Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The four seasons of Ireland Dublin, in four handy, easy to remember phrases.

Summer - 99's on Dollier
    Autumn - Comhghairdeas Stephen
    Winter - Last of the Cheeky Charlies there now
    Spring - Berno's back !

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭mickmc7

Very enjoyable game, Monaghan are a decent improving side, fair play to them. Was surprised at the poor turnout tonight, seemed a much smaller crowd than usual, maybe I'm wrong. Athmos was a bit flat at times as a result but on the other hand, the whingers and moaners seemed to stay at home too!! Great game to watch.

It was a great game to watch. Played at championship pace too, which is a bit surprising, so early in the year. It was a privilege to witness that Conor McManus performance, but Monaghan's decison making and shot selection in the last 8-10 minutes was terrible. You need to know how to close out games, down the stretch in Croke Park (especially against the top teams,) if you want to be a serious contender for Sam.

Thought Paddy Andrews was class, yet again. Didn't trouble the score board much, but his work rate and ball winning was second to none. Good to see Costello get a couple of quality scores. But to be honest, until he popped up with the late score to tie the game, I thought he had been substituted. For a young lad trying to get a regular spot on the panel, he needs to impose himself on games more.

I'm going to call it here and now - James McCarthy will be the 2016 Footballer of The Year. Another exceptional day at the office from him. Philly forays forward worry me just a bit. There is a time and place for them. When he does get in sight of the goal, if someone else is in a better position for him to lay the ball off to, then that's what he should do. I hope all the praise he got last year for his attacking prowess, doesn't go to his head.

Finally, a hearty puck in the gob to the powers that be, for scheduling a game when a lot of people are still in the pub watching the rugby, or at home watching the election coverage. Great way to market the sport & boost attendances there guys. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

ProudDUB wrote: »
    No. It's Croke Park. You can never pay on the way in. You have to go to the ticket office, or a van if there is one, which I doubt.

That's what I meant, had one of the lads as a late joiner tonight. Got tickets in centra

Agree with almost all of the above, Andrews was great so so reliable at winning the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Monaghan hard done by?

No not at all , I though in the second half there was a Dublin free not given and one given to them when they were down by a decent margin.

Definite black card not given to Drew,

But all that said it was a well contested game , just making a point that they were not hard done by. McCarthy was super again tonight, this push to midfield is helping us develop the new midfielders.

I thought the Shane McCarthy and Emmet were decent today.

McManus was super. 12 points is something else . Point to note though Byrne won the last two balls into them. Either one could have been resulted in a score for him.

Overall a draw would have been fair.

Monaghan must want the league this year.

I don't think they were hard done by either, or they "deserved" the win. It was up to Monaghan to put themselves in a position to win the game, capitalize on our mistakes and push on from there. They didn't do that. Monaghan went about 25 minutes, (across the two halves) where they only scored 1 point from play.

They did a lot of things right, from putting Cluxton's kickouts under pressure, to the stellar performance of McManus. But you are not putting yourself in a position to win games, if you don't keep the score board ticking over more regularly. You can get away with it, if you playing Armagh, or Donegal circa 2011. You won't, if you are facing a team with our combined fire power up front. Monaghan are lucky this was Berno & Flynners first game back. It could have been a 4-5 pt defeat, if they had another game or two under their belts, to shake the winter rust off.

Speaking of Donegal, am really looking forward to seeing them tomorrow. This new all singing, all dancing carry on of theirs & their success with it, is a tad....eh....unsettling to say the least. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Good game. Monaghan are clearly preparing themselves for a big year and both teams took the game as far more seriously than just for the two points on offer. Quite possible that they will meet again in the Summer as I fancy Monaghan to be last eight team again.

Only worrying aspect was the uncharacteristic fading out of the game; in the middle of the first half and then after the penalty. Now, a lot of that was down to Monaghan's tenacity but there was some laxity, not least from Dermie who is developing a disturbing tendency to not pass the fkn thing!

On more positive note, good display from Rock. He is really getting good at the frees from the ground. A chip off the old block :-)

Bonniedog wrote:
    Now, a lot of that was down to Monaghan's tenacity but there was some laxity, not least from Dermie who is developing a disturbing tendency to not pass the fkn thing!

We were four seats from the front. He was seriously annoyed that the wasn't picked out for passes.

