Bressie now the voice of mental health in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

smash wrote: »
    Can you imagine what it's like backstage at the voice with Bressie and Eoghan McDermott since both came out publicly to talk about their depression?

Your posts on this topic are getting worse and worse...

McDermott probably wants a piece of that corporate circuit action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

It's no wonder there has been such a huge stigma around mental health in this country for so long, when someone in the spotlight finally does start to talk about it they get slated heavily for doing so.

"Sure he's famous and in a band, what does he know about it?" "Only doing it for self gain" "But he's getting paid for talking about it, that doesn't count"

Are just some of the types of comments I've seen over and over again whenever this subject comes up. Is he doing it for self gain? Maybe he is, maybe he isn't. But that doesn't really matter at the end of the day because the message is getting a hell of a lot more coverage in the media than it was 5 years ago, and that's what matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

McDermott probably wants a piece of that corporate circuit action

I wouldn't go that far. :D

I wouldn't lambaste either for talking about it, but I disagree with the level of publicity they push on the subject. It's too much of a sensitive subject with wildly differing scientific reasoning behind various types of mental health issues and no definitive conclusive remedies that I feel it needs more research and conclusions before celebrities are allowed to be put on pedestals and adorned as figureheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,403 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

If I was Eoghan McDermott I would be depressed.

Proof of what???? That he does public speaking nearly everyday about depression? There is not an office block in Dublin that hasn't heard his story.

About the, frankly stupid, assertion that he's talked into depression

He said "I reckon he has talked himself back into depression". It's an opinion. You want proof that he has an opinion?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

This guy is getting alot of coverage and seema to be getting people talking.He is sucessful so not sure how bad is mental is but he is doing well

Who is funding him? What organisation is he a spokesperson for, cue the demand for funding

Edit:

Ah I've found it

http://www.alustforlife.com/about-us

PR heads and €€€ chasers

He wasn't going to make any € singing or playing sports and he is short of conversation too, looks like a machine now set up to garnish plenty of Taxpayers funding to address 'what they have decided is a huge problem '

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

I was a bit cautious about Bressie being legit and I too thought he was jumping on the bandwagon a bit. BUT then I went to see him talk at a university and WOW- it had such an impact on the audience. He had severe anxiety and panic from his school days until very recently. He suffered in silence, afraid to get help because of stigma. If his talks/book etc help a few people surely that's a good thing. Mental health is always the poor relation to cancer care/cardiac care etc so hopefully this might improve things for service users a little. Disclaimer- I work in hse mental health services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

and here lies the difference between some people who are sad about a situation compared to people who are suffering from depression yet both are diagnosed the same these days.

You have made up that analagy all on your own...

He said "I reckon he has talked himself back into depression". It's an opinion. You want proof that he has an opinion?

An informed opinion yeah. Or is having an "opinion" an excuse to spout ill informed moronic sh1te?

Actually you're the wrong person to ask ha

I was a bit cautious about Bressie being legit and I too thought he was jumping on the bandwagon a bit. BUT then I went to see him talk at a university and WOW- it had such an impact on the audience. He had severe anxiety and panic from his school days until very recently. He suffered in silence, afraid to get help because of stigma. If his talks/book etc help a few people surely that's a good thing. Mental health is always the poor relation to cancer care/cardiac care etc so hopefully this might improve things for service users a little. Disclaimer- I work in hse mental health services.

He suffered from GAD (Generalized anxiety disorder) which has been explained as uncontrollable and irrational worry with apprehensive expectation about events or activities such as school, work, money, health, death family, friendship or relationship issues. This to me is one of those new enough mental health issues which is fuelled by social pressures and modern day living.

You have made up that analagy all on your own...
    No I haven't. I know people who have been diagnosed with depression as a result of being unhappy with aspects of their lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

An informed opinion yeah. Or is having an "opinion" an excuse to spout ill informed moronic sh1te?

