Top 5 Beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Newfound Land IPA
    Rarewood Pale Ale
    Gold Medal Special Brew
    Red Mist Ale
    Bearded Brothers IPA

My top 5 is so hipster that none of them even exist yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

1.chimay white.
    2.chimay blue
    3.chieftain ipa
    4.guiness
    5.bemish.

Now I'd drink a lot in between and it changes from time to time but that chimay is top notch.also the Sierra nevada stuff is ace.good quality beer but I don't know enough about the brands to throw up specific names.

Kinsale blacks ipa is.also a really good inexpensive craft beer.I'd recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

magentis wrote: »
    Is this a hipster only thread?

Worse. Neckbeard territory.

timthumbni wrote: »
    I think there is very little difference between any beers, expensive or cheap, that I've drank. I would sometimes know the difference between the weaker or premium strength lagers but nothing to do with the price of them.

Everyone takes notions about what their favourite beer is. At the freezing temperature I like my beers there's feck all difference in taste to me anyway. Here is my current top 5.

Lidl stubbies.
    Stella
    Bavaria
    Tiger
    Tennents

A lot of it is just pure bull**** and snobbery.

I laughed recently when they blind taste tested vodkas and grey goose the most expensive came last. Grants came top. Lol.

May be different if you are only having a few beers. If you are having a skinful then go for the Dutch gold or whatever is cheapest.

I think Stella is quality.very cheap and tasty but tiger is rubish.it's a premium beer and like washing up liquid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Veltins
    Porterhouse Red
    Jupiler
    Pilsner Urquell
    Rodenbach

Plates wrote: »
    Delirium Tremens
    Duvel
    8 Degrees Big River
    Founders All Day IPA
    Sierra Nevada Hop Hunter

Good list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

1)Guinness

2)Goose Island IPA
    3)O'Hara's Red Ale
    4) Corona w/ lime
    5) Blue Moon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

dd972 wrote:
    Veltins Porterhouse Red Jupiler Pilsner Urquell Rodenbach

Porterhouse red is a serious drink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Porterhouse red is a serious drink!

I'm slavering like Pavlov's dog, and that's just thinking about it.

I usually drink stout, so I would go with:

Guinness
    Beamish
    O'Hara's Leann Folláin
    Galway Bay's Buried at Sea
    Young's Double Chocolate

Sorry Murphy's. :(

For other beers, I would go with:

Cobra (definitely my favourite lager)
    Curim (lovely Irish wheat beer)
    Blue Moon (as long as it has the orange, it's not the same without the orange!)
    Harbin (a Chinese lager I have yet to find anywhere in Ireland :( )
    Kirin (Asahi is also good)

And this may be sacrilege to beer snobs but I also quite enjoy Desperados. :D

LordSutch wrote: »
    1. Whistable Bay (Shprd Neame).
    2. Hopping Hare (Badger).
    3. London Pride (fullers).
    4. Fursty Ferret (Badger).
    5. Cobra beer (Cobra Beer).

London pride is a nice beer. Cobra is good too.definitely way better than tiger and it's normally a choice between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Budweiser
    Bud light
    Carlsberg
    Coors
    San Miguel

You need to get out more.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Brewdog IPA
    Augustiner
    Duvel
    Chimay
    Berlinerweisse

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Früh Kolsch
    Porterhouse Plain

Tiger
    Hoegarden
    Blue Moon
    Porterhouse Chiller
    Spaten

Honourable mentions to Asahi and Heverlee.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Some interesting choices and beers I wouldn't touch myself, but each to their own. However the people who mentioned Desperadoes should probably just leave the thread now.

seamusk84 wrote: »
    Friar Weiss and Hoegarden, nice. Can't beat a pint of Hoegarden with s slice of lemon. Proper refreshing.
    This man talks sense

I'm sorry, but fruit has no place in beer!

When someone starts banging on about Old Bishops Foot and all that wannabe hipster stuff there should be one simple question...what are they like after 12 pints. Or else it's like asking the kids what's their favourite drink and they all say Coca Cola while the unpopular kid says it's the real lemonade he drink when his parents once drive through Tuscany...

I think generally you'll find that people who are into craft beer will either drink session strength beers which are no different to pints of Heineken, etc. or they'll only have a few beers. If I'm drinking a 10% imperial stout I certainly won't be drinking 12 pints of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Will always be Art Guinness number 1 myself. Throw me on a pint of plain Mick and forget about all of those fancy taps. Smooth porter flowing down the hatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,308 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Smithwicks
    Limeburner (Kinnegar brewing, Donegal)
    St Mel's Brown Ale (Longford)
    Celtic Warrior (Hylands brewery, Cavan)
    Hoegarten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 uberjinks

Pisswasser
    Old Grumbly Knob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

The "hipster" (yawn) stuff isn't available in pint quantities in bars. Even if it was, the strength, 10% ABV or more, would have you on the floor before you reached that point. The price of said pint would be a huge turn off as well.

Instead, sessionable drinks would be drunk. I like Hoegaarden, Fullers London Pride, Titanic Stout, Hobgoblin and Adnams for example.

Well it's like this if you want to binge you on the wrong thread. If you manage to.keep down any of the beers I've listed and not manged to puke after 12 servings you should probably go to the hospital.these are not meant to be drank en masse.when it comes to craft beer it's definitely about quanlity and not quantity in that instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

1. Guinness
    2. Guinness
    3. Guinness
    4. Guinness
    5. Smithwicks

22/25

smurgen wrote: »
    Well it's like this if you want to binge you on the wrong thread. If you manage to.keep down any of the beers I've listed and not manged to puke after 12 servings you should probably go to the hospital.these are not meant to be drank en masse.when it comes to craft beer it's definitely about quanlity and not quantity in that instance.

How many pints did you drink before you jumped on the craft beer bandwagon?

Cos I'll tell you, even if your friends don't, that craft beer is an excuse to give those fellows who never really drank anyway a beer to talk about. As in, conversation used to be "how many pints" but the people who can't handle that conversation have switched it to "what pints"' to give themselves an "in". When the history of drinking us written up, far more stories will start with "well I'd had 22 pints of Guinness" than "we drank 3 bottles of belgain beer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭pat25c

I don't get all the hate for craft beer drinkers . I enjoy my craft beer & it's not so I can lord it over anyone, it's just that I want some verity in my beer & not be constantly served the same boring five beers . It's like hating someone for wanting a Chinese or an Indian instead of bacon & cabbage or stew .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

How many pints did you drink before you jumped on the craft beer bandwagon?

Cos I'll tell you, even if your friends don't, that craft beer is an excuse to give those fellows who never really drank anyway a beer to talk about. As in, conversation used to be "how many pints" but the people who can't handle that conversation have switched it to "what pints"' to give themselves an "in". When the history of drinking us written up, far more stories will start with "well I'd had 22 pints of Guinness" than "we drank 3 bottles of belgain beer"

Lads I'm dyslexic, can someone translate this for me

22/25

uch wrote: »
    Lads I'm dyslexic, can someone translate this for me

Basically you're no craic unless your beer consumption can be measured in gallons rather than pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

1. Beamish
    2. Guinness
    3. Murphy's
    4. Heineken
    5. Smithwicks

Must try a few more stouts, anyone care to recommend a few?