Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

bought our stock bull for heifers today, lad we bought off was training in two for kilkenny bull sale never realised the hassle went into training them

walking/getting pulled around by a yearling bull on a harness, there is me out of breeding a bull for the sale fair play to the effort lads put in, funny to see people getting pulled around by dogs on the road on the way home after seen the lad with the friesian bulls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

bought our stock bull for heifers today, lad we bought off was training in two for kilkenny bull sale never realised the hassle went into training them

walking/getting pulled around by a yearling bull on a harness, there is me out of breeding a bull for the sale fair play to the effort lads put in, funny to see people getting pulled around by dogs on the road on the way home after seen the lad with the friesian bulls
    I was working in Wicklow for a beef farmer and part of my job was washing and halter training bulls and heifers.

One Limousin was ready to be walked one day and I set off down the farm road with her. I was told she had 'a bit of a liking for a left turn' so turn into her and keep her to the right.

First 10 yards was grand, then she started to push left. So I pushed right and lifted the halter.

Pushed further the next 10 yards despite my best attempts.

Soon I was walking on the grass.

Then I was walking sideways with my back to her trying to avoid the barbed wire on my left.

By the time I was at the end of the lane, my overalls was in bits from the barbed wire and I was bleeding like a lad after being dragged against barbed wire for 50 yards.

The heifer was standing looking at me, chewing the cud and wondering what all the fuss was about.:rolleyes:

I fuppin' hate Limousins:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,782 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I was working in Wicklow for a beef farmer and part of my job was washing and halter training bulls and heifers.

One Limousin was ready to be walked one day and I set off down the farm road with her. I was told she had 'a bit of a liking for a left turn' so turn into her and keep her to the right.

First 10 yards was grand, then she started to push left. So I pushed right and lifted the halter.

Pushed further the next 10 yards despite my best attempts.

Soon I was walking on the grass.

Then I was walking sideways with my back to her trying to avoid the barbed wire on my left.

By the time I was at the end of the lane, my overalls was in bits from the barbed wire and I was bleeding like a lad after being dragged against barbed wire for 50 yards.

The heifer was standing looking at me, chewing the cud and wondering what all the fuss was about.:rolleyes:

I fuppin' hate Limousins:pac:
    Was halter training pb lim calves years ago for a lad, I was behind the calf pushing her forward and other lad was tying halter around the bar of the gate, she kicked me full force on my knee cap:eek: i'd say my curses could be heard for miles, was very sore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Mehaffey's Guide to Break Fencing Large Irregular Shaped Paddocks.

Step 1). Put up a nice straight reel behind the water trough perpendicular to the permanent fence.

Step 2). Aw you didn't get that right did ye ya eejit sure ya may as well just chance her on now bai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Looking a calving data here this morning.
    Double calved already compared to same period last yr.
    And a good share of cows after pulling themselves back 3-4 wks.
    Great to see. Hectic time but hopefully it'll be worth it

Looking a calving data here this morning.
    Double calved already compared to same period last yr.
    And a good share of cows after pulling themselves back 3-4 wks.
    Great to see. Hectic time but hopefully it'll be worth it
    Wil you calve the same time next year? Have you enough grass available for them given the weather?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Wil you calve the same time next year? Have you enough grass available for them given the weather?

Might push it back to may 1st not sure.
    Lots of grass getting it grazed is the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

New weekend guy "the bike won't start"

Me "check battery connections"

He "I did"

Me "are you sure?"

He "yes"

Me "you may walk for cows"
    10 mins later

He "got bike going"

Phucking phones have become nothing short of "SoS" devices

New weekend guy "the bike won't start"

Me "check battery connections"

He "I did"

Me "are you sure?"

He "yes"

Me "you may walk for cows"
    10 mins later

He "got bike going"

Phucking phones have become nothing short of "SoS" devices

Check battery connections will go on my checklist now lol. Had an SoS call the other day, vacuum wouldn't kick in for the plant. Helps if you put the bung back into the side of the vacuum pump.

Ah lads the only way to learn is from your mistakes, I know its annoying when some one rings you about the obvious but whats obvious to you mightn't be to them. Have a good bit of that with the eldest lad at the moment here

Experience is the best teacher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

No prob with that but effort needs to be made before phone is used.

Funny how it got sorted when walking for cows was suggested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

No prob with that but effort needs to be made before phone is used.

Funny how it got sorted when walking for cows was suggested

I'm hoarse fro saying 'solutions not problems'.
    If you think the Irish are bad, you'd lose the plot with the French.
    Itchy arse syndrome...

I don't think there'll be a day where we don't love a good moan.

The sun could be shining, the vat could be full, the cows could be fat and a farmer will tell you to fix that tape gate you f**ked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

milking machine playing up a bit this morning, missing a "beat" if you like. think its one of them relay things but i cant seem to pinpoint it to which one, anyone any tips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

milking machine playing up a bit this morning, missing a "beat" if you like. think its one of them relay things but i cant seem to pinpoint it to which one, anyone any tips?

Try each cluster to see which one is not opening and closing and then Swop around a few of the middle parts of the relays until you find which part is wrong

keep goin, not sure i follow you, it happens so quick when milking i cant see which clusters "stall"" for the secound,it doesnt seem to happen when washing the detergent through it.

You are sure its not just one relay malfunctioning penamently, keep your eye out for under milked cows

im not sure to be honest there seemed to be milk flowing through all clusters but when id hear the different noise i couldnt see any difference up along the line,def doesnt sound right tho.

Get milking machine man out

im not sure to be honest there seemed to be milk flowing through all clusters but when id hear the different noise i couldnt see any difference up along the line,def doesnt sound right tho.

Are the relays tight sometimes they can work loose

do you mean the whole thing that screws on to the line or a smaller part? ye whelan if its no better this evening i will def get a lad to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

do you mean the whole thing that screws on to the line or a smaller part? ye whelan if its no better this evening i will def get a lad to call.

Almost nothing else will fcuk with your cell count faster than a pulsation or vacuum problem. I would have been on the phone this morning. Whatever he'd charge it would be cheap at the price.

Pregnancy testing tomorrow, feels like the run up to World Cup Final, Wrestlemania or Superbowl Sunday! Looking to value every percent in calf at 11,000 NZD or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    Pregnancy testing tomorrow, feels like the run up to World Cup Final, Wrestlemania or Superbowl Sunday! Looking to value every percent in calf at 11,000 NZD or so.

For the cows or your other half ha??

Timmaay wrote: »
    For the cows or your other half ha??

For the cows thank goodness. My other half has set the bar low at 16% empty up from 14 last year on her farm. We've been 19% the last two seasons running so would be satisfied with 19 again.

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    For the cows thank goodness. My other half has set the bar low at 16% empty up from 14 last year on her farm. We've been 19% the last two seasons running so would be satisfied with 19 again.

Jesus I was worried where that was leading when I started reading it 🙈🙈

Lead weights from ID collars may have caused lead poisoning on Dairygold farm.

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/cows-die-from-lead-poisoning-on-farm-supplying-dairygold-34460871.html

Waiting on dishwasher to finish, all liner shells and clawpeices and bowls in it

Lead weights from ID collars may have caused lead poisoning on Dairygold farm.

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/cows-die-from-lead-poisoning-on-farm-supplying-dairygold-34460871.html
    They would want to be fairly sure of the source before printing it