Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread VII: The Fan-base Awakens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

scott1974 wrote: »
    I have to say Jordi did a lot of work.
    Triggs was good too.

Yes, that was the best I have seen from Jordi for a while. And yes, Triggs aquitted himself well, as did Molony. And Van der Flier worked his butt off as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

So, after 13 games in the Pro 12, we've lost 3 and have conceded 13 tries (both are lowest in the competition).

Our points Diff is 137, head and shoulders above the second best, Ulster, who are at 88. We've scored 32 tries, joint third with Cardiff, behind Ulster (34) and Connacht (36).

We're 1 point behind 1st with a game in hand.

Not too shabby Leo, not too shabby.

(It was decent craic at the game today, not as cold as that Ulster game in November, and loads of tries and caaaaans).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Kellegher was good tongue, but his debut was an absolute nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭accensi0n

errlloyd wrote: »
    Kellegher was good tongue

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

What type of debut is Earl talking about too :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

accensi0n wrote: »

Auto correct was apparently as drunk as I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I'm sure I'll incur the wrath of the ultras by bringing this up but Ringrose was turnstiled once in the first half in a tackle he should've made easily. The guy is a genius with ball in hand but is yet to convince me he's ready for international footy until he doesn't give up yards in contact.

.ak wrote: »
    I'm sure I'll incur the wrath of the ultras by bringing this up but Ringrose was turnstiled once in the first half in a tackle he should've made easily. The guy is a genius with ball in hand but is yet to convince me he's ready for international footy until he doesn't give up yards in contact.

OMG why do you hate Ringrose so much..! The k in ak must stand for konservative...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

He'll be ready when he's ready. The one advantage he has is that he's young and is training regularly with the Ireland squad. If he doesn't learn defence under Joe, he never will.

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

sheep? wrote: »
    So, after 13 games in the Pro 12, we've lost 3 and have conceded 13 tries (both are lowest in the competition).

Our points Diff is 137, head and shoulders above the second best, Ulster, who are at 88. We've scored 32 tries, joint third with Cardiff, behind Ulster (34) and Connacht (36).

We're 1 point behind 1st with a game in hand.

Not too shabby Leo, not too shabby.

(It was decent craic at the game today, not as cold as that Ulster game in November, and loads of tries and caaaaans).

Your points difference is so high purely because you got to play zebre at home during the six nations.

Dragons at home is probably the only other game where leinster have racked up a score.

awec wrote: »
    Your points difference is so high purely because you got to play zebre at home during the six nations.

Dragons at home is probably the only other game where leinster have racked up a score.
    But didn't Ulster play Treviso at home during the RWC and rack up an almost similar score?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

He has 11 professional caps! I don't think even the most ultra of ultras will be foaming at the mouth because you say he isn't ready for international rugby yet. Your claim that he wasn't even ready for European rugby was the one I took the most issue with, because at this point he should be Leinster's first choice 13 without question

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

But didn't Ulster play Treviso at home during the RWC and rack up an almost similar score?

Yes?

Yes?

How did Gilroy and Jackson play last night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

You'll get your chance on the 4th March. :)

Yes?
    Yes. You didn't need the question mark :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

My issues with him last night wouldn't have been defensive, he can be very frustrating in attack too. For all his individual talent he goes too much himself and doesn't pass the ball when the option is there. A lot of the reason Byrne didn't see much ball last night was down to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,979 ✭✭✭jacothelad

How did Gilroy and Jackson play last night?

Gilroy was MOTM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

In fairness our PD was 85 before last night after 12 games. That's just 3 points behind Ulsters now after 14 games. Connacht are next on 51. For a side missing so many to Ireland that is pretty good going.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

yeah 20 point wins over Dragons and Treviso and then 15 point wins over Munster and Ospreys will put your PD in a good spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Hayden Triggs was sucking mud out there. I guess he hasn't played a match in a long time but after 20 minutes of rugby he was doubled over.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

jacothelad wrote: »
    Gilroy was MOTM.

Nothing of note so.

So, SOB, Sexton, McCarthy and Dave Kearney all carted off injured in Paris. Hell! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

vienne86 wrote: »
    So, SOB, Sexton, McCarthy and Dave Kearney all carted off injured in Paris. Hell! :(

They just need to tell Sexton to take the rest of the season off at this point, hes getting injured every game

That looked a nasty one for SOB too.

I'd worry about him being out for a while with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,857 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

CatFromHue wrote: »
    That looked a nasty one for SOB too.

I'd worry about him being out for a while with that.

Any word on what type of injury it was? Looked like it might have been his hamstring. I hope he's not going down the same spiral that Fez, Flannery and Leamy went through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

Any word on what type of injury it was? Looked like it might have been his hamstring. I hope he's not going down the same spiral that Fez, Flannery and Leamy went through.

I thought it was his knee

I was thinking hamstring too.

Kearney seemed banjaxed anyway and let's just hope that McCarthy's injury wasn't as bad as it looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭scott1974

It was probably the same hamstring that kept him out of last weeks game.

What a try and what a jersey!