If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef General Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

visatorro wrote: »
    lads is anyone finishing jersey bulls/bullock. what price would you get in the factory? much profit?

Pudsey had some good posts on that from before it ya want to go searching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

The f12 j4 type wouldn't be to bad if you got them right. Mostly black with gray tip on their tail or the odd white spot. The 50%+ je arnt worth it if you got them for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,776 ✭✭✭✭Base price

visatorro wrote: »
    lads is anyone finishing jersey bulls/bullock. what price would you get in the factory? much profit?
    We rear a few every year along with FR, AAx, HEx and coloured calves.
    In my experience FRx/JEx bulls are hardy feckers probably due to hybrid vigour but they are miserable stock when it comes to kill out weights.
    Unless there was a world shortage of beef I would not consider rearing them on unless you have an agreement in place with a factory.
    We have outlets for 18 to 20 month old bulls that we have established over the years. They buy them from us and feed to finish/slaughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Going to try get a few suckler cows out in a week or two. So how do ye lads get mag into cows this time of year? Usually go with high mag buckets here and was contemplating mag blouses this year, not sure yet.

I might also go with the bucket and perhaps feed 1kg barley with a cal mag mix in it.

Never turned cows out as early here tbh so I'm worried about cows falling over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Would be no worse that way now than late April. Lush grass and a touch of frost. Lethal,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Thinly veiled... 'I've got great land!!' :D:D

Sorry, jealousy is a bitch! Seriously, what you've suggested yourself would work l'd b thinking. little bit of bagstuff do them no harm. Have you not lighter dry cattle you could target to get out instead. Cows out full time will have to do a bit of rooting no matter how good your land is!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,350 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Going to try get a few suckler cows out in a week or two. So how do ye lads get mag into cows this time of year? Usually go with high mag buckets here and was contemplating mag blouses this year, not sure yet.

I might also go with the bucket and perhaps feed 1kg barley with a cal mag mix in it.

The easiest thing might be to give them some hay in the corner of the paddock

Muckit wrote: »
    Thinly veiled... 'I've got great land!!' :D:D )

Ha I wish, sum good sum old cutaway bog. To much grass on sum to go with fert in a few weeks as the growth over winter was mad and I want to start bulling cows soon and I'm not going to put the bull on the slats.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I'm giving mine a grab of rough chopped wagon silage, one frosty sunday I didn't do it and lost one, so I think it's working. It's fair miserable out though, you'd want shelter.
    If you do supplement the Mg you will have to stay doing it well into April, they get dependent on it. Not using lick buckets due to badgers. How much is a bolus?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055579971&page=268 reading M T cranium's weather forecast I'd be tempted to hold on for another week.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,115 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Think the bolus only works for a limited time. Saw a lad had a mineral bucket holder welded on to the side of his round feeder. Badgers can't get at bucket then. Have also seen holders on gates to keep the bucket up high

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Anyone else got a sort of coughing virus in the shed? Have six weanlings and three yearling all at it. Possibly the same thing hit the young calf harder and he's being treated for pneumonia with Alamycin/Micotil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

I have my cows out during the day. Bolused them last weekend. Lasts 30 days and think worked out at €9 per bolus/cow.

I need my scoop gate!

http://www.norbrook.com/products/opti-mag-3/

Meant to add guns rob you think have spent 300 euros on different guns for different boluses. Go for all metal if you can worth the extra,

I was going to go with bolus, but I think they only get about 90mg over 4 weeks, they need about 30/40mg a day, so I wouldn't rely on it solely.

Kove, noticing it a bit here the last few days, calves with the odd cough not much at all but keeping an eye on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

http://homepage.eircom.net/~progers/mgsupbov.htm

Useful link. However you do it make sure that they get Mag as cows need it lost 2 cows with grass tetany last year. Were fine in morning and dead when checked later that day. Missed dosing them and it was a total sickner

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Last I heard that's not a way of getting Mg into them, the theory about the stalk (hay) having more mineral content than the leaf (silage)doesn't seem to hold water. What it will do is slow down transit time through the gut allowing more of the mineral present to be absorbed. So the old observation that it helps is still valid, just that it can't really be relied upon. The shelter available from the corner of the paddock shouldn't be sniffed at either. :)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Doesn't warrant a thread of its own. I have a bb/fr yearling heifer here and debating with myself whether to keep her or not. She's good and square behind and doesn't look narrow from the outside. Are they a pure disaster trying to calve them and would I be playing with fire a bit letting a limo up on her if I was to keep her? Haven't done a section here in over 10 years and I'd like to keep it that way.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

A lot of people get away with it. It seems to me that the ones that have a more dairy shape have longer lives.