Actually you're the wrong person to ask ha

Do you think that it is good for a persons mental health and for a person that has had depression to be constantly talking about depression? and I mean talking about depression every single day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

No I haven't. I know people who have been diagnosed with depression as a result of being unhappy with aspects of their lifestyle.

Are you a doctor? Was the diagnosis false?

Do you think it's ok to diagnose someone with depression because they're upset about the fact that they weren't granted a mortgage for the house they wanted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭fret_wimp2

smash wrote:
    For many people the only cure is a complete lifestyle change and for the vast majority it's not a viable option.

I disagree with this. Massive changes rarely work long term, they are just a distraction for a little while from underlying issues that will reoccur until a person learns to deal with them. And dealing with depression a lot comes down to making a few very small changes.

Its called aggregation of marginal gains. The below article discusses how the UK cycling coach used this idea to get Britian from zero wins to a bundle of awards.
    Theory is that if you improve a lot of areas by just 1%, these marginal gains all add up to give a very large overall improvement.

In the case of stress & depression, this could be applied as follows:

-Go to bed at a set time each night, before 10pm.
    -turn off all screens(phone, pc, tablet ,tv etc) one hour before bed, to help your body get ready for sleep.
    -start reading non stimulating material from an actual book before sleep.
    Get 30 mins of exercise 4 or 5 times a week.
    -cut out fizzy drinks. nothing more for now, just fizzy drinks.

Thats 4 small things that absolutely anybody can do, and none require a drastic lifestyle change. But they all add up to help you get better sleep, clear your head, get endorphins flowing, get physical health moving in the right direction & level off body chemistry ( cut sugar high's & lows).

After doing this for 3-4 weeks, cumulative effects should be very visible to the practitioner & can be built upon.

http://jamesclear.com/marginal-gains

Im not saying this is the answer to everything, and im sure there are some people in a lot of pain out there that need a lot of help, but the theory still applies, break the problem down, make small easy to adapt changes that aggregate up to a massive benefit in health & feeling of wellbeing.

Do you think it's ok to diagnose someone with depression because they're upset about the fact that they weren't granted a mortgage for the house they wanted?
    Again, it depends. People need to know the difference between being a bit peeved/annoyed over something & a real issue. Someone might hit rock bottom and the trigger was not getting a mortgage, or missing a promotion or something that is just a small stumbling block to most people. Its important to remember that this is only the trigger, not the underlying cause, which needs to be teased out, mostly by the person in distress.

This celebrity bandwagoning of mental health issues is creating a climate in which doctors are afraid to NOT prescribe anti depressants to people who do not need them. FFS there's something like 10% of the population on them!!!!

Yer man Bressie had/has (did he have at all?) a few anxiety attacks and calls it depression. F*uck off. And now he's making a living from making teenage girls think that they too are depressed. I wouldn't be surprised if there's a few kickbacks from the pharma companies in there too.

People really need to cop on and learn the realities of depression.

Grieving a broken relationship is NOT depression.
    Feeling down about being unemployed is NOT depression.
    Not being able to afford the latest poxy iphone and feeling sh1t about that is NOT depression.
    Anything that causes negative feelings that you have the power to change is NOT depression.
    Yet these are the reasons that people claim to be depressed.
    When I was younger it was called feeling blue, and it passes.

A quick google will show anybody who's interested that over two thirds of the people currently on anti-depressant medication are NOT depressed. (p*ss off and google it for yourself, i'm not here to aggregate links)

REAL clinical depression is beyond the comprehension of 99% of the population, and rightly so. That 1% are the ones that need real help.

The world is gone nuts about depression. Everybody is depressed, but hardly anybody is. The sad thing is that the "hardly anyone" that are, are having the services that should be there to help them diluted massively by the ones that "think" they are.

I await the attacks of the boards.ie Social Justice Warriors. Do I care? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

"Hey you with the depression - would you go back to bottling it up please? I am being mildly inconvenienced...."

