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭blade1

lougal88 wrote: »
    Thus ends the McGregor bollix hype.

Beaten by a skinny fat guy
    deandean wrote: »
    It'll be a big payout from Paddy Power. They ran a banner ad here offering 20 to 1 on Diaz, later dropped to 10:1.

Anyone got a linky to a video of the fight?

I only got 7/2
    Still a win is a win.