Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

<Snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

Anyone who thinks we won't have a good go at winning the title really need to step back.

All the teams up there are dropping points. We have as good s chance as any of the top 4 and are second favourites to City who drop points away consistently.

We didn't lose today because of bottle we lost because Mert made an awful decision.

My only gripe with Wenger is that he hasn't been brave enough with the team. He hasn't tried hard enough in pushing out our weak spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Soups123 wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks we won't have a good go at winning the title really need to step back.

But we're not top after 23 games! What's the point! Wenger out!

Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You always do and it gets tiring and repetitive and ignores some of the more obvious things you should be seeing.

This team has failed to deliver time and time again under Wenger.
    Year in and year out we are up there and fail. Nobody can deny that. It's there for all to see. I said last night here that we had to start well. It's imperative. Up and at them I said. AND we get a start like that where we stand and watch them. I'm fed up of it. It's going on for years.

What are the obvious things i'm missing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Year in and year out we are up there and fail. Nobody can deny that. It's there for all to see. I said last night here that we had to start well. It's imperative. Up and at them I said. AND we get a start like that where we stand and watch them. I'm fed up of it. It's going on for years.

I would actually say different teams that didn't have the quality we have now have failed to deliver.

This team has done pretty good since a horrific start to last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,257 ✭✭✭omega man

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    But we're not top after 23 games! What's the point! Wenger out!

Jesus.

I'm not a Wenger out but in fairness it's not 23 games, it's 12 years!

There is a mental block in this team however but hopefully some players can step up now and lead the others.

In fairness Tayto you do look at games very simplistically. You have to remember these are people not robots, the other team also try do start well too, both aren't going to do it. Nerves etc come into play, the first 10 minutes are typically the least important minutes of a game.

I agree overall though to some extent. I don't think we are making big enough strides I think Arsene is too conservative in too many ways, player trust, transfers, tactics etc.

All not lost guys. City are vulnerable and I think well beat Leicester. I'd still have us favourites tbh. Wenger needs to cull a few lads who aren't up to it any more. Mert, flamini to start with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Utterly dejected after that, because we deserved something from it, but Lady Luck deserted us!!! Decent 2nd half, and after the goal in the 1st, we stepped up. Tayto is right though, we were very pedestrian from the off. This needed a lightning start and that would have lifted the crowd etc. Flat start and stupid Mert = 1-0 loss! I need a beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

The team is delivering. im not kickin th is off again but people are living in absolute denial if they think Alexis and Ozil would be at this club only for Arsene Wenger. yes i know ye dont like that argument...stadium bla bla...he is only operating on a close to level playing field the last 2 years and we are close. fair enough yer sick of it years. i am too. but there are huge mitigating circumstances and denying that is either idiotic and irrational or its because of frustration and annoyance. i feel that too. i really do. do ya really think Wenger prepared this team any differently to Man United or Man City? No. How the other team sets up or dictates also is a factor. why do people think that we choose how we start???? we dont. its also dependent on the opposition. is this not obvious??

Just back from the match. Need to watch it back again on Match of the Day, when I get over the disappointment. Just a few thoughts:

The atmosphere got killed by the Mertesacker thing. The Chelsea fans were louder than the arsenal supporters throughout the match (at least from where I was sitting).

Diego Costa is an absolute b*tch. The amount of moaning and gesticulating he does off the ball is ridiculous. Can't stand the guy.

Ramsey and Ozil seriously seem to cover some ground. They were the two players that stuck out for me in regards to working hard.

I really hope these guys can get on a run again. It would be great if Wenger realised his best chance for the title in over a decade is slipping from his grasp, and he needs to pull out the cheque book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I think football fans in general need to calm down a bit. Titles are rarely won or lost on a single day. There'll be good days and bad days for everyone. The trick is to have more good ones than bad ones obviously, but you'll never cut out the bad ones altogether no matter how good you are. We're going through mad mood swings depending on results. We lose then all is lost, we win then nothing can stop us now. The truth is obviously somewhere in the middle.

Arsenal weren't playing well today. All throughout no exceptions. Well Bellerin was solid. Mesut wasn't making too many mistakes but didn't do anything glorious either. Same for Ramsey. The red card was unfortunate and what probably didn't help was that the player who looked most lively until then came off. In hindsight Theo or Campbell should have come off. So Arsene made a mistake of sorts, too.

Funny things was Chelsea weren't great after the red card and the goal either. Could have quite easily nipped the equaliser but unfortunately the guy who may have scored from those few chances Arsenal had had been taken off for Gabriel.

Edit ^ Diego is a bitch but I love him. I wish he was our bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Disappointing against Chelsea at home. Nearly everyone else has beaten or drawn against them, so it's tough go take. There is no daylight between the top 4 at the minute. We have to keep in touch with City and Leicester and not let Spurs overtake us. A good run is what we need and hope the others fall away.

Good post Boskowski.

Unfortunately many arsenal fans have up and down swings which probably emanate from the teams topsy turvy performances over the last decade or so.

Of course there'll be knee jerk reactions made, particularly immediately following a defeat like today. However a lot of supporters have been here before and it's easier to judge on past season failures and assume this year will be no different. It's a lot harder to think positive and believe it will actually happen this year. That's hope more than belief and some fans are better than others in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Why the **** was Elneny on the bench in the first place!!!! Even if he had a stinker he would be better then both Flamini and Ramsey for that matter. Ramsey really should just stick to the basics and stop reading Zindane Autobiography TBH its not working for his game....Elneny's physical frame would have been alot better in the middle for us today.....