From a vets POV, most of the caesarians I do have a BB component.

I'll be honest, I'm biased against them. They are lovely looking quiet cattle but...........

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Doesn't warrant a thread of its own. I have a bb/fr yearling heifer here and debating with myself whether to keep her or not. She's good and square behind and doesn't look narrow from the outside. Are they a pure disaster trying to calve them and would I be playing with fire a bit letting a limo up on her if I was to keep her? Haven't done a section here in over 10 years and I'd like to keep it that way.

I love them as cows but be sensible with sire selection. Angus or easiest of easy calving limo or saler on her for the first year at least. They have muscle gene in them even if they don't look too fancy so don't rely on the bull to do all the heavy lifting in that regard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

We have had a few here and had no bother putting limos on them but we would be using easy calvers and nothing too big . They are soft in my opinion and I am getting rid of them now if they don't go in calf . Not sure how they would fare out in your territory, they would be a hungry cow aswell if you know what I mean .
    A whitehead heifer off them is a lovely cow if you wanted replacements

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Had a few LC but we used angus on them, there is a couple of daughters with 1/4 bb and I'd have to be there calving them. There is a recessive double muscle gene in some breeds, maybe lim have it, not sure, if it's there you'll be in trouble.

Could you ai her to a decent angus and see how it goes?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

blue5000 wrote: »
    Had a few LC but we used angus on them, there is a couple of daughters with 1/4 bb and I'd have to be there calving them. There is a recessive double muscle gene in some breeds, maybe lim have it, not sure, if it's there you'll be in trouble.

Could you ai her to a decent angus and see how it goes?

The angus are tasty out of BB's aswell

Bullocks wrote: »
    We have had a few here and had no bother putting limos on them but we would be using easy calvers and nothing too big . They are soft in my opinion and I am getting rid of them now if they don't go in calf . Not sure how they would fare out in your territory, they would be a hungry cow aswell if you know what I mean .
    A whitehead heifer off them is a lovely cow if you wanted replacements

She's out all winter with 9 red Lim heifers and she's holding her own with them condition wise so far. I might chance her with the young bull by efz. He's not half as muscley or boney as the older bull. They'll be scattered all over the parish for the summer so ai is a bit of a non runner here.

Pic of that blue heifer. 46827CBC-479F-4962-A7EC-CE77B5DB036C_zpsbu4xtdmr.png

greysides wrote: »
    Last I heard that's not a way of getting Mg into them, the theory about the stalk (hay) having more mineral content than the leaf (silage)doesn't seem to hold water. What it will do is slow down transit time through the gut allowing more of the mineral present to be absorbed. So the old observation that it helps is still valid, just that it can't really be relied upon. The shelter available from the corner of the paddock shouldn't be sniffed at either. :)

I was always under the impression that it was the finer rather than magnesium that hay brought to the party like you said

What are lads creep feeding their calves at the moment?
    Home mix or pre mix. Do ye find it payes with good continental calves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

What are lads creep feeding their calves at the moment?
    Home mix or pre mix. Do ye find it payes with good continental calves?

Definetly with bulls , heifers get a bit fat .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Doesn't warrant a thread of its own. I have a bb/fr yearling

Are they a pure disaster trying to calve them and would I be playing with fire a bit letting a limo up on her if I was to keep her? Haven't done a section here in over 10 years and I'd like to keep it that way.

A neighbour of mine has a herd of them. Auld lad asked him one day if he had much trouble with calving. He claimed that they're easy managed. He feeds the cows only hay for the last six weeks before calving and claims he doesn't even need the jack in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,513 ✭✭✭tanko

Have put a couple of Sim Bulls on some cows this year to try and improve the milk situation with the cows here. Of course at least 50% of them will be bulls.
    I'm just wondering how do any of you who use Sim Bulls get on with them selling them as weanlings or stores compared to the other breeds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

tanko wrote: »
    Have put a couple of Sim Bulls on some cows this year to try and improve the milk situation with the cows here. Of course at least 50% of them will be bulls.
    I'm just wondering how do any of you who use Sim Bulls get on with them selling them as weanlings or stores compared to the other breeds?

Sold a VIO bull last October, 330kg @ €890.
    He was off a white CH cow & looked like a CH off a SI dam

Would it be worth feeding over the winter & killing in June? If not getting enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭limo_100

tanko wrote: »

I did the same as you last year got 2 and 2 i'm going to keep them and sell them as 18-24 month old stores. Have 5 on for now and the spring time have the first one calved a heifer second one due in the next day or 2