Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »
    are those things accurate for finding pipes/leaks? We were going to get a compressor and jack hammer but we managed to get up concrete with back arm.

probably more to do with the operator but he only had to dig a hole a couple foot square....he got it dead on.
    i could've fixed it and pay less but if he was wrong....he'd be gone with my money
    He just touches all taps/drinkers on the line with the sensor and then decides it's between that tap and that drinker for instance and then follow the line on the ground...., amazing to see him work...probably works better on concrete than the field but it's usually easy enough find in the field with the muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,432 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Rare breed on now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

That is one tidy and organised shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

IH784man wrote: »
    That is one tidy and organised shed

He wouldn't stomach working in our fixing shed I'd say!
    Fair play to him though its a tasty spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Ooooot almost lost my phone!
    Went down to the shed after Rare Breed to shut the main door (it's bleedin' windy out!!) and push down the lying areas.
    Got back up to the house and went to plug in my phone to tether off it....no phone in my pocket :eek::eek:

Panic back down to the shed with no other phone to ring it and retraced my steps. Fecking thing right between pens on the bare slats, pushed up against the rubber mat in the next pen. Must have slipped out when I was going between the pens through gates.

Ah phone Phoney phone phone. I love my phone :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,985 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Kovu wrote: »
    Ooooot almost lost my phone!
    Went down to the shed after Rare Breed to shut the main door (it's bleedin' windy out!!) and push down the lying areas.
    Got back up to the house and went to plug in my phone to tether off it....no phone in my pocket :eek::eek:

Panic back down to the shed with no other phone to ring it and retraced my steps. Fecking thing right between pens on the bare slats, pushed up against the rubber mat in the next pen. Must have slipped out when I was going between the pens through gates.

Ah phone Phoney phone phone. I love my phone :D

Lucky one there, Bridget must be lookin out for ya:)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

blue5000 wrote: »
    Lucky one there, Bridget must be lookin out for ya:)

Or St Jude? :-)

That'd be the right one...for lost causes :D

The very one.
    I wonder is there one for me. A patron saint of No Hope :-)

The very one.
    I wonder is there one for me. A patron saint of No Hope :-)

Saint Drogo.....or Fiacre

runrunrunrunrunrunrunrun kovu.

Saint Drogo.....or Fiacre

runrunrunrunrunrunrunrun kovu.

Coffee or Gardeners? Or is it the bit about being repulsive?
    I'll go with the repulsive bit and start making up a grudge list :-)

Coffee or Gardeners? Or is it the bit about being repulsive?
    I'll go with the repulsive bit and start making up a grudge list :-)

Take your pick! :D

''those whom others find repulsive, unattractive people, Baume-les-Messieurs, bodily ills, broken bones, cattle, coffee house keepers, coffee house owners, deaf people, deafness, dumbness, Fleury-sur-Loire, gall stones, hernias, illness, insanity, mental illness, mentally ill people, midwives, mute people, muteness, mutes, orphans, ruptures, sheep, shepherds, sick people, sickness''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭sonnybill

rough night feeding the cows tonight.. its 1-0 to slats/ feeding indoors with westerly winds like that!:o

Take your pick! :D

''those whom others find repulsive, unattractive people, Baume-les-Messieurs, bodily ills, broken bones, cattle, coffee house keepers, coffee house owners, deaf people, deafness, dumbness, Fleury-sur-Loire, gall stones, hernias, illness, insanity, mental illness, mentally ill people, midwives, mute people, muteness, mutes, orphans, ruptures, sheep, shepherds, sick people, sickness''

It's some CV!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

We put an ad online to recruit a few new lads for the company. It's mental how much txt speak guys are including on their c.v's. Im by no means a grammar nazi but i had to email one guy back to say i couldn't understand his c.v.

You would think they would put a bit more effort into a CV . What jobs were they for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Ya'd wonder are they doing it on purpose

I hear Liffey mills are opening a branch in Ennis. Out the old Galway road, Claas tractors going in beside them.

Bullocks wrote: »
    You would think they would put a bit more effort into a CV . What jobs were they for ?

Groundworkers & Machine drivers. Not exactly office staff but still surely a proof read wouldn't go astray. We had a guy here last year who had gone through the complete uk school system and still could not read or write. We only found out when we sent him on a course with the main contractor and he failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

blue5000 wrote:
    I hear Liffey mills are opening a branch in Ennis. Out the old Galway road, Claas tractors going in beside them.

Breens (class agency) are a bit off the beaten track in Ennis atm . Interesting move by Liffey, different type of customers than they're used to.

orm0nd wrote: »
    Breens (class agency) are a bit off the beaten track in Ennis atm . Interesting move by Liffey, different type of customers than they're used to.

Lots of (expensive) creep meal to be sold there anyway.:)

Groundworkers & Machine drivers. Not exactly office staff but still surely a proof read wouldn't go astray. We had a guy here last year who had gone through the complete uk school system and still could not read or write. We only found out when we sent him on a course with the main contractor and he failed.

Do you mind saying roughly what kind of pay digger drivers are getting where you are and how is the tax stopped for the irish lad going out there for a few months ?
    I met a lad the other day saying he was looking for a digger driver in the UK , he had to be a careful driver becausethey were working in a tight spot but the work wasn't hard going either . They were offering £140 per day after tax he reckoned , I thought it was great money into the hand but just wondering is that a typical days wage and would they usually tell you the pay after tax

Do you mind saying roughly what kind of pay digger drivers are getting where you are and how is the tax stopped for the irish lad going out there for a few months ?
    I met a lad the other day saying he was looking for a digger driver in the UK , he had to be a careful driver becausethey were working in a tight spot but the work wasn't hard going either . They were offering £140 per day after tax he reckoned , I thought it was great money into the hand but just wondering is that a typical days wage and would they usually tell you the pay after tax

That would be very good money tbh. Most lads would receive £14 per hour and get signed up for 8 hours and be deducted 20% tax from that on sites. Our lads would usually earn £80 to £100 clear in there hand with us sorting the tax. Our days are somewhat different. You could do 3 hours work one day & 12 the next as we often complete reactive maintenance.

Thanks , that sounds a bit more realistic, I was thinking it sounded too good alright

i got offered £180 a day clear last year by a company to go and project manage for them. But i didnt think they were anyway organised so passed it on to a lad i knew who was out of work. Hes still there now. Gets paid a full day saturday even if he is at home once he makes himself available for phone calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

orm0nd wrote: »

I'd say breeds are doing well in Ennis, see plenty of claas tractors about. They are nearly further out of the way where they are moving to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Any one else having trouble with Boards website not displaying correctly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

i'm having trouble too, but some pages aren't loading at all for me

Yea it's a bit out of whack, my emails have stopped too so apologies for missing that RP earlier guys. It's gone now anyway, back to Egypt ;)

Had a bit of travelling today! Monaghan Day Wean-heifer sale on in Mohill tomorrow and two men nearish to me have animals for it so was asked to go take a look at them to see if they were quality enough and prices to expect. Dunno why these lads think I know any better than them :D

One man has serious bulls for next week, 8-13 month old bulls ranging from 380kg up to 570ish kg. Couple of five star heifer too but a bit fine boned & short for my liking.
    Just back from Drumshanbo where I was roped into moving ewes and early lambs and had to look at a cow I sold a couple of years ago. And it's snowing now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

what did you tell the men with the heifers for Mohill Kovu