If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

5star02707 wrote: »
    agreed, everyone was expecting Arsenal as favorites. I really hope this would push our team forward and want's to win. I do agree that ever since Campbell stopped playing we aren't getting enough wins.. Walcott didn't do anything for an hour, i like him a lot but he needs to step up! Welbeck looks really good coming from injury 2 goals in 2 games now. 11 games to go. 5 points we can still win this long as we go on a winning streak!

Well if we play like that...I doubt we'll go on a run...As someone pointed above after Leicester win we should have been up for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

Football financing, good article in the Sunday Times.

Clubs can carry losses forward from year to year, so even if a club makes a huge loss in one year, they can carry that into the next and offset it against tax.

Effectively SPURS , made 85million profit last year , but only paid 500k corporation tax on it cos they could offset losses from previous years against the profits.
    So a loss isnt really a financial loss as the average punter sees it.

Arsenal are paying alot of tax cos they are profitable year in and out, other clubs are making a small profit but paying no tax cos they had loses in years gone by.
    its all funny money anyways .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

5star02707 wrote: »
    agreed, everyone was expecting Arsenal as favorites. I really hope this would push our team forward and want's to win. I do agree that ever since Campbell stopped playing we aren't getting enough wins.. Walcott didn't do anything for an hour, i like him a lot but he needs to step up! Welbeck looks really good coming from injury 2 goals in 2 games now. 11 games to go. 5 points we can still win this long as we go on a winning streak!

No chance. A lottery win would be more likely IMO. If Walcott needs motivation after years at the club, then he has had that since before Christmas with us so near the top. Hopeless. Put Campbell in and Elnery and drop some of the others. Merts back. What's to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,296 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Anyone who still thinks that this team will win the EPL seriously need their heads examined. There's so much wrong at Arsenal it would take weeks to record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭emergingstar

emmetlego wrote: »
    That was part of the debate on Arsecast. The rumours are rife, but they also make a point that Arsene is a football man, and they don't think he's work with anyone who was just using the club to funnel money through. They make the point that Kroenke is just not they type to force Arsene to spend money in areas we need most. I do agree with them thouhgh, that the next 8 weeks will tell whether he should stay or not, and the vast majority of fans will want him out if/when we don't win the league. FA cup won't cut the mustard this year.

He is not funnelling Money out of the club bar his consultancy fee

But by the club having a cash pile his other business can borrow on the strength of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,051 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Anyone who still thinks that this team will win the EPL seriously need their heads examined. There's so much wrong at Arsenal it would take weeks to record.

No, they're done now. They've failed to score in 5 out of their last 9 games. That's crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Koeman is the guy i'd like to replace Wenger. A no **** proper manager

I love Wenger by the way. But if you can't get your team to beat Man United reserves when you need to then I'm sorry but that's time up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Anyone else's friends not even bothering to slag them off?

Mine are just shaking their heads in disbelief and sympathy.

Just had a big United head text me, he was at Old Trafford on Sunday, told me he was "disappointed with Sanchez"...didn't even laugh at me like he usually would. In fact he would usually berate me as the goals are going in. It's just totally predictable that we fall apart, it's just so arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭domrush

I actually think the talent is all there, its just the attitude that is missing. Noone is afraid of playing ****e because who's going to give out to them? Sanchez is a franchise player for this team. He's been beyond brutal since he got back from injury, he seriously needs a talking to but who out of the whole squad would have the balls to tell what should be the best player on the pitch to get his **** together?

Position for position we're better than almost that entire united team on paper (De Gea, Blind and Lingard probably better than Cech, Gabriel and Walcott). We're desperately needing a leader on the field, Kos should really fill the roll but he seems to be very timid when dealing with his teammates. Cech does his best but you can only shout so much from the goals, you can't stop the midfield passing it around endlessly instead of attacking the box.

Vidal or someone of the like would have been excellent for this team, he showed a win at all costs attitude with Juventus that's desperately missing from this team, and that's been missing since Viera left if we're being honest. City have Kompany, Chelsea have Terry and Costa. You might not like them but they're the players who have the attitude to tell their teammates to get their **** together when the pressure is on. If Kompany had been fit all season we wouldn't even be in the running for the league. Chelsea have had one of their worst seasons in history but they still managed to roll over a mentally weak Arsenal twice.

For what it's worth I'd have Simeone or Koeman for manager, Viera assistant if he could be got back from New York

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

bad2dabone wrote: »

I love Wenger by the way. But if you can't get your team to beat Man United reserves when you need to then I'm sorry but that's time up

I'd be all over Vincente Del Bosque myself. Top top manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

bad2dabone wrote: »

Wouldn't mind Koeman myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,296 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Would Pocchatino leave Spurs for Arsenal?
    Doubt it myself, they're on the rise while we're on the way down.
    Plus he's created much of the Spurs team himself.

Would Pocchatino leave Spurs for Arsenal?
    Doubt it myself, they're on the rise while we're on the way down.
    Plus he's created much of the Spurs team himself.

Is this the same downward spiral they sent us into before??

Leicester, spurs and city to drop points midweek.
    We beat Swansea and then Spurs on Saturday!!

