Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• rsh118 wrote: »
    Looks like Bertie's Bunch have made a comeback...

scary stuff.

www.irishjobs.ie taken off of the bookmarks bar :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Carnacalla wrote: »
    How the feck did rugby get to Argentina?
    You can understand Europe and the ex english colonies but Argentina just sticks out.
    English connections in Argentina. There's been treaty of friendship, commerce etc between Britain and Argentina since 1820s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

English connections in Argentina. There's been treaty of friendship, commerce etc between Britain and Argentina since 1820s

Huge Irish connection in Argentina too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Carnacalla wrote: »
    How the feck did rugby get to Argentina?
    You can understand Europe and the ex english colonies but Argentina just sticks out.

There's a massive Irish connection in Argentina, could be to do with that?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Argentine

Quigg v Frampton in French.... Merde!

• Administrators Posts: 55,090 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yyyyyyessssssss. Caaaarrrrll the jackaaaaalll frrrrrrrrampton. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭swiwi_

LOL. Either FG & FF become friends, or else more casinos and hospitals are built in Kenmare & Tipperary. I doubt either FG or FF seriously entertains going into coalition with the Dark Side.

Bet you guys are going back to the polls in the not very distant future.

swiwi_ wrote: »
    LOL. Either FG & FF become friends, or else more casinos and hospitals are built in Kenmare & Tipperary. I doubt either FG or FF seriously entertains going into coalition with the Dark Side.

Bet you guys are going back to the polls in the not very distant future.

It's going to be FF & FG no doubt
    Probably run together for a year or 2 with FF making certain demands to be done, and let FG steer the ship until tge time is right for Michael Martin to pull the plug when it suits FF and then go back to the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

swiwi_ wrote:

Whilst I'd expect another election in the not too distant future, a FF/FG is definitely going to discussed by them and given strong consideration.

Both sides (after denying they would consider it) have been making noises about power sharing. And that's what it comes down to; these folks want power more than anything in the world.

If they do give it a shot, it might well change the landscape of Irish politics forever. We're a grass is always greener bunch and a power share could well lead to both of them losing seats with the likes of SF reaping the benefits.

Buer wrote: »
    Whilst I'd expect another election in the not too distant future, a FF/FG is definitely going to discussed by them and given strong consideration.

Both sides (after denying they would consider it) have been making noises about power sharing. And that's what it comes down to; these folks want power more than anything in the world.

If they do give it a shot, it might well change the landscape of Irish politics forever. We're a grass is always greener bunch and a power share could well lead to both of them losing seats with the likes of SF reaping the benefits.

If Sinn Fein couldn't make significant gains after the 2 most hated governments in the history of the country, its not ever going to happen for them

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    If Sinn Fein couldn't make significant gains after the 2 most hated governments in the history of the country, its not ever going to happen for them

Nor should it. One look at the history of Sinn Fein should be enough.

They also fall into the loony left when it comes to real-world economics.

Every man (& woman) and his dog wants to get ahead financially in life. Telling people who are trying to make a go of it that we're going to take your hard-earned money and give it to people who aren't trying to make a go of it provides zero motivation. It's communism under another name, and it is proven not to work.

One thing I love about Switzerland is that is has zero tolerance for laziness or spoon-feeding, but if you're prepared to work hard, you will be rewarded for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Unfortunately it seems the only way to truly destroy a party is to make them a minority in a coalition. Labour, greens, and the PDs all got destroyed for being in government.

The only way to destroy sf is for someone to take them into govt. And no one will. So they're going to continue shouting populist nonsense and their bluff will never be called

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Pink Fairy wrote: »

SF are a divisive party. You either give them your first choice or you don't vote for them at all, generally speaking.

I don't see the point in having another election a few months down the road. Will there magically be some new and better options available to us? FF and FG need to suck it up and act like adults who are running a country.

errlloyd wrote: »
    Unfortunately it seems the only way to truly destroy a party is to make them a minority in a coalition. Labour, greens, and the PDs all got destroyed for being in government.

The only way to destroy sf is for someone to take them into govt. And no one will. So they're going to continue shouting populist nonsense and their bluff will never be called

I remember when I was biking in Dublin city centre once, on one of the Dublin bikes. Eamonn Ryan cut me off. Told him to effin look out where he was going, jeepers man you were the brains behind the bike scheme...

Felt a bit sheepish and contrite afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Pink Fairy wrote:

I'd love it if you're right but I can see them getting into power in some capacity in the next 10 years. Look at their increases over the last few elections. They went from 5 to 14 and are going to be around the 20 mark this time if not a bit more.

