Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Reeling in the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭Daith

PTH2009 wrote: »
    please god i get to see the 2010-2019 series

In the 2015 one once they get to the marriage referendum I'll probably tear up. I can look at the others knowing their history but in an almost detached way. The referendum was something I was really involved in.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Definitely one of RTE's better programmes. Learned more from that show than I did from history in school tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

PTH2009 wrote: »
    is it the best RTE production ever produced.

You do know that it's a complete rip off of a BBC program called The Rock 'n Roll Years?

That started in 1955, the birth of Rock 'n Roll, and went up to 1980. For some reason they never, so far as I know, extended it beyond that. I think I still have a few episodes on VHS.

(Ask your dad if you don't know what VHS is. Actually. Born in 1989? Ask your grand dad)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭granturismo

You do know that it's a complete rip off of a BBC program called The Rock 'n Roll Years?

The BBC will never be able to match the Reeling episode which finished with Bertie as minister for finance stating that he took great delight in seeing tax cheats being prosecuted by our courts.

I think Reeling in the Years is one of RTE's best, even if that is a very short list.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭Rym Shanley

That started in 1955, the birth of Rock 'n Roll, and went up to 1980. For some reason they never, so far as I know, extended it beyond that. I think I still have a few episodes on VHS.

(Ask your dad if you don't know what VHS is. Actually. Born in 1989? Ask your grand dad)

Rock and Roll Years went to 1989. 1956 is the first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,766 ✭✭✭circadian

Mattie Holland screamed one in.

Duff announced himself on the world stage. Chelsea signed him up for big money soon after.

I'll never forget that screamer against Cameroon, up at 7 in the morning with tonsilitis and roared when it went in. Killed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

The 2000-2009 episodes were fairly shite it has to be said.

So were them years sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

The best bit was a scence in the 80's where Charlie and Bertie are interviewed about what they would do if they won the lotto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

It's pretty good but let's just forget about the 2000s Reeling... Pure guff. They knew it was big then and let it slide. Not to mention attempting to position RTE presenters as having known the crash was coming all along and we the general eejits were just too stupid to listen to our betters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,434 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I love the way they'd use a clip, with a little knowing wink as to what will happen in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭redlead

G_R wrote: »
    Definitely one of RTE's better programmes. Learned more from that show than I did from history in school tbh!

not hard considering that the syllabus only goes as far as 1966. Reeling in the years is just the catch up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭deadybai

Cant wait for 2011:

Arab Spring begins
    Japan Tsunami
    Royal Wedding
    Bin Laden killed
    Norway Terrosist Attacks
    Amy Winehouse & Steve Jobs
    Gaddafi killed
    The occupy movement
    US Troops are finshed in Iraq
    Kim Jong Il
    Brain Cowen Resigns
    Fine Gael are in Government
    Cork Airport Crash
    Dali Lama and Obama visit Ireland and The Queen
    The Cloyne Report
    Kilkenny and Dublin win the All Ireland
    Ireland Qualify for Euro 2012
    Leinster win Heineken Cup
    Rugby World Cup
    The presidential election

Going to be some episode lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Fantastic show, I have a lot of them saved on the old TV box so every now and then when I have a spare half an hour I'll throw one on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The way they get a song from that year to fit perfectly with the images on screen....... beautiful :')

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

The only show that can silence a group of bar flys for half an hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭valoren

From the 00's series.

"Kilkenny beat Cork in the Hurling"
    "Kilkenny beat Clare in the Hurling"
    "Kilkenny beat Cork in the Hurling"
    "Kilkenny beat Limerick in the Hurling"
    "Kilkenny beat Waterford in the Hurling"
    "Kilkenny beat Tippeary in the Hurling"

*Cries* "Stop, sto-oo-op, they're already de-eaa-aad!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,850 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

stannis wrote: »
    Which year was that? I recently watched from 1980 to 1995 and don't remember seeing it.

I remember the 'Living beyond our means' speech being part of one of them.
    Maybe it wasn't Reeling in the Years. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,105 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

deadybai wrote: »
    Cant wait for 2011:

Arab Spring begins
    Japan Tsunami
    Royal Wedding
    Bin Laden killed
    Norway Terrosist Attacks
    Gaddafi killed
    The occupy movement
    Kim Jong Il
    Brain Cowen Resigns
    Cork Airport Crash
    The Cloyne Report
    Rugby World Cup

Dare to guess the soundtrack

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

It is a pile of dung but seeing the oak men lift Samuel in 1993 makes the hairs on my neck stand up, Enda Gormley throwing that ball up at the end is sacred footage.

