Post recession clothes shopping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I don't really understand the issue - is it that you think you shouldn't be in charity shops any more now that you have money? Why not?

If you find something you like and you can afford it, then buy it. What does it matter where you are?

Is it not that simple?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 BurpsyMcWindyPops

osarusan wrote: »
    I don't really understand the issue - is it that you think you shouldn't be in charity shops any more now that you have money? Why not?

If you find something you like and you can afford it, then buy it. What does it matter where you are?

Is it not that simple?

More that she's so used to not spending very much on clothes that she feels guilty now that she can. That's how I understand it.

I'd say a lot of people feel guilty spending money on themselves - I get a pang of guilt almost every time. Illogical but there ye go!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've found that as I've been able to afford more expensive clothes over the years, and taken care of them, that they last longer.

A cashmere/lambswool jumper lasts longer than a cotton mix/acrylic sweater from Gap.

I shop a lot in outlets and that makes a big difference.

I also shop in charity shops, have a Furla bag I got for €3, but when I'm shopping it's on quality of the item, and when I have to I'll pay for that.

Just very recently, I'd a light suit I bought in French Connection on sale for €150 7 years ago hit the bin. The trousers basically disintegrated.

However I wore those trousers every week, for seven years to work

So given that the 150 included two pairs of trousers, and a jacket, I got seven years of wear one day a week for 50.

So going on say 40 weeks a year, that's 280 days wear out of each pair of trousers for 50 euro.

A ten euro pair of trousers in Pennys would never have that longevity imo.

I have stuff like undervests/tops that I get in Dunnes and they need to be replaced regularly, unlike the more expensive clothing I have which last through multiple laundries etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Candie wrote: »
    I'm surely not the only one who thinks a 25 euro shirt is hardly decadent?

I would have thought it's cheap. Not charity shop cheap, but hardly a splurge.

Thinly disguised "I seem to be considerably richer than you, and think that 25 yoyos is in fact cheap for a shirt, you peasants" post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Sorry, but there is an ocean of difference between the quality and fit of something from Penneys - or even Dunnes - and something from a more quality label. In fact, I don't even think most of Penneys clothes are actually made for normal shaped human beings.

That is so true - Penneys opened here recently in Boston as Primark, and I never saw such tat in my life. Fine if you are 13, I guess, but I'd rather buy fewer clothes of higher quality and better fit.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Joe prim wrote: »
    Thinly disguised "I seem to be considerably richer than you, and think that 25 yoyos is in fact cheap for a shirt, you peasants" post

I'd say "thinly disguised, having the cop on that paying a little more for an item may mean seven years wear, rather than seven months wear" from that item.

Which sounds better to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭Pretzill

But would you not want more wear out of something you paid more for - as someone else said most of these clothes are made in the same sweat
    shops! Pay whatever you like, if you have it to spare, but don't be fooled by branding - Or do, sure many are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

My mother used shop in Dunnes and she says it's a lot more expensive now and nothing special really.

Dunnes have gone down a really odd route of diffusion lines for mad money recently. It seems like a bonkers business model to me.

On the general topic in hand, though: spend money on classic staples. Buy seasonal/"on trend" stuff as cheaply as possible. I do most of my shopping in Penneys but I spent over a hundred quid on a tailored white shirt for a friend of mine last year.

Dial Hard wrote: »

On the general topic in hand, though: spend money on classic staples. Buy seasonal/"on trend" stuff as cheaply as possible. I do most of my shopping in Penneys but I spent over a hundred quid on a tailored white shirt for a friend of mine last year.

This exactly what I do.

I have four pairs of work trousers, and two suits.

All of them came from Kildare or Banbridge outlet, and probably cost about €600 for the lot.

They are the basis of my work clothes, and I have them all at least two years.

They get combined with good quality pure wool/cashmere jumpers, then I have a load of utility tops/undertops that I wear on more casual days with them.

Pretzill wrote: »
    But would you not want more wear out of something you paid more for - as someone else said most of these clothes are made in the same sweat
    shops! Pay whatever you like, if you have it to spare, but don't be fooled by branding - Or do, sure many are!

I generally do get more wear out of something I paid more for. The fabric is higher quality and so is the finish. But those are things I check before I buy, the label means nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭Vic_08

One of the UK consumer programmes earlier this week did a comparison between a c£100 shirt from some designer store and a cheap one and the cheap one turned out to be harder wearing and no worse in any other garment lab test. The expensive one did have a coating on it that made it feel better to the touch when new but after washing it felt the same as the cheaper one.
    Says it all about designer labels really.

Vic_08 wrote: »
    One of the UK consumer programmes earlier this week did a comparison between a c£100 shirt from some designer store and a cheap one and the cheap one turned out to be harder wearing and no worse in any other garment lab test. The expensive one did have a coating on it that made it feel better to the touch when new but after washing it felt the same as the cheaper one.

There's a difference between pure wool trousers and 100% acrylic

That's what I based my buying decisions on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Stheno wrote: »

Definitely. Labels can be a rough guide, but it's better to pay attention to fabric and stitching. Even the high street places, some of them (like New Look and Topshop) seem to have different suppliers, you could get two things for near the same price in there and one would be falling apart in a couple of months while the other will go the distance.

Stheno wrote: »

There certainly is - not only in look and wear, but in how they feel! I need to have "good" clothes for work, and I'd rather have one or good pairs of wool trousers, and get them tailored for a perfect fit, than have 10 so-so pairs.

