RTE cameraman attacked by Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

What was the crack with the "you free state bastards" shouted from the protesters? Was this a Sinn Fein thing? Was waiting to hear west Brit being thrown in there just for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    The cameraman was in the wrong place. He made the decision to place himself in danger so I have no sympathy.

you amaze me!
    the camera man needs to record how this manic operates.
    I have a lot of sympathy for him.
    Cops hate to have their misdeeds recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭JRant

timthumbni wrote: »
    What was the crack with the "you free state bastards" shouted from the protesters? Was this a Sinn Fein thing? Was waiting to hear west Brit being thrown in there just for the craic.

Amazing the Shinners are not to blame for every protest that goes wrong.

As posted by others on 2 pages ago, it's some crackpot group calling themselves Irish Republican Left Action against Facism

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=913561958751080&id=912549568852319

A right bunch of knuckle dragging, mouth breathing yahoos.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

JRant wrote: »
    Amazing the Shinners are not to blame for every protest that goes wrong.

As posted by others on 2 pages ago, it's some crackpot group calling themselves Irish Republican Left Action against Facism

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=913561958751080&id=912549568852319

A right bunch of knuckle dragging, mouth breathing yahoos.

That reads like something from Germany in the 30s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭JRant

That reads like something from Germany in the 30s

They seem like a lovely bunch altogether.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Forgetting about the camera man for a minute. At 17secs on the Irish Times footage a garda starts smacking people from behind as the are walking away. He isn't saying a word. Completely uncalled for, not sure if it is the same one that hits the cameraman but that guy needs to be fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

if a garda lawfully tells you to move,then you have to move,if you square up to the garda and threaten the garda you deserve a tap of the baton ,I have no problem with that,but if you hit some one walking away you or I would be charged with assault so why should a guard be above the law??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z68yTJWXm5g&feature=youtu.be

Watch this and tell me who the fascists really are

Wolf Club wrote: »
    Utter nonsence, there's a huge difference between an organised sporting event and the chaotic aftermath of a protest. The cameraman would have been briefed to get a close up shot of what's going on. Why else would he have been in there?

He should have been off to the side recording (which would have given a better view also) or behind the Gardai. Being at the front of the push of rioters is an idiotic place to be and he can have little complaint imo about getting hit.

Would it be fair game for a camera man to be on the front line in a war right in between the soilders and expect not to get shot or blown up... No it wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

fair play to the Guards, they did a great job, bloddy hippies causing trouble as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It really is silly behaviour. When opposing a racist group, why act like thugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

It really is silly behaviour. When opposing a racist group, why act like thugs?

cos there isn't much more money to be made from shell-to-sea

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

seanin4711 wrote: »
    you amaze me!
    the camera man needs to record how this manic operates.
    I have a lot of sympathy for him.
    Cops hate to have their misdeeds recorded.

Ha!

Watch the €2 euro shop fracas video

The only ones that banished and obstructed cameras yesterday were the Red Socialist hard left Nazis

The Red Socialist Nazis are seen ordering cameras out and physically restraining the commercial camera men and photographers

Roaring 'no cameras and cameras out' so the physical assaults they were committing could not be recorded

Now we know who the true fascist Nazis among us are, just as in Germany in the 1930s, it's the socialists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

my friend wrote: »
    Ha!

Watch the €2 euro shop fracas video

The only ones that banished and obstructed cameras yesterday were the Red Socialist hard left Nazis

The Red Socialist Nazis are seen ordering cameras out and physically restraining the commercial camera men and photographers

Roaring 'no cameras and cameras out' so the physical assaults they were committing could not be recorded

Now we know who the true fascist Nazis among us are, just as in Germany in the 1930s, it's the socialists

Are you saying the Nazi party were too leftwing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z68yTJWXm5g&feature=youtu.be

Watch this and tell me who the fascists really are

I love the subtitles as the right wing lads are given a beating in the 2euro shop... "The Gardaí turn up to protect the PEGIDA supporters"

Shouldn't that read "Gardaí turn up to intervene and prevent an assault on people who were expressing an alternative opinion"

Socialism - It has a history of this kind of thing you know.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

It's amazing how many experts are on here. I assume they have years of experience dealing with rioting crowds?

Asking nicely for some reason doesn't work!?

The camera man got right up into the front of the mob facing the line of Gardai, he became a part of the problem at that point These rioting clowns see a camera and the play up to it putting Gardai at further risk!

If you're standing in the way of the public order unit after being directed to leave the area you're going to get hit. Simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Jimlh86 wrote: »
    It's amazing how many experts are on here. I assume they have years of experience dealing with rioting crowds?