As for Theo Walnutt he really should be sold for 30 million he is never gonna be a top four player EVER.....only thing he is trading on is his pace and one wonder goal evey 20 games.

We failed before we even took the field against a medicore Chelsea and the manager needs to look at himself also.....

Boskowski wrote: »
    I think football fans in general need to calm down a bit.

Unfortunately the entire sport has really just become a big bitchfest in the past decade or so. Players, managers, fans of different clubs bitching at each other, fans of the same club butching at each other/their players/their manager etc.

But Costa can f*** off.

Wonda-Boy wrote: »

As for Theo Walnutt he really should be sold for 30 million he is never gonna be a top four player EVER.....

Odd thing to say of a player who today celebrated 10 years at a club who famously have been top 4 in every one of those years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,080 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Genuinely thought we'd get thumped by Arsenal today.
    Massive win for Chelsea today, keeps the relegation wolves from the door for another week!

Also...Arsenal without Cazorla....and Ozil without Cazorla are huge. Not our most obvious but he is our most crucial.

Odd thing to say of a player who today celebrated 10 years at a club who famously have been top 4 in every one of those years.

Not a regular starter over that time and apparently he's missed 40% of games due to injury.

I wouldn't sell him but he shouldn't be on a 110K PW wage as one of our top strikers.

Quick mention of the Ox.

Had some stick lately, but was good when he came on today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Next fixture we would line up like this

Cech

Bellerin. Kos. Gab. Monreal

Coq. Elneny

Ramsey Ozil. Sanchez

Giroud

Bench

Welbeck. Walcott. Campbell. Chambers. Ospina. Ox

Now gnats a different team and one you like with plenty of options on bench

Unfortunately the entire sport has really just become a big bitchfest in the past decade or so. Players, managers, fans of different clubs bitching at each other, fans of the same club butching at each other/their players/their manager etc.

But Costa can f*** off.

Have to agree. My intensity in supporting modern day football is diminishing, money is gradually destroying the game.

I get more enjoyment with local soccer and involvement than I do watching and supporting professionals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Boskowski wrote: »
    I think football fans in general need to calm down a bit. Titles are rarely won or lost on a single day. There'll be good days and bad days for everyone. The trick is to have more good ones than bad ones obviously, but you'll never cut out the bad ones altogether no matter how good you are. We're going through mad mood swings depending on results. We lose then all is lost, we win then nothing can stop us now. The truth is obviously somewhere in the middle.

Arsenal weren't playing well today. All throughout no exceptions. Well Bellerin was solid. Mesut wasn't making too many mistakes but didn't do anything glorious either. Same for Ramsey. The red card was unfortunate and what probably didn't help was that the player who looked most lively until then came off. In hindsight Theo or Campbell should have come off. So Arsene made a mistake of sorts, too.

Funny things was Chelsea weren't great after the red card and the goal either. Could have quite easily nipped the equaliser but unfortunately the guy who may have scored from those few chances Arsenal had had been taken off for Gabriel.

No thanks I'd have giroud everyday of the week over Costa.

But Costa can f*** off.

Most accurate post of the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Soups123 wrote: »
    Have to agree. My intensity in supporting modern day football is diminishing, money is gradually destroying the game.

I get more enjoyment with local soccer and involvement than I do watching and supporting professionals

Alan Smyth summed up everything wrong with modern football.

He says Costa made the most of that but who could blame him.

That says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Well that was a crock of sh1t.

I think its safe to say that even with 10 men we dominated the second half but really never looked like scoring. The difference Sanchez made when he came on was huge, he brings an infectious energy to the team which is badly lacking.
    On Walcott, at this point he has lost his pace and confidence and imo is a player we should part with if the price is right.
    Ozil was poor but that is to be expected with 10 men, he didnt have any options going forward as we didnt have the players running into space. Per was silly but unfortunately for us he was isolated and his chronic lack of pace fcuked him. At that point I would have taken off Walcott, Campbell or possibly Ozil but not Giroud, his hold up play would have been better suited for 10 men

Hate losing to Chelsea, especially when they are as bad as they are this year, this is the worst they have been for the last 15 odd years and they have taken 6 points from us.

Vital we get 3 points at home to Southampton next weekend to get us back on track and get this clusterfcuk of results behind us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Tbh after looking at that tackle for the sending off again there is no real contact at all. Mert was stupid to jump into the tackle but that cheating ***** Costa dived!

So maybe in future (when playing Chelsea) we should figure we'll have a man sent off and ensure that at least its for something substantial!

With regard to Elneny, he was never going to start today. I assume if we had 11 men on the pitch he would have been given a run for 20 minutes in the 2nd half. Once Mert got sent off that plan went out the window.

Now looking forward. This is still in our hands but it's up to the manager to make some hard decisions and it's up to the players to pull together as a team and perform.

With regard to Elneny, he was never going to start today. I assume if we had 11 men on the pitch he would have been given a run for 20 minutes in the 2nd half. Once Mert got sent off that plan went out the window.

Now looking forward. This is still in our hands but it's up to the manager to make some hard decisions and it's up to the players to pull together as a team and perform.