Towards the end of the game he lost possession twice in a row, if a man runs at him he'll offload to him, he's not passing to the runners off his shoulder unless he's played a few dummies and turning into space, exhausts every possibility for him to score maybe then he's passing, but he's coughing up possession, that faffing around isn't working with division one teams.

I sometimes wonder if Diarmuid reads too much of his own press....most naturally skillful player in the game blah blah blah. That's all well and good, but making good decisions and doing the simple things well, should be at the core of everything. He doesn't need to be doing something breathtakingly fancy, every single time he gets his hands on the blinkin' ball. Just because you can do something spectacular, doesn't mean you should be attempting it, every single play.

Naturally, knowing Diarmuid, he'll probably score 2-6 against Cork and win the game virtually by himself. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It was a great game to watch. Played at championship pace too, which is a bit surprising, so early in the year. It was a privilege to witness that Conor McManus performance, but Monaghan's decison making and shot selection in the last 8-10 minutes was terrible. You need to know how to close out games, down the stretch in Croke Park (especially against the top teams,) if you want to be a serious contender for Sam.

Finally, a hearty puck in the gob to the powers that be, for scheduling a game when a lot of people are still in the pub watching the rugby, or at home watching the election coverage. Great way to market the sport & boost attendances there guys. :rolleyes:

Not sure I agree with the played at championship pace bit. I got the impression that Dublin were playing well within themselves for most of the game and nearly got caught out as a result.

Spot on about the attendance it was only 7k above a full parnell park. They might as well have played it there.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I sometimes wonder if Diarmuid reads too much of his own press....most naturally skillful player in the game blah blah blah. That's all well and good, but making good decisions and doing the simple things well should be at the core of everything. He doesn't need to be doing something breathtakingly fancy, every single time he gets his hands on the blinkin' ball. Just because you can do something spectacular, doesn't mean you should be attempting it, every single play.

Naturally, knowing Diarmuid, he'll probably score 2-6 against Cork and win the game virtually by himself. :rolleyes:

Touch of the "Ronaldo step-overs" "look at me" about him at times alright.
    To be fair to him some of the times that Connolly tries something fancy in a game it works. Also they are normally the scores that you remember from a game, and end up clapping and laughing, at the cheek and skill of it.

Jesus Christ, the Langers look like they may be on the wrong end of an unmerciful hammering from the Rossies. :eek:

Down 13 pts at the beginning of the second half & they're at home too. Wonder where their heads will be at, when we play 'em on Saturday night.

Jesus Christ, the Langers look like they may be on the wrong end of an unmerciful hammering from the Rossies. :eek:

Down 13 pts at the beginning of the second half & they're at home too. Wonder where their heads will be at, when we play 'em on Saturday night.

The Rossies look like they will be capable of upsetting any team during the championship. It is not much of a prediction but I think they will become the neutrals second team this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I posted here a couple of weeks ago that I thought Roscommon were a smashing team with a style of general play very similar to Dublin. fair play to McStay all that work analysing us in the studio is paying off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I posted here a couple of weeks ago that I thought Roscommon were a smashing team with a style of general play very similar to Dublin. fair play to McStay all that work analysing us in the studio is paying off ;)

Like Dublin we have a tendency to leak too much at the back too. Cork decided to play man-to-man and try to play positive football and it resulted in an end-to-end encounter. I highly doubt Down, Donegal or Mayo will afford us that sort of space. Only Dublin would be positive enjough (or cocky enough?) to want to play a game of football instead of trench warfare when ye come to the Hyde in the last round. I'd love that game to be an exhibition where we're safe and not dependent on results.

Both Dublin and Roscommon have enjoyed a lot of underage success in the last six or seven years. When you take care of your best young players and keep them engaged good things can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Spot on about the attendance it was only 7k above a full parnell park. They might as well have played it there.
    Parnell Park should be rebuilt. A 30,000 seater/terrace stadium would be ideal and would leave Croke Park as a reward even for us. I can't see any money being poured into it though with Croke Park around.

I have to say and leave myself open to getting lashed, but I never liked it. I always remember championship hurling games there standing on the wet hill , barbed wire , poxy toilets

I always preferred croker, I enjoy the O'Byrne cup there but all in all I much prefer CP with the facilities and a decent selection of drinks and nice toilets and the big screens for replays, there really is no comparison, I know some people love Parnell park and see it as a mark of a true supporter, I don't see the point in building another stadium in Dublin, but something inbetween the two would be nice, it won't happen though as you said too many other things more important.

