Irish Government and social welfare sods!

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

Clampdown, you've admitted the government can't create jobs out of thin air. I 100% agree that multinationals should pay more tax, but that's a bit of a tangent when we're talking about jobs.

I see the recovery in Galway and in Dublin - help wanted signs where there were none for years, my friends and I who moved abroad have started coming home and the majority are in work. You could see it at Christmas that it was very different to a few years ago.

I did several unpaid internships in Ireland and the U.K. in my early 20s and they set me up for where I am today. It's **** that that's necessary but research suggests that more than 60% of people who do Jobsbridge get a job out of it, so it can't be that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Our ridiculously high minimum wage is killing the unemployed in this country, it needs to be lowered to give people a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

Clampdown, you've admitted the government can't create jobs out of thin air. I 100% agree that multinationals should pay more tax, but that's a bit of a tangent when we're talking about jobs.

I see the recovery in Galway and in Dublin - help wanted signs where there were none for years, my friends and I who moved abroad have started coming home and the majority are in work. You could see it at Christmas that it was very different to a few years ago.

I did several unpaid internships in Ireland and the U.K. in my early 20s and they set me up for where I am today. It's **** that that's necessary but research suggests that more than 60% of people who do Jobsbridge get a job out of it, so it can't be that bad.

The research actually says that 60% got work within a year of doing Jobbridge, meaning anyone who got work anywhere during that year was counted as a 'Jobbridge success'. They tried to portray it as if 60% were kept on by the host company, it is nowhere near that amount in reality. It doesnt even mean they got work in the field they interned in. It means basically 60% of people willng to work for free eventually got some kind of work somewhere. 40% slaved away for 50 quid for 9 months and went back to the dole queue. That's not acceptable.

It's great that there is a recovery in Galway and Dublin. Wonder how long it will take me to save enough of my dole (most weeks there is about a tenner left over, and no I don't smoke or drink) to have enough for a security deposit for a 1200 per month flat/glorified closet?

We can't all move to Dublin, and the issue we're talking about is canvassers in our respective local areas coming to to the door looking for votes on the basis that we should keep them in because we are all enjoying this recovery. But many of us are not. In my town, since the start of the year 2 pubs, 2 shops and a medical device factory called Elanco which had 100+ people employed there have closed down. That doesn't look very 'recovery-ish' to me.

If you want to buy the gov spin and are loving the austerity, go ahead and shake hands with your FG/Lab canvassers. I probably won't even get up to answer the door, I'm flat out trying to figure out how much more it's going to cost to get my rubbish taken away now with the new Pay By Weight system Alan Kelly just signed off on. Another tax, another cut, another bul spit scheme to skew the unemployment numbers. More families torn apart by having children and grandchildren forced to emigrate. Sure it's grand.

I'm not buying any government spin - I can see the recovery with my own eyes so I know it's happening.

It's a shame that you're not feeling the recovery yet, it truly is, but I'd imagine that is always the case with isolated/rural areas.

I'm from a parish of about 1000 people and only two of my school class are at home working in decent jobs, with a few more still there in low-paid jobs. The rest of us had to leave our hometowns.

It doesn't have to be Dublin, but if I was you I'd look for work in other urban centers - Galway, Limerick, Sligo. Once you've got a job, coming up with a deposit/months rent seems a lot more doable.

Otherwise, I'd choose a different field and do a course.

You come across as intelligent and articulate - just a bit defeated. But at the end of the day, anger at the government won't get you anywhere.

double post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I'm not buying any government spin - I can see the recovery with my own eyes so I know it's happening.

It's a shame that you're not feeling the recovery yet, it truly is, but I'd imagine that is always the case with isolated/rural areas.

I'm from a parish of about 1000 people and only two of my school class are at home working in decent jobs, with a few more still there in low-paid jobs. The rest of us had to leave our hometowns.

It doesn't have to be Dublin, but if I was you I'd look for work in other urban centers - Galway, Limerick, Sligo. Once you've got a job, coming up with a deposit/months rent seems a lot more doable.

Otherwise, I'd choose a different field and do a course.

You come across as intelligent and articulate - just a bit defeated. But at the end of the day, anger at the government won't get you anywhere.

My feelings exactly and re not yelling at the candidates. When i was new here, M Healy Rae arrived at the gate, to canvas support for his nephew. had the mans wife with him. By then I knew the scene here but there was no way I was going to re impolite. I listened to him, outlined one local problem ( he went glassy eyed) then said I was not yet registered. Whereupon he went back to his car and brought out registration forms. I thanked him and off they went, happy, leaving me with the means to vote against him... Much more satisfying and civilised than a shouting match..

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Feckthis wrote: »
    Just seen a post on Facebook of a person giving out about out the Irish government. Saying they are no good for noting. Said a TD called to his door he told him to get the f@@k out of his garden and that he was surprised that the TD Looked shocked. The same person hasn't worked a day in his life and is getting social welfare all of his life now I'm not judging him. I am critizing his mentally towards the situation he is in.

He gets money every week given to him by the state. He is in a house given to him by the state! Probably gets Fuel allowance, Family income supplement. His kids and himself probably all have medical cards all given to him by his and my Irish government that he is treating like **** when they call to his door. Again I am not judging him but he should really look at himself. Wow! Where would he be if the Irish government didn't give him and his family all of this stuff?! I regret to think about it.

I have been on the Dole myself for quiet along time actually! I also got Back to Education Allowance for 3 years while going throw college. Instead of slating the government I think I should be thanking them. Without the benefits they gave me when I was on my arse... I would of not been able to get back on track! Complete college, find work and now start my own business. So thank you Irish government. I appreciate everything you have done for me! Gluck Gluck Gluck!!

P.S Posted this here as the guy I'm talking about is kinda big and obnoxious. I don't fancy fighting him ha.

Since this is essentially a politics topic and it's gotten too long to move, I'm closing it.

You're welcome to start a discussion in Politics Cafe. Please read their charter before doing so.