Do you wear clothing and footwear with Union Jack tags?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Jealousy is one ugly madam indeed. It's a theme that fits snugly in with the thread actually.

When the new apple watch comes out you can have my sloppy seconds one. :o

Jealous of what exactly?an Overpriced, inferior (albeit very well designed/packaged/marketed) piece of tech that is absolutely redundant without the Overpriced phone in your pocket,...

Cop on would ya(I'll take it off your hands though when you are "upgrading" and sell it on to another apple idiot)

I'll also have to assume that by "jealously ties in with the thread" you mean jealous of that flag.... Hardly, it's only a flag, it's like bog roll only good for wiping stuff, like me snot, mickey and arse hole, many nations would agree I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Lol like previous comments have alluded to I remember some boys used to black marker over the union flag on their Reebok trainers when I was young.

Thinking through my current wardrobe I don't think I have anything with a Union flag. I used to have a Who t-shirt with the RAF target symbol bleeding into a Union flag when I was about 16,17. I thought it was more cool than anything, no political connotations to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭I own an applewatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Yes, they still use it on their classics range but only on their runners. Other than that, they've dropped it.

You've yet to enlighten us on these fairy tales. What actually happened? No doubt a load of "Celtic jersey wearing scumbags" happened to be drinking druids on the corner of the street and were shouting "up the RA" to passers by and just as you were walking by they happened to see a UJ on your Reebok runners with their microscopic vision and started lobbing cans at you and shouting "ye tan cnut", ye?

I can't think of any scenario where a stranger would engage you with aggressive behavior over a UJ on your clothing. I've seen hundreds of people over the years wear clothing with a UJ on them in town and they hadn't received one bit of bother. This would range from Reebok gear, to mod tshirts, to UJ backpacks on foreign students etc. But yet this is a regular occurrence for you seemingly, ye?

Lol like previous comments have alluded to I remember some boys used to black marker over the union flag on their Reebok trainers when I was young.

I'd believe that alright. When would that have been, 20 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

I would have had a problem with this 25 years ago. Then I grew up...

My 17 year old daughter has some kind of fascination with the younger royals. 20 years ago I wouldn't have known how to deal with it. Last year I took her to London to see the palace.

It's 2016. The Brits are our colleagues, neighbours and friends. We seriously need to move on and get over it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Other half has gotten me Union Jack underwear in the past. Beside me, she is the only one who get's to see them so what is the harm. Would not be particularly both with a union jack that was part of a logo on the the outside of an item of clothing. I would not however wear a union jack t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭Gringo180

A few people have chastised me for donning such apparel. I honestly have no idea why.

So what if my Reebok shoes and jacket have a little UJ flag on them? Who cares?

People have actually got aggressive over it! I've been called a Tan cnut and been told to fcuk off back to England and suckle on the queen's titties.

Any other people deal with such morons?:rolleyes:

Are you a hillbilly? Who the fcuk wears Reebok classics in this day and age.

Swanner wrote: »
    I would have had a problem with this 25 years ago. Then I grew up...

My 17 year old daughter has some kind of fascination with the younger royals. 20 years ago I wouldn't have known how to deal with it. Last year I took her to London to see the palace.

It's 2016. The Brits are our colleagues, neighbours and friends. We seriously need to move on and get over it...

You write for the Irish times?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

I know this is about clothes,but I remember year's ago when I was big into sea angling.

Most of the best rods money could buy were made in the UK.
    Daiwa,Conoflex and Zziplex.
    They all had a union Jack on them,these rods were like gold dust.
    Guy's had them sitting on their tripod with pride.

In fairness they were nice rods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

I've been called a cnut

The only part of the op I believe is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I see he/she/it has earned another holiday from boards. It's worth reading back through their other posts simply for the comedy value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Talking about Jack's

Would you be helping your Uncle Jack off a horse or helping your uncle jack off a horse ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I wouldn't buy anything if it was the main design. Like the roof of a mini. Small part of a logo is grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Personally I don't do it. Nothing against the English, I've lived in the UK and I love it and its people. I'm from a very republican family and it just doesn't really sit right with me but I don't really have anything against someone that would wear one. In fact, I used to have an England jersey and would wear it as a bit of a piss take. My other half got me a t-shirt with a Union Jack on it which she didn't notice. It was back in the shop within 30 mins. It's a double standard of mine and I can't explain it.

The Union flag is so much more than the English . . . .

Not only does it belong to English British people all over the world, but its also a very eye catching design which has also become a fashion symbol in its own right. Nowadays you will see people of all nationalities wearing clothes with Union Jacks on them.

Here are a few examples;
    http://wallpapercave.com/wp/45gYPo3.png
    http://www.willybanjo.com/shop/fashion_accessories/stargazer_cosmetics/lip_tattoo/images/main_union_jack_lip_tattoo.jpg
    http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lhpiop43gu1qam50k.jpg
    https://belindaschneider.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/union-jack-sex-pistols.jpg?w=500
    http://cdn.sneakernews.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/reebok-phase-ii-july-2013-4.jpg
    http://www.director-online.de/Slotcars/others/images/ninco/mini-union-jack.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

LordSutch wrote: »

Not only does it belong to English British people all over the world, but its also a very eye catching design which has also become a fashion symbol in its own right. Nowadays you will see people of all nationalities wearing clothes with Union Jacks on them.

