Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From minutes to miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Finally feel like I'm making progress. It's no longer taking me as long to get ready to head out as it is to actually be out :D

Monday - 23 mins
    Tuesday - rest
    Wednesday - 21 mins
    Thursday - rest
    Friday - 25 mins
    Saturday - rest
    Sunday - 27 mins

A few minutes walk warm up before all of these and stretch routine done after all. Lots of foam rolling with the stick, icing and tennis ball work too to stay on top of management of it and no real noticeable increase in any foot discomfort, which is good. Loved Friday's outing especially, even though the weather was pure sh**e and I looked like a madwoman out splashing through the rain I felt great, the legs felt good and I was buzzing after.

I had initially hoped to be at 30 mins by the new year so I fell a bit short in that but I'm not too pushed to be honest, no major difference between now and a few days. Football stopped for the usual few weeks break but is back this week. I had been playing some before Christmas and the foot was doing fine, especially when compared to when it was at its general worst a few months ago before I stopped ignoring it and did something proper about it :o The plan for the last few weeks was to get the consistency of running and regular exercise built up with no adverse reactions. Now to try start putting some of the pieces back together, so I might ease off a bit this week, maybe add an extra rest day and just see how it goes and stay on top of all the precautionary and maintenance work.

I won't do a major write up for 2015 - first half good, pb's in 5k, 5m, 10k & half. Second half crap for running but better in personal life. Can't win them all :pac:

Monday - rest
    Tuesday - rest
    Wednesday - Football
    Thursday - 22 mins
    Friday - rest
    Saturday - St. Anne's Parkrun
    Sunday - 30 mins

Happy enough with the week. With Christmas mania over I took the chance to head to Myles on Monday evening for a general bit of precautionary maintenance just to try stay on top of the calves, achilles and plantar especially getting too tight. Had a chat about the PF about how it's hard to fully get rid of, to stay on top of the other bits and pieces and working with what's manageable with it. Got a couple of extra exercises to do as well to help overall. Took the Monday and Tuesday off. Wednesday back to football, miserable weather for it. Iced etc straight after it and no ill effects the next morning which I've found is the big test for everything I'm doing at the minute. Decided to head out Thursday then but to keep it shorter just in case.

Saturday - Parkrun in 29.38
    Had decided to do this as it was about right for the next run this weekend, Annapr and BG said they'd come along too. After waking up to miserable rain by the time we met at the park it was the perfect morning for it and a great crowd there. The plan was to finish in about 30 mins, doing it mostly at easyish pace with perhaps a burst for the finish. Bit late getting started and when we did the first mile was slow getting into it due to the numbers and a few narrower spots due to huge puddles etc. By the time we turned onto the avenue though we had got into our stride and had more space. At the turn for the second lap BG flagged that we'd gone through at 15 mins, we'd need a slightly quicker second half for the sub 30 min goal. The pace had crept up a bit and I was worried for minute or two I might flag but listening to the other pair nattering distracted me and on we went and it passed. Turning on the avenue again we had a chat about getting under the 30, all good until I heard something about "kicking on" - eh no, not quite yet says I - we hadn't even got to the 400m line by then :eek: :D Got to it we did though so on we went. Really struggled to keep up with the other two at this stage, was just trying to stay hanging on their heels as they offered encouragement. BG was a very diligent pacer staying just ahead until the end as Anna shot off for a finishing kick :D KennyG informed us that it was 32 seconds before we crossed the start so either way it ended up being quite comfortable under the 30 in the end. The 3 miles ended up as 10.27, 9.38, 8.58 (haven't uploaded to Garmin yet so not sure about the last bit). Really enjoyed doing this, a good way off my PB from May (25.13) but it ticked all the boxes for the day and it was a nice way to slowly re-introduce a bit of faster stuff, and very enjoyable with the company. Good to know I still have something a bit faster than my current easy pace still in there somewhere!

