Kodi Android TV Streaming Box [Livingsocial + wetek group]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Batesy

Sh!te, I've been following this thread for the past few days and was defo going to buy one. When was the e-mail posted? Completely missed it.

Fair play to you though Aquos76. Can't be easy organising this. Maybe next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Batesy

Sh!te, I've been following this thread for the past few days and was defo going to buy one. When was the e-mail posted? Completely missed it.

Fair play to you though Aquos76. Can't be easy organising this. Maybe next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BluesWeeper

Just watching a debate on women in technology on TV... wondering whats percentage of female buyers so far for the wetek group buy? :)

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Right so, everyone who emailed me since this morning should now have an email from me as to what happens next, I dont think I missed anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Solaris10

people who are looking for a bargain from the bargain thread just pay €5 or more
    for his (effort & responding the email & order & collecting the goods & repacking & sending)
    it's a big job, he is not expecting anything more than your thanks... but we have to respect his work....

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Seriously Guys, I appreciate where ye are coming from but I do not expect anything extra from anyone, so please don't feel under any obligation to give extra.

Solaris10 wrote: »
    people who are looking for a bargain from the bargain thread just pay €5 or more
    for his (effort & responding the email & order & collecting the goods & repacking & sending)
    it's a big job, he is not expecting anything more than your thanks... but we have to respect his work....

here, here. guy can be as modest has he wants and he won't say it but i sure will. whats this now 3rd time around ????. Aquos76 you should round that number to €65 and I would challenge anyone to say you were ripping them off or begrudge you the €

there are likely boards.ie rules etc , but i'm sure they can't see hat tips to the guy on pay pal :D

Whats the craic with the cable / satellite versions? I'm getting one for me and my da, he has sky and I have upc. Should I get a satellite one for him and cable for me?

Cheers for the effort aquos, I've no issue rounding up to 130 for the two boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Whats the craic with the cable / satellite versions? I'm getting one for me and my da, he has sky and I have upc. Should I get a satellite one for him and cable for me?

Cheers for the effort aquos, I've no issue rounding up to 130 for the two boxes.
    A satellite one for your da and he's up and running. As for you, well you need a dish to avail of the U.K. channels. The UPC you currently have is of no benefit with this box, either cable or satellite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Trevord

Switched to Android on the internal memory last night. Took about 30 mins and much of that time was taken up downloading of the android version.

It's definitely worth doing, even for a test period to see the capability of the box beyond openelec. Installed a few standard android apps from Playstore and also sideloaded an .apk very easily.

Kodi worked nicely and comes preinstalled as part of the android build.

The switching instructions are here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057531921&page=12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Aquos just on the email sent out last night.

When you mention payment details do you just mean you want us to indicate what method we will pay with or do you want payment now?

I didn't want to reply to the email with this question because I know you have your hands full with those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Aquos just on the email sent out last night.

When you mention payment details do you just mean you want us to indicate what method we will pay with or do you want payment now?

I didn't want to reply to the email with this question because I know you have your hands full with those.

No he means transfer it via paypal or revoult and in the title put your name and Wetek groupbuy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

Replied and transferred via paypal. Thanks m8 :)

dodzy wrote: »
    A satellite one for your da and he's up and running. As for you, well you need a dish to avail of the U.K. channels. The UPC you currently have is of no benefit with this box, either cable or satellite.

Cheers, so it doesn't matter which one I get, then? Should I just get a satellite one as well, in case I decide to go the freeview route at some point?

Definitely, otherwise you are getting a DVBT tuner which will only get you Saorview. Get the Satellite tuner. No question.

I'm assuming that you are in an area where you can:

a. install a dish and
    b. Have clear line of site in a southerly direction.

Yes to both of those questions. The house I'm in had a non-sky dish already installed when we moved in, so it won't be an issue. Cheers for the quick response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭BionicRasher

Trevord wrote: »
    Switched to Android on the internal memory last night. Took about 30 mins and much of that time was taken up downloading of the android version.

It's definitely worth doing, even for a test period to see the capability of the box beyond openelec. Installed a few standard android apps from Playstore and also sideloaded an .apk very easily.

Kodi worked nicely and comes preinstalled as part of the android build.

The switching instructions are here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057531921&page=12

after much Googling and YouTubing I really didn't find a dummies guide to the Android install so I put a quick one together here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=98538898&postcount=503

Other than a microSD card, is there anything else people should be getting for these boxes? Remote / keypad combo or anything of that nature?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

Other than a microSD card, is there anything else people should be getting for these boxes? Remote / keypad combo or anything of that nature?

Crate of beer and a comfy couch :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭tommycahir

If you are going to be using the enigma2 images such as openatv or PBNIgma then alot of people recommend the enigma2 remote as while the openelec one is usable it makes life a little awkward at times..

https://wetek.com/shop/wetek-play-enigma-2-rcu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

The enigma 2 remote is a must have on the wetek is you aren't using android/OE. It's absolutely brilliant. Theyre using Slovenian post to ship it now though so takes much longer to arrive. Still waiting on mine which was sent last thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

The logitech keyboard that was on alerts a while ago is ideal for this system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

I bought one of these for my old Android box, would these works with Enigma2?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00DUUF250?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00

I bought one of these for my old Android box, would these works with Enigma2?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00DUUF250?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00

Perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Payment sent :D, great idea, cheers Aquos.

This might be able to stop the missus grumbling about me having got rid of $ky a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,751 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Did you get rid of it without telling her? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭soirish

dodzy wrote: »

Can you watch any of the paid U.K. satellite channels using this box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BluesWeeper

soirish wrote: »

Raises index finger to lips and goes "shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh" ;)

soirish wrote: »
    Username is perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭jakdublin

Two AAA batteries for the remote. :-)