If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

emmetlego wrote: »

Yeah read that earlier. On the money as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I'm just bored with this version of Arsenal just very bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

its all fking deja vu at this stage. for the last 9-10 years
    Wengers always been 1 or 2 players away from a side that coudl win PL and CL. Wengers always been 1 or 2 seasons too slow to react to the GLARING holes in the team .
    Wengers has bet the farm gone out and bought donkeys on the cheap and hoping them to be the next Henry.

The problem each years is one of more of lacking in quality a GK, centre half, midfield, or forward . eVeryone can identify it, but Wengers too slow, cheap or dumb to react.

Lets look at the last few seasons, remember some of these who were part of the spine of the team he expected us to compete at the top but just werent up to it (big list I might have one or two out, but you get my gist)

Arsenal – 2015/16 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014%E2%80%9315_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Finally addresses the GK situation
    Per on his way out. Paulista not up to it
    Ox,Walcott, not producing after years of given a chance
    one man Giroud going to get all the goals , no backup
    Sanogo still in squad
    No transfer action, gets a Midfielder and doesnt play him

Arsenal – 2014/15 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014%E2%80%9315_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Chez in goal a liability
    Midfield was ageing or injured
    Yaya Sanogo was going to be the man to get us goals

Arsenal – 2013/14 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Chez in goal a liability
    Vermalen injured
    Relying on Arteta
    Wilshere injured
    Bendtner still in squad

Arsenal – 2012/13 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012%E2%80%9313_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Almunia in goal a liability
    Djourou part of defense
    Relying on Arteta
    Wilshere injured
    Chamak, Gervinho, Benayoun going to be the man to get us goals
    Bendtner still in squad

Arsenal – 2011/12 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011%E2%80%9312_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Djourou part of defense
    Wilshere injured
    Bendtner still in squad

Arsenal – 2010/11 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010%E2%80%9311_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Chez,Almunia,Fabianksi
    Djourou
    Chamak
    Young players coming thru, Ramsey, Wilshere,gibbs
    Bentdner part of the team

Arsenal – 2009/10 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009%E2%80%9310_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Chez,Almunia,Fabianksi
    Gallas
    Van Piersie – injured
    Bentdner part of the team, relying on him for goals

Arsenal – 2008/09 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008%E2%80%9309_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Almunia,Fabianksi
    Gallas
    Djourou
    Silvestre
    Vela
    Young players coming thru

Arsenal – 2007/08 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Almunia,Fabianksi goalies
    Hleb, Flamini, Song, Denilson, Eboue. Rosicky in their prime
    Probably a good enough squad that Wenger left break up because he was betting the farm on the players above and betting the farm that he could replace them with the crap he went out and found.
    Oh yeah Bentdner part of the team, relying on him for goals

Just checked there, 2 wins in last 7 league matches. Dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

its all fking deja vu at this stage. for the last 9-10 years
    Wengers always been 1 or 2 players away from a side that coudl win PL and CL. Wengers always been 1 or 2 seasons too slow to react to the GLARING holes in the team .
    Wengers has bet the farm gone out and bought donkeys on the cheap and hoping them to be the next Henry.

The problem each years is one of more of lacking in quality a GK, centre half, midfield, or forward . eVeryone can identify it, but Wengers too slow, cheap or dumb to react.

Lets look at the last few seasons, remember some of these who were part of the spine of the team he expected us to compete at the top but just werent up to it (big list I might have one or two out, but you get my gist)

Arsenal – 2015/16 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014%E2%80%9315_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Finally addresses the GK situation
    Per on his way out. Paulista not up to it
    Ox,Walcott, not producing after years of given a chance
    one man Giroud going to get all the goals , no backup
    Sanogo still in squad
    No transfer action, gets a Midfielder and doesnt play him

Arsenal – 2014/15 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014%E2%80%9315_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Chez in goal a liability
    Midfield was ageing or injured

Arsenal – 2013/14 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Chez in goal a liability
    Vermalen injured
    Relying on Arteta
    Wilshere injured
    Bendtner still in squad

Arsenal – 2012/13 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012%E2%80%9313_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Djourou part of defense
    Relying on Arteta
    Wilshere injured
    Bendtner still in squad

Arsenal – 2011/12 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011%E2%80%9312_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Djourou part of defense
    Wilshere injured
    Bendtner still in squad