Spot on Stoner. Let's face it, PP is a bit of a dump compared to Croker. Going back to having games there would be a step backwards. Last nights attendance was due to the rugby being on and, people staying home to watch the election coverage. It wasn't your average Saturday night. There were over 30,000 at the Kerry game. There is no way PP could cope with a crowd that big, never mind all those massive Rossie egos. :D

T'was an exceptional result for them today. Down should be good for another 2 pts, but I can see them having a hard time getting any more from Mayo (who will throw everything, including the kitchen sink at keeping the noisy neighbors quiet) Donegal and our good selves. Six pts should be enough to keep them up 'tho. It usually is, so a massive fair play to them. I'm still trying to figure out how in the name of Christ you can concede 3-10 and go on to win a game by 18 points. Mental stuff altogether ! :eek:

Hopefully it was all on TV, I'll have it recorded , will be watching the televised recorded games tomorrow night with the lads,

The GAA needs a new team alright . Donegal looking good again too, better squad this year .

The Roscommon/Cork game? It wasn't. It was the only one of the four Div 1 games that weren't televized. There was a few minutes highlights on The Sunday Game, but that was about it.

That's a pity. Donegal game so.

Stoner wrote: »
    I have to say and leave myself open to getting lashed, but I never liked it. I always remember championship hurling games there standing on the wet hill , barbed wire , poxy toilets

I always preferred croker, I enjoy the O'Byrne cup there but all in all I much prefer CP with the facilities and a decent selection of drinks and nice toilets and the big screens for replays, there really is no comparison, I know some people love Parnell park and see it as a mark of a true supporter, I don't see the point in building another stadium in Dublin, but something inbetween the two would be nice, it won't happen though as you said too many other things more important.

I would be on the opposite side of this argument. PP is great atmosphere tight pitch right on top of the players.
    When you let a roar at a player/referee there is a good chance you will be heard.
    I remember been eyeballed by J.Maughan ex Mayo manger as a result of calling a dive!
    The atmosphere is even better under lights and a full house.
    I do not go to Croke Park for comfort if I wanted comfort I would stay at home.
    Those who view the game from level 5/6/7 in Croke Park are only there to be seen and the match is a side show between food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I would be on the opposite side of this argument. PP is great atmosphere tight pitch right on top of the players.
    When you let a roar at a player/referee there is a good chance you will be heard.
    I remember been eyeballed by J.Maughan ex Mayo manger as a result of calling a dive!
    The atmosphere is even better under lights and a full house.
    I do not go to Croke Park for comfort if I wanted comfort I would stay at home.
    Those who view the game from level 5/6/7 in Croke Park are only there to be seen and the match is a side show between food.

Parnell is great place for a game. Croker this time of year is dismal in the extreme. At least in the old days, a 10,000 crowd scattered about looked decent. Now its like watching one of those Aussie rules games where there seems to be no-one there. At least if Hill was all open it would look a bit more natural rather than corralling everyone into a third. Looks absurd.

On another related note, anyone hear the ad for the upcoming Leinster Munster pro 12 game?

Disastrous season for both but IRFU are giving it welly and spending a few bob, and will probably fill the Aviva.

In contrast the GAA nearly fkn apologises for having a league and is happy with mediocre crowds because they know the place will be jammed in autumn. I'd get 40,000 + for a Dublin league game in CP if they gave me 10 grand to market it.

I spent my teens & 20's standing on poxy terraces, in the wind and rain....and in fields covered in cow $hit, with one smelly Portakabin loo for 40,000 concert goers. And I loved every second of it. But now I am in my 40's. If I am going to an outdoor event, be it a sporting occasion, a festival, a concert etc etc, my physical comfort does matter more to me, than it did when I was younger. If that makes me less of a Dubs fan....then I'll meet ye behind the jacks at PP tonight & you can say it to my face. My good friend Philly will come along as my water boy. :D

Agree with Bonnie about the chronic lack of marketing around the league. It's utterly criminal. There were 30,000 at the Kerry game. It could have been double that, with a bit of effort.

I disagree that all the games there are soul less and lacking in atmosphere. It depends on the game. I have been to some very one sided games in the champo, that were very dull and flat, but there were 50,000 odd people there. I have been to some cracking league games, where it was down to the wire, right up to the final minute (the Mayo and Kerry games in 2014 spring to mind) where the place was rocking, even though there "only" 25,000 to 30,000 there.