Headed on Sunday for a slow 30 mins, happy to finally hit that mental milestone target. I'll probably keep some runs each week at the 30 min mark and maybe only push on for one longer one now each week, see how it goes. I have no definite goals for the year yet, but the plan for the next few months would be to stick with races in the 5k-10k mark all going well. I'll introduce strides again soon before maybe a simple fartlek once a week once I have a bit of consistency there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

delighted to see that parkrun in there Laura :) lucky you had one good pacer with you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Firedance wrote: »
    delighted to see that parkrun in there Laura :) lucky you had one good pacer with you :p

Hey it was my one chance EVER to finish ahead of BG!!! :p

annapr wrote: »
    Hey it was my one chance EVER to finish ahead of BG!!! :p

How are you still awake after a transatlantic flight followed by 18 miles (fair play by the way)??? I was going to jump in with something like oh Anna had full confidence in the fact we had the sub 30/BG's pacing ability/was adding extra motivation for me to push on to close the gap....but...I see she's jumped in with the truth :rolleyes::D

Monday – Squash
    Tuesday – 22 mins
    Wednesday – rest
    Thursday – 30 mins
    Friday – rest
    Saturday – St. Anne’s Parkrun in 28.35
    Sunday – 38 mins

A good week to give squash a go as I was able to skip football, so phasing another activity on alternate weeks. Had played a couple of games before Christmas with no problems and even a few months ago it never seemed to aggravate the foot for some reason so was reasonably confident this would be fine, and it was. Not a very intense game after Christmas break etc so good week to ease back in. Took it easy the following day to be on the safe side and followed it with a rest day. Anna made her way to deepest D5 on Thursday and we had a nice trip around the usual undulating roads of Killester, Artane etc. Great to have company and keep at that 30 minute mark.

I braved the icy conditions on Saturday for parkrun but it was actually fine for the most part. I had it in my head to at least finish around the same time as last week. Same again, started with a slower first mile and built up into it and tried to inject some pace for the last mile and finish – a progression run of sorts!! Miles were 9.56, 9.23 and 8.40. At times it definitely felt harder as I was by myself this week but then when I realised I was going to finish faster that explained it :) During the push for the end the self-doubt was creeping in and I was thinking this is tough, I’m never going to beat my PB again but considering I’ve only just hit this mark in the last couple of weeks I decided not to get too hung up on it, it’ll all come together again hopefully. And I knocked a bit off last week so going in the right direction. Big crowd there on the day and met a lot of the usual faces and a bit of parkrun socialising in the coffee shop after.

I planned 35 minutes around St Anne’s for the Sunday and aquinn and Anna said they’d head that direction so I met them there and jumped in for my portion with them. When we parted ways, with my 35 minutes done, I had the whole of the avenue ahead of me to get back to the car. So I went rogue and tacked on an extra three minutes and ran some and walked the rest. Really enjoyed this, the park looked great and the run flew by with lots of chatting. It probably was a bit fast for my easy pace at the minute but I survived. I’m trying not to get too caught up in paces and data etc at the minute, just get back into the swing of things and go by feel and get the legs ticking over again.

Monday - Squash
    Tuesday - Rest
    Wednesday - Football
    Thursday - 30 mins
    Friday - 30 mins
    Saturday - Rest
    Sunday - 45 mins

Bit of a mixed bag this week. Felt great for squash, and it was a good game. The week went downhill after that though :p I never got going for the football and the Thursday/Friday runs were a real slog. I had an early 4.30am start for a day trip to the UK with work on Tuesday and to be honest I think that took more out of me than I thought, combined with some last minute panic study for an exam on Saturday. I fell asleep on the couch early about 3 times this week and ended up sleeping for about 13 hours last night :eek: - so I think I just needed a catch up! The 45 minutes today went much better, goes to show the importance of sleep and rest. At least it's done though despite a wobbly few days, and the last couple of weeks went well. I think I'll take an extra rest day this week and keep it at 4 days exercise, have to keep reminding myself easy does it on the foot at the minute :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

I don't know what it is but something is telling me in the weekly schedule that Wednesday is all wrong and just not working out for you. You mentioned a rest day so that would be ideal.

aquinn wrote: »
    I don't know what it is but something is telling me in the weekly schedule that Wednesday is all wrong and just not working out for you. You mentioned a rest day so that would be ideal.