Arsenal – 2010/11 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010%E2%80%9311_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Chez,Almunia,Fabianksi
    Djourou
    Chamak
    Bentdner part of the team

Arsenal – 2009/10 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009%E2%80%9310_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Chez,Almunia,Fabianksi
    Gallas
    Van Piersie – injured

Arsenal – 2008/09 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008%E2%80%9309_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Almunia,Fabianksi
    Gallas
    Djourou
    Silvestre
    Vela
    Young players coming thru

Arsenal – 2007/08 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Arsenal_F.C._season
    Almunia,Fabianksi goalies
    Hleb, Flamini, Song, Denilson, Eboue. Rosicky in their prime
    Probably a good enough squad that Wenger left break up because he was betting the farm on the players above and betting the farm that he could replace them with the crap he went out and found.
    Oh yeah Bentdner part of the team, relying on him for goals

brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,430 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

I'm just bored with this version of Arsenal just very bored

Same and the thoughts of another season of this is depressing. Welbeck's goal against Leicester and the way the players celebrated with the fans should have been the spark that ignited a serious and committed attempt to push on and win the league. They should have been chomping at the bit yesterday but instead it was another spineless and passionless display. Just don't understand it.

Arsenal's performance was dire, a striker, against an out of favour, unfit and not match sharp left back, a actually dramatically under rated and unfairly maligned CB, a poor DM in at CB who hasn't played much this year due to injury and a baby at right back..... and Walcott manages 17 touches and lost the ball 10 times......

Arsenal were pathetic and Utd weren't particularly good. This isn't specifically about that performance, it's about how it came about. Walcott is without any question or argument, not a central striker. EVERY appearance like today where he is a central striker the midfield fails to find any good link up play between themselves and him. no 1-2's, no working together to make space. Walcott plays for himself and for no one else. He is exceptionally limited, in this role(and mostly on the right as well but less badly) he has zero influence on the game yet we went to Utd, where we haven't won in 9 years and 5 months, with him leading the line. He was entirely predictably awful, he's always awful there yet Wenger again chose him to start in that position that he is incapable of playing.

For a decade, literally a decade, Wenger has been saying "i see him playing centrally eventually.... " ie after he improves a bit because he's 16 now. He's 26, he hasn't improved at all and yet now after a decade he's suddenly trying to play him in the middle. Why not when he was 18, 20 or 22... because he was crap then and crap now. Yet in the year everyone else is screwing up and we have the best/easiest chance of the title in a decade he chooses now to throw away points by playing Walcott centrally... it's completely indefensible.

Sanchez has been beyond woeful since back from injury and he's been significantly worse all season compared to last season... but he starts another big game? Ox has been starting recently despite being truly awful. The only reason he wasn't playing is he literally injured himself in the most stupid way imaginable. Played the god awful Ox against Barca, he was awful, after one of many poor touches he ran directly into an absolutely 0% chance to win tackle and injured himself. Even then Wenger let an injured player who before injury was woeful back on the pitch for the second half. Within a couple of minutes we almost conceded because they waltzed through our right flank with Ox missing.

He started the game... stupid, he got injured... stupid, he started the second half... stupid, no one on seeing him unable to move filled in his position... stupid, didn't go to ground like EVERY other player at every other team would have done to stop the game and get the sub made.

Any other team in the world would have sold him by now, even under the insane situation he plays, even starting the second half, the second he couldn't move Ramsey/Walcott/Welbeck should have filled in for him and let him stand around unable to move upfront. Hell any player on the team should have shouted at him to sit down and get the refs attention. Had I been on the pitch I would have run over their and two footed tackled him to get him on the floor and the substitution done. The level of incompetence we show is horrific.

Also, Utd and Chelsea are god awful this year, Chelsea were hilariously bad when we faced them... we've managed to lose to both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Same and the thoughts of another season of this is depressing. Welbeck's goal against Leicester and the way the players celebrated with the fans should have been the spark that ignited a serious and committed attempt to push on and win the league. They should have been chomping at the bit yesterday but instead it was another spineless and passionless display. Just don't understand it.

