Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bar for first date,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Cinema date is a weird one. You sit beside someone you don't know for almost 2 hours in silence.

You can find out whether they will try to steal your food though. That's 90% of a relationship right there...

ardinn wrote: »
    The Mezz - A fantastic bar not in the normal realm of things - problem is it doesnt kick off till about 2 am but there are some of the greatest bands you will find in there - If you can get in there round 11 and keep her interested long enough for the main band to start then you will have a great night - Dont be put off by the look of the crowd - or bar staff for that matter :D

The key here is to wait - the mezz looks like its about to close then goes haywire!

Ah I love The Mezz. Great memories :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,948 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Although if he insists, then a cocktail bar like peruke and periwig where I can get cocktails with popping candy!

Whats this place like on a Saturday night would you get seats ?

Busy. It's quite small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Or besides the mezz if she never heard of the blind pig then do that - it's fun trying to get into the place - google it - book a table - they will text you directions, passwords, and keycodes - bit of fun getting to the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,472 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Don't think I've ever had a first date in a bar. What's wrong with a walk in the park, a visit to a nice museum or a date at the pictures?

The fact you seem to have loads of first dates should indicate these aren't exactly optimal either

Do what you want OP. Setting is immaterial

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What about two people sitting beside an open fire in a lovely little pub? One that sold Tennants :) Having a chat and getting to know each other.

Where I come from, we drink Tennent's standing up.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,371 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Where I come from, we drink Tennent's standing up.

I suppose it's easier to run to the jacks to throw up after drinking it if you're already on your feet. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭dinorebel

I do set the bar quite low when it comes to dating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

The Woolshed... If your date is boring then at least you have tonnes of sport in the background

One persons ideal Baa, is can be someone else worst nightmare. You could be the one who looks boring if you are more interested in the screen than your date.

I'm a big fan of going to a comedy gig. International Bar or the Laughter Lounge. You can get drinks. You can talk. There is some other lad on stage telling all the jokes so you don't have to. What's there not to like. Even if the comedy is terrible, you can still talk about how terrible it is. Head on to somewhere else after. Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Bad idea going to somewhere like the Shelbourne on a first date.
    What if a good time is had and the relationship goes further... where do you go when to celebrate special occasions?

'Ah fupp, it's her Birthday.... better fire up the 'copter and catch the private jet to the Burj Al Arab... if only I brought her to a bleedin normal pub on our first date!!!'

First date protip - don't go straight to the pub. Meet up somewhere random or do something first if ye can beforehand. That'll give you something to chat about in the pub and you'll get to see a different side to a person when no drink is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

I'd be mortified if someone took me to the Shelbourne for a 1st date.
    I'd think it very pretentious and it wouldn't impress me at all.

Would be fab for an anniversary meal etc with a long term partner, but NOT a 1st date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,948 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Shelburne is a defo no no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

One persons ideal Baa, is can be someone else worst nightmare. You could be the one who looks boring if you are more interested in the screen than your date.

The footy is only a fail safe if the date doesn't go as planned!

I brought a date to the cinema on a first date when i was 17 but I wouldn't advise to do so. Very awkward and you dont get the know the person by the end of the movie.

After a few drinks you get more loose and the nerves fade away. Dont see anything wrong with a few pints on the 1st date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Go somewhere you'd like to go. Why pretend you're someone that you aren't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

Dorsia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Go somewhere you'd like to go. Why pretend you're someone that you aren't?

She mightn't like going to a strip club though...

but if she is, you've got a keeper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I met my wife on our first date in Reds, just off Westmoreland St. We were the only ones not stopped at the door for Id, so don't go there (if it still exists)

Had other first dates in quiet pubs, close enough to livelier places if things go well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Pubs a good idea but dont get pissed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Pubs a good idea but dont get pissed!

God no, get absolutely gee eyed, fell thru a glass door on the first date in the post above.

They see you in a mess and are willing for a second date, you are on to a winner.

The drunker and messier the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

I find it a good idea to agree to meet near a landmark like City Hall, the Spire or Trinity College then go get a bite to eat, then go to a bar and after a few drinks find someplace quieter and then all going find a hotel room. Avoid the cinema on the first date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

hairyslug wrote: »
    I met my wife on our first date in Reds, just off Westmoreland St. We were the only ones not stopped at the door for Id, so don't go there (if it still exists)

I always thought that place was a comedy club for reasons that would almost certainly see me getting banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭DopeTech

The meeting house in temple bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Cosy pub, open fire, quiet evening, few drinks is nice. A walk by a river is nice too, maybe to a park afterwards.

Cinema is another good one for me personally, go in the early evening if possible, then a walk or few drinks after if you want :)

Dinner on a first date for me is a no-no though. I'd find it far too formal and nerve racking personally. As for the Shelbourne or somewhere like it, I would hate it. I'd feel really, really uncomfortable and awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I'd go somewhere that's not too fancy so I'd rule out the Sherbourne - it might put the girl off a bit of it looks like you're trying too hard. I'd also rule out somewhere trashy or filled with old men, or noisy with sport on the tele.

I'd recommend The Church, not too fancy, option of food as well. Some other good suggestions include the Bank, the long hall, no name bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

FrostyJim wrote: »
    The meeting house in temple bar.

Too touristy and a rip off, same with anywhere in temple bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Sure it depends what you're into. I think a bar for a few drinks is grand or out food. Go to a museum, a walk in a park, hiking, etc. The list is endless.

I do know that the cinema is a bad idea though, no point sitting in the dark unable to talk to someone you want to get to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

If I were ever asked on a date and they suggested I pick bar, I'd say the Bank on Dame Street. But a bar/pub wouldn't be my first choice for a first date. I'm with the whole 'museum, park, gallery' set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 silly_dancer

Definitely not the shelbourne, and Friday/saturday night are a bad idea for a first date.i Everywhere is packed and if the date is not going great you can't escape by using the "work in the morning" excuse. A few nice Sunday afternoon pints are best.