The camera man got right up into the front of the mob facing the line of Gardai, he became a part of the problem at that point These rioting clowns see a camera and the play up to it putting Gardai at further risk!

If you're standing in the way of the public order unit after being directed to leave the area you're going to get hit. Simple

Seems as how your the subject matter expert here Walter, who was ordered to leave the area? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Arrested, you're gonna get arrested, there was no call to hit the camera guy if he refused to obey an instruction he should have been arrested and charged under the public order act
    And the people walking away the same , the baton is for people who resist arrest which is not what was happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭freddiek

I know there wouldn't be too many MENSA members in the Gards but jaysus you'd think he'd be able to distinguish between a media cameraman and these 2 sets of screamers

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

Bambi wrote: »
    Seems as how your the subject matter expert here Walter, who was ordered to leave the area? :confused:

The crowd! They were ordered numerous times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Copy-pasting this from a Reddit thread.
    The footage of the RTE News camera being struck with a baton by Gardai while clearly working outraged me, I was looking at the Irish Times video from the same march then and it seems to be the same Garda who hit their cameraman too...

Here's a few angles of the RTE one (cameraman in the red coat in the third-person views)...

FIRST PERSON VIEW

http://imgur.com/JMxEGZa

Taken from video embedded here - http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0206/765936-protest-pegida-dublin/

SECOND ANGLE, THIRD PERSON VIEW, Cameraman left of screen in red

https://giphy.com/gifs/SvjLAkC9DWrLO

Taken from this video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFv6ArDBEBY

THIRD ANGLE, AGAIN THIRD PERSON VIEW

http://giphy.com/gifs/12ItJbUr3YIf4c

Taken from this video (2 minutes in...) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_REls3JkxzQ

The Irish Times video journalist was also struck by what appears to be the same Garda. See - http://imgur.com/IIHghi2

Taken from the end of this video, which seems to stop abruptly once the camera is hit. Wonder if the strike broke the camera;
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/scuffles-break-out-at-launch-of-anti-immigration-group-in-dublin-1.2525530

It appears to me to be the same Garda. Does anyone have any other footage of him? Was he aiming for cameras continuously? Seems way over-agro...

EDIT: Here are some stills from the striking Garda in both videos, who looks to me is the same person - http://imgur.com/a/Pd5AO

Difference between two is that gloves and badge are on it one, but off in other. However, in the Irish Times video he is holding the gloves in his hand, either having just removed them or just readying them to be worn. Would he have had to remove the gloves to remove the badge?

You can see that at some point the garda removed his id number badge. I wonder why /s

Also at one point he actually reaches over other people to get a strike in at the Irish Times photographer. So much for just wanting to push back the crowd.

Collie D wrote: »
    Are you saying the Nazi party were too leftwing?

It's not a linear spectrum - it's almost like a horse show. Go far enough left or far enough right and they both start becoming similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Tigger wrote: »
    Arrested, you're gonna get arrested, there was no call to hit the camera guy if he refused to obey an instruction he should have been arrested and charged under the public order act
    And the people walking away the same , the baton is for people who resist arrest which is not what was happening

No. The batons are used in these situations to control or move the crowd. As well as an arrest. The gardai were advancing, it's fairly standard for police to use batons to push a crowd. Including baton charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The crowd! They were ordered numerous times

No matey they were ordered to get back.

freddiek wrote: »
    I know there wouldn't be too many MENSA members in the Gards but jaysus you'd think he'd be able to distinguish between a media cameraman and these 2 sets of screamers

That doesn't matter, media or not they are not exempt from respecting the maintenance of public order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

There's a lot of flag burners who have got too much freedom and I wanna make it legal for policemen to beat 'em...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

You can see that at some point the garda removed his id number badge. I wonder why /s

Also at one point he actually reaches over other people to get a strike in at the Irish Times photographer. So much for just wanting to push back the crowd.

The image in the middle? That video showed people clearly advancing towards that cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

Shocked by how many people on here think this Garda's behaviors was acceptable. The cameraman wasn't looting, rioting, chanting. The fact that he was there at all didn't warrant violence. The Garda had a lot to take in and not very long to do so. I'm not going to demonise him, but he reacted on a wrong impulse.

Journalists have an obligation to be as close to the Centre of this stuff as possible. If I was him, I'd be making a report.

Bambi wrote: »
    No matey they were ordered to get back.
    Yet they didn't.

Why does the camera man in red not wear ID? Is it not usual to have tabard reading Press/TV/RTE?