We're gonna win the league

But seriously if we can get 6 points from the next 2 games ill be alot happier, the lads need to bounce back, anything less than a win on Wednesday would be disastrous .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Gringo180 wrote: »
    I'd be all over Vincente Del Bosque myself. Top top manager.

He's just as bad as Wenger for having faith in poor players.
    Honestly i'd do anything to get Simeone in.

Like we'd have zero problem convincing managers to come here. Sure just look at last years manager wages.

1) Jose Mourinho - £13.2m
    2) Carlo Ancelotti - £11.4m
    3) Pep Guardiola - £11.2m
    4) Arsene Wenger - £8.3m
    5) Louis van Gaal - £7.3m
    6) Fabio Capello - £6.6m
    7) Andre Villas-Boas - £6.25m
    8) Sven-Goran Eriksson - £5.9m
    9) Jurgen Klopp - £5.3m
    10) Laurent Blanc - £5.1m
    10) David Moyes - £5.1m
    10) Rafael Benitez - £5.1m
    13) Walter Mazzarri - £5m
    14) Roberto Di Matteo - £4.4m
    15) Luciano Spalletti - £4m
    15) Luis Enrique - £4m
    17) Antonio Conte - £3.9m
    18) Manuel Pellegrini - £3.8m
    19) Brendan Rodgers - £3.6m
    20) Roberto Mancini - £3.5m

Simeone and Löw don't even make the list!
    He won't sign big players that we need but is more than happy to take a wage that high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,996 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    He's just as bad as Wenger for having faith in poor players.
    Honestly i'd do anything to get Simeone in.

Like we'd have zero problem convincing managers to come here. Sure just look at last years manager wages.

1) Jose Mourinho - £13.2m
    2) Carlo Ancelotti - £11.4m
    3) Pep Guardiola - £11.2m
    4) Arsene Wenger - £8.3m
    5) Louis van Gaal - £7.3m
    6) Fabio Capello - £6.6m
    7) Andre Villas-Boas - £6.25m
    8) Sven-Goran Eriksson - £5.9m
    9) Jurgen Klopp - £5.3m
    10) Laurent Blanc - £5.1m
    10) David Moyes - £5.1m
    10) Rafael Benitez - £5.1m
    13) Walter Mazzarri - £5m
    14) Roberto Di Matteo - £4.4m
    15) Luciano Spalletti - £4m
    15) Luis Enrique - £4m
    17) Antonio Conte - £3.9m
    18) Manuel Pellegrini - £3.8m
    19) Brendan Rodgers - £3.6m
    20) Roberto Mancini - £3.5m

Simeone and Löw don't even make the list!
    He won't sign big players that we need but is more than happy to take a wage that high.
    Simeone recently extended his contract to 2020 to bring his salary up to £4.4M per year.

FixitFelix wrote: »
    Is this the same downward spiral they sent us into before??

Different now. Spurs are playing very well and are very consistent. Potecchino not a lad to shoot his mouth off either unlike avg or carry who was showing England a bit of leg. He has them pressing and has developed good team spirit.

I honestly don't think they will win the league, we will put an end to them on Saturday

Why didn't we put an end to United yesterday?
    I never heard of half of their players, their team sheet was unrecognisable.

Why didn't we put an end to United yesterday?
    I never heard of half of their players, their team sheet was unrecognisable.

United put an end to themselves this year, we'll beat Spurs

Well if we couldn't beat a team of kids how are we going to beat Spurs?

Really? You're talking like we are utter ****e! We've hit a serious bad patch but it'll end Wednesday

We were yesterday and that performance is not isolated.
    Fair play to you for your optimism even if I think we're done.

We were yesterday and that performance is not isolated.
    Fair play to you for your optimism even if I think we're done.

Im not saying we'll win the league but will win the next 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I've calmed down a bit now.

We need to remember we still managed to get into the top 3 with 11 games left.

Yesterday was a nightmare, but we are still in it.

The mystery is that we're scoring so little. Blaming the manager is all well and good, but Theo, Alexis etc should be raising their game at this stage of a title race irrespective of any other factors really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,229 ✭✭✭omega man

Don't do it to yourselves lads, seriously.

At least don't look past the Swansea game and take it from there. Anything else is just torturing yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,996 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

It's gonna be very disappointing for some in here when Fabianski keeps a clean sheet midweek.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I've calmed down a bit now.

We need to remember we still managed to get into the top 3 with 11 games left.

Yesterday was a nightmare, but we are still in it.

The mystery is that we're scoring so little. Blaming the manager is all well and good, but Theo, Alexis etc should be raising their game at this stage of a title race irrespective of any other factors really.

Im finished talking about Walcott as a footballer, needs to be sold or contract terminated.
    Disgrace he is
    Glenn hoddle was right, he's just a 100m sprinter that threw on a pair of boots

God loves an optimist but all i can advise is have the hankies ready because you'll need them for our capitulation.

The lads are dead only to wash them

because we are. The fact is we dont look interested and something rotten has taken hold of this club. We were 10 seconds away from disaster v Leicester. Welbecks winner papered over some amount of cracks. I can accept losing to barca but then to follow that up with a lame dick performance vs kids? (who also played midweek btw)

Maybe Sunday was our 'Milan (2012)' moment..
    id doubt it.