Thats a very fair point. You'd swear we lost to Leicester the way they performed yesterday. They took the pitch and played like a team with less than nothing to play for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I sit here in work contemplating what the hell is wrong with this Arsenal team. It is just baffling. Furious I am.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    I sit here in work contemplating what the hell is wrong with this Arsenal team. It is just baffling. Furious I am.

imagine if spurs win the damm title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭wonga77

Im most annoyed at Theo Walcott, for a guy on £110K a week he'd want to pull the finger out.
    He has been worse than useless the last few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

wonga77 wrote: »
    Im most annoyed at Theo Walcott, for a guy on £110K a week he'd want to pull the finger out.
    He has been worse than useless the last few weeks

Leave him out of the team for a few weeks and only play him if ten goals up. Vastly overrated. Leave out Gabriel as well. Mix it up Wenger, we have nothing to lose now, but 4th spot and that's just for the money. We routinely get knocked out of the CL at this stage each year anyway. Nobody else expects anything from us , the media, other teams. We fans expect and we are perhaps bias and deluded. We so predictable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Arsenal's performance was dire, a striker, against an out of favour, unfit and not match sharp left back, a actually dramatically under rated and unfairly maligned CB, a poor DM in at CB who hasn't played much this year due to injury and a baby at right back..... and Walcott manages 17 touches and lost the ball 10 times......

Arsenal were pathetic and Utd weren't particularly good. This isn't specifically about that performance, it's about how it came about. Walcott is without any question or argument, not a central striker. EVERY appearance like today where he is a central striker the midfield fails to find any good link up play between themselves and him. no 1-2's, no working together to make space. Walcott plays for himself and for no one else. He is exceptionally limited, in this role(and mostly on the right as well but less badly) he has zero influence on the game yet we went to Utd, where we haven't won in 9 years and 5 months, with him leading the line. He was entirely predictably awful, he's always awful there yet Wenger again chose him to start in that position that he is incapable of playing.

For a decade, literally a decade, Wenger has been saying "i see him playing centrally eventually.... " ie after he improves a bit because he's 16 now. He's 26, he hasn't improved at all and yet now after a decade he's suddenly trying to play him in the middle. Why not when he was 18, 20 or 22... because he was crap then and crap now. Yet in the year everyone else is screwing up and we have the best/easiest chance of the title in a decade he chooses now to throw away points by playing Walcott centrally... it's completely indefensible.

Sanchez has been beyond woeful since back from injury and he's been significantly worse all season compared to last season... but he starts another big game? Ox has been starting recently despite being truly awful. The only reason he wasn't playing is he literally injured himself in the most stupid way imaginable. Played the god awful Ox against Barca, he was awful, after one of many poor touches he ran directly into an absolutely 0% chance to win tackle and injured himself. Even then Wenger let an injured player who before injury was woeful back on the pitch for the second half. Within a couple of minutes we almost conceded because they waltzed through our right flank with Ox missing.

He started the game... stupid, he got injured... stupid, he started the second half... stupid, no one on seeing him unable to move filled in his position... stupid, didn't go to ground like EVERY other player at every other team would have done to stop the game and get the sub made.

Any other team in the world would have sold him by now, even under the insane situation he plays, even starting the second half, the second he couldn't move Ramsey/Walcott/Welbeck should have filled in for him and let him stand around unable to move upfront. Hell any player on the team should have shouted at him to sit down and get the refs attention. Had I been on the pitch I would have run over their and two footed tackled him to get him on the floor and the substitution done. The level of incompetence we show is horrific.

Also, Utd and Chelsea are god awful this year, Chelsea were hilariously bad when we faced them... we've managed to lose to both.
    Not hard to tell by your usual posting style that this was ripped straight from another forum but nice try..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭wonga77

Saw a great quote on twitter this morning
    "All Theo Walcott has done in 10 years at Arsenal is grow a beard"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭pudzey101

The only thing Walcott has added to his game in the past decade is a beard..... brilliant ha ha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Not hard to tell by your usual posting style that this was ripped straight from another forum but nice try..

Well spotted, also plagiarizing people's input from this forum and putting them In others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Well spotted, also plagiarizing people's input from this forum and putting them In others.

There's other Arsenal forums?

Beat Swansea on Wednesday night and we'll all be in love again. But to be honest, it's not so much the results that are galling, it's the bloody performances.

Where is the bustling Coquelin?
    Where is the magical Alexis?
    Where is the goal every 2 games Giroud?
    Where is the prolific midfield that chips in with goals?
    Where is our solid defence (I know Tayto Lover, I know!!!) we had a decent run of defending this season, but it's gone now.
    Where is our spirit and desire?

