Kodi Android TV Streaming Box [Livingsocial + wetek group]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

If you're just using it for kodi they're better boxes. You'd only buy the wetek for the tuner capabilities along with kodi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭alanhiggyno1

RossieMan wrote:
    If you're just using it for kodi they're better boxes. You'd only buy the wetek for the tuner capabilities along with kodi.

Ya I know just don't have time at the moment.can I install enigma and still use kodi also looking for a good keyboard mouse as remote is a bit sh1te

in the mean time there is an android app called Kore for kodi and WeControl for Android, and if TV supports HDMI CEC you can use it's remote in both android and kodi, all better options than using on screen keyboard input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

I agree but what kodi boxes would be better for less than 63 euro?

I can only think of a raspberry pi2

Exactly my point great piece of kit.I'm very happy with just kodi on it for now until I've time to mess around with it properly

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Have everyone received their wetek by now, I haven't heard back from anyone to say they haven't so I'm assuming ye all have at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,197 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Mr E wrote: »
    Installed Android this morning. Totally painless.
    Yep, done the same.

Now just to install OpenELEC on the mSD for dual-boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭mightybashful

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Have everyone received their wetek by now, I haven't heard back from anyone to say they haven't so I'm assuming ye all have at this stage.

Got mine Monday thanks. Didn't want to go clogging up this thread. Fair play to ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Trevord

At 63 euro the wetek box is competitive in price even compared with the Pi2. By the time you add in a decent case, wifi adaptor, mouse/keyboard, power source, high end micro SD card and hdmi cable, the cost of the Pi2 starts to stack up. Also on the Pi2 you lose two usb ports straight away to the wifi dongle and mouse/keyboard dongle.

Pi2 is more portable obviously than the wetek so it has a clear advantage there.

But so far (24 hours!) I think this wetek box handles wifi connections better than a pi2, which tends to perform better with a wired connection.

So the tv tuner function and dual boot capability give it an edge over the Pi2.

Aquos76 wrote:

Got mine waiting on the next one lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

Trevord wrote:
    At 63 euro the wetek box is competitive in price even compared with the Pi2. By the time you add in a decent case, wifi adaptor, mouse/keyboard, power source, high end micro SD card and hdmi cable, the cost of the Pi2 starts to stack up. Also on the Pi2 you lose two usb ports straight away to the wifi dongle and mouse/keyboard dongle.

Trevord wrote:
    Pi2 is more portable obviously than the wetek so it has a clear advantage there.

Trevord wrote:
    But so far (24 hours!) I think this wetek box handles wifi connections better than a pi2, which tends to perform better with a wired connection.

Trevord wrote:
    So the tv tuner function and dual boot capability give it an edge over the Pi2.

That's my point, I can't think of any better kodi device under 63 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭raytaxi

Got mine as well Aquos, thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭tomslick

Received my two. Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

Both models cost €63 including ParcelMotel shipping via the group buy, €90 direct from wetek themselves.

cool i'll check here every day or hour lol to see if another group buy comes along. well worth it.
    and fairplay to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭magnetic zero

Got mine Aquos. Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

They hit Leitrim! Thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Got mine. Looks shiny.

I was considering the last group buy, but ended up getting M8S+ for €43 off wish.com. Good specs, loaded with everything I need, and delivered in just over a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 fliper

Received my two. Thanks again Aquos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 DublinAlert

Hi I got 2 Wetek in the last group buy.
    Will only use 1 therefore 1 available if anyone requires it.
    Will Add 2 SD cards loaded and ready to install Android + Side Load Openlec.
    Please PM me is anyone want's to take.
    Living North Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Jovinho

Got mine. Thanks again Aquos

Couldn't even see the tvbackend addon in my repo but who needs it with Wetek Theatre - a breeze to setup!

IMG_20160128_010431.jpg

Basq wrote: »
    Couldn't even see the tvbackend addon in my repo but who needs it with Wetek Theatre - a breeze to setup!

Can be done via ssh remotely (using putty) if necessary or by manual download and install from zip if it still doesnt show up after refreshing the repo, you're looking in the unofficial one and not the main openelec one right?
    sudo apt-add-repository http://apt.tvheadend.org/stable

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install tvheadend

Been a while so you may or may not have to actually use sudo with openelec, just take it out if it complains.

Make sure ssh is enabled in kodi/openelec settings services I think, log in is ip address and port 22 then root:openelec

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Right so, let's see what interest is there is for another group buy so, no PM's please just emails.

Just email be your boards username please the type you are interested in, the satellite or saorview version. I'll leave it up for a day or so and see what interest is there.

A maximum of 2 per person applies btw.

Can be done via ssh remotely (using putty) if necessary or by manual download and install from zip if it still doesnt show up after refreshing the repo, you're looking in the unofficial one and not the main openelec one right?
    Yeah, was looking in Unofficial. To be honest, I'm happy enough with Wetek Theatre. Thanks for the suggestion though.
    Right so, let's see what interest is there is for another group buy so, no PM's please just emails.
    Tempted to pick up a second to be honest! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭branners69

Just email be your boards username please the type you are interested in, the satellite or saorview version. I'll leave it up for a day or so and see what interest is there.

A maximum of 2 per person applies btw.

What are the current all in prices, is it still €63?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Basq wrote: »
    Yeah, was looking in Unofficial. To be honest, I'm happy enough with Wetek Theatre. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Tempted to pick up a second to be honest! :D

If I get mine up and running I would definitely have use for a second one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I might actually take one this time. We cancelled the Multiroom subscription there before Christmas so have the wires in place for a Sat Tuner.

When you closing the email for interest on this Aquos? Just want to see what herself thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 anthony gggg

Hi I'm interested in the group buy for the dvb S2 box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 anthony gggg

Hi I'm looking for a group buy to enter for a DVB S2 satellite box. Help would be appreciated Cheers.