Shocking, but no, it works perfectly. Breaks up the week and adds a nice competitive element and socialising aspect which really keeps the form up.

Did you hear something, Laura?

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Shocking, but no, it works perfectly. Breaks up the week and adds a nice competitive element and socialising aspect which really keeps the form up.

Maybe you should bring ms Quinn with you this week? We could turn her into a cross country football player :D

She'd hate that.

But she hated xc at first too. :p

She has learnt to go steady and ensure she ends up not traumatised. She is not into contact sports. Football v bad for one coming back to running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

And now look at her.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    And now look at her.

exactly!

Get out of my log with this heathen talk. The football is staying and that's the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great to see you out there today !

well done Laura!!! the come back is well and truly on :D

Monday - Rest
    Tuesday - 35 mins
    Wednesday - Football
    Thursday - Rest
    Friday - 30 mins
    Saturday - Rest
    Sunday Raheny 5 mile

As planned I took an extra rest day for the foot this week, and to ease off with Raheny on Sunday. I had planned to go swimming to add in something else but that never happened. Best intentions and all that :o Met aquinn for an easy Tuesday run. She was to head my direction, phone-less, so we had well laid out and specific plans for a meetup point. "Head up X road, I'll be heading to you"....."eh what side"....."do you know Y pub, around there"...."oh is that beside the dominos??" - and so we were set with our reference points :D Worked out fine (thankfully, we'd never hear the end of it if it didn't :p) and the 35 minutes flew by, I felt great. Cue Friday and I felt crap on that. Felt weak and light headed, maybe I hadn't eaten enough that day, although I did have some fruit finishing work before heading home. One of those days I suppose.

Raheny 5 mile: 44.45

This was my big aim over the last couple of months, but I only signed up a week or two ago. I knew I wasn't coming into it with a chance of racing it for a PB or off great mileage, but I was hoping to even head around at my easy pace and make it my longer run of the week. After the last couple of weeks that plan seemed reasonable with my weekend runs being at 4, 4.5 miles-ish. The vague plan was to treat it as a "progression" run, with an easy 10 minute first mile and gradually picking it up with some middle 9/9.30 miles for a faster finish and maybe finish in under 48 minutes. I didn't think that I was going to be capable of stringing consecutive faster miles given my lack of speed training.

What do they say about best laid plans? :rolleyes::D I found the start quite congested, I possibly started too far back but it's always hard to know. I tried not to weave and think of my plan to start easy. About a half mile in a friend of mine appeared beside me and sure I got so busy chatting and running with her I forgot all sense of discipline!!!! Mile 1 was 9.25 :o I found the Howth Road stretch very congested and one critique I would make of the race is that this narrowed from last year and it was very noticeable, it was too cramped for the numbers around. It was windy along here but I felt ok and the body felt strong and was surprised to see the pace under 9 mins whenever I looked at the watch. It was at this stage I decided to just forget about my plan and race it for whatever time I could get on the day. Turning onto Sybil Hill we're into home turf and a much loved downhill stretch that I wanted to take advantage of. Saw the OH here and my Dad a bit later at the turn onto Mt. Prospect, with his bloody ever present camera :D Mile 2 came in at 8.58 and I was feeling ok still, breathing was noticeable but not overly laboured. I lost my friend somewhere along here. Heading towards the park and the third mile mark I saw a friend's mum out watching, I got a very enthusiastic and vocal cheer, she's a very competitive and diligent runner herself and her enthusiasm for everyone and running and racing is just infectious. I find this drag to the park tough always and so was happy to see the third mile clock at 8.43, I was feeling it but not ready to flag just yet.