If we had one or more of these things instilled again, we may actually start to perform better and start getting results again. But we're lacking all these since Christmas, bar the odd game or two (ie Leicester)

I do think one of our biggest problems is Santi, and a lack of replacement for him during the injury. Him and Coq are a terrific partnership. They drove our other midfielders on and this had a knock on effect up front.

This just leaves our defence (I said I KNOW ALREADY Tayto! :-) ), and I'll probably get slated for this, but I really think Mert has to start now for the run in or even Chambers. Gabriel needs more coaching, or a frontal lobotamy. He has great athleticism, good feet and head, but his reading of a game is baffling at times. Massive potential, but a huge liability.

Overall, I'm gutted. If Spurs win this thing I'll emigrate to outer Mongolia. Can't even begin to think about it. Beat Swansea and then Spurs and maybe, just maybe I'll start to believe again, but truth is, we should be about 10 points clear of the pack. That's so frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Anyone else's friends not even bothering to slag them off?

Mine are just shaking their heads in disbelief and sympathy.

The Arsecast is brilliant as ever this week. It's not very SFW as there's a string of curses in it, but it's a great listen... Especially when they start talking about Walcott....

http://arseblog.com/2016/02/arsecast-extra-episode-108-29-02-2016/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

emmetlego wrote: »
    The Arsecast is brilliant as ever this week. It's not very SFW as there's a string of curses in it, but it's a great listen... Especially when they start talking about Walcott....

http://arseblog.com/2016/02/arsecast-extra-episode-108-29-02-2016/

When these two lads are this worked up, you know we are in a bad place! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭emergingstar

My biggest fear is we move on Wenger and they get in another man that will balance the books

Wengers time is up no matter how the season finishes out

But by fcuk that Stan is a stain on the club, he needs the cashflow to secur other loans, that's why we don't invest that's why top 4 is all he wants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

The thing is even if Wenger should go at the end of the season, he won't and he won't be sacked either. The only way that would happen is if we don't win anything AND end up outside the top 4.

My biggest fear is we move on Wenger and they get in another man that will balance the books

But by fcuk that Stan is a stain on the club, he needs the cashflow to secur other loans, that's why we don't invest that's why top 4 is all he wants

That was part of the debate on Arsecast. The rumours are rife, but they also make a point that Arsene is a football man, and they don't think he's work with anyone who was just using the club to funnel money through. They make the point that Kroenke is just not they type to force Arsene to spend money in areas we need most. I do agree with them thouhgh, that the next 8 weeks will tell whether he should stay or not, and the vast majority of fans will want him out if/when we don't win the league. FA cup won't cut the mustard this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,051 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I don't see him leaving until his contract runs out at the end of next season at the earliest! Only way I could see him going is if Spurs win the league and the fans call for his head.

L'prof wrote: »
    I don't see him leaving until his contract runs out at the end of next season at the earliest! Only way I could see him going is if Spurs win the league and the fans call for his head.

^^ And this is really very probable^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

I have been a Wenger defender when it came to money (I wanted him at the helm for a few years when the money was there to spend, since he has sacrificed so much) ...but this is NOT about Money Anymore...The team out there yesterday shouldn't be rolled out by a half-baked United team...How can a title chasing team be so drab when 3-2 down and half an hour to go...looking at the body language nobody looked interested at all/There's no feckin Leaders.

Individually I wouldn't have Walcott anywhere close to the first team, how predictable Sanchez has gone...cut inside from the left and try to beat feckin half of the opposition and then give away the pocessession...ffs (sorry but there's only one player who can do that and even he won't succeed everytime)...There's No midfield at all... Yes Ozil has 18 Assists but for me he should be playing in the middle where he can influence the game as Ramsey/Coq/Flamini can't do that...We're suckers to the ball, either get sucked up the top or get wholed in our 18 yard box (look at their 3rd goal) No positional sense at all....

There's so many things wrong at the moment...I could go on and you probably feel the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

agreed, everyone was expecting Arsenal as favorites. I really hope this would push our team forward and want's to win. I do agree that ever since Campbell stopped playing we aren't getting enough wins.. Walcott didn't do anything for an hour, i like him a lot but he needs to step up! Welbeck looks really good coming from injury 2 goals in 2 games now. 11 games to go. 5 points we can still win this long as we go on a winning streak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,229 ✭✭✭omega man

Anyone else's friends not even bothering to slag them off?

Mine are just shaking their heads in disbelief and sympathy.

Mostly pool fans so enough said......