I think people get hung up on Croker being able to hold 82,000. Just because it can hold that many people, doesn't mean it always will. I was at the Tipp/Galway AI semi final last year and there were only 50,000 odd at it...an All Ireland semi final, on a lovely day in the middle of summer. Getting half that, on a freezing cold night in February and March, for games that mean very little at the end of the day, ain't so bad

The atmosphere is even better under lights and a full house. I do not go to Croke Park for comfort if I wanted comfort I would stay at home. Those who view the game from level 5/6/7 in Croke Park are only there to be seen and the match is a side show between food.

I go where ever the game is on. My best memories of watching games relate to CP. I don't go for comfort either but I'm happy enough to consider it as a factor. I go to watch the games, if I wanted comfort I'd stay at home too, that's not the issue.

I don't buy into the idea that you are not a hardcore Dublin fan if you don't prefer Parnell Park. I don't really care about that side of it. I've a season ticket so I'll get in anyway, and full access to a premium box if I want it. I go to the games with the same guys I played with years ago for the Dubs games, we have our own routine. I go to the box when I'm watching other teams

I'm not here to knock Parnell park, I simply prefer CP when there is a meaningful crowd. For me winning the AI, the replays against meath were all in CP with fantastic atmosphere better than anything I've experienced in PP, 2011 was magic.
    Atmosphere is very important, but there needs to be something to play for. I've had some good times in PP but they were seldom for significant games i.e against motivated teams. So for those games PP is simply too small as I wouldn't leave 10k fans out. I don't go to the games to shout the team on in a packed stadium, I genuinely go to watch the game. I find that CP is the best place to go that. I've no interest in shouting at people so that they can hear me.

Like I said my memories of PP include watching games like O'Tools playing Craobh Chiaráins in a half empty PP, that's not really relevant as this is about supporting the Dubs but it helped form my personal preference.

Each to their own. :)

So regarding the team. Midfield was interesting on Saturday. I though Shane Cathy was good, happy to see him trying his ground kick passes into the forwards, he's still a bit reluctant to bring his shooting boots for the seniors, O'Conghaile was mobile and got around Fenton was understandably rusty,

I thought it was positive taking Bastic off and giving three young lads game time. They looked more comfortable than our other recent attempts to get a new 8 or 9.

Yeah I thought David Byrne grew into that game as it went on and had some crucial breaking ball late on. Tough ask on McManus in some respects who had that cuteness to buy a few fouls - breaking then slowing with his man running into the back of him.

McCarthy majestic once again. Philly seemed to have been reminded of his defensive duties @ HT and was peripheral attacking 2nd half - we appeared to lose impetus when that happened. Flynns distribution was flaky - culminating in Andrews having an epo late on down beside us - in fairness he's blowing the dirty petrol out - in much the same manner as Bernard. Brady seems to have found a greater comfort carrying the ball this year and was very solid Saturday.

I've a coaching course so I'll miss the U21's in PP tamarra night - watch out for Pat Spillane in his Arnotts jersey cheering on young Darragh ;)

Great. Just when we thought Pat couldn't get more obnoxious on The Sunday Game. Poor aul Weehsie will have a heart attack, if he has to commentate on a future Dubs v Kerry game and, a Spawn of Satan Spillane is playing for us. :eek:

Be interesting to see who lines out for us on Saturday. A lot of the lads who played against Monaghan, played for their clubs in the first round of the AFL1 on Sunday morning. I'd be surprised if Gavin has them play 3 games in 8 days. He's not a manager to flog his players. With the current state of the Cork team, perhaps its would be realistic, not arrogant, to think that we wouldn't need to send out our strongest squad to get a result? Then again, the langers may want to try to restore some pride after their Roscommon hammering and really give it welly. You just never know with them, do you? :rolleyes:

Yeah quite true PD .. the Sigerson lads were given last Saturday off so I'd imagine they'll come back in the fold. With our league one survival all but guaranteed :rolleyes: what would be the harm in giving a few of Culligan, McDaid, McGowan, Lowndes, Reddin, Carthy, McHugh a trip around the block ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

A lot of the lads who played against Monaghan, played for their clubs in the first round of the AFL1 on Sunday morning.

I was at the Ballymun/Castleknock match, and I'm fairly certain only Davy Byrne lined out for Ballymun. Definitely no Dean Rock, Philly or James McCarthy. John Small could have been standing in front of me and I wouldn't recognise him, so he may have lined out, but I don't think so.

Nice start for a newly promoted club :D