Most unusual or surreal nickname you've heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

As a child,I used to buy 5spots of hash over at the canal separating Finglas/Cabra off a gentleman who was appropriately nicknamed 'drugs'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

There was a girl in a civil service office nicknamed Martini.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyIRhhnTHWo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

As a child,I used to buy 5spots of hash over at the canal separating Finglas/Cabra off a gentleman who was appropriately nicknamed 'drugs'.

Just reminded me of another flute who referred to himself as 'drugs'.

Bellend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

director of a company was called Ronan
    took on another Ronan as manager , i christened him Ronan Éile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,566 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

My brother has always been skinny/lanky so his nickname years ago was 'Somalia'

Fella around my way called "Hash teeth"

Must have liked hash browns... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

I heard of a guy known as Sledge - because when he went out he was always getting pulled by dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

I've known a guy for many years whose nickname is Jimmy The Penguin - his real name is Kevin! I've no idea where he got the nickname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭glynf

Worked with a guy that had short ginger hair, as in shaved with a no.1 blade. He was christened nugget-reasoning being his head looked like a chicken nugget.

Another guy had a spinal problem, and had one shoulder lower than the other-he got called 45, as in 45 degree angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭glynf

Worked with a guy that had short ginger hair, as in shaved with a no.1 blade. He was christened nugget-reasoning being his head looked like a chicken nugget.

Another guy had a spinal problem, and had one shoulder lower than the other-he got called 45, as in 45 degree angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

Coromohompy. According to my dad its short for Cormack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

There was a lad in the college I went to who had a deformed hand, missing a few fingers. He was called Clock, cause he'd a big hand and a little hand.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Had a teacher called Washing Machine. Not sure why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

rtron wrote: »
    My mate is called "Bainne" class nick name.Don't know why.

Here's a wild guess, he likes milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Apt avatar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

In national school one of the class mates was called foxy but he had jet black hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

A woman at church was called Shergar as she was always first up to holy communion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

A friends second name is cunningham so we call him sly bacon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

A guy from Co Kilkenny is known as Powder in fact anyone around here from Kilkenny are called powder. The rumour being that in 1798 the Kilkenny contingent pissed on the gun powder so they wouldn't have to fight the redcoats.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I knew this guy a few years back who was always telling this anecdote about a guy he went to school with called Monkey Foley.Anyway his anecdote was he met yer man at the checkout in Tescos some years after they left school and instead of calling him by his real name he said "Hello Monkey".He thought it was hilarious.

When the aul lad worked in Broadstone in the 50's he worked with a man called cousins. He found out years later the guy was actually called Kelly....he was from the country, country cousins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Knew a lad called Nesht due to his unkempt hair

Another local is in his 40s and is still called Nessie from a tee shirt he wore constantly when he was about 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

a few more nicknames from around my way when I was younger, a fella called Bum, another called Sossy, and a chap by the name of Sambo Hyland.

Sambo was scutting on the back of a huge tipper truck when the driver tipped the load of muck out, burying Sambo up to his neck. When the driver realised what he had done, he floored it and raced off down the road. The neighbours came out with shovels and dug him out. As a result, he was called Pancake for a while after, but eventually reverted to Sambo!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Bambi wrote: »
    Knew a lad called Nesht due to his unkempt hair

LOL, one of my mates is called Shaggy because of the state of his hair and beard.:D

pablo128 wrote: »
    a few more nicknames from around my way when I was younger, a fella called Bum, another called Sossy, and a chap by the name of Sambo Hyland.

Sambo was scutting on the back of a huge tipper truck when the driver tipped the load of muck out, burying Sambo up to his neck. When the driver realised what he had done, he floored it and raced off down the road. The neighbours came out with shovels and dug him out. As a result, he was called Pancake for a while after, but eventually reverted to Sambo!:pac:

Sossy was probably a Donnelly every Donnelly I know is called soss. Every Clark are called Nobby.

Another man in his late 30s is still called hacksaw because his teeth were like the broken hacksaw blades we had to endure in the Tec.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

My nick is Goz, because apparently, when I wrote my name in thatched writing on my beer fridge as a teenager, it looked like Goz. I got the nick from my two friends Dean (Swift) and Neil (Nelly). In the grand scheme, our nicks were decent compared to some of the other rather embarrassing, or scumbaggery nicks out there. Just chop a name in half and add an "O" or an "A" to the end of most lads names seemed to be recipe around my way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

One come to minds. Skinny Malinx Maloney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Local lad here is called" towbar "because he'd be liable to pull anything on a night out, Friday night a stunner Saturday night a munter he was a great wingman to have never had a problem taking care of the ugly friend for you top bloke
    Worked on a site where the Sparks was called the "prince of darkness"