They always include Ulster as a foreign country in it yet include a segment if an Ulster team wins the all ireland I have noticed. Surely that should just be more foreign news.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Reeling in the Years and Scannal are two of the best shows RTE have ever done. Worth the license fee alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,463 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

c_man wrote: »
    It's pretty good but let's just forget about the 2000s Reeling... Pure guff. They knew it was big then and let it slide. Not to mention attempting to position RTE presenters as having known the crash was coming all along and we the general eejits were just too stupid to listen to our betters.

That decade of ROTY isn't as good but that's because it was made too soon. I think it was made in 2010. Not enough time to figure out what would be the events and the stories that would be remembered in years to come. Also many of the clips shown in the 60s/70s/80s episodes show people taking part in demonstrations, rallies, reporting etc, who ended up becoming prominent Irish figures in public life, it was only because the program was made 20-30 years after these events that we were able to see their contribution, or rather where they started out.

E.g. I think one of the late 70s/early 80s episodes shows U2s first performance on the Late Late. It certainly wouldn't have been significant at the time, just another new Irish band, but seeing as ROTY wasn't made until 1999, 20 years had passed and by then they were one of the biggest bands in the world, so it made sense to show a clip of their first appearance. Think they are in the 84/85 episodes as well.

I'm pretty sure some of the late 60s/ early 70s episodes shows Mary Robinson making speeches as a student. Gives a bit of context to where she started out before she became president.

I reckon any researcher making the episode for 2009 in 2010 would have had their work cut out to pick out any new Irish act that played a song on the LLS that year that they reckon will be around in 20 years from now. Sometimes with history you just have to give it a bit of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

mzungu wrote: »
    Reeling in the Years and Scannal are two of the best shows RTE have ever done. Worth the license fee alone.

Don't forget Hands, the documentary series where old world skills like shoemaking and curragh building are explored. Feckin' magic, except RTE never show the repeats any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tho it was only a one off Documentary, "A Million Dubliners" was a very moving and powerful piece of television! If you've not seen it, it's worth a watch if you can find it online or on The Player!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,105 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

deadybai wrote: »
    Cant wait for 2011:

Arab Spring begins
    Japan Tsunami
    Royal Wedding
    Bin Laden killed
    Norway Terrosist Attacks
    Gaddafi killed
    The occupy movement
    Kim Jong Il
    Brain Cowen Resigns
    Cork Airport Crash
    The Cloyne Report
    Rugby World Cup

going to try and guess the soundtrack for that year

Arab Spring begins (Dont Wanna Go Home- Jason Durulo)
    Japan Tsunami (Just A Dream- Nelly)
    Royal Wedding (Dynamite- Taio Cruz)
    Bin Laden killed (Coming Home- Diddy)
    Norway Terrosist Attacks (Back To December- Taylor Swift)
    Amy Winehouse & Steve Jobs (Someone Like You- Adele)
    Gaddafi killed (Someone Like You-Adele)
    The occupy movement (Party Rock Anthem- LMFAO)
    US Troops are finshed in Iraq (Coming Home- Diddy)
    Kim Jong Il (Firework- Katy Perry)
    Brain Cowen Resigns (Teenage Dream- Katy Perry)
    Fine Gael are in Government (Teenage Dream- Katy Perry)
    Cork Airport Crash (Someone Like You- Adele)
    Dali Lama and Obama visit Ireland and The Queen (For The First Time- The Script)
    The Cloyne Report (Price Tag- Jessie J)
    Kilkenny and Dublin win the All Ireland (The Edge Of Glory-Lady Gaga)
    Ireland Qualify for Euro 2012 (The Edge Of Glory- Lady Gaga)
    Leinster win Heineken Cup (Yeah 3x- Chris Brown)
    Rugby World Cup (Yeah 3x- Chris Brown)
    The presidential election (cheers drink to that- Rhianna)

let us know what ye think ??

thanks to deadybai for writing the events up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Ya-Boy-Ya

I see Reeling in the Years is up to 2009.... so far... anyone know if they've done more ??? or doing ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,463 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

I can't see why they would until the decade is finished. To be honest I think they should leave it a lot longer. I think the earlier series benefited from perspective about what events were important but also had a long term impact. The 2000-2009 series were made in 2010/2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

So we have to wait till 2020 for 10-19?

poo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Anybody have any of the tv broadcasts in video file format they are willing to share please? Cant find the DVDs for sale anywhere online and even then those versions are missing alot apparently due to copyright issues. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Great show, ironically the best thing rte do is a patch up of news from other sources, spriked with quality music and not a RTE over indulged, over paid false presenter in sight.

Watching Ireland in the 1980s make the place seem like a dreary basket case, yet I was an adult in the 1980s and never experienced it like that, some of the Ronald Reagan stuff is cringey and the NI and miners strike is sad.