Describe your favorite movie then see if people can guess it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

GAAman wrote: »
    Nope, all guesses have been wrong so far. Now I'm wondering if anyone has seen it :pac:

Another clue, the man in question is diagnosed with a terminal illness

Venus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Young guy, orphan, living somewhere isolated finds out he has some sort of ability that sets him apart from others.

Makes a few friends.

He goes off somewhere to train up on how to use his ability. Thinks he knows it all, is better than than his teachers.

He gets into some bother because of his friends.

Turns out to be the best ever with his special ability afyer all, and he saves the day.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Venus?

That's the one I've been racking my brains trying to think of! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

maudgonner wrote: »
    Venus?

Nope, more recent than that

Young guy, orphan, living somewhere isolated finds out he has some sort of ability that sets him apart from others.

Makes a few friends.

He goes off somewhere to train up on how to use his ability. Thinks he knows it all, is better than than his teachers.

Turns out to be the best ever with his special ability afyer all, and he saves the day.

Star Wars :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Makes a few friends.

Pokemon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭UrbanSprawl

Makes a few friends.

boxing film?superhero powers?Superman?

Ah Jaysus! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

True Grit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Scotsman waxes lyrically about washing machines and tin openers

wil wrote: »
    True Grit?

Nope, getting some mileage outta this one!

So a much older man has an inappropriate relationship with a younger woman and it all goes horribly wrong?

Shame??

So a much older man has an inappropriate relationship with a younger woman and it all goes horribly wrong?

Yes, but saying trouble ensues is more on the mark

And no, not Shame either

Yes, but saying trouble ensues is more on the mark

And no, not Shame either

And it's not An Education or Fishtank?

Both incorrect (I've gone back a few times to make sure it wasn't already guessed I say I'd be shot if it had :pac: )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭DuMorph

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    Scotsman waxes lyrically about washing machines and tin openers
    The Flying Scotsman

Both incorrect (I've gone back a few times to make sure it wasn't already guessed I say I'd be shot if it had :pac: )

Sufferin Jaysus GAAman! :p

I've been looking at it arseways. I don't think it's pervy old man and sweet young teen.
    Let me have a think now.

I have it!!!!!!!!!!!!

Killer Joe!

I have it!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Killer Joe!

No you don't :pac:

RAAAGGGGEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

Give us another clue......

I'm tired but I really want to win :(
    *sniff*

Give us another clue......

I bet the divil has gone to sleep leaving us hanging :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Ah feck it , would it perchance perhaps possibly be......SAW.

I bet the divil has gone to sleep leaving us hanging :p

The fecker better not be. I will give it ten more mins, then I'm out:)

wil wrote: »
    Ah feck it , would it perchance perhaps possibly be......SAW.

Stop guessing!! Only I'm allowed guess!! :pac: :D

It's not;
    An Education
    Venus
    Fishtank
    Killer Joe
    Shame

Venus was released in 2006 and this came after.
    Older man who is terminally ill. Young girl.
    Trouble ensues.

Elegy?