I'm perfectly willing to buy cheap jeans, though, if they fit well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm a guy with short legs and if I need a pair of jeans/chinos the one shop I find always has a 30 leg is Penneys.
    I remember when in school had getting the really expensive school pants and they used make me really itchy and I unsent have this problem with cheaper school pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Unless you go to the hand-made level there is sod all difference between Pennys/supermarket brands and named brands. All you get for the extra cash is a label, they are all mass produced in cheap labour sweatshops with the cheapest possible materials.

I suppose it varies from one label to another. I have a few TM Lewin casual shirts that I bought for around €25 each and to be honest they're nothing special. Thin material that wrinkles easy and small, wimpy collars that don't stand up at all. I recently bought three Gant shirts from a factory seconds outlet on eBay and they are a million times better. Lovely weight and feel to the material and proper tall collars. Barely need to be ironed. I don't give a damn about labels - I'll be getting my tailor to remove the pockets anyway so the shirts will be logo free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭StillThinking

I suppose what I really wanted to know was if anybody else has forgotten how to spend money. 25 quid for a poor quality shirt makes no sense to me, I do have a few bits of disposable clothing from Penny's, cheap and wears out after a couple of washes, but I also have cheap clothes from Penny's that I've had for years and they're still going strong.
    Don't think I'll ever give up my charity shops, found too many beautiful bits that I've not seen on anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Looked at prices in Dunnes sales and wondered how anyone especially pensioners etc could afford to dress.. Home made here, from remnants and ends of rolls and charity shops, Feet too sore for proper shoes so am wearing Aldi clogs . The most expensive things I buy are socks..But then I am home almost all the time so no appearances to keep up; one " good set" for public appearances! Else warmth and comfort

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I generally shop online, decided to treat myself last week with the following:

3xPairs of Jeans (6th Sense, Jack&Jones)
    4xHoodies (Jack&Jones and Lonsdale)
    2x Pairs of Runners (Kappa, They are on sale in shops here for €40 each)
    1x Heavy winter paraka (Jack&Jones)
    A few T-shirts and Jocks and stuff

Just worked out the price and with delivery I spent a total of €120 and everything I bought was brand names.

Conclusion: Online is far cheaper for shopping :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Dunnes seems to have gotten notions lately, all their stuff is gone so dear! Penneys stuff is the same quality for half the price.

Which is why I didn't buy it from "some designer store", I bought it from a specialist shirtmaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Go to Army Bargains ,,kit yourself out as a German light infantry man.

Flecktarn ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

If the dolphin beached on its own it would have overheated and died anyway - but being selfied to death is an even less dignified way to go.

Think you're in the wrong thread*, dude.

*Pun definitely intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

I haven't forgotten how to spend money, as such, I just never got why I should when charity shops are so great! However, I don't have a job where I have to look smart (boiler suit FTW!).

My ex keeps buying expensive clothes for my youngest as he objects to charity shop clothes. I think he's off his head, tbh. Recently he asked me could I track down the latest expensive pair of jeans he had bought for our son, as he thinks they could have ended up here and they cost 60 euro.

I have 3 fella's jeans here (between the two boys and the overspill of clothes from my partner's house) so didn't think I could identify them if he didn't know the brand name....to which he said "they'll be the designer label". Had to laugh. JackJones, Diesel, Billabong, Nike, etc. - all favorites in my house, and I only buy things with little or no wear on them, so they all look brand new. Wouldn't buy Dunnes or Pennies even from a charity shop because the fit is so bad. Still haven't found those "designer" jeans as all the fellas are roughly the same size these days. They've probably been used for work jeans by my partner ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I'm not a huge spender on clothes at full price anyway. I tend to do most of my shopping when things are reduced but I'll splurge every now and then, mainly on trainers and jeans.
    I can't recommend NEXT highly enough for men though, especially their Oxford shirts, £20 each and they were incredibly well. I've had TH, GANT, Lacoste shirts and these get commented on more than anything else.

I've been looking for a "smart" jumper for a while, wanted something with a cable knit look but didn't see anything that stood out. Passed the GANT shop here and saw one in the window and thought "yep, that's it, that's the one" ... £160 ... for a sweater. That's just mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭StillThinking

razorblunt wrote:
    I've been looking for a "smart" jumper for a while, wanted something with a cable knit look but didn't see anything that stood out. Passed the GANT shop here and saw one in the window and thought "yep, that's it, that's the one" ... £160 ... for a sweater. That's just mental.

160 quid for a jumper!! Need to be some good quality and a good guarantee. I've spent that money on shoes before but that might have been 10 years and I still wear them.
    My first pair of Birkenstocks were bought in tk maxx for 20 punts and I finally admitted defeat after 12 years, picked up my second pair in a charity shop, never worn, tags on for a fiver!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Go to Army Bargains ,,kit yourself out as a German light infantry man.

Go to poland on a ryanair deal.

Watch them get nervous.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

160 quid for a jumper!! Need to be some good quality and a good guarantee. I've spent that money on shoes before but that might have been 10 years and I still wear them.
    My first pair of Birkenstocks were bought in tk maxx for 20 punts and I finally admitted defeat after 12 years, picked up my second pair in a charity shop, never worn, tags on for a fiver!

I can't really bring myself to buy those jumpers that are 80/90 quid but in the States they're as cheap as chips.
    Like you I'd spend that on shoes or jacket (100/110) is the max for jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Think you're in the wrong thread*, dude.

*Pun definitely intended.

Now I feel sick again. not you die hard, the dolphin.. thought THIS thread was safe..