Turning into the park my legs were beginning to tire and as we hit the avenue the wind was very noticeable. The pace was beginning to drop and I was distracting myself with trying to spot people I knew on the other side (only Mr.Stew). After initially trying to work to keep the pace where it had been I decided not to get too hung up on losing a few seconds here as the effort might be best saved for the turn towards the finish. Taking the 180 I spotted Redrunner who gave me some encouragement. The watch beeped at 9.06 for mile 4 so I had lost a few minutes. It was around the third mile point I had decided to think that maybe sub 45 might be on the cards and at this stage I was working out in my head if this was still possible after a slower 4th mile. I hadn't kept proper note of all my previous miles but knew some were above and some below 9 minutes but not sure by how much.

I was fading in the last mile but was determined to keep it under 9 pace for the first half and then pick it up towards the finish. As we headed along the parkrun route one man said "half a mile to go"... - liar, it was three quarters :mad: Then a finisher offering encouragement by waving his goody bag choc biscuits around "these are waiting for you at the finish" :pac: Heading out of the park FBOT01 gave me a shout out (much appreciated!!) and coming towards the last green I started to try pick it up. I was feeling horrendous at this point, my legs felt like jelly and I think I had saliva on my big red face and dodgy breathing and then like a noisy vision I heard Anna, FD, Murph_D and DG cheering. I waved an arm in the direction but I don't think I even saw them properly :o They were exactly what needed at that point (many thanks) and I found the energy for a burst with some advice shouted after me - run strong??? I looked at my watch and figured sub 45 was definitely on and went for the finish - mile 5 was 8.22.

After some weird catching breathing sounds and a quick onset of leg tightness and gathering some composure I was delighted. Good bit away from my PB, more than I thought actually (41.18, Terenure 2015) but given the last 6 months I'm not complaining. I really enjoyed the whole thing, it was great to be back (first race since June) and I'm very happy with my time on the day, better than I could have anticipated. It was tough at times, which you'd expect, but overall the body felt good and strong. It's set a marker of where I'm at and gives me something to build off. Met a good few after, sampled some lovely flapjacks and great to catch up with lots of people. Step back this week and then on again!

RedRunner wrote: »
    Great to see you out there today !
    well done Laura!!! the come back is well and truly on :D

Thanks guys, and for the encouragement today. Buzzing :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great stuff Laura, well done on the PB - another one who can drop the comeback tag now :)

Duanington wrote: »
    Great stuff Laura, well done on the PB - another one who can drop the comeback tag now :)

I think someone is having a sugar rush from the goody bag, this is a comeback PB, the real one is well over 3 minutes away :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Well done. You certainly took off like a rocket when we shouted at you so we are claiming credit for that sub-45. ;)

You looked great when we saw you, very relaxed and you picked it up and bombed on (trying to get away from us we thought).

Good going today, aim for a revenge smackdown in Terenure?

You looked great when we saw you, very relaxed and you picked it up and bombed on (trying to get away from us we thought).

Good going today, aim for a revenge smackdown in Terenure?

Nah, I was just dying to get those chocolate biscuits that fecker had been waving around :) hmmm, we'll see, I suspect you've edged too far ahead to make it a respectable smackdown. I'll asess!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Well done. You certainly took off like a rocket when we shouted at you so we are claiming credit for that sub-45. ;)

Rocket may be pushing it. I'll accept airplane jet :) hope you're not feeling any worse off after your supporting day out. Much appreciated!

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Nah, I was just dying to get those chocolate biscuits that fecker had been waving around :) hmmm, we'll see, I suspect you've edged too far ahead to make it a respectable smackdown. I'll asess!

are you kidding... i've been going backwards since October :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Well done Laura, brilliant result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Well done Laura it was a tough one I struggled in all the same places as you good to see you after Terenure a good few months away will be a good one to aim for.