Here are a few examples;
    http://wallpapercave.com/wp/45gYPo3.png
    http://www.willybanjo.com/shop/fashion_accessories/stargazer_cosmetics/lip_tattoo/images/main_union_jack_lip_tattoo.jpg
    http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lhpiop43gu1qam50k.jpg
    https://belindaschneider.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/union-jack-sex-pistols.jpg?w=500
    http://cdn.sneakernews.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/reebok-phase-ii-july-2013-4.jpg
    http://www.director-online.de/Slotcars/others/images/ninco/mini-union-jack.jpg

You will also see people wearing clothes with the German flag from all nationalities but I'm sure you won't judge them people hey Sutch?

I've a Union Jack cushion - and a Tricolor one and an Old Glory one to reflect my family origins. I've also a UJ t-shirt and a leather UJ purse.

However, I am British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

As I said, I don't think it does. I'm not aware of one single person in my 35 years who has really, truly hated the English. They are people just like us. In fact, there is not another nationality in the world as similar to us as they are.

This is just not true, they may as well be from Iran, they are nothing like us when you think about it. an example of this is when you are in Spain, the locals can always tell the English and Irish apart, mostly because we are respectful and not acting like lager louts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Years ago in school we used a tipex pen over the union flag on the runners and draw in a tri colour instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

Azalea wrote: »
    I think the union jack looks good for mod imagery and the like. Only talking about how it looks good, not anything political.

Yeah, I'd be of the same taste. I think the UJ looks really good. When shopping, I always hover over items with it on. But I never buy them. I'm not Irish but I live in Ireland and unfortunately Ireland is one of the few countries in the world (if not the only one) where I would censor myself about wearing it. There is too much history here connected to that flag and I would feel it kinda disrespectful to parade myself around in it. Maybe it's because I'm from a small nation myself which has been dominated in the past by its bigger neighbour so I get the situation.

Anyway, it's not a biggie, there is plenty of choice regarding fashion, much less of it regarding old colonial overlords! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 616 ✭✭✭duckcfc

Bought 3 pairs of Lee cooper combats for work from sports direct. Cheap as chips, good fit and not bad quality and perfect for work. Soon as they arrived, noticed the tag on the back inside had a union jack. Got the scissors out, snipped of and threw in the fire. It was a choice between the fire or bin!

Some of you puppets have short memories indeed. That flag represents all what's wrong in this world and what has been wrong for centuries. I don't give a flying hoot what some people on here think about we've moved on and all that. That butchers appron should be burned at every opportunity and it will never be in my presence! They have plundered this earth for centuries and are continuing to do so as we speak in the middle east and Africa. Not to forgot their awful deeds on the little north east of our little island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The only way to resist temptation is to yield to it.

The last time I gave into that kind of thinking there was a run on fertiliser and icing sugar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

LordSutch wrote: »

For once we agree.

It's dead Kenyans, Burmese and Irish. It's dead black, white and brown, African, European and Asian. It's centuries of racism, sectarianism, ethnic cleansing and robbery, all unpunished. It's like the now defunct emblem of another European state, but because it mostly flew over the poor and the powerless it hasn't been given the same thoroughly deserved treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Swanner wrote: »
    I would have had a problem with this 25 years ago.
    I never did.
    Most of us have, or never needed to move on and get over anything in the first place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

pgj2015 wrote: »
    This is just not true, they may as well be from Iran, they are nothing like us when you think about it. an example of this is when you are in Spain, the locals can always tell the English and Irish apart, mostly because we are respectful and not acting like lager louts.
    I would agree with you that we are not actually that similar to the British in many ways, but I wouldn't say they may as well be from Iran either!

Anyway, I don't imbue the union jack with anything other than a good design. It's the St George's cross flag that I would consider a much more sinister symbol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,226 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Does Karrimor count?
    Because if so then it's a large part of my workout apparel and no one has said anything to me yet.
    logo_karrimor.jpg

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Will quite happily wear my England (football) shirt in the privacy of my own home, will celebrate results on my faceback page, and with some of my friends and colleagues to get a reaction or to wind them up.

As for the union flag, it does not really bother me if someone else is wearing it or parading it, but wont my self for two reasons, one, dont consider my self British for a second, as its a Union, not a country, and two, dont want to get that reaction when I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

I wear brands that sometimes have it on the bottom of t-shirts etc, am I bothered?? No, do I care what some other clowns think? No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,007 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

duckcfc wrote: »
    Bought 3 pairs of Lee cooper combats for work from sports direct. Cheap as chips, good fit and not bad quality and perfect for work. Soon as they arrived, noticed the tag on the back inside had a union jack. Got the scissors out, snipped of and threw in the fire. It was a choice between the fire or bin!

Some of you puppets have short memories indeed. That flag represents all what's wrong in this world and what has been wrong for centuries. I don't give a flying hoot what some people on here think about we've moved on and all that. That butchers appron should be burned at every opportunity and it will never be in my presence! They have plundered this earth for centuries and are continuing to do so as we speak in the middle east and Africa. Not to forgot their awful deeds on the little north east of our little island.

You thought snipping the tag off disposed of your monumental hypocrisy at the same time? It didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

When I was a kid I got an Iron Maiden t shirt with a union jack on it (the shop didn't have my first choice t shirt) I was a bit dubious about it but **** it, it was still Iron Maiden

My old man, who'd be far from an IRA supporting type, straightened me out on that idea fairly sharpish, and he was damn right.