How about "hey you with the false depression diagnosis - would you mind shutting up and stop making a mockery of a mental illness just so you can gain social networking points?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

This celebrity bandwagoning of mental health issues is creating a climate in which doctors are afraid to NOT prescribe anti depressants to people who do not need them. FFS there's something like 10% of the population on them!!!!

Yer man Bressie had/has (did he have at all?) a few anxiety attacks and calls it depression. F*uck off. And now he's making a living from making teenage girls think that they too are depressed. I wouldn't be surprised if there's a few kickbacks from the pharma companies in there too.

People really need to cop on and learn the realities of depression.

Grieving a broken relationship is NOT depression.
    Feeling down about being unemployed is NOT depression.
    Not being able to afford the latest poxy iphone and feeling sh1t about that is NOT depression.
    Anything that causes negative feelings that you have the power to change is NOT depression.
    Yet these are the reasons that people claim to be depressed.
    When I was younger it was called feeling blue, and it passes.

A quick google will show anybody who's interested that over two thirds of the people currently on anti-depressant medication are NOT depressed. (p*ss off and google it for yourself, i'm not here to aggregate links)

REAL clinical depression is beyond the comprehension of 99% of the population, and rightly so. That 1% are the ones that need real help.

The world is gone nuts about depression. Everybody is depressed, but hardly anybody is. The sad thing is that the "hardly anyone" that are, are having the services that should be there to help them diluted massively by the ones that "think" they are.

I await the attacks of the boards.ie Social Justice Warriors. Do I care? No.

Pretty much this. Not to minimise anyone or their experiences but there is a big difference between feeling depressed and depression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I don't doubt his issues for one second. And I do not think that he is some sort of evil genius that has decided to make a career out of being depressed. What I do think is that due to his mental health problems, he has subconsciously become addicted to admiration he has received from his work.

We are very simple creatures. He does his talks or his events and everybody applauds him. This applause stimulates the brain and his brain likes it. Now his brain is telling him it would like some more and more and more.

We as mammals love admiration and sympathy. Humans love it, dogs love it, cats love it. Don't for one second think that Niall Bressie Breslins brain is not loving the massive rollercoaster of talking about his lowest moments and then BOOM! Applause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Watch Louis Theroux's "America's Medicated Kids" from a few years ago...I don't know if we're quite going that far but its certainly a cautionary tale.

We're rapidly heading in that direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

We're rapidly heading in that direction.

I'm not a conspiracy nut but when some social change or new social phenomenon occurs, it behooves the thinking man to ask "Cui bono?" (Who profits?)....this will often lead you to the source of or the impetus behind this change or phenomenon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

How dare some of you. You really haven't a f**kin clue what you are talking about it seems. Yes there are some people that take the p**s by saying they are depressed when they are just annoyed about something but in general they are few and far between and the majority of people who are depressed are actually suffering a severe and disabling illness.

I have suffered from depression at various times in my life. As a teen I was told I was just a spoiled princess and to cop myself on. My parents wouldn't bring me to see anyone for help because there was such a stigma attached to that, despite me trying to kill myself.

At 24 I suffered post natal depression, threatened to kill my husband or myself coz I couldn't take any more of the bad marriage and 2 small kids and finally, my mother was able to see that I needed help and I was dragged to the doctor. I was on medication for a year and completed counselling which really helped and I found the strength to leave my marriage and raise my kids on my own thanks to that intervention.

I have had a couple of bouts a few years later and was on meds again briefly while getting counselling etc down the years. It is an ongoing struggle but I feel less embarrassed about the fact that I have been ill, mainly due to the lessening of the stigma with thanks to people like Bressie speaking out about it.

One of my siblings suffers from severe mental health issues and has had a really rough year. We nearly lost him. My family have been through hell but by seeing Bressie talk about this and seeing that someone who on paper "has it all" go through such struggles and have the strength and bravery to stand up and talk about it, has given us all such solace. My sibling see's Bressie and feels less of a freak coz they see that even someone like him can struggle and this makes their illness seem a little less scary and encourages them to have hope for the future.