Those sort of numbers make them very realistic coalition partners. I suspect the bigger boys will wait until Adams is gone so they can pretend they're viable partners.

I remember when I was biking in Dublin city centre once, on one of the Dublin bikes. Eamonn Ryan cut me off. Told him to effin look out where he was going, jeepers man you were the brains behind the bike scheme...

Felt a bit sheepish and contrite afterwards.

It's a shame the Greens got so badly hit last time. They're the only party talking sense about the Water charges, can't abolish them but won't privatise them. They wanted to invest in renewable energy too but were scuppered on it. I saw the other week something about the potential fallout for Ireland if a Brexit happens and we apparently import something like 70% of our fuel from the UK. We have the potential to be completely self sufficient but we'd rather take backhanders from oil and gas companies and be dependent on other countries instead.

The Greens are also the only party that have an actual animal welfare policy in their manifesto. Separate from any other policies. I know in the grand scheme of things people care more about water rates, hospitals, "homelessness" etc. and that's fine but animal welfare is a serious issue in Ireland, some of the things you read about would turn your stomach.

But anyway.... in danger of getting too political there..... so... yeah... boo Sinn Fein!

I quite liked the Greens in Ireland. In NZ, voting Green means voting extreme left, so they never get my vote.

In theory, if FF & FG form a coalition, they will have a crushing majority, so they can do what is best for Ireland not what is best for the local Parish.

I'd love it if you're right but I can see them getting into power in some capacity in the next 10 years. Look at their increases over the last few elections. They went from 5 to 14 and are going to be around the 20 mark this time if not a bit more.

Those sort of numbers make them very realistic coalition partners. I suspect the bigger boys will wait until Adams is gone so they can pretend they're viable partners.

The annoying thing about SF is that on occasion a few of them talk a lot of sense. Pearse Doherty could win quite a few people over if he was leader. At the end of the day, for a lot of people, it's their links to the IRA and that period of history that make them a non starter, regardless of what they're saying or doing. If they were to have a proper clean out and get rid of all those old faces they would stand a much better chance of winning over new voters. The ironic thing is they'd probably lose a lot of voters too who are voting for them purely for the same reasons sensible people avoid them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,699 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I quite liked the Greens in Ireland. In NZ, voting Green means voting extreme left, so they never get my vote.

In theory, if FF & FG form a coalition, they will have a crushing majority, so they can do what is best for Ireland not what is best for the local Parish.

Last govt had a crushing majority and look where its left them!

The real concern over a FF/FG coalition is even more support then drifting to some of the oddballs left as the opposition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I can't help but think that if FG got rid of Enda they'd have done better. He comes across as an absolute fraud

Synode wrote: »
    I can't help but think that if FG got rid of Enda they'd have done better. He comes across as an absolute fraud

Would have to think he's toast after this. Then again I was amazed the attempt to oust him for Bruton before the 2011 election didn't work so what do I know.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Would have to think he's toast after this. Then again I was amazed the attempt to oust him for Bruton before the 2011 election didn't work so what do I know.

Leo's a much better option, I reckon. He's a very cool customer and I'd imagine he'd be favourite to replace him now.

Imagine that, less than a year after passing the Marriage Equality referendum we could have a gay Taoiseach. Suck on that, Catholic Church!

Yeah, big fan of Leo. Would have to be slightly worried how he'd play in certain parts of the country though.

Always liked Brian Hayes too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

RIP Frank Kelly :(

In his own character's words: Feck. :(

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Yeah, big fan of Leo. Would have to be slightly worried how he'd play in certain parts of the country though.

The racist homophobic parts? ;)

Eamon Ryan just got elected there. My maths isn't what it used to be but I'm pretty sure that's a 200% increase for the Greens this election. Decent.

:( Where'd you see that

Edit: All over Twitter

On the 18th anniversary of Dermot Morgan's death too. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Synode wrote: »
    :( Where'd you see that

Edit: All over Twitter

http://www.rte.ie/ten/news/2016/0228/771346-acting-great-frank-kelly-dies-aged-77/

Very sad but I suppose he was a good age at least...

But they've hit their ceiling, this was the election we were told they could get 30 seats off the back of FF being destroyed ...and people actually decided to vote FF rather than Sinn Fein. This is as high as they ever go, Ferris has gone from being a poll topper in Kerry to getting in approx 4th.