So no matter your opinion of Bressie, his starting the conversation is saving lives and giving people the courage to go look for help when they can see themselves slide into ill health.

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

How dare some of you. You really haven't a f**kin clue what you are talking about it seems. Yes there are some people that take the p**s by saying they are depressed when they are just annoyed about something but in general they are few and far between and the majority of people who are depressed are actually suffering a severe and disabling illness.

I have suffered from depression at various times in my life. As a teen I was told I was just a spoiled princess and to cop myself on. My parents wouldn't bring me to see anyone for help because there was such a stigma attached to that, despite me trying to kill myself.

At 24 I suffered post natal depression, threatened to kill my husband or myself coz I couldn't take any more of the bad marriage and 2 small kids and finally, my mother was able to see that I needed help and I was dragged to the doctor. I was on medication for a year and completed counselling which really helped and I found the strength to leave my marriage and raise my kids on my own thanks to that intervention.

I have had a couple of bouts a few years later and was on meds again briefly while getting counselling etc down the years. It is an ongoing struggle but I feel less embarrassed about the fact that I have been ill, mainly due to the lessening of the stigma with thanks to people like Bressie speaking out about it.

One of my siblings suffers from severe mental health issues and has had a really rough year. We nearly lost him. My family have been through hell but by seeing Bressie talk about this and seeing that someone who on paper "has it all" go through such struggles and have the strength and bravery to stand up and talk about it, has given us all such solace. My sibling see's Bressie and feels less of a freak coz they see that even someone like him can struggle and this makes their illness seem a little less scary and encourages them to have hope for the future.

So no matter your opinion of Bressie, his starting the conversation is saving lives and giving people the courage to go look for help when they can see themselves slide into ill health.

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

How about "hey you with the false depression diagnosis - would you mind shutting up and stop making a mockery of a mental illness just so you can gain social networking points?"

What's your PhD in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

I recently read his book and as someone that had anxiety for 12 years I can only applaud him and what he's trying to do.

He's a young guy, who suffered with terrible anxiety and depression at a time when no one dared mention it and even if you did go to the doc all they would do is send you away with a bunch of pills to mask the symptoms.

If you've never had either illness why not just be thankful for that and move on instead of judging someone who's only trying to help those who find themselves in the same situation.

I've no idea why people have an issue with him trying to make money while doing this. He's human. He needs to eat. He needs somewhere to live. And unless you're prepared to pay his bills for him you're in no place to judge.

What's your PhD in?

Identifying bullshít

Witchie wrote: »
    How dare some of you. You really haven't a f**kin clue what you are talking about it seems.........

/rant

I mean no disrespect, but I think you're missing the point(in relation to my position, at least).

It's clear that you've had genuine problems, but this celebrity depression culture is doing more harm than good in my opinion, and is leaving people too afraid to administer a bit of tough love where necessary. This is in turn leading to the mass medication of a lot of people who would benefit much more from a bit of that tough love. I don't think that anybody would argue that sometimes a good kick up the arse is the best medicine. This one-size-fits-all approach to mental health is the medical equivalent of mollycoddling. There is no balance.

What you describe DOES sound like a genuine case - so why should mental health services be clogged up with people who do not need them, resulting in genuine cases having fewer resources available to them?

And yes it is true that I don't know what it feels like to experience the kind of depression you speak of, and I'm glad - but I know both people that are in similar situations, as well as (plenty) more that are just a drain on services.

THAT is the crux of the issue as far as I am concerned.

I wish you well in your continued recovery, even though we most likely disagree on many things - but hey - ain't that the beauty of the human race, individual viewpoints!

PS-I still think Bressie is a disingenuous, money-hungry cretin profiting from peoples mental health issues though. I'll never change my position on that! :pac: There are so many non profits around doing great (real) work that should be promoted instead of that guy.